Author

Topic: How to set static/fixed fan speed for S9k/S9E/T17/S17pro,etc. (Read 651 times)

legendary
Activity: 2170
Merit: 6279
be constructive or S.T.F.U
Is there a way to automate this (a script maybe)?

I am not aware of any ready-to-use scripts, you can most certainly write your own using something like python, or you can hire someone to do it, it shouldn't cost much because it's pretty simple, of course, depending on what parameters you need to look at it could get more complicated, I mean, fans at 70% form 1pm to 5pm and then 40% for the rest of the day will be simple.

Having to read chips' temps and initiate a timer to trigger that function and switch the fan speed accordingly will be slightly more complicated.

With that being said, if you are using custom firmware you can always use something like Awesomeminer, they have all of this stuff built in and you can make the software handle the fan speed based on many factors (temps, hashrate, time of the day, profitability, and etc), I have enough experience to write my own script but I just couldn't be bothered with reinventing the wheel, many programs already offer that for very low fees, sometimes for free if you are using their firmware.
newbie
Activity: 39
Merit: 0
Is there a way to automate this (a script maybe)?

(sorry for digging up an old thread)...


I'm not sure of the exact FW (i purchased of Ebay),

Why would you do that? all those Ebay firmware is nothing but rip off, most of them have dev fees and then you pay just to download it, all other reliable custom firmware are free to download you just pay dev fees 2-3% some are even dev-free.

Quote
I can not find the fan command line when i right click and inspect?

There is no command line, just edit this line

Code:

to this

Code:

And hit Enter, the fan option will show and you set the fan speed once only.
legendary
Activity: 2170
Merit: 6279
be constructive or S.T.F.U
I'm not sure of the exact FW (i purchased of Ebay),

Why would you do that? all those Ebay firmware is nothing but rip off, most of them have dev fees and then you pay just to download it, all other reliable custom firmware are free to download you just pay dev fees 2-3% some are even dev-free.

Quote
I can not find the fan command line when i right click and inspect?

There is no command line, just edit this line

Code:

to this

Code:

And hit Enter, the fan option will show and you set the fan speed once only.
member
Activity: 71
Merit: 12
Yes, correct one hashboard sorry.

I'm not sure of the exact FW (i purchased of Ebay), it auto refreshes every 30seconds (approx) and has auto tuning option, it also has a section that shows every chip where you can increase/decrease freq of each.

I can not find the fan command line when i right click and inspect?

https://imgur.com/a/YiiwXk8

Thanks.
legendary
Activity: 2170
Merit: 6279
be constructive or S.T.F.U
Hi Guys.

I am running just one card with a silent 650w PSU supply, i have custom FW though allows me alter Freq/Voltage. I also have the fan speed 100% unchecked but fans are throttling up/down constantly. I have messed around with freq/voltage to no avail.

Will i find the same command line and if so do you delete the whole line? Or do i need to flash a a Bitmain FW, it's a very old standard 13.5Th S9.

Thanks.

You mean one hash bord and not one card, at least this is what we "miners" call them, anyway, what custom firmware are you using? most custom firmware will allow you to set static fan speed, you don't have to go back to the stock firmware if you don't want to, and if you do, make sure you don't upgrade to the latest set of firmware versions that say "signature / secured" or anything like that because it will lock your miner.

Quote
Will i find the same command line and if so do you delete the whole line?

It depends on which firmware that is, this isn't some standard coding, every firmware has its own code.
member
Activity: 71
Merit: 12
Hi Guys.

I am running just one card with a silent 650w PSU supply, i have custom FW though allows me alter Freq/Voltage. I also have the fan speed 100% unchecked but fans are throttling up/down constantly. I have messed around with freq/voltage to no avail.

Will i find the same command line and if so do you delete the whole line? Or do i need to flash a a Bitmain FW, it's a very old standard 13.5Th S9.

Thanks.
sr. member
Activity: 446
Merit: 347
Hi, the method of setting the fan louder to run cooler is great !!! but, lower your efficiency ... I explain:

the miner this launches with a parameter:

Code:
2020-10-08 08:36:47 power_api.c: 262: set_working_voltage_raw: working_voltage_raw = 1820
2020-10-08 08:36:47 driver-btm-api.c: 594: init_working_voltage: set fixed voltage raw to 1820

But after 10min, as you have set the fan strong, he sees a temperature which seems too low to him and therefore, it increases the voltage, and therefore your efficiency drops, it does its only in order to heat it up:

Code:
2020-10-08 08:38:19 frequency.c: 306: get_sale_hash_rate_GH: g_sale_hash_rate = 55000
2020-10-08 08:38:23 driver-btm-api.c: 1500: dhash_chip_send_job: Version number 4.
2020-10-08 08:38:23 driver-btm-api.c: 1647: dhash_chip_send_job: stime.tv_sec 1602146303, block_ntime 1602146293
2020-10-08 08:48:22 frequency.c: 882: check_PCB_temp_inc_vol: need update voltage from 1820 to 1870 when PCB temp = 26
2020-10-08 08:48:22 power_api.c: 268: set_higher_voltage_raw: higher_voltage_raw = 1870
2020-10-08 08:48:22 power_api.c: 374: set_to_higher_voltage_by_steps: Set to voltage raw 1870, step by step.

Notice, it goes from 1820mv to 1870mv! everything to waste energy and heat it up ...

Ps : i look same "problem" on T17 / T17+ / S9K / S9SE / and probabli all 17 series.... need confirm...
hero member
Activity: 544
Merit: 589
Just tested this with the latested firmware on a S17 Pro (Antminer-S17Pro-user-OM-202004271325-sig_5837.tar.gz) and confirmed that it works.
legendary
Activity: 2170
Merit: 6279
be constructive or S.T.F.U
I can confirm, fan speed does work on S9 SE, however when i switch to low power mode miner does not start to mine.

I think that has to do with the fact that S9 SE comes with a firmware that has Asicboost enabled by default, that LPM option does nothing but activates AsicBoost, so maybe that's where the problem comes from. If you find Enhanced Low Power Mode you could try that, but as far as LPM is concerned, you gain nothing from enabling that anyway.
full member
Activity: 583
Merit: 106
I can confirm, fan speed does work on S9 SE, however when i switch to low power mode miner does not start to mine.
member
Activity: 277
Merit: 70
Confirmed on T15 as well!
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 4
Cheesy Confirmed to be working on Antminer S9SE !!  Cheesy

Make sure to save settings and reboot system afterwards. It will still boot up at 100% fan speed but will decrease according to configuration once it starts mining (about 6mins in the S9SE case)

Thank you!

Confirmed and Thank you so much!
Fan control working great!
legendary
Activity: 2170
Merit: 6279
be constructive or S.T.F.U
mine didn't take effect until i reboot, saved the configuration a few times before doing so Smiley

That's exactly what I meant by saying

Quote
it's only important to actually activate the settings

Having said that, in most miners I dealt with, saving the configuration settings whether you are adding a new pool, changing the worker or altering the fan speed, the miner will actually reboot itself or at least reboots the miner's software (Cgminer /BFGMiner), and that alone is good enough to activate the setting, but for a few miners you actually need to hit the reboot button, so it became more like a habit for me to reboot the miner after the settings have been saved.
newbie
Activity: 10
Merit: 4
mine didn't take effect until i reboot, saved the configuration a few times before doing so Smiley
legendary
Activity: 2170
Merit: 6279
be constructive or S.T.F.U
Cheesy Confirmed to be working on Antminer S9SE !!  Cheesy

I really have no idea why did I only include S9k in this topic, although I have tried it on S9e and it worked, anyway, now that you mentioned it, I have edited the title and included S9e.

Make sure to save settings and reboot system afterwards. It will still boot up at 100% fan speed but will decrease according to configuration once it starts mining (about 6mins in the S9SE case)

Rebooting the system is not required to save the setting, it's only important to actually activate the settings, as for the 100% during the boot, it's normal and an important procedure to confirm that the fans can actually hit x RPM.
newbie
Activity: 10
Merit: 4
Cheesy Confirmed to be working on Antminer S9SE !!  Cheesy

Make sure to save settings and reboot system afterwards. It will still boot up at 100% fan speed but will decrease according to configuration once it starts mining (about 6mins in the S9SE case)

Thank you!
member
Activity: 277
Merit: 70
Hmmm, tried this with an S15... no dice.  Fan still does whatever it wants.  Do I need to save the settings or something?  I did hit "save and apply" and went to check fan speed.  After auto tune, the fans still spun right up to nearly 100% (5040 rpm)

Thoughts?

https://imgur.com/g7qAkM8

Nevermind!  I got it to work.  maybe I didn't hit save and apply the first time, that cycling from 3k rpm to 5k rpm and back is WAY worse tan just leaving it at 5k! Thanks again for the tip!
legendary
Activity: 2170
Merit: 6279
be constructive or S.T.F.U
I don't know if this is hardware related or more to software, but I know frodocooper will handle this in no time  Grin

so the old school trick that works on S9,S9j and S9i does not work on the K/E version as well as all the new models such as S17pro/+ T17/e, I have no idea why does Bitmain continue to try and limit users on what they can do with their miners, but well, everything is done for a reason, which in this case, does not really matter.

so just to recap, in all other S9 models all you had to do is right-click on the miner setting page, hit inspect you get this.



you go to the line where it says fan_ctrl and delete that "none" part, then you hit enter and the fan settings appear on the web page.

well sadly this does not work anymore on the K version, and here is what happens when you do the same thing.



Nothing!

what Bitmain did was put all of these "perks" under one class/set and disable all of it, so it's like every child will inherit the default setting in the parent class header, which is this one

Code:

so after you delete the "none" part from the fan_ctrl , you need to delete it from the class line too, like so



and bingo!! your fan control is enabled.
Jump to: