Author

Topic: Fee estimation failed. Fallbackfee is disabled. Wait a few blocks or enable (Read 378 times)

legendary
Activity: 1946
Merit: 1427
OMG i tried it with the custom setting (0,0003) and it worked !!! thanks so much !!
I'd suggest lowering it a bit more though because 0.0003 might still be a bit excessive to pay per kB..
(Or not?)


https://bitcoinfees.earn.com says the fastest cheapest right now is:
Quote
The fastest and cheapest transaction fee is currently 72 satoshis/byte, shown in green at the top.

So if you want to get your tx'd confirmed the fastest you should probably use ~
Code:
fallbackfee=0.00072

Doesn't really matter though.
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
OMG i tried it with the custom setting (0,0003) and it worked !!! thanks so much !!
legendary
Activity: 3038
Merit: 4418
Crypto Swap Exchange

Add the contents inside the bitcoin.conf but without the numbers and the spaces before the "fallbackfees".

The only code you should include is:
Code:
fallbackfee=0.0003

Is there a problem with using a custom fee? It would be less complicated if you were to set your own custom fee in the other field.
legendary
Activity: 1946
Merit: 1427
i copied the bitcoin-conf from D:\Bitcoin\doc to C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin. In both are only fallbackfee=0.0002 . still error
Try to not copy anything maybe?

Navigate to
Code:
C:\Users\xx\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin

Open vs, or whatever text editor you use.

-> create new file,
-> name bitcoin.conf
->
Code:
fallbackfee=0.0002


I used 0.003BTC, but you get the idea.


I'm not entirely sure if setting a fallback fee will actually solve your problem, but i guess we'll see.
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0

Doesn't look good. skip a line and try again.

Or delete all the other commands listed there, as you don't need them, and i'm pretty sure they're #'d. (testnet=1 can't be right..)

edit: you're editing a doc file.

Bitcoin.conf is located, or rather, should be created:
Code: (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin)
Operating System Default bitcoin datadir Typical path to configuration file
Windows %APPDATA%\Bitcoin\ C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf

[/quote]

i copied the bitcoin-conf from D:\Bitcoin\doc to C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin. In both are only fallbackfee=0.0002 . still error
legendary
Activity: 1946
Merit: 1427




Doesn't look good. skip a line and try again.

Or delete all the other commands listed there, as you don't need them, and i'm pretty sure they're #'d. (testnet=1 can't be right..)

edit: you're editing a doc file.

Bitcoin.conf is located, or rather, should be created:
Code: (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin)
Operating System Default bitcoin datadir Typical path to configuration file
Windows %APPDATA%\Bitcoin\ C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf
Linux $HOME/.bitcoin/ /home/username/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
Mac OSX $HOME/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/ /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
i opened bitcoin.conf with the editor and edit:

..."can be used to include additional configuration files.
 -fallbackfee=0.0002" nothing changed
You need to do it without the dash (no -). It should just be

Code:
fallbackfee=0.0002

Then restart bitcoin-qt. The config file is only loaded at start, so you need to restart.
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
i opened bitcoin.conf with the editor and edit:

..."can be used to include additional configuration files.
 -fallbackfee=0.0002" nothing changed

how can i open the bitcoin-qt with the bitcoin.config  Huh

i could post some screenshot if it helps
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
im using only bitcoin-qt console.

there is no command of fallbackfee
-fallbackfee is not a command. It is a configuration option that you add either to your bitcoin.conf file or you start bitcoin-qt with it.
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
im using only bitcoin-qt console.

there is no command of fallbackfee


meanwhile:
getwalletinfo ->  "paytxfee": 0.00000000,


05:05:40

settxfee 0.0002


05:05:40

true



->send
transaction fee 0,00020000 BTC/kb Warning: Fee estimation is currently not possible
legendary
Activity: 2534
Merit: 6080
Self-proclaimed Genius
Method not found (code -32601)
From the same thread linked in BitMaxz' post: Re: Fee estimation failed. Fallbackfee is disabled....
You need to open bitcoin-qt or bitcoind, not bitcoin core gui's console.
T/N: If you set it to 0.0002, it will set the tx fee to 20sat/byte if the fee estimation still failed.

Or as the error said, "wait a few blocks" as your node must be a few blocks away.
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
04:35:30

Executing command using "" wallet


04:35:30

-fallbackfee=0.0002


04:35:30

Method not found (code -32601)

i have already reinstalled bitcoin core, downloaded the blockchain and inserted the wallet. always the same error message. is my wallet.dat broken ?
legendary
Activity: 3374
Merit: 3095
BTC price road to $80k
You must put a fee in order to use the -fallbackfee it should be like this -fallbackfee= or this sample below.

Code:
-fallbackfee=0.0002

0.0002 is a default fee according to this https://manpages.debian.org/experimental/bitcoin-qt/bitcoin-qt.1.en.html

I don't how did you get the error but according to this below.

Sometimes, it is not possible to give good estimates, or an estimate at all. Therefore, a fallback value can be set with `-fallbackfee=` (default: `0.0002` BTC/kB).
Found this post from here https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.48597125
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
i get this msg when i try to sent BTC. Please, help me

i tried -fallbackfee in the console but i got "
04:10:26

Method not found (code -32601)
"

I'm using Bitcoin Core
Jump to: