Pages:
Author

Topic: Bitcoin Core version 0.13.0 Released - page 3. (Read 12325 times)

legendary
Activity: 3206
Merit: 1069
August 30, 2016, 01:43:56 AM
i don't know if it's me, win10 or whatever, but transaction windows notification, does not appear anymore, i'm talking about that small window in the bottom right of the corner
staff
Activity: 3374
Merit: 6530
Just writing some code
August 29, 2016, 03:59:27 PM
Hi Bitcoin People! I have been running an online business for a few years. 2 years ago I decided to setup a bitcoin payment module which to my surprise have been used a lot. Since this is my own bitcoin server I am responsible of maintaining and updating the bitcoin core to it's latest version and backing up the wallet a few times every day.

I have read that the latest bitcoin update has a HD feature which means I only have to back up the seed. Now when my wallet is getting bigger and bigger (roughly 80 MB) contaning tons of addresses that's not in use anymore, I would like to have a HD wallet. Which means I don't need to create a backup every time a bitcoin transaction occurs, increasing the wallet.dat with data.

Questions:
1) Is it possible to import all the old addresses/private keys from my old wallet, into a new HD-wallet?
I think it may be possible. Otherwise you will have to send the Bitcoin from your old wallet to an address in the new wallet.

2) Can the HD feature be used for commerce (via RPC bitcoin-cli) or is it only for private use?

Thanks in advance,
Matteo
Yes. There is no difference between commercial use and private use. The computer doesn't know the difference and doesn't care.
Activity: 1
Merit: 0
August 29, 2016, 03:37:12 PM