Author

Topic: 20 rigs with 4 7970's and power questions. (Read 811 times)

Activity: 35
Merit: 0
January 08, 2014, 08:34:54 AM
an 80 gpu rack in a garage? I sincerely hope they have thought about security!
Activity: 798
Merit: 1000
January 08, 2014, 05:15:37 AM
how feasible would it be to run DC current through a farm like this; e.g. one big honking power supply to rectify the 3-phase AC for the whole garage.  

firstly I'm not an electrical engineer I was a hardware engineer deploying rack mounted solutions so ALL of the power and cooling requirements we needed were taken care of with a few phone calls to the Data centre maintenance people.

the thing is.. with a 25Kw constant power draw you would be talking about a VERY large bank of batteries something that could probably power 4-5 average size residential houses...

the problem with a mining rig is the power draw doesn't really dip and spike because the load is pretty much as close to 100% as you can get.. ie its pretty much constant 24/7 if you set it up right..
so in that sense DC battery banks (or UPSs) are only going to help by cleaning the power and protecting your gear from short outages and lightning strikes etc.

so if I read your question right using a DC system would only provide maximum protection for you gear and away for other forms of energy to be supplied to your mining farm (eg if you were going to add wind turbines and solar panels etc)

Additionally that kind of power would be extremely dangerous for anyone to play with that wasn't a fully qualified electrician with years of experience.. its difficult enough trying to set up a DC backup system for a residential house with solar panels and wind turbines let alone trying a system that could power 4-5 houses..