Author

Topic: bugs or confusions, then armory deleted? (Read 864 times)

legendary
Activity: 1284
Merit: 1001
November 11, 2016, 04:09:54 AM
#19
You're better off using apt-get or aptitude, because those programs will keep track of which packages are installed to satisfy other programs, and uninstall them when they are no longer needed. python-qt4 and python-pip would have been uninstalled by apt-get if it was ok to do so when you removed Electrum, if you used apt-get.
hero member
Activity: 894
Merit: 501
November 10, 2016, 09:41:59 PM
#18
I'm sorry I couldn't get a proper bug report done, but that wasn't possible after Armory got deleted. A propos, is there any chance that it might have happened because of running
Code:
sudo apt-get remove python-qt4 python-pip
whilst trying to uninstall Electrum? That was the only command I did which wasn't exclusive to Electrum.
Python-qt4 is needed for Armory.
et violà. Thanks

Yes, if you removed python-qt4 after installing Armory, since it is a dependency it should uninstall Armory as well. However I'd imagine dpkg would give you a warning about that. Not sure how apt-get would react here.

I'd suggest using dpkg rather than apt-get to remove packages.
Thanks. I'll try using dpkg when I get back on it.
legendary
Activity: 3640
Merit: 1345
Armory Developer
November 09, 2016, 07:57:46 PM
#17
Yes, if you removed python-qt4 after installing Armory, since it is a dependency it should uninstall Armory as well. However I'd imagine dpkg would give you a warning about that. Not sure how apt-get would react here.

I'd suggest using dpkg rather than apt-get to remove packages.
staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
November 09, 2016, 07:30:36 PM
#16
I'm sorry I couldn't get a proper bug report done, but that wasn't possible after Armory got deleted. A propos, is there any chance that it might have happened because of running
Code:
sudo apt-get remove python-qt4 python-pip
whilst trying to uninstall Electrum? That was the only command I did which wasn't exclusive to Electrum.
Python-qt4 is needed for Armory.
hero member
Activity: 894
Merit: 501
November 09, 2016, 07:21:38 PM
#15
Hey goatpig, don't get me wrong. I really appreciate that you've kept Armory going. I wasn't actually very well informed about the fact that you have been basically going it alone. Anyway, I just read over my posts, and am a bit surprised that they've caused quite this much offence and been perceived as venting. The isolated 'buggy as hell', and 'bug ridden' remarks were certainly unnecessarily strong, but I honestly think that the rest of it was fairly balanced. Any undertones were rather urgency and fright than spite and venom.

Yes, I'll definitely be doing a proper bug report when I return to where my Armory computer is in the new year. Only too happy to help with that. I enjoy contributing to open source projects.

I'm sorry I couldn't get a proper bug report done, but that wasn't possible after Armory got deleted. A propos, is there any chance that it might have happened because of running
Code:
sudo apt-get remove python-qt4 python-pip
whilst trying to uninstall Electrum? That was the only command I did which wasn't exclusive to Electrum.

Thanks again, and hats of to goatpig for keeping it going
legendary
Activity: 3640
Merit: 1345
Armory Developer
November 05, 2016, 06:31:24 PM
#14
Alright guys, thanks for covering for me, but sometimes the criticism is due. Clearly there is better to do with the follow up on DB mismatch detection. This latest outburst is only proof of that.

For that matter, I'll try to add a couple mechanics in the next version:

1) Make sure that an auto managed DB detects its parent client has terminated, so that it may clean up on its own.

2) Add a .conf for both client and DB. This should make life easier for people to setup, modify and maintain custom paths across versions. Since upcoming versions will have to change the DB to an extent once again, the effort wont be wasted.

3) Some GUI to manage custom paths from the client would be nice, and DB mismatches can then fall back to that instead of just terminating the client.

All in all, I believe with these changes and blocks over p2p, Armory's initial setup should get a lot closer to plug and play.

-------------------------

micalith:

I'm addressing this part to you directly because this is your thread, but this goes for all users in general. If something frustrates you with the software, lay out what it is and what you feel would make the experience better. I understand you feel the need to vent, and for what it's worth, I'm sorry for the inconvenience.

Now, on your end, you should consider my perspective. If your thread is all spite and venom, I simply won't feel like dealing with it. My life is shitty enough as it is, I don't have the bandwidth to help out pissed off people. So meet me in the middle.

Software engineering is an incremental process for the most part. Believe it or not, if you make an effort of laying out what is broken and what is stupid, I'll make an effort to improve it. I'm not pretending Armory will ever have a buttery smooth initial setup, but certainly there are places that could use some help.

Do not get the wrong idea though, under my reign UX is secondary in Armory. Developing a robust and powerful platform that delivers the full Bitcoin experience comes first. A man has to have his priorities.
staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
November 05, 2016, 05:09:33 PM
#13
Anyway, I'll leave with a final question. How reverse compatible might Armory be? I was wondering whether anyone has had more success in retrieving their savings by running an older version. The one I originally used seemed flawless as far as I can remember. Or would it not work with recent updates to bitcoin core etc?
The wallet files are backwards compatible, but not necessarily everything else. For one thing, various changes on the network have made versions older than 0.93.3 not likely to be able to successfully send transactions. The databases have been upgraded. There was a massive change from 0.93.3 to 0.94 which drastically improved performance. 0.95 also changed the databases again, which is what is causing your problems. This also increases performance. Most of the issues that we see people hit are with Windows (because windows is stupid sometimes) and Macs (because goatpig doesn't know much about Macs).

Also, once segwit is activated, all versions prior to 0.95 will not work if you use Bitcoin Core 0.13.1+.

Your problem should be solved by deleting ~/.armory/databases again and letting it rebuild. It is not like 0.93.3 which could take ages to build, it should only take ~20 minutes, maybe an hour at most. If the progress bar doesn't move, then usually that means that ArmoryDB did not start.
hero member
Activity: 894
Merit: 501
November 05, 2016, 03:06:03 PM
#12
Hey, I really didn't mean to cause offence. I was naturally expressing how I was freaking out because I can't get hold of my savings. I think that stating that there are bugs by calling it buggy isn't out of line. I've run out of time now, as I'm going away for a few weeks, so will have to have another crack at it when I return. When I do, I'll certainly be only too happy to use the luxury of time to actually do proper bug reports.

I really appreciate the help I've had on here. Carlton, to my mind there's no need to try to get me excluded now. We're making headway here, and I'm sure that the continuation of this thread could be beneficial to others.

Anyway, I'll leave with a final question. How reverse compatible might Armory be? I was wondering whether anyone has had more success in retrieving their savings by running an older version. The one I originally used seemed flawless as far as I can remember. Or would it not work with recent updates to bitcoin core etc?
legendary
Activity: 3430
Merit: 3071
November 05, 2016, 01:14:53 PM
#11
Indeed, positive help with identifying or fixing bugs is very welcome, but repeating this line of "thank you very much for all your help with your buggy software" is too negative.

I don't understand why anyone would expect someone to actually help them, does that behaviour ever work in any situation? Huh I understand these problems can be frustrating when your own money is involved, therefore, all the more reason to behave with common decency towards those you seek help from.
staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
November 05, 2016, 01:00:28 PM
#10
This time the port was clear and ArmoryDB was not running, but after a few minutes I got,

The DB has returned the following error:
DB version mismatch. Use another dbdir!
Armory will now shutdown
Delete ~/.armory/databases and try again.

I'm going to see if I can import my walled private keys rather than continue down this bug ridden armory route.
Do you realize that there is only one full time developer on Armory, with the occasional contribution from some other people (including myself)? Testing is very hard to do with such a limited amount of man power, so of course there will be bugs. We have worked to address all the bugs that come up, but very few people actually help us test and we can't possible hit every single edge case that people somehow come up with.
legendary
Activity: 3430
Merit: 3071
November 05, 2016, 12:49:51 PM
#9
I'm going to see if I can import my walled private keys rather than continue down this bug ridden armory route. If I fail at that, I'll be back for more please helps! Thanks again achow101

Can I ask that no-one helps people that (even indirectly) insult the efforts of the developers? These threads should be left to die IMO. To turn up here expecting high-level assistance with sophisticated software, simultaneously insulting the efforts of volunteer programmers is the height of bad manners.

If one doesn't understand that Open Source software means the user needs to take more responsibility for themselves, then it is one's own approach that is at fault, not that of the developers.
hero member
Activity: 894
Merit: 501
November 05, 2016, 11:13:35 AM
#8
Thanks. OK, I stopped armory and then using System Monitor, stopped ArmoryDB which was running in the background, used
Code:
sudo kill `sudo lsof -t -i:9001`
after finding from
Code:
sudo lsof -t -i:9001
that ArmoryDB was using port 9001, and started again.

This time the port was clear and ArmoryDB was not running, but after a few minutes I got,

The DB has returned the following error:
DB version mismatch. Use another dbdir!
Armory will now shutdown

I'm going to see if I can import my walled private keys rather than continue down this bug ridden armory route. If I fail at that, I'll be back for more please helps! Thanks again achow101
staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
November 05, 2016, 09:11:21 AM
#7
It seems to be slower than 0.94.

It synchronised with the network in a few seconds, but has made no notable progress on 'Build Databases' and 'Scan Transaction History' in two hours. Oddly, the 'Scan Transaction History' on 0% says, '1 second'.

I think I'm going to have to figure out how to extract my private keys from the wallets to import into BitcoinQt.
Stop Armory. Make sure that there is no process running named ArmoryDB. Make sure that nothing is using port 9001. Then try again.

What happened was that the backend database engine failed to start.
hero member
Activity: 894
Merit: 501
November 05, 2016, 08:43:26 AM
#6
It seems to be slower than 0.94.

It synchronised with the network in a few seconds, but has made no notable progress on 'Build Databases' and 'Scan Transaction History' in two hours. Oddly, the 'Scan Transaction History' on 0% says, '1 second'.

I think I'm going to have to figure out how to extract my private keys from the wallets to import into BitcoinQt.
hero member
Activity: 894
Merit: 501
November 05, 2016, 05:44:48 AM
#5
Well you will need to delete the databases folder inside ~/.armory since the database format has changed. Luckily the new databases are much faster than the old one so it will go much faster.

are you saying I'll have to run it from scratch again? Even if it's faster, I imagine it will take days (edit: OK, many hours) nonetheless.

God I can't wait to see the back of this.

By the way, thanks achow101 for your help. it's running again, so hopefully the wallets are still full!
staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
November 04, 2016, 07:51:02 PM
#4
I saw from the 'Armory 0.95 is out' thread that allot of people were having problems so I've been sticking with 0.94.1. I'll try it though. Um, I couldn't find installation instructions

Code:
sudo apt-get install armory_0.95.1_amd64.deb

won't do it.
0.95.1 fixes 0.95 issues (which were mostly windows only). The command to install should be
Code:
dpkg -i armory_0.95.1_amd64.deb

At least I have my formed wallets, which had taken weeks to achieve. I'll have to redo one of them as it kept telling me that I had the wrong password for it, but I'll be trying to import the wallets into Bitcoin-Qt as soon as it has caught up with the blockchain.
Well you will need to delete the databases folder inside ~/.armory since the database format has changed. Luckily the new databases are much faster than the old one so it will go much faster.
hero member
Activity: 894
Merit: 501
November 04, 2016, 07:37:27 PM
#3
I saw from the 'Armory 0.95 is out' thread that allot of people were having problems so I've been sticking with 0.94.1. I'll try it though. Um, I couldn't find installation instructions

Code:
sudo apt-get install armory_0.95.1_amd64.deb

won't do it.



here's the last section of the log file:
Code:
Transaction:
   TxHash:    45f5624a0b6474fba97177595007b28bca66d974219cae18bcda78a20b443f70 (BE)
   Version:   1
   nInputs:   1
   nOutputs:  2
   LockTime:  0
   Inputs:
      PyTxIn:
         PrevTxHash: e1f8a259a2e20ff3da6a5f48d9fac644c3afce59fb424c5fcf377c1811ac4c07 (BE)
         TxOutIndex: 1
         Script:     (47304402201460221ca3d090b1a57edfc6af0f285966f57108884abfa5f5c568)
         Sender:     1B3NNgbFbbXEmXdRzMxNXac5nRJxvRGxeJ
         Seq:        4294967295
   Outputs:
      TxOut:
         Value:   10000000 (0.1)
         Script:  OP_HASH160 (3AZHVqAd4j6XiSQhb6A3UwdmkZc8kGxJaF) OP_EQUAL
      TxOut:
         Value:   3489990000 (34.8999)
         Script:  OP_DUP OP_HASH160 (16pJeN4n64X4nVnGK9APyv5nNcDdPXhtGC) OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG

2016-11-04 17:48 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:3708 - Sending Tx, 703f440ba278dabc18ae9c2174d966ca8bb20750597771a9fb74640b4a62f545
2016-11-04 17:48 (INFO) -- Networking.py:279 - sendTx called...
2016-11-04 17:48 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:3710 - Transaction sent to Satoshi client...!
2016-11-04 17:48 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:6584 - Bitcoins Sent!
Amount:  0.1001 BTC
From:    Wallet "Restored - 2WuWWukLP" (2WuWWukLP)
To:      3AZHVqAd4j6XiSQhb6A3UwdmkZc8kGxJaF
2016-11-04 17:54 (INFO) -- TxFrames.py:720 - Change address behavior: NewAddr
2016-11-04 18:00 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:6163 - New Block! : 437345
2016-11-04 18:00 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:6171 - Current block number: 437345
2016-11-04 18:00 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:6685 - BDM is safe for clean shutdown
2016-11-04 18:00 (INFO) -- SDM.py:683 - Called stopBitcoind
2016-11-04 18:00 (ERROR) -- SDM.py:894 - generic error
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/armory/SDM.py", line 859, in __backgroundRequestTopBlock
  File "/usr/lib/armory/bitcoinrpc_jsonrpc/authproxy.py", line 97, in __call__
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 1051, in getresponse
    response.begin()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 415, in begin
    version, status, reason = self._read_status()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 379, in _read_status
    raise BadStatusLine(line)
BadStatusLine: ''
2016-11-04 18:00 (ERROR) -- ArmoryUtils.py:3168 - Error in pybkgdthread: ''
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/armory/armoryengine/ArmoryUtils.py", line 3166, in run
  File "/usr/lib/armory/armoryengine/ArmoryUtils.py", line 3103, in funcPartial
  File "/usr/lib/armory/SDM.py", line 859, in __backgroundRequestTopBlock
  File "/usr/lib/armory/bitcoinrpc_jsonrpc/authproxy.py", line 97, in __call__
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 1051, in getresponse
    response.begin()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 415, in begin
    version, status, reason = self._read_status()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 379, in _read_status
    raise BadStatusLine(line)
BadStatusLine: ''
2016-11-04 18:00 (ERROR) -- Networking.py:350 - ***Connection to Satoshi client LOST!  Attempting to reconnect...
2016-11-04 18:00 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:6727 - Attempting to close the main window!



At least I have my formed wallets, which had taken weeks to achieve. I'll have to redo one of them as it kept telling me that I had the wrong password for it, but I'll be trying to import the wallets into Bitcoin-Qt as soon as it has caught up with the blockchain.

In the mean time, I'm still quite disconcerted as to why armory got uninstalled. I uninstalled electrum while armory was running, but really wouldn't have expected it to somehow remove armory, yet let it keep running


staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
November 04, 2016, 03:06:13 PM
#2
IIRC the correct command for armory should be ArmoryQt.

What version of Armory are you running? If you are not running 0.95.1, you should upgrade to it. You can get it from https://btcarmory.com/0.95.1-release/

Can you also post your log file?
hero member
Activity: 894
Merit: 501
November 04, 2016, 02:42:11 PM
#1
I've been trying to take my coins out of cold storage for the last few days. I found that it takes about 8 hours of scanning for each retrieved wallet, except when you shit it down then restart, in which case it takes about 8 hours of scanning, but without scanning all the wallets one by one, so much less slow. That's just a wee bug I guess.

Here's the really infuriating stuff: I had finally managed to have my wallets fully loaded and scanned, and showing their correct contents. All good. I then did a small test transaction, sending 0.1BTC to my Bitstamp account. Looking good, so I went to sent the maximum by pressing the 'MAX' button and I got a pop up saying something along the lines of, 'due to a thing about how bitcoin works, this transaction has not worked'. I can't get the correct accurate wording because after repeatedly trying again to just get this weird pop up every time, I decided to shut down armory and start it again, and I get, "armory: command not found". So I do a search and it's gone entirely from the computer! Only the .armory folder remains.

There were many other very annoying bug-like glitches I can't remember well enough, but it's been a real headache.

Why would armory self delete? Have I been hacked? I'm very careful with this Ubuntu 14.04LTS machine, always using VPN (Nord) and only ever connecting to Bitstamp, Poloniex, Blockchaininfo, bitcoinwisdom, nordvpn.com, ans the electrum and armory sites.
Jump to: