Pages:
Author

Topic: Bitcointalk accounts - Ukraine - page 2. (Read 576 times)

Activity: 1358
Merit: 850
March 08, 2022, 12:37:52 PM
I can only imagine one possible case if a lot of password/email are getting changed:
Putin will claim himself as Ukrainian and ask for donations for the Ukrain people and scam the BTC/ETH whatever he receives  Grin That won't be fair; I don't want to hand out my money to a scammer. Please restrict anyone from changing their email/password. Anyone can now claim as Ukrainian; who knows he is Putin or not  Grin
legendary
Activity: 3248
Merit: 3098
March 08, 2022, 11:50:07 AM
yes.

But again, I'm not that tech savvy to discuss it on a technical level. maybe it's not needed at all. I just suggested a discussion.

Theoretically not impossible; but if Putin wants to spread some propaganda, he'd focus on the likes of Facebook/Twitter/Reddit/Instagram/TikTok/etc, not some super niche early 2000s-style online forum.

I would not ignore this possibility, but we need to look at the bigger picture.
Maybe Putin wants to start their own NFT project with all war photos in there, so he needs shillers on Bicointalk, and it will be much more convincing if it works with Ukrainian accounts. the purpose of the project would be to help overcome the difficulties caused by economic sanctions.
Or even maybe there is a new government strategy with massive participation in bounty campaigns.
legendary
Activity: 2212
Merit: 7064
March 08, 2022, 11:26:08 AM
Let's not get super paranoid, because this is not the first or the last conflict that is going to happen in the world.
There is nothing special with accounts from any country that was in war since bitcointalk forum existed, and we have a long list off all countries that were invaded.
Only way to identify account locstion in forum is with IP address, and that can easily change with vpn or Tor browser.
legendary
Activity: 2310
Merit: 4085
Farewell o_e_l_e_o
March 08, 2022, 11:14:47 AM