Pages:
Author

Topic: GPU Mining on OS X Using poclbm - page 3. (Read 78782 times)

newbie
Activity: 1
Merit: 0
June 09, 2011, 12:54:45 PM
#40
I got everything working, and I'm only pulling in 2800kH/s on my mid-2009 MBP.  Is that to be expected with the GeForce 9600M GT inside it?
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 255
June 09, 2011, 01:17:39 AM
#39
Thanks t0ny, fixed.
newbie
Activity: 3
Merit: 0
June 09, 2011, 01:14:30 AM
#38
Quote
echo "rpcuser=username" > ~/Library/Application\ Support/Bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
echo "rpcpassword=password" > ~/Library/Application\ Support/Bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

The > should be >>. A single a > replaces the file while a  >> adds to it.
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 255
June 08, 2011, 11:51:46 PM
#37
Awesome, are you doing pooled or solo?
newbie
Activity: 5
Merit: 0
June 08, 2011, 11:39:16 PM
#36
After I got around those old curl urls, this worked like a charm! ATI Radeon HD5770 on old Mac Pro chuggin away at around 100Mhash/sec. The GPU is about 20x faster than the CPU! Works perfectly, huge hat tip!  Cool
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 255
June 08, 2011, 11:16:28 PM
#35
Thanks, I fixed the error, I had put rpcuser twice in the original post and github does seem to redirect to a subdomain.

If you are having trouble getting Bitcoin connected to other nodes I suggest checking out https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Fallback_Nodes.

You can add a fallback node by entering:

Code:
echo "addnode=69.164.218.197" > ~/Library/Application\ Support/Bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

Check out the link for other Fallback Nodes. That being said it may be an issue with your firewall blocking either the bitcoin or irc ports.

I strongly suggest giving pooled mining a try though. The variance on payback is greatly reduced. The one I use is http://mining.bitcoin.cz. Once you have set up a worker you enter:

Code:
python /Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py -u xxxx --pass xxxx -d 0 -o mining.bitcoin.cz
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
June 08, 2011, 02:29:58 PM
#34
Thanks for the reply.

I tried the changes you made to the bitcoin.conf -- only those 3 lines (but with my username and password, of course)

Still getting the "Bitcoin is not connected!" message.  Hmmmm....

Running a Mac Pro 2.66GHz Quad-Core Xeon, OSX 10.6.7.
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
June 08, 2011, 02:02:21 PM
#33
I got it to work but putting these three values in my bitcoin.conf.

server=1
rpcuser=enewhuis
rpcpassword=drummerz

I then started the Bitcoin client and ran

e-2:poclbm en$ python /Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py -u enewhuis --pass drummerz -d 0
3736 khash/s   

Dismal 3.7 Mhash/s tho, but this is a mere MacBook Pro.
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
June 08, 2011, 01:37:40 PM
#32
I saw that on my setup too.  I think the bitcoin.conf file settings aren't correct.

When mine contains only "rpcuser=password" the Bitcoin client works but I cannot connect my local python miner.  When I supply some other rpcuser and rpcpassword I can connect but Bitcoin client won't find any peers.


When I run the second command in the terminal window:
python /Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py -u xxxxxx --pass yyyyy -d 0
I get the following line:
Bitcoin is not connected!
The terminal prompt does not return, and the Activity Monitor shows no significant process is running in the background.

Now what?
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
June 08, 2011, 10:50:12 AM
#31
Making some progress --

Apparently the https://github.com/.... links redirect to https://raw.github.com/..... so I modified the curl commands accordingly. Now I have real stuff in all 4 files under /Applications/poclbm

When I run the first command:
/Applications/Bitcoin.app/Contents/MacOS/bitcoin -server &
the Bitcoin application starts up and I can see the application running in another window. Seems OK.

When I run the second command in the terminal window:
python /Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py -u xxxxxx --pass yyyyy -d 0
I get the following line:
Bitcoin is not connected!
The terminal prompt does not return, and the Activity Monitor shows no significant process is running in the background.

Now what?
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
June 08, 2011, 10:26:55 AM
#30
I'm getting the same error:

  File "/Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py", line 1
    You are being https://raw.github.com/m0mchil/poclbm/master/poclbm.py">redirected.
    ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

When I open the BitcoinMiner.py file with BBEdit, there is only a single line in the file:
You are being https://raw.github.com/m0mchil/poclbm/master/BitcoinMiner.py">redirected.

Is this what should be in the BitcoinMiner.py file? How to fix?
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
June 08, 2011, 12:40:55 AM
#29
host-103-84:~ xxxx$ rpcuser=taykaypee
host-103-84:~ xxxx$ rpcpassword=yyyy
host-103-84:~ adiep$ python /Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py -u username --pass password -d 0
  File "/Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py", line 1
    You are being https://raw.github.com/m0mchil/poclbm/master/poclbm.py">redirected.
    ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax



where xxxx is the name of my computer admin and yyyy is a password. Sorry, I don't understand, I'm new to this >< what am i doing wrong?
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
June 07, 2011, 08:31:06 PM
#28
I've got this working on my MacBook now.  At first, I got "Permission denied" when I tried to connect so I opened up bitcoin.conf and found that there was only one line in it which was "rpcuser=password" so I fixed it according to the example given in the following link:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

Now it works.

Using the following for the CPU (Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P7350 @ 2.00GHz):
Code:
python /Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py -u username --pass password -d 1
I get 1.6 Mhash/s which is exactly the same as I get with the Bitcoin GUI client set to generate coin. 

Then using the GPU (GeForce 9400M):
Code:
python /Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py -u username --pass password -d 0
I get 1.4 Mhash/s.  So the CPU is actually better than the GPU on this hardware.  The upside is that the GPU produces much less heat and the fan does not have to go as fast.
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
June 07, 2011, 08:21:00 PM
#27
The reason I took it out is because this:


bnh096:~ xxxx$ python /Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py -u username --pass password -d 0
  File "/Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py", line 1
    You are being https://raw.github.com/m0mchil/poclbm/master/poclbm.py">redirected.
    ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 255
June 07, 2011, 08:01:50 PM
#26
You need to put "python" in front of the line you entered.
full member
Activity: 154
Merit: 100
June 07, 2011, 08:00:13 PM
#25
Im getting ~96 Mhash/s on my new 2011 iMac (with a ATI 6970m GPU), using the Diablo GUI published in another thread here. Kind of disappointing low hash rate I think.

Is there reason to believe poclbm would give a higher hash rate?

Running guiminer on Bootcamp'ed Windows 7 x64 on a Mid-2010 iMac (ATI 5850M GPU), I was getting ~128 Mh/s.  ATI 6970M should be at least 50% faster if not more.

Just make sure you up the fans and keep GPU-z running to monitor GPU temps but at 98% load, my GPU's were around 68C.

Cheers,
Kermee
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
June 07, 2011, 07:54:48 PM
#24
bnh096:~ xxxx$  /Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py -u username --pass password -d
-bash: /Applications/poclbm/poclbm.py: Permission denied
bnh096:~ xxxx$


xxxx is my computer name


newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
June 07, 2011, 07:53:30 PM
#23
Those are two separate commands right? Sorry I'm new to this...

Yes. In fact I'm running them in two separate terminal windows. 

The first returns "No such file or directory"

Okay, I see you solved that while I was previewing my reply.

The second returns a sytaxerror: invalid syntax

I'm using the command exactly as you show it and it's working.  Maybe, try and re-type it just to make sure you have it exactly?
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
June 07, 2011, 07:44:35 PM
#22
afingal: I'm sorry you're having problems. I don't have a Mac Pro, but it does seem like it could be an issue with 32 vs. 64-bit. You can try "make clean".

Good luck.

I already tried "make clean" but I haven't tried actually booting into full 64-bit mode, which was another suggestion on the page I referenced earlier.  I'll might try that when I get a chance.  Meanwhile, I now have poclbm working on my MacBook although that's no where near as good as I expect the Mac Pro to be.  I'll post more about that in just a bit. 
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
June 07, 2011, 07:34:19 PM
#21
Ahhh Bitcoin wasn't in my Applications directory. Now the first returns:


[2] 1008
[1]   Exit 127                /Applications/Bitcoin.app/Contents/MacOS/bitcoin -server

And the app opens in my dock


but the second line is still a syntax error.
Pages:
Jump to: