Author

Topic: [Bounty 0.2BTC] fix my minepeon time and date thats on wifi (Read 7310 times)

sr. member
Activity: 299
Merit: 250
Do you have both installed? Can you just try uninstalling openntp?

Yep, that's how I solved it: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.3086667
cp1
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
Stop using branwallets
Do you have both installed? Can you just try uninstalling openntp?
sr. member
Activity: 299
Merit: 250
Was this ever resolved? I seem to have the same clock problem with MinePeon 0.2.3a on my wifi network.

ntpd and openntpd seem to be in conflict.
cp1
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
Stop using branwallets
It seems like openntp is trying to use your wired connection instead of wireless.  You could try to make it load after your wireless networking loads by changing its module number or init.d priority, whichever your dist uses.  But I would first try removing openntp and using ntp to see if that is easier.
full member
Activity: 180
Merit: 100
I have the same issue. Wired lan isnt possible for me. I have to use wi-fi.

On start up I see
[FAILED] Failed to start dhcpc on eth0.
See 'systemctl status [email protected] for details.
Later I get
[FAILED] Failed to start OpenNTP Daemon

Everything else gets a [ OK ]

I began to install NTP but I got this;

Last login: Thu Jan  1 01:18:46 1970 from autumn-pc
[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ pacman -S ntp
error: you cannot perform this operation unless you are root.
[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ sudo pacman -S ntp
[sudo] password for minepeon:
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...
:: ntp and openntpd are in conflict. Remove openntpd? [y/N] n
error: unresolvable package conflicts detected
error: failed to prepare transaction (conflicting dependencies)
:: ntp and openntpd are in conflict
[minepeon@minepeon ~]$

So my noob guess is that I need to change something in the boot file (?)
to start dhcpcd on wlan0 instead of eth0. (btw I did configure wicd-curses and can run minepeon successfully, I just get the date/graphs issue on the status page)

cp1
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
Stop using branwallets
Is it UTC time?
legendary
Activity: 1876
Merit: 1058
The OGz Club
Well I got it working just the time isen't my local time not sure which ntp I should use now.
legendary
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
Try this command;-

sudo /usr/bin/ntpd -s

Neil
cp1
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
Stop using branwallets
Check your logs -- you must have some internet problem.
legendary
Activity: 1876
Merit: 1058
The OGz Club
use NTP and update the date/time ?
Code:
pacman -S ntp

edit, /etc/ntp.conf and add the following,
Code:
server 0.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 1.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 2.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 3.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst

then,
Code:
systemctl enable ntpd

Done Smiley ntp will make sure the clock wont drift away and keep it in sync.

I just tried this and its updating the clock but its BST time do you know which ones I need to use for EST?
sr. member
Activity: 467
Merit: 250
use NTP and update the date/time ?
Code:
pacman -S ntp

edit, /etc/ntp.conf and add the following,
Code:
server 0.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 1.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 2.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst
server 3.uk.pool.ntp.org iburst

then,
Code:
systemctl enable ntpd

Done Smiley ntp will make sure the clock wont drift away and keep it in sync.
legendary
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
Ok sounds great looking forward to seeing the fix in the future release!

Expect it to be in the next one.

I do have a question though can you update it via the RPI on minepeon or will I have do write the SD card again?

You have to rewrite at the moment but Live Update is in the works.  I even have it working on a development peon I run and nine times out of ten it works perfectly, the last time out of ten it screws up in some bizzar manor that I had not thought of and brick's the device Tongue .

Neil
legendary
Activity: 1876
Merit: 1058
The OGz Club
Yup time an date work perfectly fine when i plug into a network cable. Just wifi it does not and I tried the date reset manually but that doesnt fix the charts. I may just move the setup back to my pc desk (moved everything on a shelf right next to an ac unit)

OK, I am fairly sure I have a fix for this.

I will put it into testing and get it into the next release.

Neil

Ok sounds great looking forward to seeing the fix in the future release! I do have a question though can you update it via the RPI on minepeon or will I have do write the SD card again?
legendary
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
Yup time an date work perfectly fine when i plug into a network cable. Just wifi it does not and I tried the date reset manually but that doesnt fix the charts. I may just move the setup back to my pc desk (moved everything on a shelf right next to an ac unit)

OK, I am fairly sure I have a fix for this.

I will put it into testing and get it into the next release.

Neil
legendary
Activity: 1876
Merit: 1058
The OGz Club
You should install ntp if it's not installed.
You can also try:  hwclock --set --date="2013-06-29 12:00:00" (put in correct utc time there)

What does it say if you query:
hwclock --debug

and what does 'date' say?

there is no hardware clock on the RPi
cp1
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
Stop using branwallets
You should install ntp if it's not installed.
You can also try:  hwclock --set --date="2013-06-29 12:00:00" (put in correct utc time there)

What does it say if you query:
hwclock --debug

and what does 'date' say?
legendary
Activity: 1876
Merit: 1058
The OGz Club
Yup time an date work perfectly fine when i plug into a network cable. Just wifi it does not and I tried the date reset manually but that doesnt fix the charts. I may just move the setup back to my pc desk (moved everything on a shelf right next to an ac unit)
legendary
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
If you login with ssh you can;-

sodo date -s "2 OCT 2006 18:00:00"

You will need to put the correct time/date in of course.  Unfortunately the Raspberry PI dopes not have an onboard clock so you will have to reset it everytime you reboot (pain in the ass I know).

Out of curiosity, does it work when you have a network cable plugged in?

Neil
legendary
Activity: 1876
Merit: 1058
The OGz Club
Still cant figure this out if anyone knows how to fix it contact me.
legendary
Activity: 1876
Merit: 1058
The OGz Club
I'm having this Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-1783) i'm very new with archlinux and have really no idea how to fix this even after reading some work around guides and I feel like i'll mess it up even worse if I do. If your willing to help theres .2 btc in it if you can get the date setup to make it easy on you we can use teamviewer. send me a PM or contact the live chat support @ mmoclub.com i'll be on there today.
Jump to: