Author

Topic: Bitcoin Core taking a long time to load. Been happening for about three weeks. (Read 2573 times)

legendary
Activity: 2534
Merit: 6080
Self-proclaimed Genius
Great, thank you both.  Much appreciated.
Hm not sure what happened to the post that I added here yesterday, maybe I offended someone with my comment.
I'm pretty sure that it's because it was essentially a "necropost" which is against the forum rules unless really necessary to the topic.
And a reply to a thread with solved issue isn't something that's tolerated by the Mods.

You can post it as a new topic though, just use the small "new topic" button at the right-hand side of the appropriate board.

And, a correction:
Quote from: touristguy87
-dbcache=[450] (in kB)
The database cache setting is in MiB unit, the lowest valid setting is 4MiB.
Ref: https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/blob/0903ce8dbc25d3823b03d52f6e6bff74d19e801e/src/txdb.h#L29
?
Activity: -
Merit: -
Great, thank you both.  Much appreciated.

Hm not sure what happened to the post that I added here yesterday, maybe I offended someone with my comment.

I'm going to largely repost (yet simplify) what I've put up and summarize it here because not only did tis same problem happen to me but the cause in my case was pretty simple. I think that I finally have it under control.

So there are two problems here.
First I've run both bitcoin-qt and ltecoin-qt on 3 different machines but only on the Intel machines (i5 & i7 laptops) do I have any problems running either. I ran into this 'network" "lockup" problem specifically and that brings in a 2nd problem, that the GUI hides a lot of what is happening, that right off the top you can solve by running the daemon directly.

But there are a few things that contribute to the GUi not running correctly.
First as some have undoubedly told you in readme files here and other places, your computer has to be in good shape to run a full node without any problems. In my case I'm missing the specified laptop power supply and running a 3rd party 60W supply vs the 90W that's specified (from the mfg). It's been running fine on everything else but bitcoin full node.

This leads to the consequences, that the ACPI doesn't work correctly which is a major issue for other software as well.
Third is that the system need to be setup to run "cool" not "ultra-fast". Check your bios ACPI config if you have problems that look like they are coming from a hot system.

Next are the power-control settings themselves, mine is still not responding correctly to the power settings (in Ubuntu 24.04), I spent a long time and a lot of effort trying various recommendations...none of them worked...I gave up and wrote a little sleep loop in a Bash script that I can use to monitor how long the "fix that I am about to explain" runs before it has issues and causes the OS to log-out my session (which is where the lockup comes from if it isn't about setting it up to use one seed server, as in this thread above)...your computer has to be setup correctly to run a full-node, and there is this dirty little secret about switching power on and off to external drives, which the ACPI also does...again...check your bios settings for ACPI thoroughly.

So about this  "scanning network" error with the bitcoin-qt

Two bits of background info first. BTC is a VERY INTENSIVE coin to process. It's taken 800GB to catch up with it so far, I'm still at about 98% sync and I've been struggling to get this computer synched for two weeks now. So there are some relevant bits to this problem that you should know about, but ultimately you will find out that running the bitcoind directly solves a lot of problems and exposes a lot of the inner workings of a full node.

No matter if you have this problem or not.

Find out where your data directory is. Because it will be the key to running a full node successfully.

If your gui appears to "lock up" and you have made the mistake of selecting "run node at startup" so you cannot do anything but watch it lock up. Kill the bitcoin-qt in System Manager and run the daemon directly.

You will need a bash line like this to do so:

$ /bitcoin-28.0/bin/bitcoind -datadir=[path to datadir to use]

It will be the folder that CONTAINS the blockchain folder, the wallet folder(s) (which have the same name as the wallet name) and likely a copy of the bitcoin.conf file (that the GUI opens when you click the "open configuration file" button).

If the daemon (through the GUI) was last run and shut down with the wallet(s) open but you have the right data folder then you will see the wallets named on the screen log after the daemon starts. If it was not open but you have the right data folder, then it will show a [] where the wallet name should be.

If you have the WRONG data folder then it will start a new sync in the btcoind default folder and the "progress=0.xxxxx " will be low, near zero. Use Ctnl-C to kill it, find the right data folder and fix the call or you'll start an entirely new copy of the btc blockchain and bitcoin.conf in the default locations (somewhere under ~/.bitcoin I guess). It is good to know the data folder location because you can use it for administrative work on the full node.

