Author

Topic: Stops at Organizing chain (Read 820 times)

legendary
Activity: 3640
Merit: 1345
Armory Developer
February 23, 2017, 09:15:16 AM
#12
OK.

Do you know how the block data get corrupted? I'd think there's some kind of verification process after the block has been downloaded, for example a hash of the block that can be verified, and if it's not adding up, then it should be downloaded over again?

And there is not some kind of repair tool that can fix only the blocks that are wrong? Would save a lot of bandwidth for the bitcoin network.

Core downloads blocks, verifies them, then appends to disk. It does not verify what goes on disk, and this is where you are having trouble. It is possible your machine is unstable as well. I would suggest you try to rebuild the database with a lower thread count (--thread-count) and record where/if the build fails again.

If it always hits the same spot, then your blockchain data is damaged. If it doesn't, then your system is not stable enough to handle a heavy CPU load.
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
February 23, 2017, 02:09:01 AM
#11
OK.

Do you know how the block data get corrupted? I'd think there's some kind of verification process after the block has been downloaded, for example a hash of the block that can be verified, and if it's not adding up, then it should be downloaded over again?

And there is not some kind of repair tool that can fix only the blocks that are wrong? Would save a lot of bandwidth for the bitcoin network.
staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
February 22, 2017, 10:17:44 AM
#10
You should run Bitcoin Core manually and then start Armory. Don't let Armory run bitcoind because that is known to cause many issues.

You probably have a corrupted block in blk00377.dat in the blocks folder in Bitcoin Core's data directory. You probably need to redownload a large part of the blockchain to fix the issue.
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
February 22, 2017, 04:54:20 AM
#9
I was a bit soon to sing praise.

So I'm still not able to run Armory.

I've downloaded the blockchain from the start using Bitcoin Core as suggested.
When that was done I cleared out the Armory folder, so Armory started from scratch.
I tried first running Bitcoin Core in background myself and starting Armory afterwards.
When that didn't work, I cleared out Armory folder again and let Armory run bitcoind itself.
I ran with the block files in default directory, as well as in a different directory

The program seems to stop multiple times at around block file 377. I've noticed because I've restarted it many times, and it seems to start there every time except when I start from scratch.

I'm also using wallet from an older version of Armory, but hopefully that shouldn't have an effect.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

updated logs
armorylog:  http://pastebin.com/Cf6iMHg5
dbLog.txt:  http://pastebin.com/dLhE1uGw
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
January 30, 2017, 09:33:36 PM
#8
Thanks for helping me out.

Tip on its way.
staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
January 30, 2017, 09:28:02 PM
#7
Ah, one more thing. Is it accurate that the size of the Armory database is reduced to around 1 gig?
If it should be 70+ gigs, I should probably move it to another disk as well. If it's been resized I won't bother.
Yes. The new databases are only 1 or 2 GB now since it does not replicate the entire blockchain.
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
January 30, 2017, 09:12:42 PM
#6
OK.

Well I did have to make some changes to location of the blockchain, I moved it to a new disk and fiddled around with it. I might have slipped up at some point.

Thanks for your help.

Ah, one more thing. Is it accurate that the size of the Armory database is reduced to around 1 gig?
If it should be 70+ gigs, I should probably move it to another disk as well. If it's been resized I won't bother.
staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
January 30, 2017, 09:03:43 PM
#5
Yeah it looks like you might be right, I see that 31 of the last 100 blocks have unexpected version.
That warning is benign. What version or Bitcoin Core are you using? If it is 0.13.1 or greater, you should not be getting such a higher number though. It does not look like you have blockchain corruption.

So just delete the chain and wait for a week for it to download again?
Smiley
Basically yes. It shouldn't take a week with your computer's specs, although it does depend partially on your network connection.
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
January 30, 2017, 08:58:51 PM
#4
Yeah it looks like you might be right, I see that 31 of the last 100 blocks have unexpected version.

So just delete the chain and wait for a week for it to download again?
Smiley
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
January 30, 2017, 08:53:08 PM
#3
staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
January 30, 2017, 08:39:48 PM
#2
It looks like you may have a corrupted blockchain. There is a block deserialization failure. Can you post the Bitcoin Core debug.log? You may need to redownload the entire blockchain.
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
January 30, 2017, 08:02:55 PM
#1
First thanks to the devs of Armory for supporting it.

I'm having some issues with getting Armory started.
I upgraded from 0.93X to 0.95.1. Then I deleted all the armory database and all other files to rebuild from scratch.
It builds the blocks in %appdata%/Armory, though it's much smaller than it used to be (used to be over 70 gigs, now it's just about 1 gig).

Armory then stops every time when it's about to organizing chain (as you can see from the log, wich stops at that point), after it's done parsing, and it uses one core to it's full capacity. I've had it run for a max of perhaps 8 hours without any further progress. I have tried running Bitcoin Core in background myself, and I've tried letting Armory run bitcoind in background. It ends up with the same result.

dbLog.txt
http://pastebin.com/atwYGKZJ


armorycpplog.txt
http://pastebin.com/m0v6JfHc


armorylog.txt (just first 1000 lines)
http://pastebin.com/sP6pKkV1

I would very much appreciate any clue to what actions I could take to make it work, as I've tried all the options I've come up with already.
Jump to: