Author

Topic: Armory won't launch (Read 137 times)

legendary
Activity: 3640
Merit: 1345
Armory Developer
January 02, 2021, 08:01:13 AM
#14
Browse to the install folder (in /usr/lib i believe) and:

Code:
python ArmoryQt.py
HCP
legendary
Activity: 2086
Merit: 4314
January 01, 2021, 05:09:01 PM
#13
If you installed Armory using the .deb in Ubuntu... it should have put the following in your /usr/bin/ folder:



Assuming that /usr/bin is in your path, then, as you've already discovered, you simply run "ArmoryDB" to start the DB service:



To start "ArmoryQT", you simply run "armory" from the terminal:



Note: to get this running on my Ubuntu 18.04 VM (Oracle Virtual Box), I had to use the "noasm" GCC 4.9 version: Armory 0.96.5 Ubuntu/Debian 64-bit with GCC 4.9

The GCC 7.2 version gave me "Illegal instruction (core dumped)" errors and the GUI would not start:

legendary
Activity: 1624
Merit: 2481
January 01, 2021, 12:52:30 PM
#12
It is an Icon in the menu. I can not get info on it.
I mean THIS  cant be so hard. What do I type on the command line in Linux?


Well, you want to type exactly what your shortcut is doing.
I don't have armory installed, so i have to guess. It could be one of these:
  • armory
  • armoryqt
  • python armory.py (inside of the folder)

If you can't check what your icon is doing, open the installation directory and check for executable. There should be an executable called armory, armoryqt or similar.

But you could also delete the log files, and try to start it via your icon.
Then check/upload the freshly created log file.
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 1
January 01, 2021, 12:48:17 PM
#11
Ubuntu. ArmoryQT does nothing.

How are you starting armory without the command line?

If it is an icon, check the command it is executing by right-clicking it and looking at the properties.
Then execute it from the command line, and you hopefully will get an output to stdout.

Just armory does something. But how to start AmoryQT separately, as I was told?
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 1
January 01, 2021, 12:47:02 PM
#10
It is an Icon in the menu. I can not get info on it.
I mean THIS  cant be so hard. What do I type on the command line in Linux?
legendary
Activity: 1624
Merit: 2481
January 01, 2021, 11:43:32 AM
#9
Ubuntu. ArmoryQT does nothing.

How are you starting armory without the command line?

If it is an icon, check the command it is executing by right-clicking it and looking at the properties.
Then execute it from the command line, and you hopefully will get an output to stdout.
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 1
January 01, 2021, 11:02:04 AM
#8
~snip~

3. How do I start ArmoryQt from the shell?

I think this is the command

Code:
start ArmoryQt.exe 

Make sure you are on the correct path to use the command above. So use this command below first.

Code:
cd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\"


Ubuntu. ArmoryQT does nothing. ALso can't identify with ps when started from the menu.
legendary
Activity: 3206
Merit: 2904
Block halving is coming.
December 31, 2020, 07:38:43 PM
#7
~snip~

3. How do I start ArmoryQt from the shell?

I think this is the command

Code:
start ArmoryQt.exe 

Make sure you are on the correct path to use the command above. So use this command below first.

Code:
cd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\"
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 1
December 31, 2020, 06:38:28 PM
#6
1. Start Bitcoin core, wait until current. Exit

2. Start armorydb, output on shell:

logging in /home/jay/.armory/dbLog.txt
-INFO  - 20:39:26: (main.cpp:32) Running on 16 threads
-INFO  - 20:39:26: (main.cpp:33) Ram usage level: 50
-INFO  - 20:39:26: (BlockUtils.cpp:915) blkfile dir: /home/jay/.bitcoin/blocks
-INFO  - 20:39:26: (BlockUtils.cpp:916) lmdb dir: /home/jay/.armory/databases
-INFO  - 20:39:26: (lmdb_wrapper.cpp:388) Opening databases...
-INFO  - 20:39:26: (BDM_Server.h:263) Listening on port 9001
-INFO  - 20:39:26: (BlockUtils.cpp:1108) Executing: doInitialSyncOnLoad
-INFO  - 20:39:26: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:199) Reading headers from db
-INFO  - 20:39:30: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:238) Found 663745 headers in db
-INFO  - 20:39:33: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:64) Rewinding 100 blocks
-INFO  - 20:39:33: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:71) updating HEADERS db
-INFO  - 20:39:33: (Blockchain.cpp:248) Organizing chain
-INFO  - 20:39:33: (Blockchain.cpp:370) Organized chain in 0s
-INFO  - 20:39:33: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:76) updated HEADERS db in 0s
-INFO  - 20:39:33: (lmdb_wrapper.cpp:388) Opening databases...
-INFO  - 20:39:33: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:1231) verifying txfilters integrity
-INFO  - 20:39:41: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:1314) done checking txfilters
-INFO  - 20:39:41: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:134) scanning new blocks from #663745 to #663744
-INFO  - 20:39:41: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:52) no history to scan
-INFO  - 20:39:41: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:1021) no SSH to scan
-INFO  - 20:39:41: (lmdb_wrapper.cpp:388) Opening databases...
-INFO  - 20:39:41: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:186) scanned new blocks in 0s
-INFO  - 20:39:41: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:190) init db in 15s
-INFO  - 20:39:41: (BDM_supportClasses.cpp:1891) Enabling zero-conf tracking

3. How do I start ArmoryQt from the shell?
legendary
Activity: 3640
Merit: 1345
Armory Developer
December 31, 2020, 06:36:36 AM
#5
Start ArmoryDB on its from the command line then start ArmoryQt, report both logs in here.
HCP
legendary
Activity: 2086
Merit: 4314
December 28, 2020, 02:19:31 AM
#4
You could try starting Windows in "safe mode" and then see if Armory works. If it does, then it is indeed likely that another process that is launched at start up is interfering with ArmoryDB.

You might need to try the suggestions on this thread to configure ArmoryDB to use a different port number: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.49610329
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
December 27, 2020, 08:14:44 PM
#3
There is a process listening on the port armorydb.exe is trying to use. The client is connecting to the expected port and speaking FCGI to it, and getting something unexpected in return, meaning it's not talking to the DB.

Thanks for replying.
What you suggest I should do then to xix the issue?
legendary
Activity: 3640
Merit: 1345
Armory Developer
December 27, 2020, 07:56:07 PM
#2
There is a process listening on the port armorydb.exe is trying to use. The client is connecting to the expected port and speaking FCGI to it, and getting something unexpected in return, meaning it's not talking to the DB.
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
December 27, 2020, 09:39:29 AM
#1
Hi everyone,
I recently installed Armory 96.5 but I can't launch it (freezes on logo and then forced to close the program).
I can only open the offline version (already tried to un-tick "Let Armory run Bitcoin Core in the background").
Also tried releases 96.4 and 96.0 - doesn't work.
Bitcoin Core is installed and fully synched (Armory won't launch with Bitcoin Core opened or closed).
Specs: Brand new laptop / Win10 / Memory 4GB / Intel core i3 (10th gen) / 80GB free space on hard drive.
The following logs on AppData > Roaming > Armory:
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:2042 - loadWalletsAndSettings
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:2102 - Loading wallets...
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:2167 - Number of wallets read in: 0
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1747 - acquiring process mutex...
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1385 - setupUriRegistration
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1453 - Armory already registered for current user.  Done!
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:558 - Usermode: Advanced
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1681 - Changing usermode:
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1682 -    From: Advanced
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1690 -      To: Advanced
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1814 - startBitcoindIfNecessary
2020-12-27 20:40 (WARNING) -- ArmoryQt.py:1804 - DB is already running
2020-12-27 20:40 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1900 - Setting netmode: 1
And also the following error:
-ERROR - 1609072854: (..\StringSockets.cpp:343) FcgiSocket::writeAndRead FcgiError: unexpected fcgi header version
Any idea how to resolve?
Thank you!

Jump to: