Author

Topic: How to create Table with BBCode (Read 677 times)

hero member
Activity: 896
Merit: 584
BTC, a coin of today and tomorrow.
November 26, 2021, 08:42:06 AM
#12
How to fix the width of a cell?
Adding an (invisible) image under cell contents works.
I've used a white image for this example:
Title A
Title 2
UsernameAUsernameB

Code:
[table]
[tr][td]Title A
[img width=300 height=1]http://i64.tinypic.com/288z487.gif[/img][/td][td]Title 2
[img width=300 height=1]http://i64.tinypic.com/288z487.gif[/img][/td][/tr]
[tr][td]UsernameA[/td][td]UsernameB[/td][/tr]
[/table]

How to create table in HTML is beautiful than here. If you use Bbcode you will not get table head (th) with bold. All will be table data (td) and you will not have space. I have bin trying it but is not working. I now use this code which I also know in HTML.
Code:
[pre][/pre]
.
It help me to transfer the style I did it in MS word to this forum.
See it...


Quality     Bitcoin     Fiat
Centralized     No     Yes
Currency        Yes     Yes
Privacy         Yes     No

newbie
Activity: 165
Merit: 0
June 13, 2018, 06:42:23 AM
#11
I found a way to solve before, thanks for your idea  Wink

Code:
[table]
[tr][td]___________[/td][td]_______________[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]This way[/td][td]Works too :)[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]___________[/td][td]_______________[/td][/tr]
[/table]
legendary
Activity: 3290
Merit: 16489
Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021
June 13, 2018, 06:34:02 AM
#10
It's a good solution but unfortunately it's not applicable to my case, because of my rank  Sad
If you get a Copper membership, you can post images.
newbie
Activity: 165
Merit: 0
June 13, 2018, 06:27:14 AM
#9
It's a good solution but unfortunately it's not applicable to my case, because of my rank  Sad
legendary
Activity: 3290
Merit: 16489
Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021
June 13, 2018, 06:23:07 AM
#8
How to fix the width of a cell?
Adding an (invisible) image under cell contents works.
I've used a white image for this example:
Title A
Title 2
UsernameAUsernameB

Code:
[table]
[tr][td]Title A
[img width=300 height=1]http://i64.tinypic.com/288z487.gif[/img][/td][td]Title 2
[img width=300 height=1]http://i64.tinypic.com/288z487.gif[/img][/td][/tr]
[tr][td]UsernameA[/td][td]UsernameB[/td][/tr]
[/table]
newbie
Activity: 165
Merit: 0
June 13, 2018, 05:39:30 AM
#7
How to fix the width of a cell?
copper member
Activity: 630
Merit: 420
We are Bitcoin!
May 26, 2018, 01:27:36 PM
#6
Update: the above code works fine, but when I edit my post, the forum changed it into something much bigger:
Code:
[table][tr]
[td][table][tr][td]Username1[/td][/tr][tr][td]UsernameA[/td][/tr][/table][/td]
[td][table][tr][td]Username2[/td][/tr][tr][td]UsernameB[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
Now I'm confused why Tongue

Pretty simple.... The system restructure the code so that the machine understand the language.

table tag with one tr
Code:
[table]

[tr][/tr]

[/table]

First td
Code:
[td][table][tr][td]Username1[/td][/tr][tr][td]UsernameA[/td][/tr][/table][/td]

Second td
Code:
[td][table][tr][td]Username2[/td][/tr][tr][td]UsernameB[/td][/tr][/table][/td]

The main table is moving column wise left to right where in regular case a table can be imaginable moving raw wise top to bottom.

Hope now you get the change  Smiley

legendary
Activity: 3290
Merit: 16489
Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021
May 26, 2018, 11:36:19 AM
#5
Code:
We will create a table with 1 row in which there will be a column. Take a table code and inside the table create a row. Then inside the row, create a column.

[table]
[tr]
[td]Username[/td]
[/tr]
[/table]
Until now, this is indeed what I did. It can be pain staking to add a column, as the data is spread out through the code (example).
I only recently found out you can also have columns within rows instead of rows within columns.

Example:
Code:
[table]
[tr][td]Username1[/td][td]Username2[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]UsernameA[/td][td]UsernameB[/td][/tr]
[/table]
Looks like:
Username1Username2
UsernameAUsernameB

Code:
[table]
[td][tr]Username1[/tr][tr]UsernameA[/tr][/td]
[td][tr]Username2[/tr][tr]UsernameB[/tr][/td]
[/table]
Looks exactly the same:
Username1
UsernameA
Username2
UsernameB
Update: the above code works fine, but when I edit my post, the forum changed it into something much bigger:
Code:
[table][tr]
[td][table][tr][td]Username1[/td][/tr][tr][td]UsernameA[/td][/tr][/table][/td]
[td][table][tr][td]Username2[/td][/tr][tr][td]UsernameB[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
Now I'm confused why Tongue

By choosing the correct format based on your needs you make it easier for yourself later on.

Vertical borders
Use columns with just "|" to make vertical borders in or around your table (click for an example).
member
Activity: 205
Merit: 29
Love yourself.
May 26, 2018, 09:12:57 AM
#4
~
Good to see that you are trying to create good posts that is helpful to others but before creating a topic you really need to do a little Search (Click here) to check if the answer has already been given in anywhere in the forum.

Knowing about BBCode and learning it's use (archive): Thanks to roslinpl for the well presented topic.
I have shared the link above. Don't know whether you have noticed it or not.

You can check many examples of BB code in the "Help" of the forum -- here is the link:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=help;page=post#bbcref
Thanks. Generally I searched on google with "bitcointalk" tail. Didn't find a good one without the one mentioned above.
hero member
Activity: 536
Merit: 513
May 26, 2018, 08:45:16 AM
#3
You can check many examples of BB code in the "Help" of the forum -- here is the link:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=help;page=post#bbcref
copper member
Activity: 630
Merit: 420
We are Bitcoin!
May 26, 2018, 08:30:38 AM
#2
~
Good to see that you are trying to create good posts that is helpful to others but before creating a topic you really need to do a little Search (Click here) to check if the answer has already been given in anywhere in the forum.

Knowing about BBCode and learning it's use (archive): Thanks to roslinpl for the well presented topic.
member
Activity: 205
Merit: 29
Love yourself.
May 26, 2018, 06:33:51 AM
#1
Recently, I have created a thread where table was required for a better look of the post. As I am new, I had problem to create table. Googled it and got some tutorials from which I was able to create table. I also got a tutorial in Bitcointalk but that was not sufficient for me as i am newbie.
So, I decided to create a tutorial so that newbie can easily create table.

You will easily understand if you have a little knowledge in html.

What you need to know:
1. Each code start with [] and end with [/]. For example, table code start with
Code:
[table]
and end with
Code:
[/table]
.
2. Code for row "tr" and code for column "td"
3. All text will be located in between the starting and ending code.For example,
Code:
[table]username[/table]

Code:
We will create a table with 1 row in which there will be a column. Take a table code and inside the table create a row. Then inside the row, create a column.

[table]
[tr]
[td]Username[/td]
[/tr]
[/table]

So,if we want to put 3 row with 3 column, the code will be,
Code:
[table]
[color=red]This is the 1st row.[/color]
[tr]
[td]Name[/td]
[td]age[/td]
[td]year of birth[/td]
[/tr]
[color=red]This is the 2nd row[/color]
[tr]
[td]Alice[/td]
[td]20[/td]
[td]1998[/td]
[/tr]
[color=red]This is the 3rd row.[/color]
[tr]
[td]Bob[/td]
[td]21[/td]
[td]1997[/td]
[/tr]
[/table]

Preview of above code:
Nameageyear of birth
Alice201998
Bob211997

I hope it will help you a little bit. you can also use the code automatically. Have a look at the image below.

Jump to: