Author

Topic: [ANN][BURST] Burst | Efficient HDD Mining | New 1.2.3 Fork block 92000 - page 1311. (Read 2170889 times)

sr. member
Activity: 418
Merit: 250
Should we expect any indication of progress while it is generating plots? Mine also says generating from nonce: 1 and nothing further.




I has moved on. I will assume all is well.



I have 2 HDD. 1 SSD and a traditional drive. My intention was to use the free space on my traditional drive. (secondary)

Did we need to specify that somewhere? Or doesn't it matter.
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
Sorry for the slow reply, forum keeps telling me I'm trying to post again too soon.

Getting "could not reserve enough space for object heap" when trying to generate plots
Use a smaller value instead of 8191 then, and make the number of plots a multiple of that. 8191 is ideal if you have a lot of ram, but unusable if you don't. Try 4000 or something instead. Higher numbers cause less HDD seeking while mining, but take more ram to generate.

I continue to get the memory error above.  I have 4 gigs of ram.  Here's my command line statement:
Code:
run_generate address_number 0 409550 500 1

Am I missing something?

Try removing the -Xmx4000m part from the bat file. It might be trying to force too much ram.

I removed -Xmx4000m completely and tried editing the value to -Xmx1000m.  Both times I received a new error:
Code:
     
at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:219)
[ERROR] [08/10/2014 16:35:14.717] [default-akka.actor.default-dispatcher-3] [Act
orSystem(default)] Uncaught error from thread [default-akka.actor.default-dispat
cher-3] shutting down JVM since 'akka.jvm-exit-on-fatal-error' is enabled
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.init(GenerateSupr.java:61)
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.preStart(GenerateSupr.java:55)
        at akka.actor.Actor$class.aroundPreStart(Actor.scala:470)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor.aroundPreStart(UntypedActor.scala:97)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.create(ActorCell.scala:580)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.invokeAll$1(ActorCell.scala:456)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.systemInvoke(ActorCell.scala:478)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.processAllSystemMessages(Mailbox.scala:263)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:219)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)

        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)

Same error on 2 machines - 1 with 4 gigs of RAM and 1 with 8 gigs.
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 500
Should we expect any indication of progress while it is generating plots? Mine also says generating from nonce: 1 and nothing further.

Same here. Could you tell me what's in your 'plots' folder? It's only given me a file that is 0 bytes in size.
Yep same here.
full member
Activity: 175
Merit: 104
Should we expect any indication of progress while it is generating plots? Mine also says generating from nonce: 1 and nothing further.

Same here. Could you tell me what's in your 'plots' folder? It's only given me a file that is 0 bytes in size.
full member
Activity: 175
Merit: 104
E:\pocminer_v1>java -Xmx4000m -cp pocminer.jar;lib/*;lib/akka/*;lib/jetty/* pocm
iner.POCMiner generate (address) 0 24573 4000 2
Generating from nonce: 0



It's telling me that it's generating from nonce 0 and it's created a file in the 'plots' folder, but that file is 0 bytes. Any help?
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250

Try removing the -Xmx4000m part from the bat file. It might be trying to force too much ram.


did it and got this LOL


Uncaught error from thread [default-akka.actor.default-dispatcher-3] shutting do
wn JVM since 'akka.jvm-exit-on-fatal-error' is enabled for ActorSystem[default]
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.init(GenerateSupr.java:61)
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.preStart(GenerateSupr.java:55)
        at akka.actor.Actor$class.aroundPreStart(Actor.scala:470)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor.aroundPreStart(UntypedActor.scala:97)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.create(ActorCell.scala:580)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.invokeAll$1(ActorCell.scala:456)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.systemInvoke(ActorCell.scala:478)
[ERROR] [08/10/2014 20:34:09.904] [default-akka.actor.default-dispatcher-3] [Act
orSystem(default)] Uncaught error from thread [default-akka.actor.default-dispat
cher-3] shutting down JVM since 'akka.jvm-exit-on-fatal-error' is enabled
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.init(GenerateSupr.java:61)
        at pocminer.GenerateSupr.preStart(GenerateSupr.java:55)
        at akka.actor.Actor$class.aroundPreStart(Actor.scala:470)
        at akka.actor.UntypedActor.aroundPreStart(UntypedActor.scala:97)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.create(ActorCell.scala:580)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.invokeAll$1(ActorCell.scala:456)
        at akka.actor.ActorCell.systemInvoke(ActorCell.scala:478)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.processAllSystemMessages(Mailbox.scala:263)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:219)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)
        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.processAllSystemMessages(Mailbox.scala:263)

        at akka.dispatch.Mailbox.run(Mailbox.scala:219)
        at akka.dispatch.ForkJoinExecutorConfigurator$AkkaForkJoinTask.exec(Abst
ractDispatcher.scala:393)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:260)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.runTask(ForkJoinPool
.java:1339)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:19
79)
        at scala.concurrent.forkjoin.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThre
ad.java:107)
sr. member
Activity: 418
Merit: 250
Should we expect any indication of progress while it is generating plots? Mine also says generating from nonce: 1 and nothing further.


sr. member
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
Sorry for the slow reply, forum keeps telling me I'm trying to post again too soon.

Getting "could not reserve enough space for object heap" when trying to generate plots
Use a smaller value instead of 8191 then, and make the number of plots a multiple of that. 8191 is ideal if you have a lot of ram, but unusable if you don't. Try 4000 or something instead. Higher numbers cause less HDD seeking while mining, but take more ram to generate.

I continue to get the memory error above.  I have 4 gigs of ram.  Here's my command line statement:
Code:
run_generate address_number 0 409550 500 1

Am I missing something?

Try removing the -Xmx4000m part from the bat file. It might be trying to force too much ram.

Getting "could not reserve enough space for object heap" when trying to generate plots
Use a smaller value instead of 8191 then, and make the number of plots a multiple of that. 8191 is ideal if you have a lot of ram, but unusable if you don't. Try 4000 or something instead. Higher numbers cause less HDD seeking while mining, but take more ram to generate.

you really need to give real example opf this:  

Now you can run run_generate.bat like this "run_generate.bat 8191
The number of plots should be a multiple of 8191.


workin on getting this figured out...what plot number is smart to start with 0?  how many threads should be used?

You can start wherever you want, but 0 or 1 makes sense to keep it simple.
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
Getting "could not reserve enough space for object heap" when trying to generate plots
Use a smaller value instead of 8191 then, and make the number of plots a multiple of that. 8191 is ideal if you have a lot of ram, but unusable if you don't. Try 4000 or something instead. Higher numbers cause less HDD seeking while mining, but take more ram to generate.

you really need to give real example opf this: 

Now you can run run_generate.bat like this "run_generate.bat 8191
The number of plots should be a multiple of 8191.

Where 12345678 is the number dumped to address.txt,
run_generate.bat 12345678 1 819100 8191 4
That would start to generate plots for nonces 1 - 819100 for address 12345678 using 4 cores for calculations. The resulting file will be about 200GB

For people who have less ram and can't do the above:
run_generate.bat 12345678 1 800000 4000 4
Uses half the rame to generate, and will cover about the same range, but more hdd seeking will be done while mining.

Sad

Error occurred during initialization of VM
Could not reserve enough space for object heap
Error: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine.
Error: A fatal exception has occurred. Program will exit.

Me too - tried on 2 machines...  Any advice dev?
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
Very cool. I want to get involved with this!
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 500
Getting "could not reserve enough space for object heap" when trying to generate plots
Use a smaller value instead of 8191 then, and make the number of plots a multiple of that. 8191 is ideal if you have a lot of ram, but unusable if you don't. Try 4000 or something instead. Higher numbers cause less HDD seeking while mining, but take more ram to generate.

you really need to give real example opf this: 

Now you can run run_generate.bat like this "run_generate.bat 8191
The number of plots should be a multiple of 8191.

Where 12345678 is the number dumped to address.txt,
run_generate.bat 12345678 1 819100 8191 4
That would start to generate plots for nonces 1 - 819100 for address 12345678 using 4 cores for calculations. The resulting file will be about 200GB

For people who have less ram and can't do the above:
run_generate.bat 12345678 1 800000 4000 4
Uses half the rame to generate, and will cover about the same range, but more hdd seeking will be done while mining.

Sad

Error occurred during initialization of VM
Could not reserve enough space for object heap
Error: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine.
Error: A fatal exception has occurred. Program will exit.

Same for me.. And I've 1.8 Tb free..
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 500
Getting "could not reserve enough space for object heap" when trying to generate plots
Use a smaller value instead of 8191 then, and make the number of plots a multiple of that. 8191 is ideal if you have a lot of ram, but unusable if you don't. Try 4000 or something instead. Higher numbers cause less HDD seeking while mining, but take more ram to generate.

you really need to give real example opf this: 

Now you can run run_generate.bat like this "run_generate.bat 8191
The number of plots should be a multiple of 8191.

Where 12345678 is the number dumped to address.txt,
run_generate.bat 12345678 1 819100 8191 4
That would start to generate plots for nonces 1 - 819100 for address 12345678 using 4 cores for calculations. The resulting file will be about 200GB

For people who have less ram and can't do the above:
run_generate.bat 12345678 1 800000 4000 4
Uses half the rame to generate, and will cover about the same range, but more hdd seeking will be done while mining.

Thanks! Currently it says generating from nonce: 1
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
Getting "could not reserve enough space for object heap" when trying to generate plots
Use a smaller value instead of 8191 then, and make the number of plots a multiple of that. 8191 is ideal if you have a lot of ram, but unusable if you don't. Try 4000 or something instead. Higher numbers cause less HDD seeking while mining, but take more ram to generate.

you really need to give real example opf this: 

Now you can run run_generate.bat like this "run_generate.bat 8191
The number of plots should be a multiple of 8191.

Where 12345678 is the number dumped to address.txt,
run_generate.bat 12345678 1 819100 8191 4
That would start to generate plots for nonces 1 - 819100 for address 12345678 using 4 cores for calculations. The resulting file will be about 200GB

For people who have less ram and can't do the above:
run_generate.bat 12345678 1 800000 4000 4
Uses half the rame to generate, and will cover about the same range, but more hdd seeking will be done while mining.

Sad

Error occurred during initialization of VM
Could not reserve enough space for object heap
Error: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine.
Error: A fatal exception has occurred. Program will exit.
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
Getting "could not reserve enough space for object heap" when trying to generate plots
Use a smaller value instead of 8191 then, and make the number of plots a multiple of that. 8191 is ideal if you have a lot of ram, but unusable if you don't. Try 4000 or something instead. Higher numbers cause less HDD seeking while mining, but take more ram to generate.

I continue to get the memory error above.  I have 4 gigs of ram.  Here's my command line statement:
Code:
run_generate address_number 0 409550 500 1

Am I missing something?
sr. member
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
Getting "could not reserve enough space for object heap" when trying to generate plots
Use a smaller value instead of 8191 then, and make the number of plots a multiple of that. 8191 is ideal if you have a lot of ram, but unusable if you don't. Try 4000 or something instead. Higher numbers cause less HDD seeking while mining, but take more ram to generate.

you really need to give real example opf this: 

Now you can run run_generate.bat like this "run_generate.bat 8191
The number of plots should be a multiple of 8191.

Where 12345678 is the number dumped to address.txt,
run_generate.bat 12345678 1 819100 8191 4
That would start to generate plots for nonces 1 - 819100 for address 12345678 using 4 cores for calculations. The resulting file will be about 200GB

For people who have less ram and can't do the above:
run_generate.bat 12345678 1 800000 4000 4
Uses half the rame to generate, and will cover about the same range, but more hdd seeking will be done while mining.
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 500
When I run the bat file by doble clicking it, the prompt closes immediatly, saying java it's not recognised file or command.. I've java installed on my pc! I'm on W8.1

edit all the .bat file and replace java for C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java

Thanks, i'm noob!

Now:
Quote
Now you can run run_generate.bat like this "run_generate.bat 8191

what's ?

an example please?!
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
Now generating plots...

can you post what you use for run_generate?  instructions make no sense
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 500
Error: Could not find or load main class pocminer.POCMiner
Is this because I'm using Java 8?

Edit: NVM wrong parameters used, got it working!
member
Activity: 87
Merit: 10
Getting "could not reserve enough space for object heap" when trying to generate plots
Use a smaller value instead of 8191 then, and make the number of plots a multiple of that. 8191 is ideal if you have a lot of ram, but unusable if you don't. Try 4000 or something instead. Higher numbers cause less HDD seeking while mining, but take more ram to generate.

you really need to give real example opf this: 

Now you can run run_generate.bat like this "run_generate.bat 8191
The number of plots should be a multiple of 8191.


workin on getting this figured out...what plot number is smart to start with 0?  how many threads should be used?
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 292
★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice
When I run the bat file by doble clicking it, the prompt closes immediatly, saying java it's not recognised file or command.. I've java installed on my pc! I'm on W8.1

edit all the .bat file and replace java for C:\Windows\SysWOW64\java

That did it thanks.
Jump to: