Pages:
Author

Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board - page 32. (Read 286370 times)

sr. member
Activity: 476
Merit: 250
Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.
August 17, 2012, 04:49:39 AM
I'm trying Glasswalker, following your instructions, repeating the steps best I can, but I've got a fair few verified failed when trying to flash with a whole bunch of garbage outputted telling me it failed.  Undecided

Finally got 1 of the chips to flash (p3). This is progress, I don't think I did anything different, persistence prevails this time.
Tried chip p2 next, got the same error that I often get:

Verify failed at flash_page 2911
Read: fffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff * alot more of these
File: *lots of random numbers* I'll post a screen shot if it really helps
Verify: Failure

I didn't change anything other than selecting p2 instead of p3, Ah the quest continues.
sr. member
Activity: 476
Merit: 250
Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.
August 17, 2012, 04:30:42 AM
I'm trying Glasswalker, following your instructions, repeating the steps best I can, but I've got a fair few verified failed when trying to flash with a whole bunch of garbage outputted telling me it failed.  Undecided
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 564
August 17, 2012, 04:17:22 AM
Hmmm. So it looks like the onboard flash on the controller FPGA is effectively Atmel DataFlash, namely an AT45DB011D. Annoyingly flashrom doesn't support programming Atmel DataFlash because if it did it might provide a way to reflash the controller from Linux. (It can detect the flash chip OK with a small patch to its FT2232 driver, just not actually do anything with it.)
sr. member
Activity: 476
Merit: 250
Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.
August 17, 2012, 02:53:26 AM
Ok, I have an official release here Smiley
https://github.com/pmumby/hashvoodoo-fpga-bitcoin-miner/downloads
(you want the Aug 16th release)

That's the first officially "useful" release of the HashVoodoo bitstream for the CM1 boards.

Thanks Glasswalker, will give these a go, since I do crave stability in my bitstream, No offense meant to Makomk's bitstream, my boards just are not cooperating. So for at least a while I will try the hashvoodoo and provide any feedback on them.

So these use it's own bitstream and controller and flashed the same way, via usb? Okay.
hero member
Activity: 648
Merit: 500
August 16, 2012, 11:15:48 PM
are these things using all 4 chips to hash yet?

EDIT: oops just saw glasswalkers post.

they have been for 2 weeks? now. makmoks been delivering a steady stream of bit...er, um, streams
sr. member
Activity: 456
Merit: 250
August 16, 2012, 07:08:41 PM
are these things using all 4 chips to hash yet?

EDIT: oops just saw glasswalkers post.
hero member
Activity: 556
Merit: 500
August 16, 2012, 07:05:13 PM
I can't get the controller 1.4 working with the up/down cables, good thing I bought a jtag cable too I knew it might come in handy someday.
donator
Activity: 543
Merit: 500
August 16, 2012, 03:32:46 PM
makomk's overclocked 200 mhz bitstream is running without any problems on my SN 26 board for two days now. U is 5.47+5.43.

Either the pre-50 boards are not that bad at all or I'm just really lucky!?
sr. member
Activity: 407
Merit: 250
August 16, 2012, 02:39:05 PM
Ok, I have an official release here Smiley
https://github.com/pmumby/hashvoodoo-fpga-bitcoin-miner/downloads
(you want the Aug 16th release)

That's the first officially "useful" release of the HashVoodoo bitstream for the CM1 boards.

It includes instructions, dipswitch diagrams, it's own controller (required), and files for flashing both via USB and via jtag/impact.

This one runs at 175Mhz, and is overclocked a bit. It's been tested fairly heavily at this point and is stable on both the current boards, and the pre-50 boards.

It does throw invalids (under 5%) on a couple chips at random, this is due to the overclock.

I should have a much improved clockrate bitstream very soon.

And yes we have thuroughly tested USB flashing of both the controller and the array fpgas. It works fine with this new controller, so you can downgrade just fine. It's been tested on several boards.

Here is the readme from the zip, please read it when you download it:
Code:
This bistream is now mining stable on all 4 slots on both the old (pre-50) and newer CM1 boards.
It should reach 175Mhash, with relatively low invalids. It is an overclock, so it does see some invalids, on the odd chip, but seems to behave exactly the
same on both old and new boards.
Right now this bitstream built with timing to meet 150Mhz, and I'm running it at 175Mhz, so it's a 25Mhz overclock.
My hope is to release another version very soon which meets much higher timing (at least 175Mhz - 180Mhz or maybe even higher) meaning 200+ should
be achievable with this soon.

This controller is new, and generates a 25Mhz comm clock, and a 25Mhz LVDS source clock, which is then stepped up. We'll be cleaning that up in a
future release, which may improve stability a little more due to less noise.

The LEDs on the array FPGAs work slightly differently on this bitstream:
RED: Heartbeat (clock blinker) blinks on a divider of the hashing clock
GREEN: Found Nonce (lights up and fades out)
BLUE: Serial Activity LED (lights on RX or TX)
AMBER: Idle, lights when the FPGA is not currently busy hashing.
The heartbeat will also light SOLID if the DCM has lost it's lock or the clock is somehow "invalid"

This release should work on any miner compatible with Icarus, you need to add all 4 serial ports as workers, at 115200 baud. Each worker should
independently pull 175MHash.
I do have my own fork of MPBM which has a customized Cairnsmore module, this module will report valid hash rates and statistics.
If you mine with another miner, you may not get valid hash rates (likely it will report exactly double)
My fork can be found here:
https://github.com/pmumby/Modular-Python-Bitcoin-Miner
(be sure to get the "testing" branch)
And use the glasswalker-cairnsmore module for your workers.

For Flashing:
I have included both the normal bit and the MCS file (for flashing the SPI in Impact) in this release.
Only the bit is included for the controller, as an MCS is not needed for it.

To flash via USB use the instructions provided by enterpoint. Attached is a JPG with the dip switch diagram, and here is a table of what the dip switches do:
SWITCH1 - Manual Reset when OFF (default is ON)
SWITCH2 - Override Fan Speed Sense when OFF (default is ON)
SWITCH3 - USB Programming Enable when OFF (default is ON)
SWITCH4 - MUST BE ON ALWAYS!
SWITCH5 - MUST BE ON ALWAYS!
SWITCH6 - Controller USB SPI Flash Enable when OFF (default is ON)
SWITCH7 - NOT USED CURRENTLY
SWITCH8 - JTAG Select (ON=Internal USB) (OFF=External JTAG)

For mining all switches should be in the ON state.

To flash via Xilinx ISE Impact with a supported JTAG cable:
Flash the controller first:
- Plug into controller jtag
- Let impact create a new file, and scan the jtag.
- It will identify the Spartan3, and prompt if you wish to pick a configuration file
- Choose the controller bit file.
- In the actions menu choose the option to program FLASH and FPGA.

Then do the array FPGAs:
- Plug into array jtag
- Let impact create a new file and scan the jtag
- when prompted, choose the hashvoodoo bit file for configuration file
- When prompted to add an SPI flash, say yes
- Choose the MCS file provided
- When prompted for the type of SPI PROM choose the M25P128
- Repeat for the other 3 chips
- When done a dialog with some settings will pop up, accept the defaults.
- Select one of the SPI Flash chips in the graphical display. It will turn green
- In the action menu choose Program.
- Repeat for the other chips. (no need to do the FPGAs themselves they program from the SPI on power cycle)
- Power cycle the board

Note, when flashing, there seems to be a stability benefit (not in hashing, but in flashing itself, to improve success rate) if you flash them in reverse order
(start with the 4th chip and work back to the first). Not sure why that is.

When done programming, please do a FULL power cycle of the board before mining with it.

Please share your results with this bitstream on the forums.

Upcoming features:
- Faster clock
- Less invalids
- Dynamic Clock Tuning (software can auto-adjust clock for best speed with minimal invalids)

Let me know how it works for you. I know this one isn't faster than the makomk 200, but it should be more stable on all boards (so your problem boards
should run this one just fine).

Expect a much faster version (200+) "Soon (tm)".

Please report any issues to the issue tracker on github and/or on IRC in #cm1 on freenode.
sr. member
Activity: 462
Merit: 251
August 16, 2012, 02:14:48 PM

2.If it is 1.  Are they w7 64bits compatible?.


Windows7 isn't usually a problem. We run it here on most machines and that is what we using in the main. I think Webpack version is restriced to 32bit install but that should be ok under 64bit with compatibility settings. I'll try an install on a clean machine if I can find one.
full member
Activity: 199
Merit: 100
August 16, 2012, 12:27:55 PM
PS: ebereon Do you have an usb jtag cable??? dont you?  did you buy it on ebay?

are they "plug and play" or you have to check pines or whatever to be able of use the x3sprog.exe or spiprog.exe ??

Thank you.

I have the prog3 from enterpoint. You need to install ISE and with that the drivers will install too for it. No drivers from enterpoint.

It's simple plug&play.

How i do a recover:
- connect the JTAG cable to the JTAG port of the conrtoller
- start IMPACT (from ISE)
- flash the bitstream to the controller
- repower the board
- done

SPIprog.exe is only working with the ftdi usb, but this is not working when you have the 1.4 controller.
With xc3sprog you have to give the correct option for the cable you use. Prog3 cable is the option -c xpc instead of -c cm1 with the usb cable.

eb



Thank you .   you answered lots of questions i did in the next post Wink you are faster than light !!!

Then it seems prog3 cable is the easy solution i was looking for ,if ribbon cables fails.

you chill me out alot i was scared about  had to discover for my self methods like "the seven" one.  
full member
Activity: 199
Merit: 100
August 16, 2012, 12:19:51 PM
Thank's God I only updated one of my boards, to see how it worked and seeing i couldnt change bitstream using "the seven" windows-fast method, and getting more errors in that board i decided to stop upgrading controllers.

But now It seems I'll have to buy one of those JTAG cables ( what i tryed to not to do).

Yohan now i hope enterpoint begin to support officialy those cables and give us info about those.

Of course I'm following this thread closely and know recently one user give us a paralel port cable but what I need, if i have to spend 30€, is to be sure what i'll have to buy.

and please before to release an official update please be sure at least you can  downgrade it .

Regards.
 
PS: ebereon Do you have an usb jtag cable???

are they "plug and play" or you have to check pines or whatever to be able of use the x3sprog.exe ??

Thank you.

Apologies for the inconvenience and we will try and not make the same mistake again. We do know now what the issue is simple 2 '1's instead of 'z' in a logic function that drives i/os back to the FT4232.

There are a range of cables available to program with. Parallel port types are very cheap but obviously have a problem that not many people have a parallel port. We do one at £15 (+vat if applies) called Prog2 but there are many other others. For a USB solution we offer out Prog3 at £50. Cheaper solutions at one of our competitors http://www.digilentinc.com/Products/Catalog.cfm?NavPath=2,395&Cat=5 and Chinese clones as well. You can generally find the Chinese clones in Ebay.

There is also a possibility of reprogramming a Cairnsmore1 Controller from another Cairnsmore1 (suitable updated) and by connecting headers up to up and down to down using standard up/down ribbons. We will have a look at that. If it is viable it might take us a couple of days to sort that out. An extension of this technique might allow us to a cheap recovery module for the Controller and we are looking at that as well but that will take a few weeks to design and make.


 Apologies accepted mate.

What i want is an easy and effortless and cheap ,  as it could be, method to fix that .if you are selling one of those cables it sounds good to me. but I have some noob questions:

1.Is it fully compatible with the spiprog.exe and xc3sprog.exe programs?? or you have to use other xilinx programs?
2.If it is 1.  Are they w7 64bits compatible?.
3. has it some kind of basic instruction about installing driver in w7? for instance if they need some extra steps like create conf files or change registry entries...     

I'll wait some days to see if that up/down ribbon method works.

Thank you in advance.
hm
member
Activity: 107
Merit: 10
August 16, 2012, 12:13:11 PM
dcmwd4c_200 @ fpga0, fpga1, fpga2
dcmwd2_190 @ fpga3

=> this didn't improve stability, but lowered the average hashrate a little bit.

I'll try dcmwd4c_200@fpga0,fpga1,fpga3 and dcmwd2_190@fpga2, if this doesn't help either, I'll just have to try other bitstreams until I find the best combination.

running for ca. 22h:

the lows in the graph (from 7:30am on) are probably caused by pool maintenance.

Code:
 cgminer version 2.6.4 - Started: [2012-08-15 21:35:01]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):695.9 (avg):780.6 Mh/s | Q:3517  A:10272  R:55  HW:0  E:292%  U:8.0/m
 TQ: 0  ST: 4  SS: 3  DW: 660  NB: 140  LW: 21717  GF: 2  RF: 4
 Block: 0000058675654a71631b3f58d0ec40db...  Started: [18:59:54]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 ICA 0:                | 401.6/399.5Mh/s | A:6780 R:41 HW:0 U: 5.26/m
 ICA 1:                | 379.8/381.1Mh/s | A:3492 R:14 HW:0 U: 2.71/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sr. member
Activity: 397
Merit: 500
August 16, 2012, 11:58:51 AM
PS: ebereon Do you have an usb jtag cable??? dont you?  did you buy it on ebay?

are they "plug and play" or you have to check pines or whatever to be able of use the x3sprog.exe or spiprog.exe ??

Thank you.

I have the prog3 from enterpoint. You need to install ISE and with that the drivers will install too for it. No drivers from enterpoint.

It's simple plug&play.

How i do a recover:
- connect the JTAG cable to the JTAG port of the conrtoller
- start IMPACT (from ISE)
- flash the bitstream to the controller
- repower the board
- done

SPIprog.exe is only working with the ftdi usb, but this is not working when you have the 1.4 controller.
With xc3sprog you have to give the correct option for the cable you use. Prog3 cable is the option -c xpc instead of -c cm1 with the usb cable.

eb

sr. member
Activity: 462
Merit: 251
August 16, 2012, 11:49:39 AM
Thank's God I only updated one of my boards, to see how it worked and seeing i couldnt change bitstream using "the seven" windows-fast method, and getting more errors in that board i decided to stop upgrading controllers.

But now It seems I'll have to buy one of those JTAG cables ( what i tryed to not to do).

Yohan now i hope enterpoint begin to support officialy those cables and give us info about those.

Of course I'm following this thread closely and know recently one user give us a paralel port cable but what I need, if i have to spend 30€, is to be sure what i'll have to buy.

and please before to release an official update please be sure at least you can  downgrade it .

Regards.
 
PS: ebereon Do you have an usb jtag cable???

are they "plug and play" or you have to check pines or whatever to be able of use the x3sprog.exe ??

Thank you.

Apologies for the inconvenience and we will try and not make the same mistake again. We do know now what the issue is simple 2 '1's instead of 'z' in a logic function that drives i/os back to the FT4232.

There are a range of cables available to program with. Parallel port types are very cheap but obviously have a problem that not many people have a parallel port. We do one at £15 (+vat if applies) called Prog2 but there are many other others. For a USB solution we offer out Prog3 at £50. Cheaper solutions at one of our competitors http://www.digilentinc.com/Products/Catalog.cfm?NavPath=2,395&Cat=5 and Chinese clones as well. You can generally find the Chinese clones in Ebay.

There is also a possibility of reprogramming a Cairnsmore1 Controller from another Cairnsmore1 (suitable updated) and by connecting headers up to up and down to down using standard up/down ribbons. We will have a look at that. If it is viable it might take us a couple of days to sort that out. An extension of this technique might allow us to a cheap recovery module for the Controller and we are looking at that as well but that will take a few weeks to design and make.
full member
Activity: 199
Merit: 100
August 16, 2012, 11:21:49 AM
Thank's God I only updated one of my boards, to see how it worked. And seeing i couldnt change bitstream using "the seven" windows-fast method, and getting more errors in that board i decided to stop upgrading controllers.

But now It seems I'll have to buy one of those JTAG cables ( what i tryed to not to do).

Yohan now i hope enterpoint begin to support officialy those cables and give us a little tutorial about upgrade controller.

Of course I'm following this thread closely and know recently one user give us a paralel port cable but what I need, if i have to spend 30€, is to be sure what i'll have to buy. (i need an usb one)

and please before to release an official update please be sure at least you can  downgrade it .

Regards.
 
PS: ebereon Do you have an usb jtag cable??? dont you?  did you buy it on ebay?

are they "plug and play" or you have to check pines or whatever to be able of use the x3sprog.exe or spiprog.exe ??

Thank you.
sr. member
Activity: 462
Merit: 251
August 16, 2012, 10:18:15 AM
@Yohan:
The same happend with glasswalker2 controller version!

See here -> https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.1054425

eb

We just checked and we can do a Controller update, using SPIprog here from the Controller for Glasswalker2 but it does need very specific DIP switch settings. The main ones to have are SWITCH3 = off, SWITCH6 = on. I think some switch settings changed around about when we did this one and that might be part of the problem here. It is different to what we did in Rev 1.3.

There is definately is a problem for Rev 1.4 so don't use it.
sr. member
Activity: 397
Merit: 500
August 16, 2012, 09:49:35 AM
@Yohan:
The same happend with glasswalker2 controller version!

See here -> https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.1054425

eb
legendary
Activity: 1379
Merit: 1003
nec sine labore
August 16, 2012, 09:28:27 AM
OK, that was weird. I just had to power down the machine I had the CM1 connected to to upgrade its RAM, and once I powered everything up again it kept failing the MPBM test job in strange ways until I connected the USB connector before the power connector. Power-cycling the entire board several times but connecting them in the opposite order didn't help. Power-cycling just the array FPGAs using switch 1 also didn't help.

makomk,

it happened to me a few times, while testing various bitstreams, I'd say it always happened to me just after flashing a new bitstream, the board enters a "strange" state where it is slooow, I can see cgminer sending the test job, and the green led lighting up, but it take several seconds before lighting and cgminer fails its test job with "get 0x0000 instead of 0x.....".

I've always solved this issue with a full power off of the board (even unplugging its usb cable) and leaving it off for several seconds (I wait for the fan to stop spinning) before restarting it.

Restarting host pc and/or usb hub does not solve this problem.

spiccioli
sr. member
Activity: 397
Merit: 500
August 16, 2012, 09:25:17 AM
Oh well, thanks God I have a JTAG cable!  Wink
Pages:
Jump to: