Pages:
Author

Topic: Is profit possible with mining if just starting out now? - page 2. (Read 1632 times)

Activity: 4
Merit: 0
It didn't occur to me that ButterflyLabs was also mining...arghh. It seems like the Antminser S1 has the best H/s/$. Still though it feels now as if these are just scraps. The curve seems to be almost created by the hardware makers because they can get their hardware so much more cheaply reaching ROI before anyone else. Unless you're a hardware maker you're going to be fighting the curve..
legendary
Activity: 3878
Merit: 1193
So, I'm new to bitcoin Smiley Was looking at getting a new ButterflyLabs Monarch 300GH/s card.

Definitely a great idea. That way your money will be sitting in BFL's bank while you wait several months for your hardware. In the meantime, the rest of us miners will be mining away on hardware that is much cheaper and more profitable.

In other words, you'd have to be an idiot to order from BFL.
Activity: 92
Merit: 10
Plus you don't need a second fan per se.
Yes, hot summer days will be no problem, if your OC'ed Antminer S1 is working in a climated or cold room.

You can do the math, if and when your mining will be profitable: http://www.bitcoinx.com/profit/
(just make sure to use the most recent profitability decline per year: 0.0013)
Activity: 266
Merit: 250