So assuming that you have all that right, you should see a couple of pages of text and then the verify section where it steps from 0% to 100% of the downloaded blockchain, and then starts to load new blockchain data, from 0MB (in steps of roughly 1.5MB,  whatever MB you've set for the cache size in the GUI or directly in the bitcoin.conf file) into what I assume is some sort of transfer-cache (the "progress=0.xxxxx" will be appropriate for your level of sync). That is the daemon getting new blockchain data from other full nodes, which it then checks-over and then adds to the blockchain folder in the data folder. That means that your system is working fine as far as the network config goes. When it fills the transfer-cache allocation it will add all of that data to the blockchain folder.

That means a very sudden burst of data is read from the daemons' transfer-cache, processed and sent to the blockchain folder.

And this is likely where things will go wrong if you have any issues with sufficient current to the drive that holds the data folder.

Luckily the transfer cache is stored on the drive so if your daemon / computer goes into sleep mode anyway (like mine just did) all of that transfer-cache data will still be there and restarting the daemon after the sleep-mode transition will proceed normally, flush that cache and carry on as before. If your problem is that it fills the cache and then goes into sleep mode or logs you out of your session when that flush starts, or before it finishes, your problem is a power problem between the computer and that drive.

It's not really going into sleep mode. I just had it running for 90 minutes or more and it logged me out while I was writing this. It's suffering a power brownout that triggers the ACPI to do dumb things. If yours is like mine, "once the battery power drops to 50% it will disable power to the USB ports". That is where my system disk is connected, and that is causing the OS to attempt to drive the computer into standby. As soon as it starts to do that the power comes right back up and the OS will leave your session logged-out. If it actually shuts the OS down, your problem is a little worse than mine is now.

I expect that this won't be fully solved until I get the proper power-supply for this laptop.

For now I will try setting that cache back to the default size of 512kB or smaller (down to 10MB. So the cache-flushes aren't so long. Hopefully then they won't be enough to cause it to kill the user session...and it was, and it just crashed a lot faster.

The other option is to make the cache huge so it gets the blockchain data and then kills the user session. At least get that painfully-slow part out of the way.

yes there are -dbcache=[450] (in kB) and -maxmempool=[300] flags 

But what I really want to do is make the transfer-cache small so it makes a lot of small transfers instead of a few big transfers. Short of that, at least download the rest of the whole blockchain so I can do the transfer on another computer.

I could also copy all of the bitcoin full-node related data to another computer that is properly powered Smiley  which would probably be fine if you've pruned your copy of the blockchain adequately. But that's why I run on external drives in the first place. Easier to just switch the computers or the external drives. Reason #1 why I don't run Windows. If running btcoind on an ext drive connected to computer A is giving you trouble, the answer might be to find another PC which can take the drive, and either has the same OS and mount the ext drive into that OS (run the daemon with the appropriate path to the data folder) or just boot off the ext drive. Advantage: Ubuntu! Looks like that's what I'm going to have to do for now.

So anyway. Just wanted to note another problem that can cause this "synch network" lockup, with an associated solution.
Never sit there and watch the GUI startup screen without checking System Manager to see if the sw is actually doing anything.
If it's not actually doing anything, kill it and run the daemon instead using the -datadir= flag to use the same data folder as the GUI version. The daemon will show you more than you want to know about what it is doing.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 19
Great, thank you both.  Much appreciated.
copper member
Activity: 1498
Merit: 1528
No I dont escrow anymore.
I tried the -addnode command in Terminal but I get the following error:

/Applications/Bitcoin-Qt.app/Contents/MacOS/Bitcoin-Qt -addnode=<50.155.31.101:8333>

-bash: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'

With the blockchain file updated on the other computer it seems to be opening consistently now.

Remove the '<' and '>', since you are synced up now your node should build up an up to date list of peers anyway, so you might no longer need to do this.
full member
Activity: 162
Merit: 100
I see you've already solved this issue, I recommend you follow the tips below it might increase your speed even faster, as well as for anyone else reading this who is running into a similiar issue.

* Defrag your hard drive, could be one of the reasons since Bitcoin core writes & reads a lot into HDD.
* Monitor your CPU & RAM Usage, ensure that you aren't hitting the max power, if you are then you know what you need to upgrade to gain better performance.
* Another case could be invalid sectors or a corrupt blockchain, but that's rather unlikely, if you suspect that's the case then for invalid sectors use chkdsk if using Windows, and if you think its a corrupt blockchain deleting it could solve it, I don't know if you can re-validate the blockchain to check for errors and fix them, but it might be possible.

Also in your case, connecting to peers was failing which was potentionally causing bitcoin core to take longer to start, check your firewall/AV and ensure its not blocking it, as well as your router's firewall, you might also have to port forward and check weither you are behind a double nat, if you are it could be another culprit.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 19
I tried the -addnode command in Terminal but I get the following error:

/Applications/Bitcoin-Qt.app/Contents/MacOS/Bitcoin-Qt -addnode=<50.155.31.101:8333>

-bash: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'

With the blockchain file updated on the other computer it seems to be opening consistently now.
copper member
Activity: 2856
Merit: 3071
https://bit.ly/387FXHi lightning theory
Great!  Thank you so much for your help.  And everyone else too!

I'm always happy to help! Has it worked now then?
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 19
Great!  Thank you so much for your help.  And everyone else too!
copper member
Activity: 2856
Merit: 3071
https://bit.ly/387FXHi lightning theory
Thanks for that analysis and info.  Much appreciated!

-connect= Connect only to the specified node(s)

Do I use the above to change the node?

Yes, that is apparently the correct command to use documented here.
You can use either:
Code:
-addnode=
or
Code:
-connect=
(from the command line from the bitcoin-qt.exe program - not from bitcoind which I normally accidentally do).
Hopefully this works for you!
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 19
Thanks for that analysis and info.  Much appreciated!

-connect= Connect only to the specified node(s)

Do I use the above to change the node?
copper member
Activity: 2856
Merit: 3071
https://bit.ly/387FXHi lightning theory
Here's a copy of the debug log for the last startup of the program.   After opening it on my roommate's MacBook pro last night I let the blockchain update then closed the program.  It's after work today and I'm back on my computer.  This time Bitcoin core opened very quickly just like it used to.   Perhaps the issue lies with how my computer is updating the blockchain and closing files?  Thanks to everyone for the assistance!

from the debug file:
-----------------

2017-01-06 23:47:03 Bitcoin version v0.13.2
2017-01-06 23:47:03 InitParameterInteraction: parameter interaction: -whitelistforcerelay=1 -> setting -whitelistrelay=1
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Default data directory /Users/ianmelnicsak/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using data directory /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using config file /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/bitcoin.conf
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using at most 125 connections (2560 file descriptors available)
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using 2 threads for script verification
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using BerkeleyDB version Berkeley DB 4.8.30: (April  9, 2010)
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using wallet wallet.dat
2017-01-06 23:47:04 scheduler thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:04 init message: Verifying wallet...
2017-01-06 23:47:04 CDBEnv::Open: LogDir=/Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/database ErrorFile=/Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/db.log
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Bound to [::]:8333
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Bound to 0.0.0.0:8333
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Cache configuration:
2017-01-06 23:47:04 * Using 2.0MiB for block index database
2017-01-06 23:47:04 * Using 8.0MiB for chain state database
2017-01-06 23:47:04 * Using 290.0MiB for in-memory UTXO set
2017-01-06 23:47:04 init message: Loading block index...
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Opening LevelDB in /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/blocks/index
2017-01-06 23:47:05 Opened LevelDB successfully
2017-01-06 23:47:05 Using obfuscation key for /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/blocks/index: 0000000000000000
2017-01-06 23:47:05 Opening LevelDB in /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/chainstate
2017-01-06 23:47:06 Opened LevelDB successfully
2017-01-06 23:47:06 Using obfuscation key for /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/chainstate: 0000000000000000
2017-01-06 23:47:10 LoadBlockIndexDB: last block file = 731
2017-01-06 23:47:10 LoadBlockIndexDB: last block file info: CBlockFileInfo(blocks=53, size=52231321, heights=446361...446915, time=2017-01-03...2017-01-06)
2017-01-06 23:47:10 Checking all blk files are present...
2017-01-06 23:47:11 LoadBlockIndexDB: transaction index disabled
2017-01-06 23:47:11 LoadBlockIndexDB: hashBestChain=00000000000000000368447994eaab272102ae239197d12292e387bd3af3d95c height=446820 date=2017-01-06 03:39:22 progress=0.999677
2017-01-06 23:47:11 init message: Rewinding blocks...
2017-01-06 23:47:13 init message: Verifying blocks...
2017-01-06 23:47:13 Verifying last 6 blocks at level 3
2017-01-06 23:47:13 [0%]...[16%]...[33%]...[50%]...[66%]...[83%]...[99%]...[DONE].
2017-01-06 23:47:38 No coin database inconsistencies in last 7 blocks (16907 transactions)
2017-01-06 23:47:38  block index           33762ms
2017-01-06 23:47:38 init message: Loading wallet...
2017-01-06 23:47:38 nFileVersion = 130200
2017-01-06 23:47:38 Keys: 0 plaintext, 320 encrypted, 320 w/ metadata, 320 total
2017-01-06 23:47:38  wallet                  296ms
2017-01-06 23:47:38 mapBlockIndex.size() = 446980
2017-01-06 23:47:38 nBestHeight = 446820
2017-01-06 23:47:38 setKeyPool.size() = 99
2017-01-06 23:47:38 mapWallet.size() = 179
2017-01-06 23:47:38 mapAddressBook.size() = 140
2017-01-06 23:47:38 init message: Loading addresses...
2017-01-06 23:47:38 torcontrol thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:38 Loaded 62567 addresses from peers.dat  333ms
2017-01-06 23:47:38 init message: Loading banlist...
2017-01-06 23:47:39 init message: Starting network threads...
2017-01-06 23:47:39 dnsseed thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 upnp thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 net thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 init message: Done loading
2017-01-06 23:47:39 addcon thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 opencon thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 msghand thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: Platform customization: "macosx"
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: PaymentServer::LoadRootCAs: Loaded  169  root certificates
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: QObject::connect: No such slot RPCConsole::test() in qt/rpcconsole.cpp:668
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: QObject::connect:  (receiver name: 'RPCConsole')
2017-01-06 23:47:39 ProcessMessages: advertising address 72.48.196.142:8333
2017-01-06 23:47:39 receive version message: /Satoshi:0.13.1/: version 70014, blocks=446963, us=72.48.196.142:54757, peer=1
2017-01-06 23:47:39 AdvertiseLocal: advertising address 72.48.196.142:8333
2017-01-06 23:47:41 UPnP: ExternalIPAddress = 72.48.196.142
2017-01-06 23:47:41 AddLocal(72.48.196.142:8333,3)
2017-01-06 23:47:41 UPnP Port Mapping successful.
2017-01-06 23:47:45 connect() to 87.120.37.230:8333 failed after select(): Connection refused (61)
2017-01-06 23:47:46 connect() to [2002:422a:8362::d4a8:4f6d:3696:6781]:8333 failed: No route to host (65)
2017-01-06 23:47:50 Loading addresses from DNS seeds (could take a while)
2017-01-06 23:47:51 129 addresses found from DNS seeds
2017-01-06 23:47:51 dnsseed thread exit


This is the most significant part of the file then:
Code:
2017-01-06 23:47:39 init message: Done loading
2017-01-06 23:47:39 addcon thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 opencon thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 msghand thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: Platform customization: "macosx"
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: PaymentServer::LoadRootCAs: Loaded  169  root certificates
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: QObject::connect: No such slot RPCConsole::test() in qt/rpcconsole.cpp:668
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: QObject::connect:  (receiver name: 'RPCConsole')
2017-01-06 23:47:39 ProcessMessages: advertising address 72.48.196.142:8333
2017-01-06 23:47:39 receive version message: /Satoshi:0.13.1/: version 70014, blocks=446963, us=72.48.196.142:54757, peer=1
2017-01-06 23:47:39 AdvertiseLocal: advertising address 72.48.196.142:8333
2017-01-06 23:47:41 UPnP: ExternalIPAddress = 72.48.196.142
2017-01-06 23:47:41 AddLocal(72.48.196.142:8333,3)
2017-01-06 23:47:41 UPnP Port Mapping successful.
2017-01-06 23:47:45 connect() to 87.120.37.230:8333 failed after select(): Connection refused (61)
2017-01-06 23:47:46 connect() to [2002:422a:8362::d4a8:4f6d:3696:6781]:8333 failed: No route to host (65)
2017-01-06 23:47:50 Loading addresses from DNS seeds (could take a while)
2017-01-06 23:47:51 129 addresses found from DNS seeds
2017-01-06 23:47:51 dnsseed thread exit
It looks like the most slow processes were in connecting to the peers:
Code:
2017-01-06 23:47:41 UPnP Port Mapping successful.
2017-01-06 23:47:45 connect() to 87.120.37.230:8333 failed after select(): Connection refused (61)
2017-01-06 23:47:46 connect() to [2002:422a:8362::d4a8:4f6d:3696:6781]:8333 failed: No route to host (65)
2017-01-06 23:47:50 Loading addresses from DNS seeds (could take a while)
Im unsure as to why a connection to a node would be refused.

However, that server is offline due to this
Code:
Ping request could not find host 87.120.37.230:8333. Please check the name and try again.

If possible try to change the peer that bitcoin core connects to when it loads (the default peer once it opens), select a peer from here that is close to you.


Unless Shorena is online and can advise you better?
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 19
Here's a copy of the debug log for the last startup of the program.   After opening it on my roommate's MacBook pro last night I let the blockchain update then closed the program.  It's after work today and I'm back on my computer.  This time Bitcoin core opened very quickly just like it used to.   Perhaps the issue lies with how my computer is updating the blockchain and closing files?  Thanks to everyone for the assistance!

from the debug file:
-----------------

2017-01-06 23:47:03 Bitcoin version v0.13.2
2017-01-06 23:47:03 InitParameterInteraction: parameter interaction: -whitelistforcerelay=1 -> setting -whitelistrelay=1
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Default data directory /Users/ianmelnicsak/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using data directory /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using config file /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/bitcoin.conf
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using at most 125 connections (2560 file descriptors available)
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using 2 threads for script verification
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using BerkeleyDB version Berkeley DB 4.8.30: (April  9, 2010)
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Using wallet wallet.dat
2017-01-06 23:47:04 scheduler thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:04 init message: Verifying wallet...
2017-01-06 23:47:04 CDBEnv::Open: LogDir=/Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/database ErrorFile=/Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/db.log
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Bound to [::]:8333
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Bound to 0.0.0.0:8333
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Cache configuration:
2017-01-06 23:47:04 * Using 2.0MiB for block index database
2017-01-06 23:47:04 * Using 8.0MiB for chain state database
2017-01-06 23:47:04 * Using 290.0MiB for in-memory UTXO set
2017-01-06 23:47:04 init message: Loading block index...
2017-01-06 23:47:04 Opening LevelDB in /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/blocks/index
2017-01-06 23:47:05 Opened LevelDB successfully
2017-01-06 23:47:05 Using obfuscation key for /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/blocks/index: 0000000000000000
2017-01-06 23:47:05 Opening LevelDB in /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/chainstate
2017-01-06 23:47:06 Opened LevelDB successfully
2017-01-06 23:47:06 Using obfuscation key for /Volumes/SEAGATE 2TB/untitled folder 2/chainstate: 0000000000000000
2017-01-06 23:47:10 LoadBlockIndexDB: last block file = 731
2017-01-06 23:47:10 LoadBlockIndexDB: last block file info: CBlockFileInfo(blocks=53, size=52231321, heights=446361...446915, time=2017-01-03...2017-01-06)
2017-01-06 23:47:10 Checking all blk files are present...
2017-01-06 23:47:11 LoadBlockIndexDB: transaction index disabled
2017-01-06 23:47:11 LoadBlockIndexDB: hashBestChain=00000000000000000368447994eaab272102ae239197d12292e387bd3af3d95c height=446820 date=2017-01-06 03:39:22 progress=0.999677
2017-01-06 23:47:11 init message: Rewinding blocks...
2017-01-06 23:47:13 init message: Verifying blocks...
2017-01-06 23:47:13 Verifying last 6 blocks at level 3
2017-01-06 23:47:13 [0%]...[16%]...[33%]...[50%]...[66%]...[83%]...[99%]...[DONE].
2017-01-06 23:47:38 No coin database inconsistencies in last 7 blocks (16907 transactions)
2017-01-06 23:47:38  block index           33762ms
2017-01-06 23:47:38 init message: Loading wallet...
2017-01-06 23:47:38 nFileVersion = 130200
2017-01-06 23:47:38 Keys: 0 plaintext, 320 encrypted, 320 w/ metadata, 320 total
2017-01-06 23:47:38  wallet                  296ms
2017-01-06 23:47:38 mapBlockIndex.size() = 446980
2017-01-06 23:47:38 nBestHeight = 446820
2017-01-06 23:47:38 setKeyPool.size() = 99
2017-01-06 23:47:38 mapWallet.size() = 179
2017-01-06 23:47:38 mapAddressBook.size() = 140
2017-01-06 23:47:38 init message: Loading addresses...
2017-01-06 23:47:38 torcontrol thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:38 Loaded 62567 addresses from peers.dat  333ms
2017-01-06 23:47:38 init message: Loading banlist...
2017-01-06 23:47:39 init message: Starting network threads...
2017-01-06 23:47:39 dnsseed thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 upnp thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 net thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 init message: Done loading
2017-01-06 23:47:39 addcon thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 opencon thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 msghand thread start
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: Platform customization: "macosx"
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: PaymentServer::LoadRootCAs: Loaded  169  root certificates
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: QObject::connect: No such slot RPCConsole::test() in qt/rpcconsole.cpp:668
2017-01-06 23:47:39 GUI: QObject::connect:  (receiver name: 'RPCConsole')
2017-01-06 23:47:39 ProcessMessages: advertising address 72.48.196.142:8333
2017-01-06 23:47:39 receive version message: /Satoshi:0.13.1/: version 70014, blocks=446963, us=72.48.196.142:54757, peer=1
2017-01-06 23:47:39 AdvertiseLocal: advertising address 72.48.196.142:8333
2017-01-06 23:47:41 UPnP: ExternalIPAddress = 72.48.196.142
2017-01-06 23:47:41 AddLocal(72.48.196.142:8333,3)
2017-01-06 23:47:41 UPnP Port Mapping successful.
2017-01-06 23:47:45 connect() to 87.120.37.230:8333 failed after select(): Connection refused (61)
2017-01-06 23:47:46 connect() to [2002:422a:8362::d4a8:4f6d:3696:6781]:8333 failed: No route to host (65)
2017-01-06 23:47:50 Loading addresses from DNS seeds (could take a while)
2017-01-06 23:47:51 129 addresses found from DNS seeds
2017-01-06 23:47:51 dnsseed thread exit
copper member
Activity: 1498
Merit: 1528
No I dont escrow anymore.
I just tried it on his MacBook Pro 2.7ghz with 8gb RAM.  It crashed just as the intro screen said "Done Loading" but opened after a minute or so. 

It wasn't doing this on my MacBook Air with 4GB RAM just three weeks ago, it's a recent development.

Can you post the content of the debug.log file please?
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 19
I just tried it on his MacBook Pro 2.7ghz with 8gb RAM.  It crashed just as the intro screen said "Done Loading" but opened after a minute or so. 

It wasn't doing this on my MacBook Air with 4GB RAM just three weeks ago, it's a recent development.
copper member
Activity: 2856
Merit: 3071
https://bit.ly/387FXHi lightning theory
Thank you for that info.  I had a feeling that may be the case, 4GB RAM and a 1.3ghz processor.  Seems to go a little faster if I have all other programs closed when I try to load Bitcoin Core.  I'm testing this idea right now on my roommate's MacBook Pro with a 2.7ghz processor and 8GB RAM.

The RAM might not be the case then? I have a laptop running bitcoin core and the laptop only has a 6 year old (intensely used) 2.6GHz dual core processor with 2GB RAM and it runs fine. (Maybe your processor is the bottleneck instead (unless it's a quad core processor).
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 19
Thank you for that info.  I had a feeling that may be the case, 4GB RAM and a 1.3ghz processor.  Seems to go a little faster if I have all other programs closed when I try to load Bitcoin Core.  I'm testing this idea right now on my roommate's MacBook Pro with a 2.7ghz processor and 8GB RAM.
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
The problem is likely that you are using a lower power machine. Running Bitcoin Core requires a significant amount of CPU power and RAM. The macbook air is relatively low powered and thus will run slowly when starting up Bitcoin Core as a lot of processing happens on startup.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 19
Hi-

Bitcoin Core recently started taking a long time to load.  Usually just takes a few minutes but lately it's taking 5-15 minutes.  Started about three weeks ago.  I've sometimes had to do a force quit and restart the loading process. 

MacBook Air running 10.12.1
bitcoin files are on a 2tb external drive.  this drive is only for bitcoin stuff, no other files or data.
running Bitcoin Core 0.13.1, updated to 0.13.2 but having the same problem.
wallet.dat file backed up to several other drives.

I double click on the Bitcoin Core application and the usual intro window pops up with the following info along the bottom:

Rewinding Blocks
Loading Blocks 1%
Loading Blocks 13%
Loading Blocks 33%
Loading Blocks 66%
Loading Blocks 83%
Loading Blocks 99%
Starting Network Threads
Done Loading

After it hits "Done Loading" it freezes up for anywhere between 5-15 minutes before opening.  The window continues to say "Done Loading" but the cursor turns into the little rainbow ball and if I click on the Bitcoin Core icon in the dock I have the option to force quit. 

If I just leave it alone eventually whatever is wrong will work itself out (5-15 minutes or so) and the program will open normally and is fully functional.  I have tried running the -rescan command but that didn't seem to help at all. 

I've tried to google this problem but I can't seem to find any posts that have a similar issue.  Has anyone else run into this?

Thanks
Jump to: