Pages:
Author

Topic: [DIY] - Reward $100 | Antminer S1/S3 Blade on Raspberry Pi - page 37. (Read 82114 times)

hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000
You should use the Vendor and product id for the cp2102, same as for the U1 and for the block erupter.

Changing the number of asics didn't help with bfgminer, I'm not sure it's needed in cgminer since you are compiling for S1

I already have all the DLLs from other cgminer builds.

I'm now considering trying to find what's happening in this pic microchip if there is something else than a simple uart > usb bridge to communicate with the chips.
I'm confident it can be done with a simple CP2102 and a few tricks in the software (cgminer/bfgminer), but since bitmaintech didn't make it open, we need to try and guess.
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 500

I am still trying to catch up on this thread, so bear with me if this has been overcome.
I managed to build a windows cgminer of the latest 4.6 release by simply uncommenting out the #ifdef LINUX bit from just one file, i.e driver-bitmain.c. I fired it up and it seems to run, but obviously have not plugged it into an S1 blade as yet. I also need to change / add the USB chip for my USB to TTL dongle. J4bberwock (or anyone), if you'd like the binary, I can provide it, though the build is simple (via MinGW). heres a screenshot:


I guess it won't work, but if you can send me a link to download it, I'll try this afternoon
I am sure it was a long weekend. Having caught up with the thread, you seem to have made a lot of progress yet not hit that promised land just yet, and I understand the frustration there. I really think you are there and throwing the kitchen sink at it will yield results (I'll start with the utencils if you do not mind!), so here goes.

1. For your build, what are your USB chip settings (should I use the ones in the thread)?
2. I also read Taugeran's post about changing the number of ASICs, do you want me to change that as well, or should I make 2 binaries with either setting?
3. Finally, should I include all the dlls it requires to run in the zip or do you have these already?

EDIT: Scratch no. 2 - this applied to the U2 driver, I am compiling with ---enable-ants1
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000


I am still trying to catch up on this thread, so bear with me if this has been overcome.
I managed to build a windows cgminer of the latest 4.6 release by simply uncommenting out the #ifdef LINUX bit from just one file, i.e driver-bitmain.c. I fired it up and it seems to run, but obviously have not plugged it into an S1 blade as yet. I also need to change / add the USB chip for my USB to TTL dongle. J4bberwock (or anyone), if you'd like the binary, I can provide it, though the build is simple (via MinGW). heres a screenshot:




I guess it won't work, but if you can send me a link to download it, I'll try this afternoon
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 500
Anybody could compile for windows with --enable-ants1   ?
It's already supported with an autotune function.
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer
Looks like it won't compile at all. But i'll try.

I've connected an old laptop that I used to compile some time ago, I'll try it too.

I've looked at the driver code. It doesn't designed to run on windows. As i can understand. Hope i'm wrong. Still installing debian on vm. so slow Sad Btw you must change vid and pid in usbutils.c near #ifdef USE_ANT_S1 to match your usb bridge.

This is more or less correct. If you take a look at driver-bitmain.c and .h files you will see
Code:
#ifdef LINUX
Meaning the code requires linux...for the moment.

I may as well throw in, I'm working on 2 protos similar to what jabberwock has done, but both my USB dongle design and a small USB hub design use the PIC uC that the original controller uses. going this route has allowed me the ability of setting up shop for helping Luke-JR with S1/S3 support in a less brickable environment. See this to see what I mean. All I did was try and determine a couple of OS variables and dependency structures and I bricked a controller( temporarily)

I am still trying to catch up on this thread, so bear with me if this has been overcome.
I managed to build a windows cgminer of the latest 4.6 release by simply uncommenting out the #ifdef LINUX bit from just one file, i.e driver-bitmain.c. I fired it up and it seems to run, but obviously have not plugged it into an S1 blade as yet. I also need to change / add the USB chip for my USB to TTL dongle. J4bberwock (or anyone), if you'd like the binary, I can provide it, though the build is simple (via MinGW). heres a screenshot:


hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 500
CCNA: There i fixed the internet.
Time for some sleep here.
both cgminer and bfgminer are really close to work, but it will have to wait.
If Bitmaintech would have released the code...

Using the same pic and their firmware would be easier, but I don't like to depend on them.

I know, it's a crutch. But to get walking sometimes that's what you need til you feel comfortable
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000
Time for some sleep here.
both cgminer and bfgminer are really close to work, but it will have to wait.
If Bitmaintech would have released the code...

Using the same pic and their firmware would be easier, but I don't like to depend on them.
hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 500
CCNA: There i fixed the internet.
Before adding the 32 FPGA thing, I was getting 8 sub-units all hashing @0.650 for the same total value.

Hmm. Ls sigh. I thought it would work. Guess not. Well back to my drawing boar... Altium VM to do some board analysis
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000
Before adding the 32 FPGA thing, I was getting 8 sub-units all hashing @0.650 for the same total value.

The best hashrate I've got so far poolside was 30-35Gh with cgminer and tons of HW errors. I assume it was using the 32 chips, they were all hot
Bfgminer don't throw a single error but it seems to only uses 8 chips.
None of the chips are actually hot, they are all more or less warm.
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000
Looks like the only AMU over 10 minutes getting accepted shares is 0aa.



But what is the hashrate after 10 minutes?
5GH on the pool
hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 500
CCNA: There i fixed the internet.
Looks like the only AMU over 10 minutes getting accepted shares is 0aa.



But what is the hashrate after 10 minutes?
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000
Looks like the only AMU over 10 minutes getting accepted shares is 0aa.

here is what I get when I [M]anage the devices

Select processor to manage using up/down arrow keys
 AMU 0bf:       | 533.0/577.5/ 0.00Mh/s | A: 0 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none
  CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller from Silicon Labs
Serial: 0001

they are all similar except the 0aa one

Select processor to manage using up/down arrow keys
 AMU 0aa:       | 56.02/58.12/ 5.04Gh/s | A:40 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none
  CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller from Silicon Labs
Serial: 0001

hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000
no luck with the mod in bfgminer.
"no device found"
I'm removing the changes I did in the 70-bfgminer.rules.in and recompiing, just i case it coud be the reason it's not working.
EDIT:
Still no luck.
I also need to find where is stored the default speed to set it higher and check if all the chips are getting hot or not.
Changing it with bfgminer doesn't seems to have any effect.
EDIT2:
looks like I had a misconnected cable.
Even untouched github compile wasn't working until I unplugged and plugged back the usb/uart converter.
Back to test the Taugeran mod.

here is the result

 [2014-09-14 15:22:03] Started bfgminer 4.8.0-8-gbaf6fe5Segmentation fault (core dumped)
EDIT3, removing the speed setting from the commandline made it start and give crazy numbers

Quote
bfgminer version 4.8.0-8-gbaf6fe5 - Started: [2014-09-14 15:25:58] - [  0 days 00:01:44]
 [M]anage devices [P]ool management S]ettings [D]isplay options                                                                               [H]elp [Q]uit
 Pool 0: ...opoolmining.com  Diff:32  +Strtm  LU:[15:27:20]  User:Jabberwock.SHA12
 Block: ...33544345 #174828  Diff:2.64M (18.91T)  Started: [15:26:25]
 ST:34  F:0  NB:2  AS:0  BW:[ 22/ 24 B/s]  E:13.41  I:20.86mBTC/hr  BS:138
 1/32         | 51.48/58.36/ 3.93Gh/s | A:1 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 AMU 0:       | 58.78/61.76/ 3.86Gh/s | A:1 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none

full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
May the source be with you.
Nice. Now i have one dead blade and one dead raspberry pi  Cry Don't know how it could happen.


define dead. wont start on or you see charring/magic smoke somewhere?
Won't start. But rpi gets too hot to touch. I think i close to magic smoke Cheesy
Now i have 1.5Th/s Cheesy
There are quite a small list of components that can have gone bad on the blade, should be quite an easy fix.
I'm experimenting with pi onboard uart. Looks like something goes wrong on uart side. But i don't know wich component goes crazy Sad
Want free blade? Cheesy

I'm always interested in cheap dead miners
I can send blade to you. But postage on you. If you interested in that, pm me.
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000
no luck with the mod in bfgminer.
"no device found"
hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 500
CCNA: There i fixed the internet.
cgminer will recognize it as LIX if I enable icarus when compiling

U]SB management [P]ool management S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 0: LIX 0       : 270MHz 179C             |  0.000 /  0.000h/s WU:0.0/m

now back to bfgminer with Taugeran's idea




will be looking forward to seeing this at my lunchtime.
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000
Nice. Now i have one dead blade and one dead raspberry pi  Cry Don't know how it could happen.


define dead. wont start on or you see charring/magic smoke somewhere?
Won't start. But rpi gets too hot to touch. I think i close to magic smoke Cheesy
Now i have 1.5Th/s Cheesy
There are quite a small list of components that can have gone bad on the blade, should be quite an easy fix.
I'm experimenting with pi onboard uart. Looks like something goes wrong on uart side. But i don't know wich component goes crazy Sad
Want free blade? Cheesy

I'm always interested in cheap dead miners
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000
cgminer will recognize it as LIX if I enable icarus when compiling

U]SB management [P]ool management S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 0: LIX 0       : 270MHz 179C             |  0.000 /  0.000h/s WU:0.0/m

now back to bfgminer with Taugeran's idea


full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
May the source be with you.
Nice. Now i have one dead blade and one dead raspberry pi  Cry Don't know how it could happen.


define dead. wont start on or you see charring/magic smoke somewhere?
Won't start. But rpi gets too hot to touch. I think i close to magic smoke Cheesy
Now i have 1.5Th/s Cheesy
There are quite a small list of components that can have gone bad on the blade, should be quite an easy fix.
I'm experimenting with pi onboard uart. Looks like something goes wrong on uart side. But i don't know wich component goes crazy Sad
Want free blade? Cheesy
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1000
Nice. Now i have one dead blade and one dead raspberry pi  Cry Don't know how it could happen.


define dead. wont start on or you see charring/magic smoke somewhere?
Won't start. But rpi gets too hot to touch. I think i close to magic smoke Cheesy
Now i have 1.5Th/s Cheesy
There are quite a small list of components that can have gone bad on the blade, should be quite an easy fix.
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
May the source be with you.
Nice. Now i have one dead blade and one dead raspberry pi  Cry Don't know how it could happen.


define dead. wont start on or you see charring/magic smoke somewhere?
Won't start. But rpi gets too hot to touch. I think i close to magic smoke Cheesy
Now i have 1.5Th/s Cheesy
Pages:
Jump to: