Pages:
Author

Topic: Jaxx won't open - page 2. (Read 256 times)

legendary
Activity: 2758
Merit: 6830
October 06, 2019, 02:57:33 PM
The problem also is, I'm not really good with stuff like this. Have no clue to "backup a wallet" anyway.

All I usually do when installing a wallet on my PC is write down the seed phrase on paper. But in this particular case I forgot this.

Can you please read my previous post and answer on that?
I'm giving you an alternative to make sure you have a backup of the wallet or the seed itself before trying to fix stuff (like reinstalling Jaxx). Why won't you do that?

What exactly do you want me to answer to? I don't use Jaxx. I can't answer if the wallet will be lost if you update it to a new version, or if you can get any data from the dev tools options. I'm suggesting you something I can work it to try helping you.
Activity: 43
Merit: 1
October 06, 2019, 02:55:00 PM
So, I'm not sure if Jaxx already fixed that, but there was an vulnerability which let you get your backup seed from the wallet files. And since they didn't care about it, maybe it still works.

Can you backup your Jaxx folder and try this? https://vxlabs.com/2017/06/10/extracting-the-jaxx-12-word-wallet-backup-phrase/#demonstration

Or just try what I said above as it won't risk your current wallet anyways (you are just copying the folder and pasting it in another device, where Jaxx works).

The problem also is, I'm not really good with stuff like this. Have no clue to "backup a wallet" anyway.

All I usually do when installing a wallet on my PC is write down the seed phrase on paper. But in this particular case I forgot this.

Can you please read my previous post and answer on that?
legendary
October 06, 2019, 02:52:17 PM
So, I'm not sure if Jaxx already fixed that, but there was an vulnerability which let you get your backup seed from the wallet files. And since they didn't care about it, maybe it still works.