Pages:
Author

Topic: goxtool bot: portfolio rebalancing (Read 26529 times)

full member
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
We're not in Wonderland anymore Alice
January 22, 2014, 04:53:13 PM
Hi

I try use this bot on gox and working fine. Great work .) Is possible use this tool on btc-e dot com ? With some changes in configs sure, or need to rewrite more code ? It would be nice to have same tool for btc-e.
Thx
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 500
https://youengine.io/
January 20, 2014, 04:25:48 PM
yes it show the EUR balance in the status bar at the top.
i do not press  the "b" key at all.
or "p" or "i", from your stack trace it happened inside the keypress slot.
member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
January 20, 2014, 04:02:09 PM
Does it show the EUR balance in the status bar at the top? I cannot currently imagine what could cause this error because if you have an EUR account then gox.wallet['EUR'] must exist. Did you press the "b" key before it was fully initialized, before it had downloaded the account info and the account balance showed up in the status bar?
yes it show the EUR balance in the status bar at the top.
i do not press  the "b" key at all.
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 500
https://youengine.io/
January 20, 2014, 03:49:05 PM
i using the original goxtool from the prof7bit github.
i have already EUR in account.
Does it show the EUR balance in the status bar at the top? I cannot currently imagine what could cause this error because if you have an EUR account then gox.wallet['EUR'] must exist. Did you press the "b" key before it was fully initialized, before it had downloaded the account info and the account balance showed up in the status bar?
member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
January 20, 2014, 02:36:48 PM
Is this a fresh account and you have never bought or possessed any EUR before? Then the EUR wallet will be missing. buy a few EUR manually and the error will go away. If you do not intend to trade in EUR then set it to USD in goxtool.ini. Are you using the original goxtool from the prof7bit github or some fork from somebody else?
i using the original goxtool from the prof7bit github.
i have already EUR in account.
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 500
https://youengine.io/
January 20, 2014, 09:23:07 AM
KeyError: 'EUR'
Is this a fresh account and you have never bought or possessed any EUR before? Then the EUR wallet will be missing. buy a few EUR manually and the error will go away. If you do not intend to trade in EUR then set it to USD in goxtool.ini. Are you using the original goxtool from the prof7bit github or some fork from somebody else?
member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
January 19, 2014, 07:22:17 PM
after all delete and config again
i get that error in log
Code:
File "/home/user/goxtool/goxapi.py", line 385, in __call__
    func(instance, sender, data)
  File "/home/user/goxtool/_balancer.py", line 67, in slot_keypress
    self.place_orders()
  File "/home/user/goxtool/_balancer.py", line 164, in place_orders
    center = self.get_price_where_it_was_balanced()
  File "/home/user/goxtool/_balancer.py", line 132, in get_price_where_it_was_balanced
    fiat_have = gox.quote2float(gox.wallet[gox.curr_quote]) + FIAT_COLD
KeyError: 'EUR'
member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
January 19, 2014, 07:16:52 PM
Did you make any modifications to the _balancer.py? Does it work and just not logging or does it shut down immediately? is goxtool the very latest version from github?

it is shutdown immediately, no modifications, it is up to date.

only one modifications in goxtool.ini
Code:
guote_currency = USD
to
Code:
guote_currency = EUR

have no idea what is going on.
i try this https://github.com/Timmeey/rangerBot
this is start and working but not _balancer.py

newbie
Activity: 37
Merit: 0
January 19, 2014, 06:45:13 PM
Bot is running nice, made about 1k eur in the last month. I'm tracking everything with excel.

Just curious, that return is from what amount of fiat and BTC?
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 500
https://youengine.io/
January 19, 2014, 06:20:33 PM
can't start
Code:
./goxtool.py --strategy=_balancer.py --protocol=websocket --use-http
in log have only
Code:
2014-01-19 22:38:48,050:DEBUG:goxapi.Gox:### shutdown...

Did you make any modifications to the _balancer.py? Does it work and just not logging or does it shut down immediately? is goxtool the very latest version from github?
member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
January 19, 2014, 04:41:09 PM
can't start
Code:
./goxtool.py --strategy=_balancer.py --protocol=websocket --use-http
in log have only
Code:
2014-01-19 22:38:48,050:DEBUG:goxapi.Gox:### shutdown...


but
Code:
./goxtool.py --protocol=websocket --use-http
start normaly but not do traiding.
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
January 13, 2014, 01:42:03 AM
You can use this:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/gnuplot

set terminal wxt size 1000,650
set datafile sep ','

set xlabel "USD Account Balance"
set ylabel "BTC Account Balance"
plot '_balancer.log' using 3:4 with lines
pause -1

I've made a tiny change to this. It adds a circle to the latest data point (a la sparklines) which aids in readability. I'm looking at other changes too as I get into gnuplot.

Code:
set datafile sep ','
unset key

set xlabel "AUD Account Balance"
set ylabel "BTC Account Balance"

stats '/tmp/_balancer.log' nooutput
last_index = int(STATS_records - 1)
plot    '/tmp/_balancer.log' using 3:4 with lines,\
        '/tmp/_balancer.log' using 3:4 every ::last_index with points pointtype 7 lc 1

pause -1

http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/62533350/graph.png
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
January 11, 2014, 11:38:31 AM
Bot is running nice, made about 1k eur in the last month. I'm tracking everything with excel.
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
January 11, 2014, 03:10:01 AM
it will produce plots like these: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.3911898

This is awesome, and has given me a nice gentle way into gnuplot which has always seemed scary and hairy. I like with this plot how you can see the total edging forward slightly with each gyration of the price. Would be nice to show the time dimension in there somehow.
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 500
https://youengine.io/
January 08, 2014, 06:32:18 AM
What are people using to track their bots' progress?

You can use this:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/gnuplot

set terminal wxt size 1000,650
set datafile sep ','

set xlabel "USD Account Balance"
set ylabel "BTC Account Balance"
plot '_balancer.log' using 3:4 with lines
pause -1

it will produce plots like these: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.3911898

or here (same plot as above after a few more weeks):


legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
January 07, 2014, 09:26:56 PM
What are people using to track their bots' progress?

Its pretty hard to do this in a meaningful way if you are running a balancer. If you do some simulations you see that results can be all over the place just due to luck.

You can draw pretty pictures of course, but if you are drawing conclusions from results over a reasonable time scale you are probably fooling yourself.
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
January 07, 2014, 08:52:30 PM
He probably added the user.conf stuff to support multiple installations on his multi user hosted goxtool server, probably heavy modifications because also every user needs his own account api secret.

(Second attempt to post this. Bitcointalk is rubbish)

Interesting service. I like his visualization:
https://zerogox.com/sites/zerogox.com/files/chart-screenshot.png

What are people using to track their bots' progress? I've got a simple Google Spreadsheet that I manually update periodically. One of these days I plan to learn enough Python to automatically push trades to it as they happen, which would be much more interesting.

But more relevant, how do you visualize and assess success from the bot? I look at both the 24 hour average exchange rate as well as the price at the time of the trade. They're both interesting views, and there's been a reasonable appreciation in balance by both measures.
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 500
https://youengine.io/
December 22, 2013, 09:18:20 PM
he imported your code into goxtool
Its probably also a modified goxtool. Original code for original goxtool is at my repository (link in my sig)
hero member
Activity: 938
Merit: 500
https://youengine.io/
December 22, 2013, 09:12:26 PM
He probably added the user.conf stuff to support multiple installations on his multi user hosted goxtool server, probably heavy modifications because also every user needs his own account api secret.

The original _balancer does not need a config file, the way it is supposed to work in a single user setup is to edit the .py file of the strategy directly and then just press "l" (lowercase L) to dynamically reload the strategy at runtime (keep it simple approach, also for making code changes to the bot or similar experiments without needing to restart the entire application).
newbie
Activity: 16
Merit: 0
December 22, 2013, 09:04:55 PM
So you're telling me this has nothing to do with balancer.py from https://github.com/caktux/goxtool ?  Hmmmm.
Thats a fork of my original bot. I don't know what was changed in this fork and how to use it, I can only recommend my original as it is found in the link on page 1.

Yes, I see, I'm studying the diff now. I didn't realise he imported your code into goxtool and made a few changes around the place (hence my confusion). It seems he did this relatively recently too.
Pages:
Jump to: