Author

Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool - page 535. (Read 2591920 times)

legendary
Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060
I welcome everyone to use my public node, very fast and reliable, see signature
sr. member
Activity: 290
Merit: 250
ok
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
There seems to be no way to get p2pool working with ASICs, either directly or through the stratum proxy.
Devs, please accept lenny's offer and get those ASICs working on this pool!

I'm happy to have a look into this, although I'm not a "dev" yet I do have an interest in getting it working as I'm working on an ASIC project.

I haven't read up fully on the problem, is it purely related to Stratum, or is there some other issue?


There seems to be a problem related both to getwork and stratum mining. P2Pool seems not capable of keeping up with the number of connections that the ASIC devices attempt when connecting to the pool either using getwork or stratum.
sr. member
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
There seems to be no way to get p2pool working with ASICs, either directly or through the stratum proxy.
Devs, please accept lenny's offer and get those ASICs working on this pool!

I'm happy to have a look into this, although I'm not a "dev" yet I do have an interest in getting it working as I'm working on an ASIC project.

I haven't read up fully on the problem, is it purely related to Stratum, or is there some other issue?
ok
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
Thanks, but this still doesnt' help us. How to merge stratum-forrestv with stratum-mining-proxy?

stratum-mining-proxy uses the stratum package, which is somewhere on your computer if you're running stratum-mining-proxy, and is what the patch needs to be applied to.

Thank you! It works.
Now I successfully installed new stratum package and proxy is working, just look:
Code:
$ python mining_proxy.py -gp 5001 -sp 5002 -o localhost -p 9332
2013-05-27 10:22:17,862 INFO proxy jobs. # Using C extension for midstate speedup. Good!
2013-05-27 10:22:17,871 ERROR proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum host/port autodetection failed
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "mining_proxy.py", line 178, in main
    new_host = (yield utils.detect_stratum(args.host, args.port))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Twisted-13.0.0-py2.7-linux-x86_64.egg/twisted/internet/defer.py", line 1070, in _inlineCallbacks
    result = g.send(result)
  File "/home/pioruns/stratum-mining-proxy/mining_libs/utils.py", line 69, in detect_stratum
    header = f.response_headers.get('x-stratum', None)[0]
TypeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute '__getitem__'
2013-05-27 10:22:17,871 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum proxy version: 1.5.2
2013-05-27 10:22:17,873 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.test_update # Checking for updates...
2013-05-27 10:22:18,265 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # Trying to connect to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-27 10:22:18,268 INFO stats stats.print_stats # 1 peers connected, state changed 1 times
2013-05-27 10:22:18,268 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Connected to Stratum pool at localhost:9332
2013-05-27 10:22:18,268 INFO proxy mining_proxy.on_connect # Subscribing for mining jobs
2013-05-27 10:22:18,303 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-05-27 10:22:18,304 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # PROXY IS LISTENING ON ALL IPs ON PORT 5002 (stratum) AND 5001 (getwork)
2013-05-27 10:22:18,304 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # -----------------------------------------------------------------------
2013-05-27 10:22:18,304 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-27 10:22:18,306 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # New job 8850090419252557308580900352527982298 for prevhash 385766c3, clean_jobs=True
2013-05-27 10:22:29,931 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-27 10:22:29,933 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # New job 82294000856594409674845997521737547736 for prevhash 385766c3, clean_jobs=True
2013-05-27 10:22:41,372 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 0.999984741211
2013-05-27 10:22:41,374 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # New job 285117993302263092594898950693479724933 for prevhash 385766c3, clean_jobs=True

Why do you need a stratum proxy any way?
Tomorrow (hopefully today if time permits) I will be testing BE Blade on this proxy Smiley

Hi there lenny, please let me know if you were successful with setting up you BE Blade with the stratum proxy on p2pool. Thx

Unfortunately, no success...
Blade just do not connect to stratum proxy on p2pool. There is not error message at all.
I would like really to have some developer in it, I can donate my Blade worktime to debug this.

There seems to be no way to get p2pool working with ASICs, either directly or through the stratum proxy.
Devs, please accept lenny's offer and get those ASICs working on this pool!
hero member
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
I have 2x 7950's (approx 500-600MH/s ea) and 1x 7870 (approx 400-500MH/s) with a 32ms RTT and another 7870 with a 19ms RTT.

Thanks, I've updated the guide to make it clear mining on a remote node should be doable with low RTTs.
sr. member
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
Ok, I have someone else who is now donating hashrate to me on cryptominer.org:

Code:
darryl@server1:~# bitcoind validateaddress N45qLhKASG8mJAvN3zFHdGiu8i7LhPhVQP
{
    "isvalid" : false
}

Averaging 200MH/s since midnight local, about 12 hours ago.

EDIT: Ok, turns out that's a Namecoin address:

Code:
darryl@server1:~# namecoind validateaddress N45qLhKASG8mJAvN3zFHdGiu8i7LhPhVQP
{
    "isvalid" : true,
    "address" : "N45qLhKASG8mJAvN3zFHdGiu8i7LhPhVQP",
    "ismine" : false
}
sr. member
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
Hum quite good. May I know how much ping time do you have between your miners and your node? This way I can report it as a workable solution in the tuning guide. I'd like to find out the latency between miner and node where efficiency starts to suffer so your configuration is a good reference.

I have 2x 7950's (approx 500-600MH/s ea) and 1x 7870 (approx 400-500MH/s) with a 32ms RTT and another 7870 with a 19ms RTT.

I have two USB ASICMINERs on the way, they will be going into blades in the datacentre, so that'll be another 600MH/s with a 0.1ms RTT.
sr. member
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
thanks daemondazz, i'm interested in the scheme you use. Any caveat i should have in mind? For example it would be wise to use a payout address not from the bitcoind, right?

It's always a good idea. Your wallets shouldn't have a public IP address but P2Pool certainly should.

Definitely specify the -a option and point it to an address in a wallet that is not on your p2pool server.

Other than that, just follow gyverlb's guide Smiley
hero member
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
Right now, with 20 hours of uptime, it's 6.5% DOA and 112% efficiency.
Hum quite good. May I know how much ping time do you have between your miners and your node? This way I can report it as a workable solution in the tuning guide. I'd like to find out the latency between miner and node where efficiency starts to suffer so your configuration is a good reference.

I have a couple my miners I keep switching between the BTC node and TRC node, so I'm not sure if that effects things much. At the moment everything is pointed at the BTC node.

It probably takes a little more time to get a useful average because you have less hashrate on average but it shouldn't effects things either way.
sr. member
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
Your pool node (http://cryptominer.org) doesn't seem to publish its default pages (couldn't find them).

Yeah, I moved it to an alternate URL when I first set the node up because I wasn't sure if there was anything which could be considered confidential. I just haven't got around to reverting it yet. It's at http://cryptominer.org:9332/s/

What is the average efficiency you get with such a setup? I stopped using a remote node in the early days while I had large amounts of stales and low efficiency and I wonder if it got better since.

Right now, with 20 hours of uptime, it's 6.5% DOA and 112% efficiency.

I have a couple my miners I keep switching between the BTC node and TRC node, so I'm not sure if that effects things much. At the moment everything is pointed at the BTC node.
hero member
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
gyverlb, the thread in your signature is awsome. I've been diggin around and haven't found it till now. Should be more visible imo. Perhaps adding it at the wiki?

Glad you like it.

The Bitcoin wiki is frustrating: I can't easily reach most pages because my preferred language is French in my browser. I'm always redirected to French pages with less content or even no content at all. Damn wiki I can read English just fine, show it to me! I'm not going to edit a wiki that wouldn't even let me see the content I create by default.

That's a shame though a Wiki would indeed be more suited for the content in the tuning guide. I especially miss the ability to use anchors and links to them, the creation of a table of contents and the ability to edit only a chapter instead of the whole post...
full member
Activity: 188
Merit: 100
gyverlb, the thread in your signature is awsome. I've been diggin around and haven't found it till now. Should be more visible imo. Perhaps adding it at the wiki?
hero member
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
can i use a remote bitcoind instead of running it in the same machine with the miners?

Or could i have bitcoind and p2pool on remote machine and miners to a local one ?

Yes to both.

If you want to run p2pool on a different machine than bitcoind, then you need to configure bitcoind to listen on an IP address instead of loopback and then configured p2pool with the IP address. I've tried this over a LAN and it works - although I haven't tried it over the general Internet.

For the second question, this is the setup I have - bitcoind/p2pool in a data centre and miners at home.

Your pool node (http://cryptominer.org) doesn't seem to publish its default pages (couldn't find them). What is the average efficiency you get with such a setup? I stopped using a remote node in the early days while I had large amounts of stales and low efficiency and I wonder if it got better since.

Getblocktemplate latency doesn't seem to matter anymore for example (I'll have to double-check, the network was a little unstable these past 48h and my results are not conclusive).
hero member
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
thanks daemondazz, i'm interested in the scheme you use. Any caveat i should have in mind? For example it would be wise to use a payout address not from the bitcoind, right?

It's always a good idea. Your wallets shouldn't have a public IP address but P2Pool certainly should.
hero member
Activity: 896
Merit: 1000
Is there a point of me trying out my 600mh/swhile having quite weak upload speeds?



Do not want to go through all the hassle for nothing.
What rates are expected?

You probably can if you don't use your upload bandwidth for much else. Follow instructions in the guide in my signature, default settings would clog your upload pipe and give suboptimal results.

Edit: your ping time isn't bad (especially if it's not a ping with an host at your ISP) which is a good thing.
yxt
legendary
Activity: 3528
Merit: 1116
full member
Activity: 188
Merit: 100
thanks daemondazz, i'm interested in the scheme you use. Any caveat i should have in mind? For example it would be wise to use a payout address not from the bitcoind, right?
sr. member
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
can i use a remote bitcoind instead of running it in the same machine with the miners?

Or could i have bitcoind and p2pool on remote machine and miners to a local one ?

Yes to both.

If you want to run p2pool on a different machine than bitcoind, then you need to configure bitcoind to listen on an IP address instead of loopback and then configured p2pool with the IP address. I've tried this over a LAN and it works - although I haven't tried it over the general Internet.

For the second question, this is the setup I have - bitcoind/p2pool in a data centre and miners at home.
sr. member
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
Is there a point of me trying out my 600mh/swhile having quite weak upload speeds?



Do not want to go through all the hassle for nothing.
What rates are expected?

I run my p2pool node hosted in a data centre and slightly under 2GH/s of miners on my ADSL link which has a 600-700kbps upstream speed.
Jump to: