Pages:
Author

Topic: is it still profitable? How many rigs do the big boys still have... - page 3. (Read 1239 times)

Activity: 223
Merit: 10
Mining is currently profitable only at low electricity prices, about 6-7 cents per kilowatt and below. If the rigs are indoors, then in winter the profit is greater due to the use of heat and reducing heating costs.
Activity: 449
Merit: 24
What are you guys paying in electricity?  You have to have low overhead in this market to last.  I lucked out and pay $.049 a KWH.
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
Are you profiting with ETH or other Altcoins?

Whats your outlook?

How are the big boys doing... are you one of them? what's the electricity to profit ratio/conversions?

23 GPU's and so far, is not going well. Electricity bills are huge and the profit is so low that im willing to shut them down for a while. This past 2 months are the worst.
legendary
Activity: 3738
Merit: 1708
I've been mining for a few years and only down to my most efficient GPUs which are the RX series and they are heavily undervolted and heavily underclocked and they turn a profit but very little. At this point I am just hodl'ing the ETH until the issuance reduction in January and then going to most likely package up the GPUs and sell them in a year or so when the second hand prices of the GPUs start to rise.

There is also the chance that there might be some crazy FOMO and ETH might go to $1000 very quickly and the profits of $1-2 per day per GPU will be back but I am not counting on it happening soon.

Its not worth mining for 10 cents a day, rather just power off the GPUs.
Activity: 248
Merit: 8