Author

Topic: Linux only recognizing one card (Read 1119 times)

newbie
Activity: 48
Merit: 0
June 28, 2011, 10:46:00 AM
#12
thanks, i've been googling and working on it for a few days and haven't had any luck. i'll try the mining support forum since I'm allowed to post there now
legendary
Activity: 1284
Merit: 1001
June 28, 2011, 06:18:41 AM
#11
There are various ways to make it work, but I don't know much about it because I don't have any monitors attached to my Linux miners. You can try this: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=221174

Or Google for other alternatives.
newbie
Activity: 48
Merit: 0
June 28, 2011, 01:42:05 AM
#10
i'm not sure if this makes a difference but on when i have the two displays on and they aren't cloning each other (multi-desktop setting in amdcccle) there's no background.
newbie
Activity: 48
Merit: 0
June 27, 2011, 08:05:37 PM
#9
this is the issue i seem to be having:

I can clone displays(single desktop), in which case both GPU's work for mining. this is the xorg.conf for that:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0" LeftOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection


I can have a multi-desktop (xinerama still disabled). but only one GPU is seen by the miner. Here's the xorg.conf for the this scenario:


S
Code:
ection "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "0-DFP3"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
Option     "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
Option     "TargetRefresh" "60"
Option     "Position" "1920 0"
Option     "Rotate" "normal"
Option     "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "0-DFP4"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
Option     "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
Option     "TargetRefresh" "60"
Option     "Position" "0 0"
Option     "Rotate" "normal"
Option     "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
Option     "Monitor-DFP3" "0-DFP3"
Option     "Monitor-DFP4" "0-DFP4"
BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Virtual   3840 1920
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection



what i would like to be able to do is have a multi-desktop (2 monitors where I can drag windows between them, not cloned) and have the miner recognize both GPUs. i'm willing to try anything guys. thanks!
newbie
Activity: 48
Merit: 0
June 27, 2011, 05:59:04 PM
#8
OK that worked. but now i can't use 2 displays. I want the "big desktop" thing. how do i do that without xinerama?
legendary
Activity: 1284
Merit: 1001
June 27, 2011, 08:57:06 AM
#7
Try removing
Section "ServerFlags"
   Option       "Xinerama" "on"
EndSection

and if that doesn't work, try removing or renaming /etc/X11/xorg.conf and run aticonfig --initial --adapter=all --force

Also, what does
echo $DISPLAY
say?
newbie
Activity: 48
Merit: 0
June 27, 2011, 08:21:02 AM
#6
bump. please help!
newbie
Activity: 48
Merit: 0
June 27, 2011, 01:01:37 AM
#5
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
   Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
   Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
   Option       "Xinerama" "on"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
   Driver      "fglrx"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
   Driver      "fglrx"
   BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
   Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
   Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0"
   Device     "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
   Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection
newbie
Activity: 48
Merit: 0
June 27, 2011, 12:52:54 AM
#4
i wanted to mention i've also got DISPLAY=:0 in my bashrc
newbie
Activity: 48
Merit: 0
June 26, 2011, 10:38:45 PM
#3
i did that a bunch of times and it didnt fix it. i have one monitor plugged on each card and they both work
full member
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
June 26, 2011, 08:35:36 PM
#2

It sounds like X isn't running on the second adapter, do 'aticonfig --initial -adapter=all' and then reboot.
newbie
Activity: 48
Merit: 0
June 26, 2011, 07:23:41 PM
#1
I followed this guide: http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=7514.0

aticonfig shows both of my cards.


$ aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all

Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    800           1000
             Current Peak :    800           1000
  Configurable Peak Range : [800-1200]     [1000-1500]
                 GPU load :    0%

Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    400           1200
             Current Peak :    860           1200
  Configurable Peak Range : [600-960]     [1200-1445]
                 GPU load :    0%




but when i run phoenix (using poclbm) it only lists my cpu and my adapter 0 card. it doesn't have show my other device. any help?
Jump to: