Author

Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool - page 252. (Read 2591928 times)

legendary
Activity: 1344
Merit: 1024
Mine at Jonny's Pool
It is connected to a 1Gig E port on the office switch connected to a sonicwall firewall then a 100 Meg fiber connection, so i am kind of lost thats for sure.  I am going to have to fine the ip and determine the latency to them.  The latency to bitchain.info is only 7ms  but i do know that has no baring on this issue,


Get rid of that Windows 7 crap and install a good Linux distribution Smiley.  Problem solved.
full member
Activity: 312
Merit: 100
Bcnex - The Ultimate Blockchain Trading Platform
It is connected to a 1Gig E port on the office switch connected to a sonicwall firewall then a 100 Meg fiber connection, so i am kind of lost thats for sure.  I am going to have to fine the ip and determine the latency to them.  The latency to bitchain.info is only 7ms  but i do know that has no baring on this issue,

legendary
Activity: 1361
Merit: 1003
Don`t panic! Organize!
Is it able to change any settings of p2pool via api or other way instead of restarting the main service with each little change doing ctrl+c?
P2pool not have any API, what you want to change?
You can change code, start node again and then kill old instance if you not want to wait.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
Bitcoind is on 9.3
the node is running on Windows 7 64bit with 2 ea xeon quad core processors and 16 gigs ram.  I got a screaming deal on these dual processor xeon quad core boxes.
I installed a SSD drive to get this to run as fast as possible.

and network part?
full member
Activity: 312
Merit: 100
Bcnex - The Ultimate Blockchain Trading Platform
Bitcoind is on 9.3
the node is running on Windows 7 64bit with 2 ea xeon quad core processors and 16 gigs ram.  I got a screaming deal on these dual processor xeon quad core boxes.
I installed a SSD drive to get this to run as fast as possible.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
Is it able to change any settings of p2pool via api or other way instead of restarting the main service with each little change doing ctrl+c?
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
I have my node running much better,  Efficiency is now 98% but my get-work latency still really sucks,  but i did read some where that it is fine

My maxblock size is 450000 and max connection are set to 20 and i have both in and out connections with 9 peers attached.

So i am not changing a thing for now.



what hardware, which os and which version of bitcoin core are You using there?
legendary
Activity: 1344
Merit: 1024
Mine at Jonny's Pool
The block solving hamsters are slacking off again... someone go out back and rattle their cages.
full member
Activity: 312
Merit: 100
Bcnex - The Ultimate Blockchain Trading Platform
I have my node running much better,  Efficiency is now 98% but my get-work latency still really sucks,  but i did read some where that it is fine

My maxblock size is 450000 and max connection are set to 20 and i have both in and out connections with 9 peers attached.

So i am not changing a thing for now.

newbie
Activity: 64
Merit: 0

You can set the blockmaxsize on the command line when you startup your bitcoind.  I'm not sure if there's a way to query it via an API call.  If you want to see a pool's block template latency, you can do it like this:

http://some.p2pool.address:port/web/graph_data/getwork_latency/last_hour

That gives you a nice big JSON formatted object with a whole bunch of fun things:
Code:
[[1418161683.704587, null, 7.409173965454102, null], [1418161668.0, 0.385913610458374, 24.0, null], [1418161644.0, 0.37669897079467773, 24.0, null], [1418161620.0, 0.37825655937194824, 24.0, null], [1418161596.0, 0.3696300983428955, 24.0, null], [1418161572.0, 0.3694554567337036, 24.0, null], [1418161548.0, 0.35015082359313965, 24.0, null], [1418161524.0, 0.3665280342102051, 24.0, null], [1418161500.0, 0.3501625061035156, 24.0, null], [1418161476.0, 0.32917094230651855, 24.0, null], [1418161452.0, 0.35518157482147217, 24.0, null], [1418161428.0, 0.43006300926208496, 24.0, null], [1418161404.0, 0.3580664396286011, 24.0, null], [1418161380.0, 1.1424369812011719, 24.0, null], [1418161356.0, 0.3221108913421631, 24.0, null], [1418161332.0, 0.33339619636535645, 24.0, null], [1418161308.0, 0.3962603807449341, 24.0, null], [1418161284.0, 0.32107090950012207, 24.0, null], [1418161260.0, 0.3046015501022339, 24.0, null], [1418161236.0, 0.3066689968109131, 24.0, null], [1418161212.0, 0.2918550968170166, 24.0, null], [1418161188.0,
...
The number you want is the second one in each bracketed set... so in this set:
Code:
[1418161548.0, 0.35015082359313965, 24.0, null]
you want 0.35015082359313965.

Perfect, thanks!
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....
Good man JB!  Smiley
legendary
Activity: 1344
Merit: 1024
Mine at Jonny's Pool

How can I query bitcoind to see what it's current setting for blockmaxsize is? Anyone know the current default?

Is there an api call for getwork_latency in my p2pool node, or some other way of getting that information through a shell?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Original_Bitcoin_client/API_calls_list  Wink

That's a nice list but, I don't see anything about blockmaxsize or getwork_latency, do you know which call I should look at?
You can set the blockmaxsize on the command line when you startup your bitcoind.  I'm not sure if there's a way to query it via an API call.  If you want to see a pool's block template latency, you can do it like this:

http://some.p2pool.address:port/web/graph_data/getwork_latency/last_hour

That gives you a nice big JSON formatted object with a whole bunch of fun things:
Code:
[[1418161683.704587, null, 7.409173965454102, null], [1418161668.0, 0.385913610458374, 24.0, null], [1418161644.0, 0.37669897079467773, 24.0, null], [1418161620.0, 0.37825655937194824, 24.0, null], [1418161596.0, 0.3696300983428955, 24.0, null], [1418161572.0, 0.3694554567337036, 24.0, null], [1418161548.0, 0.35015082359313965, 24.0, null], [1418161524.0, 0.3665280342102051, 24.0, null], [1418161500.0, 0.3501625061035156, 24.0, null], [1418161476.0, 0.32917094230651855, 24.0, null], [1418161452.0, 0.35518157482147217, 24.0, null], [1418161428.0, 0.43006300926208496, 24.0, null], [1418161404.0, 0.3580664396286011, 24.0, null], [1418161380.0, 1.1424369812011719, 24.0, null], [1418161356.0, 0.3221108913421631, 24.0, null], [1418161332.0, 0.33339619636535645, 24.0, null], [1418161308.0, 0.3962603807449341, 24.0, null], [1418161284.0, 0.32107090950012207, 24.0, null], [1418161260.0, 0.3046015501022339, 24.0, null], [1418161236.0, 0.3066689968109131, 24.0, null], [1418161212.0, 0.2918550968170166, 24.0, null], [1418161188.0,
...
The number you want is the second one in each bracketed set... so in this set:
Code:
[1418161548.0, 0.35015082359313965, 24.0, null]
you want 0.35015082359313965.
newbie
Activity: 64
Merit: 0

How can I query bitcoind to see what it's current setting for blockmaxsize is? Anyone know the current default?

Is there an api call for getwork_latency in my p2pool node, or some other way of getting that information through a shell?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Original_Bitcoin_client/API_calls_list  Wink

That's a nice list but, I don't see anything about blockmaxsize or getwork_latency, do you know which call I should look at?

Code:
#Block creation options
blockminsize=0          #(Sizes are in bytes) default: 0
blockmaxsize=500000     #default: 750000
blockprioritysize=196000        # high-priority/low-fee transactions d: 50000

Never underestimate the power of the search function...... Wink

I have searched, the term "blockmaxsize" or getwork_latency doesn't exist in the bitcoin api calls list.  I want to run bitcoind without the setting configured and query it to verify what it sets it to, my stock config doesn't list any defaults.  I've worked with enough developers to know that the config comment and the documentation does not always reflect reality.  I guess I could look at the source but, it seems like there should be a way to query it.  I know theres a way to query getwork_latency since the default p2pool graphs page does it.  Guess I'll have to do some manual labor to dig that out if I want it.



hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....

How can I query bitcoind to see what it's current setting for blockmaxsize is? Anyone know the current default?

Is there an api call for getwork_latency in my p2pool node, or some other way of getting that information through a shell?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Original_Bitcoin_client/API_calls_list  Wink

That's a nice list but, I don't see anything about blockmaxsize or getwork_latency, do you know which call I should look at?

Code:
#Block creation options
blockminsize=0          #(Sizes are in bytes) default: 0
blockmaxsize=500000     #default: 750000
blockprioritysize=196000        # high-priority/low-fee transactions d: 50000

Never underestimate the power of the search function...... Wink
newbie
Activity: 64
Merit: 0

How can I query bitcoind to see what it's current setting for blockmaxsize is? Anyone know the current default?

Is there an api call for getwork_latency in my p2pool node, or some other way of getting that information through a shell?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Original_Bitcoin_client/API_calls_list  Wink

That's a nice list but, I don't see anything about blockmaxsize or getwork_latency, do you know which call I should look at?
newbie
Activity: 5
Merit: 0
Massive server upgrade for p2pools.us.

Must faster,  low latency, less DOA hash.

Servers Located in New York, USA

Check it out: p2pools.us or btc.p2pools.us:9332
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....

How can I query bitcoind to see what it's current setting for blockmaxsize is? Anyone know the current default?

Is there an api call for getwork_latency in my p2pool node, or some other way of getting that information through a shell?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Original_Bitcoin_client/API_calls_list  Wink
newbie
Activity: 64
Merit: 0
I am not mergmining at all.  But yes i could have something set wrong.  Thats for sue this is my first setup.  Where is the setting for merged or not will have to look for that.

What does your ~/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf file look like?  (Please BLANK OUT your rpc user and password).  If blockmaxsize is large that can add to your getwork latency significantly.

How can I query bitcoind to see what it's current setting for blockmaxsize is? Anyone know the current default?

Is there an api call for getwork_latency in my p2pool node, or some other way of getting that information through a shell?
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....
The block max size is set really high what do you recommend 

I have seen on line 250000 to 1000000 size

Thats probably it.

did You read this: http://www.guugll.eu/guide-mining-efficiently-p2pool/?

Use caution when messing with your settings according to the various guides, many of them are outdated & refer to the good old days of GPU mining, which is completely different from asics. They are guides, not bibles. Personally, I stopped tweaking my bitcoind & p2pool settings a long time ago & leave everything default - it just works. If you are new to p2pool, it is always best to familiarise yourself with how it works with default settings first, tweaking settings without knowing what you're doing can lead to terrible performance & thus earnings.

If you want to tweak your settings, do it little by little, the results of your changes might not become immediately apparent. Above all, be patient  Wink
full member
Activity: 312
Merit: 100
Bcnex - The Ultimate Blockchain Trading Platform
Yes i sure did...
Jump to: