Author

Topic: [ Fixed ] Problem on Ubuntu (Read 4788 times)

newbie
Activity: 35
Merit: 0
October 12, 2015, 02:37:09 PM
#39
In the end, it seems to me like downloading a precompiled binary might have been a good match for this user's level of experience and pluck.

When downloading a precompiled binary, it's also a good practice to perform checksums.
legendary
Activity: 1456
Merit: 1081
I may write code in exchange for bitcoins.
October 12, 2015, 02:09:22 PM
#38
The problem hardcoresuperstar had is not a problem with the ppa, but a problem with his install of Ubuntu. At some point during the installation or during use, something happened that misconfigured something so that he gets all of those dependency errors.

Right, and usually you can, if you're a glutton for punishment, drill down into those errors and find out exactly what packages are preventing each other from installing, but in this case harcoresuperstar wasn't really advanced enough to do this.  In the end, it seems to me like downloading a precompiled binary might have been a good match for this user's level of experience and pluck.
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
October 10, 2015, 10:31:31 AM
#37
I wonder if that particular ppa isn't updated very often, if that's why the dependencies couldn't be installed (perhaps because newer versions are already installed on your system or something along those lines).  Anyway, I'm glad you got it figured out.

I personally performed a clean Ubuntu 15.04 installation. Then, I replicated the same steps that HardcoreSuperstar did, and I did not have that dependencies problems.
The PPA is updated in each bitcoin-qt revision, If I'm not confused.

I would like to know if you are able to install any other package:
Try doing: apt-get install - (for example: apt-get install build-essential)
Because this problem might not be PPA or bitcoin-qt-package related, but I misconfiguration in Ubuntu and the package manager itself.

Do this if you would like to further continue diagnosing.
The problem hardcoresuperstar had is not a problem with the ppa, but a problem with his install of Ubuntu. At some point during the installation or during use, something happened that misconfigured something so that he gets all of those dependency errors.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 10, 2015, 09:00:06 AM
#36
I wonder if that particular ppa isn't updated very often, if that's why the dependencies couldn't be installed (perhaps because newer versions are already installed on your system or something along those lines).  Anyway, I'm glad you got it figured out.

I personally performed a clean Ubuntu 15.04 installation. Then, I replicated the same steps that HardcoreSuperstar did, and I did not have that dependencies problems.
The PPA is updated in each bitcoin-qt revision, If I'm not confused.

I would like to know if you are able to install any other package:
Try doing: apt-get install - (for example: apt-get install build-essential)
Because this problem might not be PPA or bitcoin-qt-package related, but I misconfiguration in Ubuntu and the package manager itself.

Do this if you would like to further continue diagnosing.

Yes, I can install build-essential.
newbie
Activity: 35
Merit: 0
October 10, 2015, 04:52:17 AM
#35
I wonder if that particular ppa isn't updated very often, if that's why the dependencies couldn't be installed (perhaps because newer versions are already installed on your system or something along those lines).  Anyway, I'm glad you got it figured out.

I personally performed a clean Ubuntu 15.04 installation. Then, I replicated the same steps that HardcoreSuperstar did, and I did not have that dependencies problems.
The PPA is updated in each bitcoin-qt revision, If I'm not confused.

I would like to know if you are able to install any other package:
Try doing: apt-get install - (for example: apt-get install build-essential)
Because this problem might not be PPA or bitcoin-qt-package related, but I misconfiguration in Ubuntu and the package manager itself.

Do this if you would like to further continue diagnosing.
legendary
Activity: 1456
Merit: 1081
I may write code in exchange for bitcoins.
October 09, 2015, 07:04:08 PM
#34
Yes, I downloaded the precompiled binaries from bitcoin.org, extracted the tarball and then opened bitcoin-qt by the terminal.
The procedure described here didn't work.
I wonder if that particular ppa isn't updated very often, if that's why the dependencies couldn't be installed (perhaps because newer versions are already installed on your system or something along those lines).  Anyway, I'm glad you got it figured out.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
October 09, 2015, 03:40:12 PM
#32
You can tip me at 16mT7jrpkjnJBD7a3TM2awyxHub58H6r6Z
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 09, 2015, 03:31:48 PM
#31
I'm glad to see that you got it working.  In the end, you just downloaded the precompiled binaries?

If you can't install from source just download the binaries from bitcoin.org. They work out of the box. Just extract the tarball and run.


Ok. I have downloaded it from bitcoin.org and then extracted the tarball. But which application do I need to run the bitcoin-qt file? I am trying with Ubuntu Software Center but I get an error message  Angry
Open up a terminal in the bin folder and run the following commands
Code:
chmod +x bitcoin-qt
./bitcoin-qt
Every time you want to run bitcoin at, you need to use the second command. Don't close the terminal while the program is running.

Thank you very much Abdussamad and knightdk!
Now it works  Grin

I would like to make a donation to both of you to thank you for your patience and help.

Please send me a PM or reply under this post writing your addresses.
I am gonna make it as soon as possible.


Yes, I downloaded the precompiled binaries from bitcoin.org, extracted the tarball and then opened bitcoin-qt by the terminal.
The procedure described here didn't work.
legendary
Activity: 1456
Merit: 1081
I may write code in exchange for bitcoins.
October 09, 2015, 03:21:58 PM
#30
I'm glad to see that you got it working.  In the end, you just downloaded the precompiled binaries?

If you can't install from source just download the binaries from bitcoin.org. They work out of the box. Just extract the tarball and run.


Ok. I have downloaded it from bitcoin.org and then extracted the tarball. But which application do I need to run the bitcoin-qt file? I am trying with Ubuntu Software Center but I get an error message  Angry
Open up a terminal in the bin folder and run the following commands
Code:
chmod +x bitcoin-qt
./bitcoin-qt
Every time you want to run bitcoin at, you need to use the second command. Don't close the terminal while the program is running.

Thank you very much Abdussamad and knightdk!
Now it works  Grin

I would like to make a donation to both of you to thank you for your patience and help.

Please send me a PM or reply under this post writing your addresses.
I am gonna make it as soon as possible.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 09, 2015, 02:39:24 PM
#29
If you can't install from source just download the binaries from bitcoin.org. They work out of the box. Just extract the tarball and run.


Ok. I have downloaded it from bitcoin.org and then extracted the tarball. But which application do I need to run the bitcoin-qt file? I am trying with Ubuntu Software Center but I get an error message  Angry
Open up a terminal in the bin folder and run the following commands
Code:
chmod +x bitcoin-qt
./bitcoin-qt
Every time you want to run bitcoin at, you need to use the second command. Don't close the terminal while the program is running.

Thank you very much Abdussamad and knightdk!
Now it works  Grin

I would like to make a donation to both of you to thank you for your patience and help.

Please send me a PM or reply under this post writing your addresses.
I am gonna make it as soon as possible.
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
October 09, 2015, 08:50:10 AM
#28
If you can't install from source just download the binaries from bitcoin.org. They work out of the box. Just extract the tarball and run.


Ok. I have downloaded it from bitcoin.org and then extracted the tarball. But which application do I need to run the bitcoin-qt file? I am trying with Ubuntu Software Center but I get an error message  Angry
Open up a terminal in the bin folder and run the following commands
Code:
chmod +x bitcoin-qt
./bitcoin-qt
Every time you want to run bitcoin at, you need to use the second command. Don't close the terminal while the program is running.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 09, 2015, 05:44:20 AM
#27
If you can't install from source just download the binaries from bitcoin.org. They work out of the box. Just extract the tarball and run.


Ok. I have downloaded it from bitcoin.org and then extracted the tarball. But which application do I need to run the bitcoin-qt file? I am trying with Ubuntu Software Center but I get an error message  Angry
newbie
Activity: 35
Merit: 0
October 09, 2015, 02:18:30 AM
#26
I've reproduced the same steps you took in a Ubuntu 15.04 Virtual Machine.

The installation was successful and the package manager resolved the dependencies automatically.

That's why I asked: Are you using a clean Ubuntu installation? Or, on the other hand, this machine did already have Ubuntu installed along with other packages which could have caused the holding broken packages error?

Take a look at:
Official Ubuntu Documentation on broken packages: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SynapticHowto#How_to_fix_broken_packages
http://askubuntu.com/questions/223237/unable-to-correct-problems-you-have-held-broken-packages
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2113213
legendary
Activity: 1456
Merit: 1081
I may write code in exchange for bitcoins.
October 09, 2015, 01:38:33 AM
#25
I haven't used Ubuntu in a while but debian is my normal OS, which is similar.  Anyway, it'd be helpful if you could cut-n-paste the entire terminal sessions to either a pastebin or to this forum when requesting these kinds of help.  Oftentimes, someone who's very familiar with how the system works will see a specific detail if you post the sessions rather than just saying "it's the same message".  In any case, I'd consider ditching that PPA and just building from source.  On debian I'd get the source version of that bitcoin package and then do builddep to install dependencies.  After that you just make && make install.

Let us see some sessions, please!


Thank you for your reply.
Here is a complete terminal session: http://pastebin.com/7zeuZHHM

I just followed the instructions contained in this website: http://www.distrogeeks.com/install-bitcoin-qt-ubuntu/

Yes, I did take a closer look at your session.  I've run into this problem on debian in the past and usually it's resolved by using dpkg to do the configure step by hand, as knightdk had suggested.  If I were you, I'd look more closely at *why* the packages which is says "cannot be installed" cannot be installed.   Perhaps you get that info with "apt-get install -f"?  I can't recall at the moment.
legendary
Activity: 3696
Merit: 1584
October 08, 2015, 07:13:42 AM
#24
If you can't install from source just download the binaries from bitcoin.org. They work out of the box. Just extract the tarball and run.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 07, 2015, 02:41:32 AM
#23
I haven't used Ubuntu in a while but debian is my normal OS, which is similar.  Anyway, it'd be helpful if you could cut-n-paste the entire terminal sessions to either a pastebin or to this forum when requesting these kinds of help.  Oftentimes, someone who's very familiar with how the system works will see a specific detail if you post the sessions rather than just saying "it's the same message".  In any case, I'd consider ditching that PPA and just building from source.  On debian I'd get the source version of that bitcoin package and then do builddep to install dependencies.  After that you just make && make install.

Let us see some sessions, please!


Thank you for your reply.
Here is a complete terminal session: http://pastebin.com/7zeuZHHM

I just followed the instructions contained in this website: http://www.distrogeeks.com/install-bitcoin-qt-ubuntu/
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 07, 2015, 02:35:27 AM
#22
Thank you knight, but it still doesn't work.
The same message is displayed.
Ok...
 
Try
Code:
sudo apt-get -u dist-upgrade
And post the output of the running the command.


Code:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Calculating upgrade... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.



sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
October 06, 2015, 06:38:21 PM
#21
Get a Mac.

UBUNTU SUCKS!

That was not a very helpful response.
newbie
Activity: 35
Merit: 0
October 06, 2015, 04:36:52 PM
#20
In any case, I'd consider ditching that PPA and just building from source.  On debian I'd get the source version of that bitcoin package and then do builddep to install dependencies.  After that you just make && make install.

+1

It's not hard to compile bitcoin-qt from source. Anyway, he/she will need to have the dependencies installed as well.

Is that a clean Ubuntu installation? Have you already installed other packages in there?
legendary
Activity: 1456
Merit: 1081
I may write code in exchange for bitcoins.
October 06, 2015, 03:39:18 PM
#19
I haven't used Ubuntu in a while but debian is my normal OS, which is similar.  Anyway, it'd be helpful if you could cut-n-paste the entire terminal sessions to either a pastebin or to this forum when requesting these kinds of help.  Oftentimes, someone who's very familiar with how the system works will see a specific detail if you post the sessions rather than just saying "it's the same message".  In any case, I'd consider ditching that PPA and just building from source.  On debian I'd get the source version of that bitcoin package and then do builddep to install dependencies.  After that you just make && make install.

Let us see some sessions, please!
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
October 06, 2015, 03:38:07 PM
#18
Thank you knight, but it still doesn't work.
The same message is displayed.
Ok...
 
Try
Code:
sudo apt-get -u dist-upgrade
And post the output of the running the command.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 06, 2015, 03:32:10 PM
#17
try doing
Code:
sudo apt-get clean

If that doesn't work try also doing
Code:
sudo apt-get -f install
sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo apt-get -f install
(yes run the same command twice)


Thank you knight, but it still doesn't work.
The same message is displayed.
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
October 06, 2015, 03:21:11 PM
#16
try doing
Code:
sudo apt-get clean

If that doesn't work try also doing
Code:
sudo apt-get -f install
sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo apt-get -f install
(yes run the same command twice)
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 06, 2015, 03:18:17 PM
#15
did you try update, upgrade, and autoclean that I suggested above?

Also try removing everything again. uninstall bitcoin-qt and libboost, just to make sure they are gone.


Yes, I did update, upgrade and autoclean.
I also  tried to re-install bitcoin-qt again, but  it's not working.  Angry
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
October 06, 2015, 03:06:18 PM
#14
did you try update, upgrade, and autoclean that I suggested above?

Also try removing everything again. uninstall bitcoin-qt and libboost, just to make sure they are gone.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 06, 2015, 03:02:32 PM
#13
try doing install with aptitude instead of apt-get. Just replace all of the apt-gets with aptitude in the commands.


When I try to install aptitude this is what it says:

Code:
Package aptitude is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
October 06, 2015, 02:55:39 PM
#12
try doing install with aptitude instead of apt-get. Just replace all of the apt-gets with aptitude in the commands.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 06, 2015, 02:50:23 PM
#11


Try just
Code:
sudo apt-get install libboost-all-dev



This is what I get after running this command:


Code:
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 libboost-all-dev : Depends: libboost-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-tools-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-atomic-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-chrono-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-context-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-coroutine-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-date-time-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-exception-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-filesystem-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-graph-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-graph-parallel-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-iostreams-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-locale-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-log-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-math-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-mpi-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-mpi-python-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-program-options-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-python-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-random-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-regex-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-serialization-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-signals-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-system-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-test-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-thread-dev but it is not installable
                    Depends: libboost-timer-dev but it is not going to be installed
                    Depends: libboost-wave-dev but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
October 06, 2015, 02:44:24 PM
#10

The last solution which should work is to install those dependencies manually.
use:
Code:
sudo apt-get install libboost-chrono1.55.0 libboost-program-options1.55.0 libboost-thread1.55.0 libqrencode3


I've just tried to install these dependencies, but this is what I get:

Code:
Package libboost-thread1.55.0 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

Package libboost-program-options1.55.0 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

Package libboost-chrono1.55.0 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

E: Package 'libboost-chrono1.55.0' has no installation candidate
E: Package 'libboost-program-options1.55.0' has no installation candidate
E: Package 'libboost-thread1.55.0' has no installation candidate

Try just
Code:
sudo apt-get install libboost-all-dev
then install bitcoinqt
sr. member
Activity: 294
Merit: 250
October 06, 2015, 02:43:32 PM
#9
Get a Mac.

UBUNTU SUCKS!
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 06, 2015, 02:36:39 PM
#8

The last solution which should work is to install those dependencies manually.
use:
Code:
sudo apt-get install libboost-chrono1.55.0 libboost-program-options1.55.0 libboost-thread1.55.0 libqrencode3


I've just tried to install these dependencies, but this is what I get:

Code:
Package libboost-thread1.55.0 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

Package libboost-program-options1.55.0 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

Package libboost-chrono1.55.0 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

E: Package 'libboost-chrono1.55.0' has no installation candidate
E: Package 'libboost-program-options1.55.0' has no installation candidate
E: Package 'libboost-thread1.55.0' has no installation candidate
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
October 06, 2015, 02:28:03 PM
#7
Try these commands:

Code:
sudo apt-get update
Code:
sudo apt-get upgrade

And then installing

You can also try
Code:
sudo apt-get autoclean

before installing.

The last solution which should work is to install those dependencies manually.
use:
Code:
sudo apt-get install libboost-chrono1.55.0 libboost-program-options1.55.0 libboost-thread1.55.0 libqrencode3
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 06, 2015, 02:15:51 PM
#6
Please, explain how you are trying to install it. Source code? PPA? .tgz? I'd say you have already added Ubuntu PPA and you have run apt-get install bitcoin-qt, is this correct?
You are installing on Ubuntu 15.04, right?

I'm going to replicate your issue on a virtual machine and I will let you know how I have solved it, but I will need to know where you are and how you got there.


Thank you very much for your help! If anyone solves this problem, I'm gonna send a tip to him.


Anyway, you guessed it right.

I've already added Ubuntu PPA using this command: 
Code:
sudo apt-add-repository -y ppa:bitcoin/bitcoin

Then I updated Ubuntu's software package lists, using the following command:
Code:
sudo apt-get -qq update

And finally I tried to install bitcoin-qt using the following command:
Code:
sudo apt-get install -y bitcoin-qt


Then I get the message I already wrote in the previous post and it cannot install the client.
I am installing the wallet on Ubuntu 15.04, 64-bit.
newbie
Activity: 35
Merit: 0
October 06, 2015, 09:54:05 AM
#5
Please, explain how you are trying to install it. Source code? PPA? .tgz? I'd say you have already added Ubuntu PPA and you have run apt-get install bitcoin-qt, is this correct?
You are installing on Ubuntu 15.04, right?

I'm going to replicate your issue on a virtual machine and I will let you know how I have solved it, but I will need to know where you are and how you got there.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 06, 2015, 01:33:18 AM
#4
Use the command
Code:
sudo apt-get -f install


I get the same message:


Code:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 bitcoin-qt : Depends: libboost-chrono1.55.0 but it is not installable
              Depends: libboost-program-options1.55.0 but it is not installable
              Depends: libboost-thread1.55.0 but it is not installable
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
hero member
Activity: 910
Merit: 1000
October 05, 2015, 04:48:20 PM
#3
Do you only want to install from source code? There is an official Ubuntu PPA you might be able to study it to see what dependencies it installs.
staff
Activity: 3458
Merit: 6793
Just writing some code
October 05, 2015, 03:39:36 PM
#2
Use the command
Code:
sudo apt-get -f install
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
October 05, 2015, 03:27:30 PM
#1
I'm trying to install BItcoin-qt by the terminal, on the latest version of Ubuntu, but it doesn't install.

I see this message:



The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 bitcoin-qt : Depends: libboost-chrono1.55.0 but it is not installable
              Depends: libboost-program-options1.55.0 but it is not installable
              Depends: libboost-thread1.55.0 but it is not installable
              Depends: libqrencode3 (>= 3.2.0) but it is not installable
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.




How can I fix it?
Jump to: