Pages:
Author

Topic: Hi! I'm a graduate student studying the bitcoin community. - page 2. (Read 2227 times)

legendary
Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000
Wow, there really is a department of infomatics at UC-Irvine! 

I like bitcoin because of its use in micropayments and its potential for anonymity.  I also think as a deflationary currency it will be a good store of value.

Good Luck with your research!
legendary
Activity: 1316
Varanida : Fair & Transparent Digital Ecosystem
Activity: 18
Merit: 0
Let me give a real answer to one your questions. What drew me to bitcoins in the beginning was how easy it was to start accepting payments on a web site. With credit cards it is very difficult to accept them, and if you use a framework you are at the mercy of them. Bitcoins gets rid of that, I can freely and very easy programmatically send and get bitcoins. Also another headache is saving all that credit card information, if you get hacked you just let your whole community be exploited. Bitcoins I can save an address in a database link it to an account and that hacker can't do anything with that information, as long as my private keys are safe in cold storage. Credits cards require a bank account and bitcoins don't, this allows younger developers to get paid for their work. I had a great idea at 14 or 15 that I didn't build out cause I couldn't get all the accounts that would be required for me to accept payments, due to my age. These are very small yet things that impact greatly on a community.

Hi!  Thanks for the input, that's very interesting.  I hadn't really considered how bitcoin might be more accessible for young people than other forms of online payment!
Welcome here.

Here a survey you can use to start with. (a bit old though)

http://simulacrum.cc/2013/02/26/the-demographics-of-bitcoin-part-1/

Thanks!  I actually ran across that post a week or so ago and found it really interesting and helpful.
Activity: 280
Merit: 250
TECHNOLOGY, BABY!
Welcome here.