Pages:
Author

Topic: Flexible mining proxy - page 3. (Read 88735 times)

full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 107
July 11, 2011, 02:52:38 PM
After watching tshark, poclbm.py output, and tailing the access log for the proxy, I have determined that a low KeepAliveTimeout setting in the Apache config was the culprit.

The KeepAliveTimeout on my server was 3 seconds, and the ask rate was 5.  This caused the miner to try to use a KeepAlive session, only to find it timed out.  Then it had to establish a new connection.  This was giving the connection issues I was seeing.

Essentially what this means is the KeepAliveTimeout setting has to be higher than the ask rate.  I would suggest adding a few seconds on top to make sure there's a little wiggle room.
Thanks for the info!  I'll add this to the readme, and perhaps to the .htaccess file.
nux
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
July 11, 2011, 12:56:32 PM
After watching tshark, poclbm.py output, and tailing the access log for the proxy, I have determined that a low KeepAliveTimeout setting in the Apache config was the culprit.

The KeepAliveTimeout on my server was 3 seconds, and the ask rate was 5.  This caused the miner to try to use a KeepAlive session, only to find it timed out.  Then it had to establish a new connection.  This was giving the connection issues I was seeing.

Essentially what this means is the KeepAliveTimeout setting has to be higher than the ask rate.  I would suggest adding a few seconds on top to make sure there's a little wiggle room.
nux
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
July 11, 2011, 12:36:01 PM
Anyone else having this issue?  I tried a fresh install of the proxy and still having the problem.

This only started after upgrading to  the latest poclbm.

Here's my output:

proxy.hostname.net:80 11/07/2011 11:31:01, Setting pool g11 @ proxy.hostname.net:80
                                                                                proxy.hostname.net:80 11/07/2011 11:31:02, Using new LP URL /index.php/1/aHR0cDovL3VzZWFzdC5idGNndWlsZC5jb206ODMzMi9MUA%3D%3D
proxy.hostname.net:80 11/07/2011 11:31:02, LP connected to proxy.hostname.net:80
proxy.hostname.net:80 229016 khash/snicating with bitcoin RPC 0 2
proxy.hostname.net:80 229331 khash/snicating with bitcoin RPC 0 2
proxy.hostname.net:80 11/07/2011 11:32:15, 02463d19, accepted 0 2
proxy.hostname.net:80 Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC 0 2
proxy.hostname.net:80 11/07/2011 11:32:34, c30efce9, accepted 0 2
proxy.hostname.net:80 228730 khash/snicating with bitcoin RPC 0 2
proxy.hostname.net:80 11/07/2011 11:33:56, 1888d04e, accepted 0 2
proxy.hostname.net:80 11/07/2011 11:34:42, 92512293, accepted 0 2
proxy.hostname.net:80 215716 khash/snicating with bitcoin RPC 0 2


I'm using the latest version of the proxy software, and the latest poclbm.  Since updating to the more verbose poclbm (week or two ago) I see this error all the time:

proxy.hostname.net:80 Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC 0 2

Then it recovers from 0mhash/s and looks like this

proxy.hostname.net:80 93870 khash/sunicating with bitcoin RPC 0 2

until it gets back up to the normal speed (which takes just a second or so).

I see this happen every few seconds give or take.  Has anyone else seen issues like this?  Since the last week or so I've had to stop using this awesome software as that error slows down my hashing.

Thanks

Edit: I'm running Apache on Debian.  Server is tuned to handle a lot of load, and is nowhere near capacity.  I'm not finding any issues in the error_log files and not sure how I can debug further at this point.
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 107
July 10, 2011, 05:03:49 AM
Do these comments mean this project doesn't work with Multiclone.us.to  ?  Because otherwise, this looks awesome.
Looking at the getwork response from Multiclone, I see no reason why it should not work with my proxy.
sr. member
Activity: 294
Merit: 250
July 09, 2011, 10:23:30 PM
Multipool is currently down, so I haven't been able to review the problem and proposed fix.
He's put the code on Github, so someone else set up a server here: http://multiclone.us.to:18080/ (mining port 18337).
It has the same problem.

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=17970.msg302834#msg302834

Do these comments mean this project doesn't work with Multiclone.us.to  ?  Because otherwise, this looks awesome.
nux
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
July 08, 2011, 12:13:02 PM
I'm using the latest version of the proxy software, and the latest poclbm.  Since updating to the more verbose poclbm (week or two ago) I see this error all the time:

proxy.hostname.net:80 Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC 0 2

Then it recovers from 0mhash/s and looks like this

proxy.hostname.net:80 93870 khash/sunicating with bitcoin RPC 0 2

until it gets back up to the normal speed (which takes just a second or so).

I see this happen every few seconds give or take.  Has anyone else seen issues like this?  Since the last week or so I've had to stop using this awesome software as that error slows down my hashing.

Thanks

Edit: I'm running Apache on Debian.  Server is tuned to handle a lot of load, and is nowhere near capacity.  I'm not finding any issues in the error_log files and not sure how I can debug further at this point.
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
July 07, 2011, 04:34:02 PM
I used xampp 1.7.4 to set it up but after a couple of minutes (after adding some workers) i get an error.

Until then everything works, does somebody know how to fix it ?

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'PDOException' with message 'SQLSTATE[08004] [1040] Too many connections' in /opt/lampp/htdocs/common.inc.php:33 Stack trace: #0 /opt/lampp/htdocs/common.inc.php(33): PDO->__construct('mysql:host=loca...', 'user', 'password') #1 /opt/lampp/htdocs/admin/pool.php(31): db_connect() #2 [internal function]: AdminPoolController->indexGetView() #3 /opt/lampp/htdocs/mvc.inc.php(142): ReflectionMethod->invoke(Object(AdminPoolController)) #4 /opt/lampp/htdocs/mvc.inc.php(178): Controller->execute() #5 /opt/lampp/htdocs/admin/pool.php(140): MvcEngine::run(Object(AdminPoolController)) #6 {main} thrown in /opt/lampp/htdocs/common.inc.php on line 33
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 107
July 06, 2011, 09:50:03 AM
How goes the C# backend?
I've run into a few bugs and have been fixing them and doing a lot of testing.  It's getting there quickly.
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
July 06, 2011, 05:59:00 AM
How goes the C# backend?
full member
Activity: 121
Merit: 100
July 05, 2011, 03:18:42 PM
No.  The LP request will return work, and if the work doesn't pass through the proxy then it can't be recorded in the database.  And if it can't be recorded in the database, then work submissions against that work cannot be routed to their source pool, and the work the miner has done will have been for nothing.

I see.

Further, the LP specification implies that the X-Long-Polling header must return a host-relative URI.  (Though some pools do not follow this.)

I thought that was changed, most miners supports full url PL.
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 107
July 05, 2011, 03:16:25 PM
I been doing some research into the Long Polling issue, wouldn't be possible to just let the miner connect to the LP address directly instead of going through the proxy?
No.  The LP request will return work, and if the work doesn't pass through the proxy then it can't be recorded in the database.  And if it can't be recorded in the database, then work submissions against that work cannot be routed to their source pool, and the work the miner has done will have been for nothing.

Further, the LP specification implies that the X-Long-Polling header must return a host-relative URI.  (Though some pools do not follow this.)
full member
Activity: 121
Merit: 100
July 05, 2011, 02:53:33 PM
I been doing some research into the Long Polling issue, wouldn't be possible to just let the miner connect to the LP address directly instead of going through the proxy?
newbie
Activity: 42
Merit: 0
July 04, 2011, 09:16:06 PM
No, there are better free & opensource versions already available, thanks.
Cool, I'd love to see what they do differently. Any besides Multipool?
hero member
Activity: 927
Merit: 1000
฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin
July 04, 2011, 09:03:16 PM
I've patched this proxy to perform automatic pool hopping, directing requests to the most profitable pools, and have been using it successfully for several days on 3 proportional pools (very hoppable), 2 score-based (slightly hoppable), as well as PPS and solo mining as fallbacks. I don't have exact statistics on the earnings yet, but I believe it's over 20% more than I was making before.

I've only shared my patch with one friend, but I'm considering releasing it to the public for a bounty. Would anyone be interested?
No, there are better free & opensource versions already available, thanks.
newbie
Activity: 42
Merit: 0
July 04, 2011, 08:13:02 PM
I've patched this proxy to perform automatic pool hopping, directing requests to the most profitable pools, and have been using it successfully for several days on 3 proportional pools (very hoppable), 2 score-based (slightly hoppable), as well as PPS and solo mining as fallbacks. I don't have exact statistics on the earnings yet, but I believe it's over 20% more than I was making before.

I've only shared my patch with one friend, but I'm considering releasing it to the public for a bounty. Would anyone be interested?
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
July 04, 2011, 02:35:05 PM
how would I add the username and password in the string, could you give an example. I plan to donate when i get this running. Please and Thank You!

The username and password go in the URL, just as it says in the main Phoenix miner thread (which is where you really should have gone first). Example: http://username:password@host:port
newbie
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
July 04, 2011, 01:14:47 PM
this is what is showing up in the apache logs

Code:
192.168.2.2 - default [03/Jul/2011:10:03:50 -0400] "POST / HTTP/1.1" 401 364 "-" "phoenix/1.4"
192.168.2.2 - default [03/Jul/2011:10:04:00 -0400] "POST / HTTP/1.1" 401 364 "-" "phoenix/1.4"
192.168.2.2 - default [03/Jul/2011:10:04:10 -0400] "POST / HTTP/1.1" 401 364 "-" "phoenix/1.4"
192.168.2.2 - default [03/Jul/2011:10:04:20 -0400] "POST / HTTP/1.1" 401 364 "-" "phoenix/1.4"
192.168.2.2 - default [03/Jul/2011:10:04:30 -0400] "POST / HTTP/1.1" 401 364 "-" "phoenix/1.4"

And this is the command that i am using to launch the miners

Code:
python phoenix.py -u http://192.168.2.7:8337 -k poclbm DEVICE=2 BFI_INT WORKSIZE=128 AGGRESSION=8 FASTLOOP VECTORS

Can you maybe try to tell me what the problem is or what other info i need to figure the problem out?
Response 401 is "unauthorized."  Your command does not appear to include any authentication information.  You need to add the username and password of one of the proxy's worker accounts.


how would I add the username and password in the string, could you give an example. I plan to donate when i get this running. Please and Thank You!
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 107
July 04, 2011, 11:15:38 AM
Thanks for the proxy. Seems to work pretty well so far.

I did have to make one change to fix a problem with the proxy out of the box. Whenever I submitted a form, I'd be redirected to some other web site (localhost) which has no server running. It appears you're reading SERVER_NAME, which may or may not be correct. It's more reliable to read HTTP_HOST:

Code:
--- a/htdocs/common.inc.php    2011-05-29 22:20:55.000000000 -0400
+++ b/htdocs/common.inc.php      2011-05-29 23:29:49.000000000 -0400
@@ -154,7 +154,7 @@
     $port = ($default_port == $_SERVER['SERVER_PORT']) ? "" :
         ":" . $_SERVER['SERVER_PORT'];
 
-    $base = "$scheme://{$_SERVER['SERVER_NAME']}$port" . get_site_uri();
+    $base = "$scheme://{$_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']}$port" . get_site_uri();
 
     return $base . $uri;
 }

Hey, you still haven't included this fix, as far as I can tell. I just pulled master and it isn't there.
Sorry, I must have missed or forgotten about the original bug report.  The Github issue tracker is where I track bug reports and patches, so if it's not there then there's a good chance I won't remember it.

Patch applied and pushed, thanks!
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
July 04, 2011, 01:44:21 AM
Thanks for the proxy. Seems to work pretty well so far.

I did have to make one change to fix a problem with the proxy out of the box. Whenever I submitted a form, I'd be redirected to some other web site (localhost) which has no server running. It appears you're reading SERVER_NAME, which may or may not be correct. It's more reliable to read HTTP_HOST:

Code:
--- a/htdocs/common.inc.php    2011-05-29 22:20:55.000000000 -0400
+++ b/htdocs/common.inc.php      2011-05-29 23:29:49.000000000 -0400
@@ -154,7 +154,7 @@
     $port = ($default_port == $_SERVER['SERVER_PORT']) ? "" :
         ":" . $_SERVER['SERVER_PORT'];
 
-    $base = "$scheme://{$_SERVER['SERVER_NAME']}$port" . get_site_uri();
+    $base = "$scheme://{$_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']}$port" . get_site_uri();
 
     return $base . $uri;
 }

Hey, you still haven't included this fix, as far as I can tell. I just pulled master and it isn't there.
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 107
July 03, 2011, 01:56:29 PM
this is what is showing up in the apache logs

Code:
192.168.2.2 - default [03/Jul/2011:10:03:50 -0400] "POST / HTTP/1.1" 401 364 "-" "phoenix/1.4"
192.168.2.2 - default [03/Jul/2011:10:04:00 -0400] "POST / HTTP/1.1" 401 364 "-" "phoenix/1.4"
192.168.2.2 - default [03/Jul/2011:10:04:10 -0400] "POST / HTTP/1.1" 401 364 "-" "phoenix/1.4"
192.168.2.2 - default [03/Jul/2011:10:04:20 -0400] "POST / HTTP/1.1" 401 364 "-" "phoenix/1.4"
192.168.2.2 - default [03/Jul/2011:10:04:30 -0400] "POST / HTTP/1.1" 401 364 "-" "phoenix/1.4"

And this is the command that i am using to launch the miners

Code:
python phoenix.py -u http://192.168.2.7:8337 -k poclbm DEVICE=2 BFI_INT WORKSIZE=128 AGGRESSION=8 FASTLOOP VECTORS

Can you maybe try to tell me what the problem is or what other info i need to figure the problem out?
Response 401 is "unauthorized."  Your command does not appear to include any authentication information.  You need to add the username and password of one of the proxy's worker accounts.
Pages:
Jump to: