Pages:
Author

Topic: investing in bitcoin - page 2. (Read 1652 times)

donator
Activity: 784
Merit: 1000
March 25, 2013, 02:00:23 PM
About a year ago I started from 5% of BTC. Now I regret I didn't buy more as the most of my "low risk" assets were burnt on Cyprus bank account.
Activity: 552
Merit: 501
March 25, 2013, 01:46:30 PM
hi!

im a total newbie, just being convinced by max Kaiser to buy some bitcoin

what i already did:

-set up and synchronized client
-encrypted and backed up wallet
-got mtgox account

what i want to ask:

- is it ok to invest 25% of my portfolio? to much? to little?
- should i wait for a correction after such a crazy rally?

My portfolio is currently 5/6 PMs and 1/6 BTC in dollar terms, but that was not a deliberate choice. It is just a reflection of the fact that PMs have been static for two years whilst BTC has been rather frisky ;-)
I would say if you are starting out, then 10% in BTC is probably about right. It is the classic example of a high risk high reward investment.
I wouldn't bother trying to buy the dips. Just buy and forget.
Activity: 85
Merit: 10
March 25, 2013, 10:37:39 AM
Investing in Bitcoin can mean a lot of things, you either just buy some at a trusted exchange and wait for them to appreciate (a lot).
Or you are one of the entrepreneurs that actually earns Bitcoin because of the hype, and then you're safe whether it appreciates or crashes.

Be creative.
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
March 25, 2013, 09:30:34 AM
thank you for reply!

I'm already over 50% in metals.
after cyprus decided my fiat is not safe, and want to move some into smth other than PM's to be alble to liquify it faster.
 25% its not what I can afford to lose, but in fiat it can be stolen by goverment.
I think I will not wait and buy @ market when my fiat will arrive at mtgox.
b!z
legendary
Activity: 1582
Merit: 1010
March 25, 2013, 09:13:53 AM
hi!

what i already did:

-got mtgox account

what i want to ask: