Pages:
Author

Topic: [ANN] Stratum mining protocol - ASIC ready - page 16. (Read 146229 times)

hero member
Activity: 981
Merit: 500
DIV - Your "Virtual Life" Secured and Decentralize
December 21, 2012, 02:50:11 AM
Didn't someone have instructions to actually compile CGMiner  to run on openWRT?
It would both run stratum and usb devices solving your probem if I am right.
full member
Activity: 148
Merit: 100
December 21, 2012, 01:57:58 AM
there is no python-dev for openWrt and i will not cross compile anything, so my fpga will keep mining with getwork :-/

should i ever get my asic i will use the raspberry, i guess it shouldn't be a problem running stratum on it
newbie
Activity: 22
Merit: 0
December 20, 2012, 11:34:26 PM
i also did completly reinstall python + twisted in meanwhile while i was waiting for respond
now i even have this problem
http://pastebin.com/mH9hkgm7
but it is not problem with simplejson since i have it
i dont have idea what is problem
newbie
Activity: 22
Merit: 0
December 20, 2012, 11:05:16 PM
You did not read all
http://pastebin.com/dpgyvsX0
check this out
why rotocolException ? there is some problem with twisted version?
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
December 20, 2012, 10:37:48 PM
i have this problem
http://pastebin.com/Rn8pEkP9

It just means that client is talking to the server with HTTP protocol, instead of Stratum.
newbie
Activity: 22
Merit: 0
December 20, 2012, 10:12:55 PM
i have this problem
http://pastebin.com/Rn8pEkP9
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
December 20, 2012, 06:04:02 PM
You need to install python-dev, which will install gcc as well. It is mentioned in installation howto.
full member
Activity: 148
Merit: 100
December 20, 2012, 02:04:44 PM
Quote
Best match: Twisted 12.2.0
Downloading http://pypi.python.org/packages/source/T/Twisted/Twisted-12.2.0.tar.bz2#md5=9a321b904d01efd695079f8484b37861
Processing Twisted-12.2.0.tar.bz2
error: Not a recognized archive type: /tmp/easy_install-BSz0mi/Twisted-12.2.0.tar.bz2
root@OpenWrt:~/slush0-stratum-mining-proxy-27e8dce#

OS is OpenWrt
i tried git clone and the tarball
i installed bzip2

any ideas?

update:
downloaded twisted-12.2.0 and tried to install it
Quote
ccache_cc -fno-strict-aliasing -Os -pipe -mips32r2 -mtune=mips32r2 -fno-caller-saves -fhonour-copts -Wno-error=unused-but-set-variable -msoft-float -DNDEBUG -Os -pipe -mips32r2 -mtune=mips32r2 -fno-caller-saves -fhonour-copts -Wno-error=unused-but-set-variable -msoft-float -fPIC -I/usr/include/python2.7 -c twisted/test/raiser.c -o build/temp.linux-mips-2.7/twisted/test/raiser.o
unable to execute ccache_cc: No such file or directory
error: command 'ccache_cc' failed with exit status 1
so i guess that means no stratum without gcc?
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
December 18, 2012, 07:35:00 PM
Note that the python midstate module is from http://gitorious.org/midstate/midstate
It would be nice if fixes/improvements were submitted to the main codebase rather than just a fork.

Yes, the original version is for python3 only. Unfortunately source requires some changes to make it compatible with python2x and making patch for upstream is out of my C skills.
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
December 18, 2012, 07:19:49 PM
For stratum mining pool i dont understant one think
I should first have this proxy runned or it can work normaly without it ?
since no much documenation about mining pool(for proxy yes i tryed proxy for other pool and it works) i dont understand how stratum mining pool works, i downloaded it and i only have config file, dont understand even how to turn it on, so i would like to ask here?

Josh,

If you are just looking to connect to a pool with stratum then just use cgminer (It supports it internally, so no extra steps.)

If you are looking to run your own solo pool:
Slush's stratum pool is kept very simple and is for pool software writers. I've forked it and made it a little more suitable for fulltime use (added things like db support, stats page, basic install instructions, etc...) it's at: https://github.com/generalfault/stratum-mining

If you are looking to connect non-stratum aware miners to a stratum pool then use the proxy.

legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
December 18, 2012, 06:39:51 PM
Note that the python midstate module is from http://gitorious.org/midstate/midstate
It would be nice if fixes/improvements were submitted to the main codebase rather than just a fork.
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
December 18, 2012, 06:28:12 PM
Could python version be automatically detected?

I made this to fill my needs, but auto-detecting would be nice. Patches are welcome :-)
legendary
Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000
DARKNETMARKETS.COM
December 18, 2012, 05:09:51 PM
I tried to compile
Code:
~/stratum-mining-proxy/midstatec$ make
gcc -march=native -Wall -funroll-all-loops -O3 -fstrict-aliasing -Wall -std=c99 -I/usr/include/python2.7  midstatemodule.c -o test -Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed -lpython2.7
midstatemodule.c:5:20: error: Python.h: No such file or directory
midstatemodule.c:96: error: expected â=â, â,â, â;â, âasmâ or â__attribute__â before â*â token
midstatemodule.c:138: error: array type has incomplete element type
midstatemodule.c:139: error: âmidstate_helperâ undeclared here (not in a function)
midstatemodule.c:139: error: âMETH_Oâ undeclared here (not in a function)
midstatemodule.c:164: error: expected â=â, â,â, â;â, âasmâ or â__attribute__â before âinitmidstateâ
make: *** [test] Error 1
Code:
$ python --version
Python 2.6.6
Code:
$ apt-cache policy python
python:
  Installed: 2.6.6-3+squeeze7
  Candidate: 2.6.6-3+squeeze7
Is python2.7 really needed? On my Debian I have version 2.6. I changed 2 lines in Makefile:
Code:
CFLAGS = -march=native -Wall -funroll-all-loops -O3 -fstrict-aliasing -Wall -std=c99 -I/usr/include/python2.6
LDFLAGS = -Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed -lpython2.6
And it compiled without problems Smiley As you see here:
Code:
2012-12-18 20:58:50,564 INFO proxy jobs. # Using C extension for midstate speedup. Good!
2012-12-18 20:58:50,872 WARNING proxy mining_proxy.main # Stratum proxy version: 1.3.0
Could python version be automatically detected?
legendary
Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000
DARKNETMARKETS.COM
December 18, 2012, 01:56:13 PM
Today I switched my unsupported Ztex BTCMiner to use local Stratum proxy on BitMinter mining pool. Everything is working flawless. Now I can see, how often my miner is asking for more work and how often reporting shares (Diff 1 share theoretically is found every 0.5sec; thanks to Stratum and var-diff now I have Diff 8 shares).
From now on everything is in my local network, saving bandwidth, resources and decreasing amount of stale shares.
Marek, thank you for designing and supporting such a great protocol Smiley
newbie
Activity: 22
Merit: 0
December 18, 2012, 11:33:46 AM
For stratum mining pool i dont understant one think
I should first have this proxy runned or it can work normaly without it ?
since no much documenation about mining pool(for proxy yes i tryed proxy for other pool and it works) i dont understand how stratum mining pool works, i downloaded it and i only have config file, dont understand even how to turn it on, so i would like to ask here?
hero member
Activity: 489
Merit: 500
Immersionist
December 14, 2012, 04:13:49 AM
No worries, I commented it out in the source and restarted the proxy already.
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
December 13, 2012, 09:53:15 PM
print '!!!', self.stratum_port

Oh, sorry! Please update, I just fixed it.
hero member
Activity: 489
Merit: 500
Immersionist
December 13, 2012, 08:03:14 PM
Line 115 in getwork_listener.py on the proxy:

print '!!!', self.stratum_port

Produces a lot of !!!! 3333 in my output.

Reason to be concerned, debugging left over or something else?
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
December 13, 2012, 05:53:27 PM
With your proposal the host still needs to send work to each 60GHz miner 14 times a second to keep it busy.  (That's true no matter how it's structured as a cluster, I think.)

I'm not sure about USB protocol used in first ASICs, but 14 packets per second is *absolutely* without any problem. It is at least 100x less than any possible limitation. I think you're trying to solve non-issue.
hero member
Activity: 563
Merit: 500
December 13, 2012, 04:41:33 PM
Ok, you and Con have convinced me that host CPU isn't of itself going to be a problem. But does this architecture really scale?  What if your host is driving a couple of dozen 60GH/s miners?  Are you confident that the USB bus will take kindly to hundreds of transactions per second?  Are you confident that all host OSs you're targeting will service the USB interrupts in a timely enough manner when you're doing hundreds of transactions a second?

As for running a dozen 60 GH/s miners.  Assuming we ever get to that point where a single device is registered as 60 GH/s [something tells me those ASICs will be recognized as multiple smaller devices], and somebody has a farm like that with a single controller PC, the miner could use ntime to reduce overhead if needed.

Assign each device ntime+x, and send them the same work with a unique ntime [this is assuming the devices do not support internal ntime adjustment].

Not sure that helps a whole lot, except to reduce the number of Merkle roots the host has to compute (which we've already agreed is a non issue for the forseeable future).

With your proposal the host still needs to send work to each 60GHz miner 14 times a second to keep it busy.  (That's true no matter how it's structured as a cluster, I think.)

roy
Pages:
Jump to: