Pages:
Author

Topic: Best budget 6GPU motherboard? - page 2. (Read 640 times)

Activity: 700
Merit: 294
December 16, 2017, 03:27:34 AM
I'm a total newbie at mining, but I've worked in I.T. for 25+ years.... Are you doing this as a hobby? I.E. you don't really care how often your rig crashes, or are you looking to build a production setup that you want generating cash for you 24/7? If you care about stability and keeping your rig up and running with the least crashes possible, don't cheap out on your motherboard or your power supplies, they're the heart or your setup.

All sound advice for a daily driver computer or gaming computer.  But when it comes to mining, the problems you are going to have with stability are more related to the OS, drivers and mining software.  A quality power supply is good advice though.

I'm debating between EVGA and Corsair power supplies at the moment.

Don't split hairs... they are both good.

As a newbie, I can't say which MB is best as I'm still researching that myself... I will say that I wish I could get an Intel branded everything (motherboard, chipset and CPU) because that has provided me the most stability in an enterprise level environment. I remember the old days of 3 different brands and companies for MB, chipset and CPU and how many times our systems would blue screen or hang as a result....

I won't begrudge your preference, but this is mining, not enterprise.  You want your equipment to be cheap and fast.  Reliable is nice, but not necessary, as the CPU, motherboard, and related hardware are not that taxed during mining.