Pages:
Author

Topic: GUI mining - updated Dec 3 with 7970 bugfix, also supports Stratum! - page 30. (Read 3232170 times)

sr. member
Activity: 388
Merit: 250
cool I had tried something similar but couldn't get guiminer to start by just doing a bat file with:

cd c:\guiminer
guiminer.exe
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
Create a new .bat file with the following two lines:

timeout 60
start /d C:\guiminer C:\guiminer\guiminer.exe

Can replace 60 with any other value >30 you feel comfortable with. Adjust the paths accordingly. Put it or a shortcut to it in the starup folder. This will delay the start of the miner until the amount of seconds pass or a key is pressed.
sr. member
Activity: 388
Merit: 250
Any chance to add a delayed auto start? I have 3 systems with 6950s in them and no matter what I've tried, if I have guiminer in the startup folder and autostart enabled, the systems freeze (fresh win 7 or vista install 32 or 64bit). if I simply wait about 30 seconds and click start it works fine, but I'd rather have a fully automated setup. I also have 5 systems with 5830s, and they all work just fine with the same type setup and autostart, so it's just something with the 6950s.
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 100
Interesting thing going on for me. I have used the standard GUIminer since I started mining.  After reading the forums, I decided to try GUIminer's phoenix miner.  GUIminer shows that is is 15 Mh/s faster, but the number of shares submitted don't reflect that 15 Mh/s increase. I thought it could be some luck involved and even 6+ hours later, no real gain (one even had fewer shares). Anyone with the same issue, anything I can do to change it?
full member
Activity: 168
Merit: 100
don't know if this has been requested already or not but I would like to see the summary page not display Ghash/s in the footer unless it was longer than 1 decimal place. Instead seeing Mhash/s would be more helpful unless Ghash could be displayed like 1.125 Ghash/s instead of 1.1 Ghash/s. Sorry for that run-on sentence.

Thanks for the work to this point and donation sent...
hero member
Activity: 728
Merit: 500
I also have one more suggestion for the next version. Have the window stay in the same area and stay the same size when I close it, then open it again. The way it is now, every time I open it for the first time, the window will be on the top left side and reverts to the default dimensions. Please change it so that it keeps the same size and same position on the screen.
newbie
Activity: 19
Merit: 0
My GUI Miner is behaving pretty strangly I must say.
Now and then, it stops mining and it says "Connecting..." and it will not do anything else, untill I push the "stop" button and "start" butting. After I push the start button it will succesfully connect again.

This is causing my miner to have lots of downtime, especially when this occurs at night.
Because I can easily and succesfully start it again manually, it must be an issue with the GUI Miner itself.

How can I solve this? One way would be to write a AutoHotkey script which keeps an eye on the status of each miner, and clicks the "stop", "start" button as soon as one worker is stuck in the "connecting..." fase, but that seems a pretty stupid solution for the problem.
Since this is an issue that must be resolved in the source code of the GUI Miner itself.
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
Feature Request: in addition to affinity, how about setting process priority? I like to have my miners running at low cpu priority, that way they can they can chug at their fastest speed with -f 1, but I can still use my computer. Currently I have to manually adjust process priority whenever I start a miner, it would be great if guiminer could just set it when it creates the process.
sr. member
Activity: 406
Merit: 250
Just got guiminer runing on ubuntu 11.04 with fglrx!

I had to build the beta pyopencl to get it to see my cards, but it's running the phat-k poclbm mod and matching my hashkill results!

If it does better with timeouts, this is a big win.
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
I need an new box...
Never mind, I figured out my problem. Since this is a clean install of Win XP with only updates and Bitcoin stuff installed it hasn't had the time to accumulate the cruft (drivers, patches, utilities) that typical software installs along with the normal software that's being installed (like your favorite game might also update your DirectX).

I was missing the Visual C++ libraries that this needs to run.

Kiv, in the first post of this thread, could you put a note saying that if you don't have the Visual C++ runtime libraries already installed that you need to go to the Microsoft site and install them in order to run?

Otherwise it seems to be running fine at the moment Smiley
full member
Activity: 174
Merit: 100
Try to delete the  poclbm directory in the MyDocuments or ApplicationData folder. (Not sure how the folder name is right now. But should be somewhere in your users folder.)
hero member
Activity: 728
Merit: 500
Having a problem getting guiminer to run. When I start I get an error that says "This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem."

GUIMiner version: v2011-06-14
Operating system: Windows XP SP3 with all current updates
Video card: ATI 5770
CCC and OpenCL are installed and GPU Caps Viewer shows the nice fuzzy cube Smiley
The current Bitcoin app is installed, running, and the blockchain is up to date.

I've deleted and reinstalled several times and in several places (My Documents, and Program Files) and get the same error. I'm also not seeing any log file being generated nor am I seeing a c:\Users directory being made.

There is a system log error generated for something called 'side by side' that reads "Resolve Partial Assembly failed for Microsoft.VC90.CRT. Reference error message: The referenced assembly is not installed on your system."

So, apparently, I'm missing something on my system as a dependency but I'm not sure what. Any help would be appreciated  Smiley

My best guess would be to uninstall it, restart, then try again. If that doesn't work, I dunno. Maybe someone else has a suggestion.
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
I need an new box...
Having a problem getting guiminer to run. When I start I get an error that says "This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem."

GUIMiner version: v2011-06-14
Operating system: Windows XP SP3 with all current updates
Video card: ATI 5770
CCC and OpenCL are installed and GPU Caps Viewer shows the nice fuzzy cube Smiley
The current Bitcoin app is installed, running, and the blockchain is up to date.

I've deleted and reinstalled several times and in several places (My Documents, and Program Files) and get the same error. I'm also not seeing any log file being generated nor am I seeing a c:\Users directory being made.

There is a system log error generated for something called 'side by side' that reads "Resolve Partial Assembly failed for Microsoft.VC90.CRT. Reference error message: The referenced assembly is not installed on your system."

So, apparently, I'm missing something on my system as a dependency but I'm not sure what. Any help would be appreciated  Smiley
newbie
Activity: 6
Merit: 0
When guiminer is running on my XP machine, it silently cancels log out, restart, or shutdown commands. I have to close guiminer first in order to log out. I don't think that should be the default behavior.

member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
Added poclbm_phatk version to guiminer folder and new error came up
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "guiminer.py", line 14, in
ImportError: No module named wx

Any idea whats wrong here? I'd like to get it working, cuz Guiminer looks better than AO~ something.
hero member
Activity: 728
Merit: 500
I just had some suggestions for improvements to GUI miner for one of your next versions.
These are just suggestions/requests

1. The ability to remember previously used flags. There could just be a drop down menu button next to the text input field.
2. The ability to minimize to the task bar instead of only just the tray.
3. Expanded list of servers of BTC Guild (see website for list of 6 server subdomains)
4. Huh
5. Profit?
full member
Activity: 174
Merit: 100
Has anyone updated the Phoenix 1.48 that comes with GUIMiner 6-14 to Phoenix 1.50? If yes, does it work better? Did you just copy the directories over into the GUIMiner directory?

I did but just copying the files in the GUIMiner dir.
There are still some issues with the stats shown by the GUI. You need to use the -v flag to see something happening. But anyway..Phoenix 1.50 works..you just might not see the most actual status.
legendary
Activity: 2072
Merit: 1001
Has anyone updated the Phoenix 1.48 that comes with GUIMiner 6-14 to Phoenix 1.50? If yes, does it work better? Did you just copy the directories over into the GUIMiner directory?

i am curious also but so far have stuck with default miners that guiminer newest release comes with.
if you check out the threads for phoenix for example.. people are having trouble and I have no wish
for my rigs to stop mining for no reason. I can handle a few slight issues right now in the newest guiminer
release.

for example phoenix with phatk showing those odd ascii characters.
phoenix with phatk now showing accepted blocks but I know it is working by checking the pool.

otherwise it just works.
hero member
Activity: 626
Merit: 500
Mining since May 2011.
Has anyone updated the Phoenix 1.48 that comes with GUIMiner 6-14 to Phoenix 1.50? If yes, does it work better? Did you just copy the directories over into the GUIMiner directory?
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
Code:
2011-06-23 13:17:40: Listener for "BTCGuild poclbm": Verification failed, check hardware!
2011-06-23 13:17:40: Listener for "BTCGuild poclbm": Traceback (most recent call last):
2011-06-23 13:17:40: Listener for "BTCGuild poclbm": File "BitcoinMiner.pyo", line 261, in longPollThread
2011-06-23 13:17:40: Listener for "BTCGuild poclbm": File "BitcoinMiner.pyo", line 224, in request
2011-06-23 13:17:40: Listener for "BTCGuild poclbm": File "httplib.pyo", line 974, in getresponse
2011-06-23 13:17:40: Listener for "BTCGuild poclbm": File "httplib.pyo", line 391, in begin
2011-06-23 13:17:40: Listener for "BTCGuild poclbm": File "httplib.pyo", line 349, in _read_status
2011-06-23 13:17:40: Listener for "BTCGuild poclbm": File "socket.pyo", line 397, in readline
2011-06-23 13:17:40: Listener for "BTCGuild poclbm": timeout: timed out
2011-06-23 13:44:44: Listener for "BTCGuild poclbm" shutting down

Too much OC'd card or? Was working at 1000 core for 2 days, now this error shows up in less than 2 days at 990 core.
Pages:
Jump to: