Pages:
Author

Topic: Bitcoin Client Redeam private key? - page 2. (Read 4485 times)

legendary
Activity: 2506
Merit: 1010
August 14, 2012, 02:56:45 AM
Could someone pls run me through it in the fewest possible steps? Im a complete noob and have no idea how to do even the first thing described above. Shocked Huh Huh

Step 1. Back up your wallet. You are messing with your wallet here, ... and it is easy to do things you might not have intended.

Run Bitcoin as a server, e.g.,

$ ./bitcoin-qt -server

then launch another shell / terminal window.

If you've encrypted your wallet you'll need to open it for RPC

$ ./bitcoind walletpassphrase [passphrase] 1000

then

$ ./bitcoind importprivkey  [label]

then close bitcoin-qt.

then

$ ./bitcoind -rescan
legendary
Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000
August 13, 2012, 02:30:10 PM
Insert the following into your bitcoin.conf
Code:
server=1
and start your bitcoin-qt.

Open a command line and write
Code:
bitcoind importprivkey  [label]
and press enter. The label is optional, but I would advise you to use it so you can recognize the address later.
Your private key is imported.

Could someone pls run me through it in the fewest possible steps? Im a complete noob and have no idea how to do even the first thing described above. Shocked Huh Huh

I have redeemed a private key successfully with blockchain.info already, but would like to learn how to do it without any thirdparty application also. So if bad gets worse, I can still retrieve my pressious bitcoins using only the original bitcoin client.

Thx
legendary
Activity: 2506
Merit: 1010
July 08, 2012, 01:27:22 PM
is their a Bitcoin that can Client Redeam private key?

Also, Mt. Gox will redeem a key and create a sweep transaction to add that amount to your account balance.  It will then also monitor that address and if any funds arrive at a later point in time, automatically sweep them at that time as well.