Pages:
Author

Topic: Electrum server discussion thread - page 9. (Read 61487 times)

legendary
Activity: 952
Merit: 1000
December 04, 2014, 01:52:54 PM
What's the disk size required at the moment to run an Electrum server?
sr. member
Activity: 278
Merit: 254
November 20, 2014, 07:38:48 PM
Has anybody profiled the Python code for electrum server?  It seems slow to me, about four times slower than bitcoind.  Not a problem right now keeping up with blocks, but if the block size gets expanded and transaction rate continues to increase then there is likely to be a problem.  I am using the latest code from github.  I am running a private server on a 1.4 GHz Haswell based atom server with 8 GB of RAM and an SSD.  A recent 1 MB block took about 200 seconds to process according to the log. This had 99% CPU utilization while processing the large block.

Perhaps there are some tuning suggestions around, but I wasn't able to find any.





sr. member
Activity: 349
Merit: 250
August 23, 2014, 05:30:06 PM
Is it possible to patch the memory allocation bug manually, in the previous version of electrum-server? I attempted to update to the new version but ran into problems, including permission errors.

I really think what this project needs is a release cycle. The version on github is a development version. That's fine but we are going to get frustrated if we try and use it as a production version. I gave up running the new server, if there was a stable tag I would have gone back to that.

I did think of taking a known good version, scripting all setup, and putting it in a docker container. That way setting up a new server would be as easy as 'docker run blahblah/electrum-server' and waiting until it set itself up.

I've been running an Electrum server for almost 2 years now and to be honest it's been running very stable. Yes, there are the occasional bugs, but they are solved quickly by Thomas. You should hang out in the IRC channel though to follow up on the latest developments..
sd
hero member
Activity: 730
Merit: 500
August 23, 2014, 03:58:54 AM
Is it possible to patch the memory allocation bug manually, in the previous version of electrum-server? I attempted to update to the new version but ran into problems, including permission errors.

I really think what this project needs is a release cycle. The version on github is a development version. That's fine but we are going to get frustrated if we try and use it as a production version. I gave up running the new server, if there was a stable tag I would have gone back to that.

I did think of taking a known good version, scripting all setup, and putting it in a docker container. That way setting up a new server would be as easy as 'docker run blahblah/electrum-server' and waiting until it set itself up.
sr. member
Activity: 282
Merit: 250
SteamBitShop.com
August 17, 2014, 09:33:38 AM
Is it possible to patch the memory allocation bug manually, in the previous version of electrum-server? I attempted to update to the new version but ran into problems, including permission errors.
sd
hero member
Activity: 730
Merit: 500
August 15, 2014, 03:12:31 AM
I fixed setup.py yesterday.. let me know

I get different problems now.
Code:
zipimport.ZipImportError: bad local file header in /usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum_server-0.9-py2.7.egg

This apparently means there is a syntax error somewhere, possibly python code that only works with a higher version. The error message makes it look like a ZIP error, which it isn't. If I run 'python setup.py install' again it seems to work and it seems to run. I can't connect but that may be because it's updating.

I really need to test this on a clean machine.
legendary
Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353
August 15, 2014, 01:58:21 AM
Give Thomas few days, it is completely new version of the server Smiley I will install it soon and I might be able to improve the docs.

I got it running with some minor hacks. I didn't see any tags in the repo. Release tags might be a good idea so if something doesn't work I can just go back to the last tag.

EDIT: Actually, no I didn't get it running. It's choking on a futex.


I fixed setup.py yesterday.. let me know
sd
hero member
Activity: 730
Merit: 500
August 14, 2014, 01:40:19 PM
Give Thomas few days, it is completely new version of the server Smiley I will install it soon and I might be able to improve the docs.

I got it running with some minor hacks. I didn't see any tags in the repo. Release tags might be a good idea so if something doesn't work I can just go back to the last tag.

EDIT: Actually, no I didn't get it running. It's choking on a futex.
newbie
Activity: 37
Merit: 0
August 14, 2014, 12:35:10 PM
Can you update the install instructions? Right now HOWTO.md references start and stop scripts that don't exist. The TLDR section at the top of INSTALL doesn't result in a running server, nor do the full instruction in that file.

Give Thomas few days, it is completely new version of the server Smiley I will install it soon and I might be able to improve the docs.
sd
hero member
Activity: 730
Merit: 500
August 14, 2014, 12:28:58 PM
Thomas,

You put a lot of great work into Electrum but it's all a bit lost if people can't easily get the server running. Can you update the install instructions? Right now HOWTO.md references start and stop scripts that don't exist. The TLDR section at the top of INSTALL doesn't result in a running server, nor do the full instruction in that file.

I tried to do it myself and send a pull request but I've no idea what the instructions should be. Whatever I try 'python setup.py install' won't install the src module on ubuntu 14.04 so electrum_server.py won't run. It was all working so nicely until I upgraded.

If you want people to run servers it should be as easy as possible for those guys.
legendary
Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353
August 08, 2014, 01:59:44 PM
I'm running the most recent electrum server from GIT. The logfile seems to be missing blocks, is the following normal?

Code:
[25/07/2014-20:48:22] blockchain: 312457 (82.964s)
[25/07/2014-20:58:35] blockchain: 312458 (194.778s)
[25/07/2014-21:02:21] blockchain: 312460 (128.478s)
[25/07/2014-21:10:27] blockchain: 312462 (250.398s)
[25/07/2014-21:16:38] blockchain: 312463 (166.109s)
[25/07/2014-21:22:49] blockchain: 312464 (212.260s)
[25/07/2014-21:51:48] blockchain: 312466 (670.598s)
[25/07/2014-21:56:06] blockchain: 312468 (168.989s)
[25/07/2014-22:04:08] blockchain: 312469 (166.773s)

Why do I not get a log message for every block?

if several blocks are available, it processes them together, before it prints a log line.
I agree that it can be confusing, it should probably print a message on each block
sd
hero member
Activity: 730
Merit: 500
July 25, 2014, 03:16:34 PM
I'm running the most recent electrum server from GIT. The logfile seems to be missing blocks, is the following normal?

Code:
[25/07/2014-20:48:22] blockchain: 312457 (82.964s)
[25/07/2014-20:58:35] blockchain: 312458 (194.778s)
[25/07/2014-21:02:21] blockchain: 312460 (128.478s)
[25/07/2014-21:10:27] blockchain: 312462 (250.398s)
[25/07/2014-21:16:38] blockchain: 312463 (166.109s)
[25/07/2014-21:22:49] blockchain: 312464 (212.260s)
[25/07/2014-21:51:48] blockchain: 312466 (670.598s)
[25/07/2014-21:56:06] blockchain: 312468 (168.989s)
[25/07/2014-22:04:08] blockchain: 312469 (166.773s)

Why do I not get a log message for every block?
hero member
Activity: 509
Merit: 500
Official LRM shill
July 14, 2014, 08:01:43 PM
I don't know how to edit/create/activate any server on my Electrum. I use a Window and any expert could just put a link here where I can learn about it. I know what you're thinking, but it's effortless to help me out here. Thanks

At the risk of being rude, https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum-server/blob/master/HOWTO.md

If this is not sufficient to get you going, you probably shouldn't be running an Electrum server.


grnbrg.
newbie
Activity: 1
Merit: 0
July 14, 2014, 05:47:55 PM
I don't know how to edit/create/activate any server on my Electrum. I use a Window and any expert could just put a link here where I can learn about it. I know what you're thinking, but it's effortless to help me out here. Thanks
full member
Activity: 225
Merit: 100
July 09, 2014, 12:08:51 AM
What does the ulimit command show for the userid running the server, though?  On most Linuxes, max open files is set to 1024, and this limit can not be raised by non-root users.

As said the 'ulimit' is not the problem:
Code:
$ ps -efa|grep server.py |grep -v grep
electrum 24942     1  0 06:59 ?        00:00:00 /usr/bin/python -u server.py

$ cat /proc/24942/limits
Limit                     Soft Limit           Hard Limit           Units
Max cpu time              unlimited            unlimited            seconds
Max file size             unlimited            unlimited            bytes
Max data size             unlimited            unlimited            bytes
Max stack size            8388608              unlimited            bytes
Max core file size        0                    unlimited            bytes
Max resident set          unlimited            unlimited            bytes
Max processes             15862                15862                processes
Max open files            32768                32768                files
Max locked memory         65536                65536                bytes
Max address space         unlimited            unlimited            bytes
Max file locks            unlimited            unlimited            locks
Max pending signals       15862                15862                signals
Max msgqueue size         819200               819200               bytes
Max nice priority         0                    0
Max realtime priority     0                    0
Max realtime timeout      unlimited            unlimited            us
hero member
Activity: 509
Merit: 500
Official LRM shill
July 08, 2014, 08:24:17 AM
Do you have the open files limit set sufficiently high? 
Code:
ulimit -n
should show 16k or higher.

That shouldn't be the problem - nofile is set to 32k in the upstart script.

My setup:
Ubuntu 12.04 LTS (kernel 3.2.0) w/Python 2.7.3; latest Electrum server from git; leveldb 1.9.0; plyvel 0.8



What does the ulimit command show for the userid running the server, though?  On most Linuxes, max open files is set to 1024, and this limit can not be raised by non-root users.

You probably need to add a line to /etc/security/limits.conf to give your server user a higher soft/hard limit. ie:

Code:
electrum    soft    nofile    16384
electrum    hard   nofile    16384


grnbrg.
full member
Activity: 225
Merit: 100
July 08, 2014, 01:39:32 AM
Do you have the open files limit set sufficiently high? 
Code:
ulimit -n
should show 16k or higher.

That shouldn't be the problem - nofile is set to 32k in the upstart script.

My setup:
Ubuntu 12.04 LTS (kernel 3.2.0) w/Python 2.7.3; latest Electrum server from git; leveldb 1.9.0; plyvel 0.8

hero member
Activity: 509
Merit: 500
Official LRM shill
July 07, 2014, 10:04:23 PM
Third time in 2 or 3 months that the database of my server e2.pdmc.net broke ("wrong_hash"). Is this just me or are other operators experiencing this as well?
Anyway, I'll take my server offline for now and bring it back online once I find enough time to move it faster hardware (probably in August).

Do you have the open files limit set sufficiently high? 

Code:
ulimit -n

should show 16k or higher.



grnbrg.
newbie
Activity: 37
Merit: 0
July 07, 2014, 08:30:18 PM
I have nothing extraordinary in the config to show Smiley
newbie
Activity: 32
Merit: 0
July 07, 2014, 12:19:29 PM
Third time in 2 or 3 months that the database of my server e2.pdmc.net broke ("wrong_hash"). Is this just me or are other operators experiencing this as well?
Anyway, I'll take my server offline for now and bring it back online once I find enough time to move it faster hardware (probably in August).

I have the same, I moved to Samsung 840 SSD but database is still breaking sometimes, without a clear reason.

I never had this problem, while running the server on a very old and busy box.

Do both of you want to share particulars of your setup to see if there are any similarities?
Pages:
Jump to: