Author

Topic: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error" (Read 4443 times)

member
Activity: 72
Merit: 10
I am not sure what it means, "invalid nonce"? The word "nonce" suggests this is a message that I can ignore, but perhaps it is a specific term in bitcoin?

Notice the "HW: 180" on this line of the cgminer output:

Code:
GPU 0:                | 215.9M/222.4Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:180 U:0.00/m I: 4

This indicates that you're getting quite a lot of hardware errors which is what the "invalid nonce" errors are about. There are three things that generally cause hardware errors:

1. Incorrect thread-concurrency setting. If your thread-concurrency is set too high or too low, hardware errors can result. Solution: Find your GPU here: https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/wiki/Mining-hardware-comparison and adopt a thread-concurrency that is known to work.
2. The GPU is overclocked or undervolted too much. Solution: Reset your card back to default clockspeeds and voltages; use this as a starting point.
3. The GPU is damaged or defective (unlikely). Solution: RMA the card or order a replacement Sad

My best guess is that your thread-concurrency is simply set to an incorrect value. Seek out some good cgminer settings for your particular GPU at the github page linked above.

I've passed the invalid nonce error, now I've got some -5 error or something. I just want to mine litecoin!

This is a bit of a shot in the dark but if you're getting the error that I think you might be getting you need to run this command before starting cgminer:

Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

or, on Linux:

Code:
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

Hopefully you can get up and running as soon as possible, good luck!
newbie
Activity: 19
Merit: 0
I had thesame under Win 7 when connect by remote control. My all 4 GPU says like that. When connect via teamviewer all is OK.
legendary
Activity: 882
Merit: 1000
post your specs, maybe i can help while i'm still roaming about.
sr. member
Activity: 251
Merit: 250
I've passed the invalid nonce error, now I've got some -5 error or something. I just want to mine litecoin! Sad

So Phoenix you think?
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
Ive had a the same issue.    I'm using reaper with the mining proxy.   Seems to work.

Wanting to try Pheonix but cant figure out how to set it up.

Can someone post some config help?
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
Does it work with other miners?
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
What GPU are you using?
To be able to run at optimal hashrate, CGminer needs to know how many shaders your GPU will be using.
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
Try others miners, phoenix help me.
sr. member
Activity: 251
Merit: 250
I'm having the same problem with a single 7970 tried installing new drivers etc, no such luck, seems there's no easy fix?
member
Activity: 108
Merit: 10
Free Dog to good home
Try adjusting your GPU Engine and or memory speeds. Do it from within CGMiner.. use to adjust GPU and then hange settings.. from there Engine and Memory.. adjust to within recommended settings and let it run for 30 secs before doing more. Once you have it right, you shouldn't get the nonce errors.
Hope this helps.

Torn.
newbie
Activity: 50
Merit: 0
I'm having the same problem with a pair of 5870 cards.

Did you ever find a resolution?
sr. member
Activity: 313
Merit: 250
I am not sure what it means, "invalid nonce"? The word "nonce" suggests this is a message that I can ignore, but perhaps it is a specific term in bitcoin?

Code:
cgminer version 2.11.4 - Started: [2013-04-14 09:20:36]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):218.1M (avg):222.1Mh/s | A:0  R:0  HW:180  U:0.0/m  WU:2.8/m
 ST: 4  SS: 0  NB: 6  LW: 0  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to localhost diff 7.67M without LP as user un
 Block: 00c6aa8eb9fde2e0...  Diff:7.67M  Started: [10:18:18]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | 215.9M/222.4Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:180 U:0.00/m I: 4
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-04-14 10:09:51] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:12] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:24] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:32] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:40] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:46] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:49] New block detected on network
 [2013-04-14 10:11:34] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:11:42] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
...

Using Ubuntu Linux 12.10.

Jump to: