Pages:
Author

Topic: Armory wont start after 0.96.1 upgrade (Read 1188 times)

newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
September 07, 2017, 09:36:23 PM
#23
 Grin Solved, thank you!

I did have to get my fingernails dirty because Mint 18.2's default install doesn't include something like 15 packages I needed to compile etc., and the first few times I launched armory (from the command line, because sudo make install didn't create any menu entries) it didn't scan the entire blockchain - could only make it to 2016. After a factory reset or two all is good. My correct wallet balance is displayed and all transactions listed.

Back when hplip and Nvidia drivers were major command line projects I did learn some commands but this was my first experience compiling anything, btw - it was fun!

Wondering if not creating a desktop icon or menu entry was an intentional security feature, but I'm thinking about leaving it that way for now. 

Thanks again!

Rich H.
HCP
legendary
Activity: 2086
Merit: 4316
September 06, 2017, 12:38:43 AM
#22
With a processor that old, you may need to compile your own copy of Armory. The "illegal instruction" error is generally caused by attempting to run Armory on older processors that don't support the instruction set that the newer binaries have been compiled for.

You'll need to clone the git repo for the latest version and compile it yourself.
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
September 05, 2017, 07:05:14 PM
#21
I had a similar issue after performing a fresh install of Mint 18.2 64 bit, kernel 4.8.0-53, GCC version Ubuntu 5.4.0-1ubuntu~16.04.4) 5.4.0 20160609.

HP Pavilion p6710f, AMD Athlon II X64 640 Quad-Core 3.0Ghz, PC3 10600 DDR3-1333 16gb, Crucial MX300 1TB (Grub, boot, Mint, Home), Crucial MX200 (W10), WDC 2TB Spinner, GeForce GT 730, XFX TS650.

Running bitcoind 0.14.2-Xenial1.

Armory 0.96.2.1-gcc5.4_amd64.deb installed, but would not launch via the Cinnamon Menu (thus no logs were created). I tried to launch via the command line and got an "illegal instruction" error.

Removed Armory via Synaptic, deleted all .armory related files, tried several prior versions of Armory same results. Would install but not launch. 0.95.1_amd64.deb would launch, but would not allow me to import a pre-existing wallet (said it was already scanning?) and after several hours would crash out or be shutdown because it started looping/using all my RAM and 400% of my CPU horsepower. A couple of times upon closing it told me there was a BDM error.

In my haste to find a solution I did not preserve any logs from 0.95.1 unfortunately. I now have Armory 0.93.3_beta_e59e10d38c installed and it successfully synced with the network, built databases, and is now scanning transaction history. Still 20 minutes to go.

Ideally though I'd like to run the newest goatpig version, mostly for reasons of security rather than the segwit stuff but
now that I have a working version what is the safest way to upgrade? Can I install the upgraded version without first removing 0.93.3? I fear if I remove Armory and related folders/files I'll be back at square one and unable to launch the program.




legendary
Activity: 3640
Merit: 1345
Armory Developer
September 01, 2017, 07:08:04 PM
#20
Then do:

Code:
sudo apt-get install pkg-config

Then run the configure script anew.
newbie
Activity: 50
Merit: 0
September 01, 2017, 03:13:43 PM
#19
Thanks GP. Not sure what to do with that link. Do I run in in terminal or do I save configure.ac in the Armory folder and run that via terminal to compile?

pkg-config 'QtCore'
returns this:

The program 'pkg-config' can be found in the following packages:
* pkg-config
* pkgconf


pkg-config 'QtGui'
Returns exactly the same:

The program 'pkg-config' can be found in the following packages:
* pkg-config
* pkgconf
legendary
Activity: 3640
Merit: 1345
Armory Developer
September 01, 2017, 02:38:05 PM
#18
https://github.com/goatpig/BitcoinArmory/blob/master/configure.ac#L129

This checks your Qt version. Is "pkg-config" a binary in your path, and if so, what does it return for this command:

Code:
pkg-config 'QtCore'
pkg-config 'QtGui'
newbie
Activity: 50
Merit: 0
September 01, 2017, 02:25:42 PM
#17
Thanks for the leads GP. I found some interesting info. Could this be a clash with Kubuntu 17.04 which im on? Look at this:

1 The output of the 0.96.1 build process ends with:
        configure: error: missing QTcore library, make sure libqt4core4 and libqt-dev are installed.

But those packages are not listed on the repos. Instead there are these files listed (found them with your search string:

libqtcore4
libqt4-dev

When I try to install those packages as listed on the repos, i get an 'already installed not updated' message.

Is that why the compiler cannot find those? It is looking for the wrong package names for Kubuntu 17.04 users?
Its looking for libqt4core4 instead of libqtcore4 and libqt-dev instead of libqt4-dev?


on Kubuntu package search https://packages.ubuntu.com/
A search for "qt4 core" shows package "libqt4-core" available for Trusty 14.04, but if you select 'Zesty' under "search in specific suite" It returns no results.

https://packages.ubuntu.com/search?suite=zesty&searchon=names&keywords=qt4%20core


Is this a 0.96.1 compatibility issue with Kubuntu 17.04 Zesty ?

Also, looking at the KInfocenter, it shows the QT version for Kubuntu 17.04 as being v5.7.1

Could be something?

Thanks again man, respect to you for helping so many people.



legendary
Activity: 3640
Merit: 1345
Armory Developer
August 30, 2017, 08:46:17 PM
#16
Look up the package name for Qt4 Core in a search engine for your OS.

Alternatively you can search your package repo for the name pattern:

Code:
apt-cache search libqt | grep qt
newbie
Activity: 50
Merit: 0
August 30, 2017, 06:08:33 PM
#15
Hi thanks for the tip.
When i search for those packages, either on the repositories, or on https://packages.ubuntu.com/ I get "unable to locate package"

So Im still stuck with this error

checking for lrelease... yes
./configure line 18202: pkg-config: command not found
configure: error: missing QTcore library, make sure libqt4core4 and libqt-dev are installed.

When I try to run ./configure

Does anyone know the solution?
staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
August 14, 2017, 12:59:38 AM
#14
checking for lrelease... yes
./configure line 18202: pkg-config: command not found
configure: error: missing QTcore library, make sure libqt4core4 and libqt-dev are installed.
Try installing libqt4core4 and libqt-dev.
newbie
Activity: 50
Merit: 0
August 13, 2017, 04:50:06 PM
#13
Thanks! That guide is much more up to date than the Linux guide I was using from the source download.

Perhaps that should be updated?

Anyway, it wnt through quickly as everything was already installed. I ran the steps in the linked file and got the same error:

checking for lrelease... yes
./configure line 18202: pkg-config: command not found
configure: error: missing QTcore library, make sure libqt4core4 and libqt-dev are installed.

staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
August 13, 2017, 02:02:11 PM
#12
Have you installed all of Armory's dependencies?

Please follow the build instructions at https://btcarmory.com/docs/building/. It will give you the commands to run and the dependencies that you need to install.
newbie
Activity: 50
Merit: 0
August 13, 2017, 09:53:56 AM
#11
Thanks HCp im a lot closer now!

I pressed on, skipped importing Goatpigs sig, guessd thats good to go

Successfully completed:

$ autoconf
$ autoreconf
$ automake

All looking good, then

$ ./configure

Goes through a long process and fails with:

checking for lrelease... yes
./configure line 18202: pkg-config: command not found
configure: error: missing QTcore library, make sure libqt4core4 and libqt-dev are installed.

They are both installed as is every Qtcore package I could find. Ive also read every forum there is.

Anyone know a fix for this qtcore problem?
HCP
legendary
Activity: 2086
Merit: 4316
August 12, 2017, 07:47:54 AM
#10
The important part is the "gpg: Good signature from "goatpig (Offline signing key for Armory releases) <[email protected]>" [unknown]"

This means that it is all signed with goatpigs gpg signature... Smiley

"gpg: WARNING: This key is not certified with a trusted signature!" just means that no trusted cert that you have currently vouches for goatpigs sig... ie. You haven't imported his signature into your "circle of trust" Wink 

TLDR; the files are signed with the sig... but you haven't "trusted" the sig yet.
newbie
Activity: 50
Merit: 0
August 12, 2017, 07:30:02 AM
#9
Could someone ok what I have done as I'm a bit worried about this!

1 I've changed the permissions on home/username/.gnupg to 'Forbidden' for 'Group' and 'Others' because of that security warning in the post above.
This is very worrying as i cloned the git, then received that warning when trying to verify it. Did it set itself up incorrectly?

Anyway, I pressed on and

2 Reinstalled Git with "git checkout v0.96.1" which worked and I got back "HEAD is now at a3492eld.... bump version"

3 Imported Goatpigs PGP key with:
gpg --import file.txt



4 When I run:

5 gpg --recv-keys --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com 4922589A

6 I get :

gpg: key xxxx1176492xxxxx: "goatpig (Offline signing key for Armory releases) <[email protected]>" 4 new signatures
gpg: no ultimately trusted keys found
gpg: Total number processed: 1
gpg:         new signatures: 4


continuing anyway, I run
cd /bitcoinarmory

then
$ git tag -v v0.96.1

and I get
object xxxxx1d30ca7256xxxxxxxxx97b9d5bc539c1e
type commit
tag v0.96.1
tagger goatpig <[email protected]> 1501092062 +0200

v0.96.1
gpg: Signature made Wed 26 Jul 2017 19:01:02 BST
gpg:                using RSA key 8C5211764922589A
gpg: Good signature from "goatpig (Offline signing key for Armory releases) <[email protected]>" [unknown]
gpg: WARNING: This key is not certified with a trusted signature!
gpg:          There is no indication that the signature belongs to the owner.
Primary key fingerprint: xxxx 707F xxxx 968B DF63  xxxx 8C52 1176 xxxx xxxx


I added xxx's to hide any potentially sensitive stuff


Does anyone know where I am going wrong?
newbie
Activity: 50
Merit: 0
August 11, 2017, 11:20:12 AM
#8
More info: There are some odd looking files in that folder with the suspect permissions home/username/.gnupg such as:

a folder /private-keys-v1.d
pbring.kbx
trustdb.gpg
S.uiserver

Does this look right? Is it ok to continue the build from source process?
newbie
Activity: 50
Merit: 0
August 11, 2017, 05:09:13 AM
#7
Thanks for the excellent help again GP

Im compiling from source, following the instructions in the Linux folderin the source download file.
Installed 'build-essential' and all the other updates successfully.
Then after cloning the git hub I run 'git tage -v v0.96.1' I get:


gpg: WARNING: Unsafe permissions on homedir 'home/username/.gnupg'
gpg: Signature made 27 July 2017
gpg: Using rsa key XXXXXXXXXXXX
gpg: Can't check signature: No public key


When I check the perms of that folder /.gnypg  the 'Group' has been set to 'can view and modify content' which is the same setting for the 'Owner'
'Other' has been set to 'Can view content'

This would all be completely impossible without you all on this site. So thanks again for all the help. What a journey!!!!
legendary
Activity: 3640
Merit: 1345
Armory Developer
August 09, 2017, 04:23:08 PM
#6
Illegal instruction (core dumped)

Your CPU is too old to run these builds, you'll have to build from source or wait for the offline builds coming with 0.96.2
newbie
Activity: 50
Merit: 0
August 09, 2017, 10:42:29 AM
#5
Thanks for helping Smiley

The upgrade crashes.

I try to install 0.96.1 over the top of the previous version with the latest deb file from github and I get this

Quote
(Reading database ... 253445 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../armory_0.96.1_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking armory (0.96.1-1) over (0.96-1) ...
Setting up armory (0.96.1-1) ...
   Setting up menu items.
    EXEC: xdg-icon-resource install --novendor --context apps --size 64 /usr/local/share/armory/img/armory_icon_64x64.png armoryicon
    EXEC: xdg-icon-resource install --novendor --context apps --size 64 /usr/local/share/armory/img/armory_icon_64x64.png armoryofflineicon
    EXEC: xdg-icon-resource install --novendor --context apps --size 64 /usr/local/share/armory/img/armory_icon_green_64x64.png armorytestneticon
Done

If I try to run armory from terminal inside the Armory folder i get:
Quote
Illegal instruction (core dumped)


The de file for 0.96.1 that I have is much smaller (9mb) than the previous version 0.96.0 (14mb) is that ok?

Thanks for all the help you give us Goatpig
legendary
Activity: 3640
Merit: 1345
Armory Developer
August 08, 2017, 06:02:31 PM
#4
Your log shows that you are using 0.96, not 0.96.1. Update and report.
Pages:
Jump to: