Pages:
Author

Topic: Inflation and the end of 50 BTC per block (from technical discussion) - page 3. (Read 5876 times)

vip
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1140
The Casascius 1oz 10BTC Silver Round (w/ Gold B)
Multiple replies to multiple comments.  This original thread was in the technical section at https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/questions-about-inflation-enforcement-2252, I thought to reply as a new thread in economics because that seemed more on topic.  As it says to the left, I am a newbie, so even though I have made fairly pointed suggestions, if I've made them in the context of not properly understanding the way this nifty system works, or I've failed to notice where some of this stuff has already been hashed out in detail in some other thread, please feel free to put me in my place!

Quote from: creighto
The max block size is not imposed by fiat, but by agreement to a convention.  You could change that in your client right now and produce blocks just fine, but unless at least 50% of generators agree with you, whenever your client produces a block that defies this agreed convention it will be ignored by those who do.

By fiat, I don't mean to suggest that someone dictated it with an iron fist.  But I do mean to point out that it makes the currency dependent on a central authority.  Sure, it is open source, but it is meant to benefit humankind, not just developers... over 99.9% of its users will have no clue how to participate in the management of this convention, which at this point appears to be designed to require it.