Pages:
Author

Topic: Electrum server discussion thread - page 18. (Read 61494 times)

hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 1000
September 06, 2012, 03:26:35 AM
#92
Are you sure you are on the correct version/branch in git?  Can you post your commit hash?

Code:
$ git show
commit d659a2f2020b052c8c33f4903091f2d0e64398f2

I think you are on the wrong branch or repo. Here is a direct link to the 6.3 patch.
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 1010
Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas
September 05, 2012, 05:44:44 PM
#91
Are you sure you are on the correct version/branch in git?  Can you post your commit hash?

Code:
$ git show
commit d659a2f2020b052c8c33f4903091f2d0e64398f2
hero member
Activity: 560
Merit: 500
I am the one who knocks
September 05, 2012, 05:32:22 PM
#90
There doesn't appear to be a ..../bitcoin-0.6.3.diff patch file
Are you sure you are on the correct version/branch in git?  Can you post your commit hash?
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 1010
Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas
September 05, 2012, 05:30:19 PM
#89
good call... it was indeed the wrong patch/version, but then,

There doesn't appear to be a ..../bitcoin-0.6.3.diff patch file, so I went with 0.6.2

Code:
$ tar zxvf bitcoin-0.6.2.tgz 
bitcoin@host:~/src$ mv bitcoin-bitcoin-06d764e bitcoin-0.6.2
bitcoin@host:~/src$ cd bitcoin-0.6.2
bitcoin@host:~/src/bitcoin-0.6.2$ patch -p 2 < ~/src/electrum/server/patches/bitcoin-0.6.2.diff
patching file bitcoinrpc.cpp
Hunk #1 FAILED at 1497.
Hunk #2 FAILED at 1933.
Hunk #3 FAILED at 2055.
3 out of 3 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file bitcoinrpc.cpp.rej
patching file main.cpp
Hunk #1 FAILED at 3134.
1 out of 1 hunk FAILED -- saving rejects to file main.cpp.rej
patching file main.h
Hunk #1 FAILED at 395.
Hunk #2 FAILED at 416.
2 out of 2 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file main.h.rej

donator
Activity: 289
Merit: 250
September 05, 2012, 03:40:08 PM
#88
Thanks Flatfly.... Throwing some errors when applying the patches..

Code:
$ patch -p 2 < ~/src/electrum/server/patches/bitcoin-0.6.2.diff 

The latest bitcoin patch I see on git is bitcoin-0.6.3 diff. Are you trying to apply bitcoin-0.6.2.diff to bitcoin 0.6.3?
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 1010
Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas
September 05, 2012, 01:21:16 PM
#87
Thanks Flatfly.... Throwing some errors when applying the patches..

Code:
$ patch -p 2 < ~/src/electrum/server/patches/bitcoin-0.6.2.diff 
patching file bitcoinrpc.cpp
Hunk #1 FAILED at 1497.
Hunk #2 FAILED at 1933.
Hunk #3 FAILED at 2055.
3 out of 3 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file bitcoinrpc.cpp.rej
patching file main.cpp
Hunk #1 FAILED at 3134.
1 out of 1 hunk FAILED -- saving rejects to file main.cpp.rej
patching file main.h
Hunk #1 FAILED at 395.
Hunk #2 FAILED at 416.
2 out of 2 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file main.h.rej
legendary
Activity: 1092
Merit: 1016
760930
September 05, 2012, 03:12:40 AM
#86
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 1010
Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas
September 04, 2012, 12:49:42 PM
#85
Where can I get the latest stratum software?
member
Activity: 107
Merit: 10
August 22, 2012, 03:57:13 PM
#84
I'm thinking of setting up a server... Just wondering, how many users connect to a given server per day, on average?
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
(:firstbits => "1mantis")
July 28, 2012, 08:13:00 PM
#83
Until the servers can be more stable and the windows version of the application can connect to the servers on a constant basis, I will be using Multibit which I am happy to say is more forgiving of glitches. There is even a nifty rollback feature.

This feels kinda passive aggressive in my humble opinion. You post in a thread to tell us you are _not_ using the client the thread is dedicated to.

You make me sound like a Troll Sad
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 1000
July 28, 2012, 01:39:51 PM
#82
Until the servers can be more stable and the windows version of the application can connect to the servers on a constant basis, I will be using Multibit which I am happy to say is more forgiving of glitches. There is even a nifty rollback feature.

This feels kinda passive aggressive in my humble opinion. You post in a thread to tell us you are _not_ using the client the thread is dedicated to.
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
(:firstbits => "1mantis")
July 28, 2012, 10:28:42 AM
#81
Until the servers can be more stable and the windows version of the application can connect to the servers on a constant basis, I will be using Multibit which I am happy to say is more forgiving of glitches. There is even a nifty rollback feature.
jr. member
Activity: 53
Merit: 2
July 26, 2012, 01:57:44 PM
#80
That fixed it! Thanks!
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 1000
July 26, 2012, 02:40:54 AM
#79
Try to run this query on your electrum database

Code:
update datadir set chain_id=1 where datadir_id =1

Or manually open the datadir table and put chain_id to one for the correct row.
jr. member
Activity: 53
Merit: 2
July 26, 2012, 01:25:51 AM
#78
I'm still getting the same error after adding those lines to my electrum.conf.
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 1000
July 25, 2012, 02:08:59 PM
#77
I think the latest git version has multi-chain support build in. Open up your config file (/etc/electrum.conf) and add the following under the [server] part:

Code:
coin=bitcoin
datadir=/home/myuser/.bitcoin

Replace the datadir with the path to your bitcoind config folder.
jr. member
Activity: 53
Merit: 2
July 25, 2012, 01:29:45 AM
#76
Hi! I just upgraded my server to the lastest git version. I'm getting the following error when I try to run the server
Code:
Starting Electrum server on uncle-enzo.info
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/var/bitcoin/bin/electrum-server", line 122, in
    chain_proc = backend.BlockchainProcessor(config)
  File "/var/bitcoin/src/electrum/server/backends/abe/__init__.py", line 452, in __init__
    self.store = AbeStore(config)
  File "/var/bitcoin/src/electrum/server/backends/abe/__init__.py", line 39, in __init__
    print 'Coin chain_id = %d' % self.chain_id
TypeError: %d format: a number is required, not NoneType

Is there a setting that I need to make the new version work?
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
(:firstbits => "1mantis")
July 15, 2012, 07:08:55 AM
#75
do the electrum servers have the available to be connected using rpcjson? I am currently using blockchain.info but I would like to be able to use an electrum server.
legendary
Activity: 3920
Merit: 2349
Eadem mutata resurgo
July 15, 2012, 03:41:45 AM
#74

So I notice there are currently 6 servers the Electrum client is aware of ... just wondering if the servers can be made aware of other servers in the same way that the client is?

I didn't take a closer look to the source but i think electrum uses irc to find servers, so yeah it wouldn't be a problem for the server to be aware of other servers. But why would you need that?

It makes possible the linking of servers into groups for auditing, cross-checking, etc. It offers other possibilities like a stratum network on top of bitcoin, a server-to-server network, or even just groupings of servers that electrum clients could log into and be ambivalent about which precise server they are referencing just that it is one of a trusted group, etc ... it may be easier for electrum servers to get blockchain update information directly from other electrum servers (in addition to the bitcoin network) since they share db architecture ...

... and lots of other reasons Wink

Basically a network of servers is stronger and less centralised than nodes of lone, isolated servers.
member
Activity: 85
Merit: 10
July 13, 2012, 06:42:20 PM
#73

So I notice there are currently 6 servers the Electrum client is aware of ... just wondering if the servers can be made aware of other servers in the same way that the client is?

I didn't take a closer look to the source but i think electrum uses irc to find servers, so yeah it wouldn't be a problem for the server to be aware of other servers. But why would you need that?
Pages:
Jump to: