Pages:
Author

Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go. - page 47. (Read 285117 times)

member
Activity: 87
Merit: 10
Are you guys booting with the persistence option ?

Thanks for all the email and host links guys !! I'll reply to you all tomorrow as its very late now and I need to get some sleep Cheesy

PS:

Check out this demo of linuxcoin acting a s a pxe server and distributing itself Wink

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VfVN4l3RomI

If you can create a bit for bit image file of an 8gb partitioned persistent stick running .2b, that would make a lot of people's lives a lot easier. The persistence doesn't work, even after modifying syslinux.cfg in the windows readable portion of the stick. In .2b there's no /media/x09sd9fj to unmount.

Is it possible to instead create a bin or img file that can be written bit for bit to an equally partitioned usb stick? There are sure to be a few windows based programs that allow for bit level cloning ala ghost.

I'll pay you or anyone else $50 for this tutorial/image file via paypal. I want to see LinuxCoin own.

What is the problem? you make 2 partitions, one fat32 and put the linuxcoin image on it with unetbootin. The second, leave as free space. boot in default mode, follow the "old" guide..

if you have /dev/sda1 as the linuxcoin partition:

fdisk /dev/sda
n
p
2
enter
enter
w

shutdown, restart choosing persistent mode

mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda2 -L live-rw
enter
enter

sudo df

you should see:
/dev/sda1 ... /live/image
/dev/sda2 ... /live/cow

now shutdown, plug the usb stick into your pc and edit /live/image/syslinux.cfg and put the last 2 lines under persistent where the last 2 lines for default were. now it will be persistent mode by default
member
Activity: 87
Merit: 10
almost forgot, anyone here implement anything like:

1. publishing the temps and mhash/s etc to a website for remote summary?
2. a script that will kill the miner(s) if the temps get too high?
member
Activity: 87
Merit: 10
Nifty progress today.

Code: (/home/user/.config/autostart/auto.desktop)
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=coin
Exec=lxterminal --command "/home/user/start.sh"
Terminal=true

Code: (/home/user/start.sh)
#!/bin/bash
xhost +
echo $DISPLAY > /home/user/.display
lxterminal --title miner1_start --command "/home/user/miner1.sh"
lxterminal --title miner2_start --command "/home/user/miner2.sh"

Code: (/home/user/miner1.sh)
#!/bin/bash
cd /opt/miners/phoenix
./phoenix.py -u http://__USER__:__PASSWORD__@__PROXY/POOL__:__PORT__/ -k phatk BFI_INT VECTORS FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=11 DEVICE=0

Code: (/home/user/miner2.sh)
#!/bin/bash
cd /opt/miners/phoenix
./phoenix.py -u http://__USER__:__PASSWORD__@__PROXY/POOL__:__PORT__/ -k phatk BFI_INT VECTORS FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=11 DEVICE=1

Code: (/home/user/restart.sh)
#!/bin/bash
export DISPLAY=`cat /home/user/.display`
pc=`ps waxuf | grep miner1.sh -c`
ld=`aticonfig --odgc --adapter=0 | grep "GPU load" | cut -c 30-35 | cut -d % -f 1`
if [[ $pc -lt 2 ||  $ld -lt 50 ]] ; then
 killall -KILL miner1.sh
 nohup lxterminal --title miner1 --command /home/user/miner1.sh &
fi
pc=`ps waxuf | grep miner2.sh -c`
ld=`aticonfig --odgc --adapter=1 | grep "GPU load" | cut -c 30-35 | cut -d % -f 1`
if [[ $pc -lt 2 ||  $ld -lt 50 ]] ; then
 killall -KILL miner2.sh
 nohup lxterminal --title miner2 --command /home/user/miner2.sh &
fi

Code: (crontab -e)
1,11,21,31,41,51 * * * * /home/user/restart.sh

miner1.sh and miner2.sh are owned by root.root, and are setuid/setgid (mode 6755) while the others are owned by user.user and are mode 0755.

Very simple to extend this to multiple miners, and it will restart any that are crashed or hung.

I'm using these scripts, everything seems to be working great.

2x 5830 @ 900/300
using phoenix, k phatk PLATFORM=0 DEVICE=1 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false WORKSIZE=128 AGGRESSION=12
getting 272-273 Mhash/s on each card

top card is 71C, bottom is 65C

this is a temp setup though and will have my boards for 4 cards soon and moving to a better cooling platform
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 251
EDIT: Even easier way to use persistence on the way !! Literally just drop a file onto your flash media and your golden Cheesy

Files are being uploaded now I'll link em when they are complete. Might take a while though because they total 3.5GB and I'm on a 3G connection.

I've tested and they work great !!

Getting a bunch of "deprecation warning" messages using phoenix, linuxcoin 0.2b ?

Seems to be just when I start it up?

'enqueue_read_buffer' has been deprecated in version 2011.1. Please use enqueue_copy() instead.

Thats due to pyopencl being updated to the latest version. It's nothing to worry about and really should be taken up with the author of phoenix Wink
 
member
Activity: 87
Merit: 10
Getting a bunch of "deprecation warning" messages using phoenix, linuxcoin 0.2b ?

Seems to be just when I start it up?

'enqueue_read_buffer' has been deprecated in version 2011.1. Please use enqueue_copy() instead.
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 251
Are you guys booting with the persistence option ?

Thanks for all the email and host links guys !! I'll reply to you all tomorrow as its very late now and I need to get some sleep Cheesy

PS:

Check out this demo of linuxcoin acting a s a pxe server and distributing itself Wink

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VfVN4l3RomI

If you can create a bit for bit image file of an 8gb partitioned persistent stick running .2b, that would make a lot of people's lives a lot easier. The persistence doesn't work, even after modifying syslinux.cfg in the windows readable portion of the stick. In .2b there's no /media/x09sd9fj to unmount.

Is it possible to instead create a bin or img file that can be written bit for bit to an equally partitioned usb stick? There are sure to be a few windows based programs that allow for bit level cloning ala ghost.

I'll pay you or anyone else $50 for this tutorial/image file via paypal. I want to see LinuxCoin own.

I've just tested and persistence works fine ?



/dev/sr0 is my CD rom and /dev/sda1 is a quick harddisk I created in vmware and formatted to ext4 labeling live-rw

Follow the guide until you get to boot from linuxcoin. Next open up a root terminal and type

Code:
fdisk /dev/sd*

* = your HDD number. If you don't know what it is then type

Code:
df

And look for what drive is mounted as /live/image. That's the one you want.

next type
Code:
mkfs.ext4 -L live-rw /dev/sd*2

and wait for it to complete.

Then reboot and select LinuxCoin persistent and your golden
donator
Activity: 392
Merit: 252
Are you guys booting with the persistence option ?

Thanks for all the email and host links guys !! I'll reply to you all tomorrow as its very late now and I need to get some sleep Cheesy

PS:

Check out this demo of linuxcoin acting a s a pxe server and distributing itself Wink

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VfVN4l3RomI

If you can create a bit for bit image file of an 8gb partitioned persistent stick running .2b, that would make a lot of people's lives a lot easier. The persistence doesn't work, even after modifying syslinux.cfg in the windows readable portion of the stick. In .2b there's no /media/x09sd9fj to unmount.

Is it possible to instead create a bin or img file that can be written bit for bit to an equally partitioned usb stick? There are sure to be a few windows based programs that allow for bit level cloning ala ghost.

I'll pay you or anyone else $50 for this tutorial/image file via paypal. I want to see LinuxCoin own.
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
Are you guys booting with the persistence option ?

Thanks for all the email and host links guys !! I'll reply to you all tomorrow as its very late now and I need to get some sleep Cheesy

PS:

Check out this demo of linuxcoin acting a s a pxe server and distributing itself Wink

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VfVN4l3RomI

Yep did everything like I did in the last version.. even did it 2 times to make sure I was doing it right.  Not sure what the problem is.

Aside from that, I love the changes you've made.
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 251
Are you guys booting with the persistence option ?

Thanks for all the email and host links guys !! I'll reply to you all tomorrow as its very late now and I need to get some sleep Cheesy

PS:

Check out this demo of linuxcoin acting a s a pxe server and distributing itself Wink

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VfVN4l3RomI
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
Yes I tried it again with the same result.  Something must be different on the new version or something?
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
I finally got some mining going in linuxcoin.  My problem stemmed from the syntax (or lack of) during one of the options.  

I type start_mining in a terminal (bottom left coin, click, accessories), enter option 1, and for the option 'Enter url and press enter' I use something like this 'poolminingwebsite.com -p 8334'.  I was trying something like poolminingwebsite.com:8334.

The name and password are pretty obvious and need to explanation.  For some reason, before all that, when I would type all this into the terminals options, the terminal that would open to display the mining information would open and close instantly.  It wasn't until I opened ati sdk license and amd overdrive did it actually not just close instantly.  I opened the ati sdk license thing assuming that that was the problem, tried to mine a few times with no success, then opened the amd overdrive ctrl program and then I made some progress.

I still haven't figured out the phoenix thing.  A few seemed to mention hashkill being really good as well, maybe I'll give that a shot.

Also, I am still trying to figure out the persistence thing, 'sudo df' did give me a list of stuff.  However, '/dev/sdb1 10520641051712 352 100% /live/image' is the only line that seems to relate to anything further.  I see nothing relating to 2 sets of 4 random numbers and letters.  Perhaps I'll reformat the flash drive just to be sure I followed all the steps correctly.


@no_alone Thanks for the response.  I was under the impression that phoenix might be capable of giving better mhash performance, which is why I am eager to compare.  I have tried both of those options for the kernel option but the mining terminal opens and closes instantly.  This doesn't happen when I choose option 1.

As I've noted previously, I am a complete linux newb.  I am pretty sure many obvious details are sneaking past me, I am sorry for asking to have it spoon fed to me : P.
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
Hm same here I am stuck at sudo df too. 

I just installed .02a with that little persistence tutorial and it worked fine.  I re did it once I saw a new version out.  Now with the new version I don't get the same thing when I type sudo df.  I don't believe I did anything different.
donator
Activity: 392
Merit: 252
For people who cannot get persistency to work using the existing guides (like myself), here is another try which works for me (for LinuxCoin install):

You need:
USB thump drive
Windows PC
linuxcoin-vX (whatever version you want, get it here: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=7374.0)
BOOTICE (get it here: http://www.pendriveapps.com/bootice-partition-flash-drive-edit-boot-sector/)
unetbootin (get it here: http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/)

Creating 2 partitions:
A. Put the USB thumbdrive in the Windows PC
B. Format the USB thumbdrive FAT32
C. Start Bootice

(Make sure you have selected the USB thumbdrive. Don't mind the size in this image)
D. Select Parts Manage

E. Select ReFormat USB disk

F. Select USB-HDD mode (Multi Partitions) and click Next
G. Enter 1024 in the first field (Partition1) and select FAT32 on Partition1 and Partition4, leave the rest as it is and click OK.

H. It will ask you to confirm the reformat of the partitions, click OK if you agree and finally you will get a confirmation box telling you all is ok.
I. Close this tool.

J. Start Unetbootin
K. Select to use an ISO
L. enter 1024 in the field for persistence
M. Click Install and wait, when it offers to reboot: exit.

Creating persistency:
1. Take the USB thumbdrive from the Window PC and put it in your soon-to-be Linux miner box
2. Boot, select persistence mode
3. When booted, open a root terminal, type:
Quote
sudo df
You should now get a list of your drives.
You should see /dev/sda2 mounted under /media/7A6D-A74F (or something like that)
sda is the drive, sda2 is the partition
4.
Quote
umount /media/7A6D-A74F
mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda2 -L live-rw
5. It will not give a confirmation, now shut down the system and start it, selecting Persistence mode.
6. After rebooting, open a root terminal and do:
Quote
df
look at sda2, it should say: live/cow
For me it reads:
/dev/sda1 = /live/image
/dev/sda2 = /live/cow

Now you have persistence on your USB thumbdrive! Smiley

Note: I am obviously no Linux expert, or an expert in anything whatsoever, that is why I had to write this down, so I could do it again every time I need to. Please don't hesitate to correct me on anything, my girlfriend doesn't either...


I'm stuck at sudo df....

here's the output. anyone have ideas? it looks like the referenced /media/ mentioned in the post doesn't exist on my output. i have a tmpfs mounted on /live/cow but.. well.. i'm stuck. help!

Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
aufs                   1862288     12352   1849936   1% /
tmpfs                     5120         0      5120   0% /lib/init/rw
tmpfs                   372460       572    371888   1% /run
tmpfs                     5120         0      5120   0% /run/lock
tmpfs                   744916        44    744872   1% /tmp
udev                   1853764         0   1853764   0% /dev
tmpfs                   744916       144    744772   1% /run/shm
/dev/sdb1              2096288   2095764       524 100% /live/image
tmpfs                  1862288     12352   1849936   1% /live/cow
tmpfs                  1862288         0   1862288   0% /live
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
Thanks bud worked perfectly, I now know how to install things in linux.  Bad news is the PowerTune really had zero effect on my MHS Sad
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 251
AMDoverdriveCtrl is included, you run 1 instance (for card0) from the start menu icon, the next one from a console.

Search this forum for the commands.

Oh I see the new version has the powertune option... linuxcoin has the old version i guess.  Not sure how to install things on linuxcoin (gotta set up persistant mode first) but I guess I'll figure it out.

EDIT: Yes powertune is included in AMDOverdriveCtrl Cheesy

TFTP cluster guide is on its way Wink You lucky people hahaha Cheesy

Right but I have to download the new version yes? Just makin sure peace


Yup I'd get the new version most things have been updated and a lot of bugs fixed. If you wanted to install it you could just save it to your usb drive and when you boot

Code:
cd /live
dpkg -i AMDOverdriveCtrl*.deb

For anyone wanting to be able to open AMDOverdriveCtrl for multiple cards at once and quickly apply saved overclock + powertune settings, go to your root terminal and type the following:

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i

output should look like this:

INF: Nr. of Adapters: 9
INF: Adapter index: 0, active, ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 1, inact., ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 2, inact., ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 3, active, ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 4, inact., ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 5, inact., ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 6, active, ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 7, inact., ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 8, inact., ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
Option 'i' requires a value.

Make a note of your active adapter #'s. In this case there are three active adapters listed @ 0,3 and 5.

Next up, open accessories "leafpad" and type/paste the following (replacing your card #s and quantity)..

#!/bin/sh

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 5 &

Save the file as "anyname" to the desktop, right click and select properties. click the checkbox to make the file executable under the permissions tab.

Double click, click execute and your consoles will all pop up. If you have 4 cards, it the shell script would look like this:

#!/bin/sh

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 5 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 7 &





Great info pigki Cheesy I'm not a fan of using GUI's so wasn't sure how to do this Cheesy

Guys I want to apologize for not including smartcoin Sad I wasn't aware the author had released a beta release and haven't contacted him yet to ask if he minded if I added smartcoin to linuxcoin.

I've added a link to his post with the links etc to smartcoin. I suggest people use this instead of start_mining as it was just a quick and dirty bash script really to guide peops through starting the miners.

Hope everyone is enjoying Linuxcoin and its playing nice with you Cheesy  Right I'm off for a nice cold beer and some cod !!
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
I will put a space between:
sudo su-
and:
df

I understand this could be confusing, thanks! Smiley

-edit-
made it into:
sudo df

Thanks Gr33n!
donator
Activity: 392
Merit: 252
For anyone wanting to be able to open AMDOverdriveCtrl for multiple cards at once and quickly apply saved overclock + powertune settings, go to your root terminal and type the following:

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i

output should look like this:

INF: Nr. of Adapters: 9
INF: Adapter index: 0, active, ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 1, inact., ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 2, inact., ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 3, active, ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 4, inact., ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 5, inact., ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 6, active, ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 7, inact., ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 8, inact., ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
Option 'i' requires a value.

Make a note of your active adapter #'s. In this case there are three active adapters listed @ 0,3 and 5.

Next up, open accessories "leafpad" and type/paste the following (replacing your card #s and quantity)..

#!/bin/sh

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 5 &

Save the file as "anyname" to the desktop, right click and select properties. click the checkbox to make the file executable under the permissions tab.

Double click, click execute and your consoles will all pop up. If you have 4 cards, it the shell script would look like this:

#!/bin/sh

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 5 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 7 &



sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 251
Hi

you have to type
sudo su
df

in two seperate lines Wink

regards, Talpan

or just

Code:
sudo df

Cheesy
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
AMDoverdriveCtrl is included, you run 1 instance (for card0) from the start menu icon, the next one from a console.

Search this forum for the commands.

Oh I see the new version has the powertune option... linuxcoin has the old version i guess.  Not sure how to install things on linuxcoin (gotta set up persistant mode first) but I guess I'll figure it out.

EDIT: Yes powertune is included in AMDOverdriveCtrl Cheesy

TFTP cluster guide is on its way Wink You lucky people hahaha Cheesy

Right but I have to download the new version yes? Just makin sure peace
member
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
Hey guys,

This seems like great stuff but I seem to be struggling to utilize this and that.  I am very newbish to linux but I have used a fair share of command line in windows myself.  

Firstly, I saw the persistence guide a few moments ago and followed it up until the point where I am asked to open a root terminal ( I am certain I opened a root term ) and enter sudo su- df.  I have tried several variations of this command and have come up with 'unknown user: df' as the most promising and 'unknown command' as the most common.  I don't know if anyone else came across this error, if it is some mistake on my part or whatever.  Any help would be appreciated, thanks

I am excited about .2b, I wasn't able to get mining going in .2a, I did 'start_mining' but I think I may have been missing what to put into the 'kernel' portion.  I tried opencl and something else having to do with phatk or something (words found through searching), but had no success.


Only if you use phoenix miners you need to write what kernel to use...
anyway you can wite phatk to use phatk kernal and you can also write  poclbm to use poclbm kernal
Pages:
Jump to: