Author

Topic: Txn fee back to 0.01 in rc5? (Read 2513 times)

legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
May 31, 2011, 12:28:06 PM
#17
BTW, Luke-Jr pool accepts transactions with lower fees...
I can't seem to figure it out though, I added "-addnode=173.242.112.53" when launching Bitcoin but it still forces the 0.01 fee. Must be too late at night for me.... Huh
git fetch git://gitorious.org/~Luke-Jr/bitcoin/luke-jr-bitcoin.git eligius_sendfee && git merge FETCH_HEAD
qurashee also built my branches (use at your own risk!): http://eligius.st/~qurashee/
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
May 31, 2011, 09:43:07 AM
#16
Here's a patched binary for Windows http://ifile.it/6izp5uy Please do not abuse, setting a lower transaction fee is better than nothing.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
May 30, 2011, 01:24:58 AM
#15
BTW, Luke-Jr pool accepts transactions with lower fees...
I can't seem to figure it out though, I added "-addnode=173.242.112.53" when launching Bitcoin but it still forces the 0.01 fee. Must be too late at night for me.... Huh
git fetch git://gitorious.org/~Luke-Jr/bitcoin/luke-jr-bitcoin.git eligius_sendfee && git merge FETCH_HEAD
legendary
Activity: 1204
Merit: 1015
May 29, 2011, 05:09:49 PM
#14
I hate to keep mentioning this, but the network is already ready for the new fee. Even when I sent a transaction that wasn't relayed by the old version, it still made it into a block. No tricks used. The only explanation I have for this is that we also changed the channels for IRC bootstrapping at the same time, meaning most RC users have at least one connection to another RC user.
http://blockexplorer.com/address/1ELvLsDRCaN8zSpZ8ZktAeM56tpfZ3E4kG
legendary
Activity: 2618
Merit: 1007
May 29, 2011, 04:47:33 PM
#13
If you want to revert to 0.3.20 behavior, replace
Code:
return dPriority > COIN * 144 / 250;
by
Code:
return true;
in AllowFree of main.h and recompile.

Might be useful to offer a compiled version with that "patch" too...
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
May 29, 2011, 04:31:18 PM
#12
The fact that the transaction fee is forced annoys me. I am still using 0.3.20 because of that fact.

You are free to do what you want in your client. The 0.3.21/22 version is much more newbie friendly because the transaction is going to be delayed unless they pay a fee. As an advanced user, you are free to change your client. If you want to revert to 0.3.20 behavior, replace
Code:
return dPriority > COIN * 144 / 250;
by
Code:
return true;
in AllowFree of main.h and recompile.
legendary
Activity: 1470
Merit: 1006
Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952
May 29, 2011, 03:58:23 PM
#11
If i want to wait for 10 hours for the 1st confirmation, why not let me ?
Don't assume it will necessarily get accepted ever...

Still, that is my choice to make.
administrator
Activity: 5222
Merit: 13032
May 29, 2011, 03:55:20 PM
#10
BTW, Luke-Jr pool accepts transactions with lower fees...
I can't seem to figure it out though, I added "-addnode=173.242.112.53" when launching Bitcoin but it still forces the 0.01 fee. Must be too late at night for me.... Huh

Your client doesn't negotiate fees in any way with your peers, so it doesn't know that Luke-Jr requires lower fees. You have to modify your client (or use an old version) to take advantage of the lower fees.

Luke-Jr also rejects all totally free transactions, I believe.
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 500
BitLotto - best odds + best payouts + cheat-proof
May 29, 2011, 09:30:55 AM
#9
BTW, Luke-Jr pool accepts transactions with lower fees...
I can't seem to figure it out though, I added "-addnode=173.242.112.53" when launching Bitcoin but it still forces the 0.01 fee. Must be too late at night for me.... Huh
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
May 29, 2011, 09:13:40 AM
#8
The fact that the transaction fee is forced annoys me. I am still using 0.3.20 because of that fact.
Hasn't it always been forced? It seems the correct solution is to include a "Optional fee" in the send dialog, and if it's too small, display a confirmation ("... Do you want to send it this way anyway? Yes/No") if it's "too low". But nobody's submitted a patch for that afaik. Wink

If i want to wait for 10 hours for the 1st confirmation, why not let me ?
Don't assume it will necessarily get accepted ever...
administrator
Activity: 5222
Merit: 13032
May 29, 2011, 02:39:16 AM
#7
You can set the fee in the options or is that something else?

That can only increase fees from the default, not decrease them.

Once transaction replacement is possible, Bitcoin will hardly even have to worry about this. People will use trial and error to find the correct fees.
hero member
Activity: 812
Merit: 1022
No Maps for These Territories
May 29, 2011, 02:06:01 AM
#6
Not leaving the choice to the user is so not libertarian.
You can set the fee in the options or is that something else?
legendary
Activity: 1470
Merit: 1006
Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952
May 29, 2011, 01:12:38 AM
#5
When is "phase 2" expected to happen?

As soon as possible -- the very next bitcoin release.

BTW.
The fact that the transaction fee is forced annoys me. I am still using 0.3.20 because of that fact.

Wouldn't it be wiser to leave the final decision to the user and allow sending a transaction without fees after one more "Are you sure ?" dialog option (or "force" rpc/cmdline command) ?
If i want to wait for 10 hours for the 1st confirmation, why not let me ?

Not leaving the choice to the user is so not libertarian.
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 13
May 28, 2011, 10:15:20 PM
#4
When is "phase 2" expected to happen?

As soon as possible -- the very next bitcoin release.

legendary
Activity: 2618
Merit: 1007
May 28, 2011, 09:43:15 PM
#3
When is "phase 2" expected to happen?
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
May 28, 2011, 08:41:07 PM
#2
I just upgraded from 0.3.22-rc2 to -rc5.  I liked the considerably lower fee in rc2, but this seems to have been reverted or regressed. Even with txn fee manually set to 0.0005, I get asked to pay the old fee of 0.01. Is this expected behaviour or a bug?

It's expected behavior. The tx fee change is being rolled out in two phases, as was discussed in the thread about it.
member
Activity: 83
Merit: 10
May 28, 2011, 08:34:44 PM
#1
I just upgraded from 0.3.22-rc2 to -rc5.  I liked the considerably lower fee in rc2, but this seems to have been reverted or regressed. Even with txn fee manually set to 0.0005, I get asked to pay the old fee of 0.01. Is this expected behaviour or a bug?
Jump to: