Author

Topic: Scrypt 5850 - Too many HW errors? (Read 2908 times)

hero member
Activity: 770
Merit: 502
May 04, 2013, 03:21:42 PM
#11
Quoted from https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/SCRYPT-README

Quote
Step 1 on linux:
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
If you do not do this, you may find it impossible to scrypt mine. You may find
a value of 40 is enough and increasing this further has little effect.

export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
may help CPU usage a little as well.

On windows the same commands can be passed via a batch file if the following
lines are in the .bat before starting cgminer:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

Isn't this for 7k series cards?
sr. member
Activity: 312
Merit: 254
May 04, 2013, 01:44:37 PM
#10
I'm having the same problem... I just connected a second 5850 identical to the first wich was working fine for months beside a 5970 and now I'm getting hardware errors only in this new one "could be for using a 1x to 16x pcie riser??" if not that I don't know, it was working fine to in other computer before pluging it in this rig baside this other tow cards...
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
May 04, 2013, 01:40:18 PM
#9
Quoted from https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/SCRYPT-README

Quote
Step 1 on linux:
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
If you do not do this, you may find it impossible to scrypt mine. You may find
a value of 40 is enough and increasing this further has little effect.

export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
may help CPU usage a little as well.

On windows the same commands can be passed via a batch file if the following
lines are in the .bat before starting cgminer:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
hero member
Activity: 770
Merit: 502
May 04, 2013, 01:33:24 PM
#8
Try "thread-concurrency" : "5760,5760", .
hero member
Activity: 770
Merit: 502
May 04, 2013, 08:49:29 AM
#7
Post in here

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.9960;topicseen

to see if someone could help you with the errors.
full member
Activity: 134
Merit: 100
May 04, 2013, 07:04:52 AM
#6
Here is my cgminer config for litecoin mining for my two 5850's. If you like to give it a try. Watch your temps, these overclocks are good for cool weather. My room ambient temp is 20c atm,

and results are

Code:
[P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
GPU 0:  68.0C 3479RPM | 401.9K/401.3Kh/s | A:394 R:1 HW:0 U: 5.07/m I:19
GPU 1:  69.5C 3271RPM | 400.7K/400.9Kh/s | A:415 R:1 HW:0 U: 5.34/m I:19

cgminer.conf Fill the pools info of yours.
Code:
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "pool1:port",
"user" : "username.1",
"pass" : "password"
},
{
"url" : "pool2:port",
"user" : "username.1",
"pass" : "password"
}
]
,
"intensity" : "19,19",
"thread-concurrency" : "5824,5824",
"vectors" : "1,1",
"worksize" : "256,256",
"kernel" : "scrypt,scrypt",
"gpu-fan" : "0-75,0-75",
"gpu-vddc" : "1.088,1.088",
"gpu-engine" : "0-944,0-944",
"gpu-memclock" : "1180,1180",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0,0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0,0",
"temp-cutoff" : "0,0",
"temp-overheat" : "102,102",
"temp-target" : "100,100",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "60",
"scrypt" : true,
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

Thanks for your config file, however I get this error when I try to mine with it:


 [2013-05-04 14:04:01] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 134217728
 [2013-05-04 14:04:01] Your scrypt settings come to 381681664
 [2013-05-04 14:04:01] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease TC or in
crease LG
 [2013-05-04 14:04:01] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2013-05-04 14:04:01] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2013-05-04 14:04:01] Try restarting cgminer.


What could be the problem? The box has 8G ram, the 5850 has 1G.
hero member
Activity: 770
Merit: 502
May 02, 2013, 05:50:38 PM
#5
Here is my cgminer config for litecoin mining for my two 5850's. If you like to give it a try. Watch your temps, these overclocks are good for cool weather. My room ambient temp is 20c atm,

and results are

Code:
[P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
GPU 0:  68.0C 3479RPM | 401.9K/401.3Kh/s | A:394 R:1 HW:0 U: 5.07/m I:19
GPU 1:  69.5C 3271RPM | 400.7K/400.9Kh/s | A:415 R:1 HW:0 U: 5.34/m I:19

cgminer.conf Fill the pools info of yours.
Code:
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "pool1:port",
"user" : "username.1",
"pass" : "password"
},
{
"url" : "pool2:port",
"user" : "username.1",
"pass" : "password"
}
]
,
"intensity" : "19,19",
"thread-concurrency" : "5824,5824",
"vectors" : "1,1",
"worksize" : "256,256",
"kernel" : "scrypt,scrypt",
"gpu-fan" : "0-75,0-75",
"gpu-vddc" : "1.088,1.088",
"gpu-engine" : "0-944,0-944",
"gpu-memclock" : "1180,1180",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0,0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0,0",
"temp-cutoff" : "0,0",
"temp-overheat" : "102,102",
"temp-target" : "100,100",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "60",
"scrypt" : true,
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}
sr. member
Activity: 389
Merit: 250
May 02, 2013, 05:48:28 PM
#4
I had lots of issues with scrypt mining with CGminer.  I have almost identical hardware across several machines that would run mine BTC fine, but when switching to LTC, some were fine and others threw all kinds of HW errors, even with very low settings.  I was running out of ideas and decided to try BFGminer just for giggles and it ended up working well.

I'm a big fan of CGMiner, but for my limited LTC mining experience I had much better luck with BFGMiner.
newbie
Activity: 34
Merit: 0
May 02, 2013, 04:26:52 PM
#3
You should never have any hardware errors if things are set up correctly.

Try fiddling with: intensity, thread concurrency, # of threads, and clock speed in that order.
legendary
Activity: 1134
Merit: 1005
May 02, 2013, 03:58:09 PM
#2
lower your clocks??
full member
Activity: 134
Merit: 100
May 02, 2013, 11:26:59 AM
#1
I'm trying to mine scrypt with 2x 5850 via cgMiner.

My details:
 Block: 2c14ce7cb066c8ee...  Diff:5.43M  Started: [18:25:24]  Best share: 214

 (5s):626.0K (avg):400.8Kh/s | A:3  R:0  HW:42  U:0.5/m  WU:460.5/m
 ST: 4  SS: 0  NB: 4  LW: 34  GF: 0  RF: 0


 GPU 0:                | 336.4K/197.3Kh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:23 U:0.19/m I:16
 GPU 1:                | 291.0K/171.2Kh/s | A:2 R:0 HW:11 U:0.39/m I:16

Anyone knows why are so many HW errors?

cgminer submits ~1 share / minute or even less..

Any recommendations?


             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          7950       1864       6086          0        268        740



Cards are at 849gpu, 1100ram.

Mining SHA256 type coins at ~340MH/s.

Thanks for the help!
Jump to: