Author

Topic: [CHALLENGE] Run A Bitcoin Node: 14 Days To 14 Merits - page 106. (Read 22762 times)

newbie
Activity: 1
Merit: 0
Hey guys, can I still join? Would install it on a PI or NAS.

Happy to be part of the community ☺️
legendary
Activity: 2870
Merit: 7490
Crypto Swap Exchange
Quote
Contacted my isp
Try speedtest.net Smiley

FWIW i've seen few ISP has relative slow speed, but remains fast when you perform test with speedtest.net or similar website Roll Eyes. Sometimes i'd just download stuff (such as video from youtube using yt-dlp) for less biased result.
legendary
Activity: 1568
Merit: 6660
bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org
Progress:

Code:
Day 3:
tech30338
Ultegra134
DYING_S0UL

Screw it, I'm doing it Cheesy

You can join, but you won't get any merit for it obviously  Smiley
legendary
Activity: 3290
Merit: 16489
Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021
I'm now tempted to do a full blockchain download with hourly snapshots, to see how the remaining time estimate changes.
Screw it, I'm doing it Cheesy

My setup:
Bitcoin Core 26.0 on Ubuntu Linux 20 LTS, with settings:
Code:
./bitcoind -dbcache=4096 -prune=550

Every hour I store the output of:
Code:
./bitcoin-cli getblockchaininfo
free # for memory usage
ifconfig # for bandwidth usage

My system:
Intel i3 laptop with 8 GB RAM, no swap, SSD, VPN and about 70 Mbit/s fibre (shared with the rest of the house).

I haven't tried this with 8 GB RAM since the Ordinal spam largely increased chainstate. If this doesn't lead to surprises, I expect it to be done on Monday. If it does lead to surprises, I'll try the same with 16 GB RAM.
hero member
Activity: 1582
Merit: 758
Day 3:
Quote

{
  "chain": "main",
  "blocks": 470743,
  "headers": 824629,
  "bestblockhash": "000000000000000001866dbc6430f507c267cda701eb0aac8eaf385e83daad5a",
  "difficulty": 678760110082.9902,
  "time": 1497153878,
  "mediantime": 1497146450,
  "verificationprogress": 0.254143698617925,
  "initialblockdownload": true,
  "chainwork": "0000000000000000000000000000000000000000005f96f0b4b0e4eb705a6640",
  "size_on_disk": 33094651308,
  "pruned": true,
  "pruneheight": 439692,
  "automatic_pruning": true,
  "prune_target_size": 34999369728,
  "warnings": ""
}
Forgot to keep my computer turned on overnight, still making progress though.
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 318
The Alliance Of Bitcointalk Translators - ENG>BAN
DAY 4 progress:

Note: Ignore the per hour. It's usually slow at this time (evening).




Or your disk Wink

Try speedtest.net Smiley
Disk is fine. It's normally below 50%. On rare cases, sometimes it's going go 60-70% but never 100%  Smiley

Last I checked it was something like 5.6+ Mbps  Smiley
full member
Activity: 602
Merit: 132
Defend Bitcoin and its PoW: bitcoincleanup.com
i'd say choose depends on partial amount of free/unused RAM. Although if you use Windows, i don't expect it'll have relative small amount of free/unused RAM.

My RAM usages is 45-50% on average. And the CPU would get up to 30-50% sometimes. So we can assume my internet speed sucks.  Tongue

Usually no, since it's cause by either:
1. CPU or disk bottleneck.
2. Bitcoin Core happen connect to node with slow connection speed or physically very far from where you live (which cause slower download speed).
There's a third option: your ISP may not give you the full bandwidth.

I'm now tempted to do a full blockchain download with hourly snapshots, to see how the remaining time estimate changes.

No 1 is not the case for me, like I said above. I actually did tried that turning on & off. And it works but for a short amount of time.

A moment ago it was 0.07% per hour. Restarted the bitcoin core and now it's 3.00% per hour (eventually it will go down).

Miracle miracle miracle... Wink

P.S: Contacted my isp, said they'll increase my speed but will have to wait a couple of days, as my current internet package still has some days left.
So you have upgraded your internet speed? if there are too much connections in your area it will probably slow during peak hours, the speed upgrade will be useless since your still in the same facility, specially if your box is full or loaded, but hoping that your upgrade will solve your problem.
try also to close other applications and some who runs in your background, chrome also eats alot of memory this days.
legendary
Activity: 3290
Merit: 16489
Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021
My RAM usages is 45-50% on average. And the CPU would get up to 30-50% sometimes. So we can assume my internet speed sucks.  Tongue
Or your disk Wink

Quote
Contacted my isp
Try speedtest.net Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 318
The Alliance Of Bitcointalk Translators - ENG>BAN
i'd say choose depends on partial amount of free/unused RAM. Although if you use Windows, i don't expect it'll have relative small amount of free/unused RAM.

My RAM usages is 45-50% on average. And the CPU would get up to 30-50% sometimes. So we can assume my internet speed sucks.  Tongue

Usually no, since it's cause by either:
1. CPU or disk bottleneck.
2. Bitcoin Core happen connect to node with slow connection speed or physically very far from where you live (which cause slower download speed).
There's a third option: your ISP may not give you the full bandwidth.

I'm now tempted to do a full blockchain download with hourly snapshots, to see how the remaining time estimate changes.

No 1 is not the case for me, like I said above. I actually did tried that turning on & off. And it works but for a short amount of time.

A moment ago it was 0.07% per hour. Restarted the bitcoin core and now it's 3.00% per hour (eventually it will go down).

Miracle miracle miracle... Wink

P.S: Contacted my isp, said they'll increase my speed but will have to wait a couple of days, as my current internet package still has some days left.
legendary
Activity: 2870
Merit: 7490
Crypto Swap Exchange
You can try close and reopen Bitcoin Core in order connect to different full nodes, but don't expect much difference.
I agree this won't make a difference, but you don't need to shut down and reopen to change peers. In the GUI, just go to "Window" -> "Peers", right click on any of your peers, and click "Disconnect". After a few seconds Core will fill the gap with a connection to a new node.

That's good point, i forget such feature exist.

You can also check what kind of download speeds you are getting by going to "Window" -> "Network Traffic".

But last time i used that feature, it only record download/upload speed after you open that window. In addition, the data removed if you scroll time duration.
legendary
Activity: 3290
Merit: 16489
Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021
The only problem is my internet speed. I tried doing other internet related stuff and everything is running as usual. Not very fast not very slow. But the bitcoin core isn't running with all the bandwidth.
Usually no, since it's cause by either:
1. CPU or disk bottleneck.
2. Bitcoin Core happen connect to node with slow connection speed or physically very far from where you live (which cause slower download speed).
There's a third option: your ISP may not give you the full bandwidth.

I'm now tempted to do a full blockchain download with hourly snapshots, to see how the remaining time estimate changes.
legendary
Activity: 2268
Merit: 18588
You can try close and reopen Bitcoin Core in order connect to different full nodes, but don't expect much difference.
I agree this won't make a difference, but you don't need to shut down and reopen to change peers. In the GUI, just go to "Window" -> "Peers", right click on any of your peers, and click "Disconnect". After a few seconds Core will fill the gap with a connection to a new node.

You can also check what kind of download speeds you are getting by going to "Window" -> "Network Traffic".
legendary
Activity: 2870
Merit: 7490
Crypto Swap Exchange
With 450 MB dbcache, this is going to take a long time. If you have the RAM, you should largely increase this (4096 or even 8192, but don't make it more than half your RAM).
I have 8GB RAM. How much dbcache should I choose then? Yup, it's taking a long timeeee...(Running it nonstop for 7-8 hours)

While other member already suggestion, i'd say choose depends on partial amount of free/unused RAM. Although if you use Windows, i don't expect it'll have relative small amount of free/unused RAM.

--snip--
The only problem is my internet speed. I tried doing other internet related stuff and everything is running as usual. Not very fast not very slow. But the bitcoin core isn't running with all the bandwidth.

Is there any way to prioritize my bandwidth allocation to bitcoin core?
--snip--

Usually no, since it's cause by either:
1. CPU or disk bottleneck.
2. Bitcoin Core happen connect to node with slow connection speed or physically very far from where you live (which cause slower download speed).

You can try close and reopen Bitcoin Core in order connect to different full nodes, but don't expect much difference.
full member
Activity: 602
Merit: 132
Defend Bitcoin and its PoW: bitcoincleanup.com
Day 3 progress

Code:
"chain": "main",
  "blocks": 816806,
  "headers": 824588,
  "bestblockhash": "000000000000000000003e2923c0fa86fb51d66305c3259b5ae036213862238e",
  "difficulty": 64678587803496.61,
  "time": 1700014176,
  "mediantime": 1700011867,
  "verificationprogress": 0.9823025437208665,
  "initialblockdownload": true,
  "chainwork": "00000000000000000000000000000000000000005cff2cb9a692e477a6951b67",
  "size_on_disk": 4717586363,
  "pruned": true,
  "pruneheight": 814354,
  "automatic_pruning": true,
  "prune_target_size": 4999610368,
  "warnings": ""

11 days to go syncing really takes time
hero member
Activity: 1582
Merit: 758
Day 2:
Quote

{
  "chain": "main",
  "blocks": 441290,
  "headers": 824497,
  "bestblockhash": "0000000000000000021fd60a6858a99be7c3f444fb53b88400928fb46b3537c3",
  "difficulty": 281800917193.1958,
  "time": 1480523361,
  "mediantime": 1480519168,
  "verificationprogress": 0.19279112899749,
  "initialblockdownload": true,
  "chainwork": "00000000000000000000000000000000000000000030eef7df33b3a16e135a47",
  "size_on_disk": 34759067273,
  "pruned": true,
  "pruneheight": 402547,
  "automatic_pruning": true,
  "prune_target_size": 34999369728,
  "warnings": ""
}

We're making progress, slow but steady, almost 20% and 7 years left to fully sync.
legendary
Activity: 1568
Merit: 6660
bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org
Progress:

Code:
Day 2:
tech30338
Ultegra134
DYING_S0UL

Where is everyone else? Guys, don't you want some free merit? Huh All you have to do is run a node and get it synced - no strings attached.

You need to download Bitcoin Core (any version from this decade) and run bitcoind, the bitcoin daemon, for at least 14 days.
I do like encouraging people to run Bitcoin Core, but why start with CLI? I wouldn't start with bitcoind, but use the GUI version (bitcoin-qt) instead. It's much easier to use.

CLI was only because I couldn't think of a way to verify that people were running the GUI properly. But now it seems that screenshots of the GUI downloading progress seems to do the trick, and I have updated the OP accordingly with this information (yesterday).
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 318
The Alliance Of Bitcointalk Translators - ENG>BAN
DAY 2 progress:





With 450 MB dbcache, this is going to take a long time. If you have the RAM, you should largely increase this (4096 or even 8192, but don't make it more than half your RAM).
The only caveat to this I would mention would be for the users who are not planning on leaving their node running 24/7, but are planning to shut down their computer overnight or at other times. When you shut down Core, the chainstate cache is flushed to disk. If you set a very high dbcache, and you are using older hardware (particularly a HDD instead of a SSD), this can take a not insignificant amount of time (upwards of 20-30 minutes).

Normally I am taking breaks at daytime after a certain amount of time. Like after 6-12 hours. To cool everything down just in case. But at night, I am running is nonstop without any breaks. I am running it on a 250GB SSD with 4096 dbcache [I have 8GB RAM]. Haven't encountered any issues, for example lag or crash or anything, everything is running smoothly.

The only problem is my internet speed. I tried doing other internet related stuff and everything is running as usual. Not very fast not very slow. But the bitcoin core isn't running with all the bandwidth.

Is there any way to prioritize my bandwidth allocation to bitcoin core?

On average my progress is 0.30-0.40% per hour. If lucky 0.60-0.70% per hour. But now it's only 0.05% per hour. If I close my bitcoin core and start it again, the progress per hour increases for some time.
hero member
Activity: 714
Merit: 1298
With 450 MB dbcache, this is going to take a long time. If you have the RAM, you should largely increase this (4096 or even 8192, but don't make it more than half your RAM).
I have 8GB RAM. How much dbcache should I choose then? Yup, it's taking a long timeeee...(Running it nonstop for 7-8 hours)

Currently at:

Block: 553667
Progress: 3%
Per hour: 0.50-0.60%
Time left: 6-7 days

Quote
New Bitcoin Core users: don't underestimate the hardware demands from Bitcoin Core. Considering chainstate is currently 9.6 GB in size (it grew a lot thanks to the Ordinal spam), I don't think you should attempt to run Bitcoin Core with 8 GB RAM anymore. It's going to be very slow.
So is there any risk of damaging hardware/device? Mine is 4-5 years old. I'm totally running it out of curiosity. It's my first time.  Smiley

In general situation  the rule of thumb dbcache=1/4 RAM, i.e. in your case dbcache=2048

And, to speed up a bit the sync I would advocate blocksonly=1 entry in bitcoin.conf file (look for substantiation here). After full initial sync you may remove/comment this  entry.
legendary
Activity: 2268
Merit: 18588
With 450 MB dbcache, this is going to take a long time. If you have the RAM, you should largely increase this (4096 or even 8192, but don't make it more than half your RAM).
The only caveat to this I would mention would be for the users who are not planning on leaving their node running 24/7, but are planning to shut down their computer overnight or at other times. When you shut down Core, the chainstate cache is flushed to disk. If you set a very high dbcache, and you are using older hardware (particularly a HDD instead of a SSD), this can take a not insignificant amount of time (upwards of 20-30 minutes).
full member
Activity: 602
Merit: 132
Defend Bitcoin and its PoW: bitcoincleanup.com
day 2 progress
Code:
{
  "chain": "main",
  "blocks": 736551,
  "headers": 824438,
  "bestblockhash": "000000000000000000019c0ffe515d3da6ae35f2734667fe20eb2d3a6533b67c",
  "difficulty": 31251101365711.12,
  "time": 1652667914,
  "mediantime": 1652665073,
  "verificationprogress": 0.808112460088355,
  "initialblockdownload": true,
  "chainwork": "00000000000000000000000000000000000000002ded9907871f40b195ca6e30",
  "size_on_disk": 4926763730,
  "pruned": true,
  "pruneheight": 732973,
  "automatic_pruning": true,
  "prune_target_size": 4999610368,
  "warnings": ""
}
I don't know that this takes time although I try it before and it says like a lot of years ahaha but speed before is slow, but now its faster.
Jump to: