Pages:
Author

Topic: Little things that bug you/me about the forum (Read 2658 times)

full member
Activity: 350
Merit: 128
November 06, 2024, 02:15:15 AM
So, if you can think of something fairly specific that you'd like to see fixed/improved and you estimate it to be a small(ish) task (so, not something vague and big like: "Can you fix the forum's search?", or "Can you improve the forum's mobile-friendliness?", etc.), then please post it in this thread.
You did well coming up with this thread. I'm just thinking if this thread can be pinned because the it holds a potential that would optimize continues reviews and adjust of the forum interfaces.
If pinned, everyone in the Meta section would obviously see it through and contributes if need be.
As for me, I think the "Search Functionality" isn't interference enough for quick or easier locations of search results.
So I'm on the opinion if this domain can be enhanced with keywords especially for convenient and friendly notation of existed threads in the forum when using the search function.
legendary
Activity: 3290
Merit: 16489
Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021
To add to our earlier discussion on custom Trust lists: it would be good to have a "add/remove to Trust list"-link in each user's profile. Although that may mean people are even more likely to add people for the wrong reasons.
full member
Activity: 193
Merit: 102
I'm a Bot!
When I posted within a second, it tells me "less than 10 seconds ago". When I waited a few seconds, it still says "less than 10 seconds". A few seconds later, I could post this.
(14-(191/50))=10.18. That seems about right. I could probably have posted a second earlier.
full member
Activity: 193
Merit: 102
I'm a Bot!
The current posting delay is almost as old as Bitcoin itself:
Quote
waittime = 360;
if(activity >= 15)
        waittime = (int)(90 - activity);
if(activity >= 60)
        waittime=(int)(34.7586 - (0.0793103 * activity));
if(activity >= 100)
        waittime = max((int)(14-(activity/50)), 4);
Reporting counts as posting. I think deleting the red parts would solve it (I had to replace code tags by quote tags to make it visible).
Hmm... I wonder if that pseudocode is still correct?
I'll test-click this in 2 windows as quickly as I can.
hero member
Activity: 510
Merit: 4005
By the way, regarding the patch you mentioned, it hasn't been implemented yet, has it?
No, it hasn't. (But, I plan to send theymos a summary of all the outstanding patches at some point. Hopefully that'll help. I think that a few of them are just waiting on theymos to come into enough free time for him to be able to really sit down and focus. Right now, theymos and I have a pretty stupid relationship... I'm often blocked on the thing that he has in abundance: access, and he's often blocked on the thing that I have in abundance: bandwidth. At some point, we'll figure out some compromise that makes better use of both of us.)



This could be fun:
It occurs to me that keeping a counter on what percentage of posters in the thread are ignoring a poster could help, but that's getting offtopic.
Yep, I noticed the "Implement stabbing" topic. (I was working on a response to do with superconducting loops, quantum states, and just how unreliable a face-stabbing implementation in PHP would be, but, yeah... I ran out of energy after considering my wife's constant warnings about my deadpan sense of humor being very hit-or-miss with most people.) Cheesy

At some point I'm going to (try to) convince theymos to let me replace the whole ignore system, and when I get around to that, I'll think carefully about how to lay things out so that these kinds of suggestions can be looked into (that is, suggestions that depend on the availability of ignore-related statistics).



It was sort of tried before, maybe there is a new way to approach it that would be less resource intensive?
I've got a few ideas (and some guesses about why the previous approach didn't scale), but, I'm not going to put my thinking cap on just yet.



The current posting delay is almost as old as Bitcoin itself:
Quote
waittime = 360;
if(activity >= 15)
        waittime = (int)(90 - activity);
if(activity >= 60)
        waittime=(int)(34.7586 - (0.0793103 * activity));
if(activity >= 100)
        waittime = max((int)(14-(activity/50)), 4);
Reporting counts as posting. I think deleting the red parts would solve it (I had to replace code tags by quote tags to make it visible).
Hmm... I wonder if that pseudocode is still correct? (Only theymos would know, but, I've been bugging him a lot lately, so I'm not going to PM him for a while.)

I mean, one thing that occurs to me is to replace all of that with something simpler:

Code:
waittime = (int)min(988 / max(activity - 12, 1) + 1, 360);

Then, instead of it looking like this (red is when activity is < 15, blue is when it's >= 15 and < 60, green is when it's >= 60 and < 100, and purple is when it's >= 100):



It would look like this:



(That way, the important features are matched, and, with that cast-to-int truncation, the wait-time would become 1 second once activity is > 1000.)
legendary
Activity: 1722
Merit: 4711
**In BTC since 2013**
I realize that you are a machine, but making posts in less than 4 seconds makes you almost super machine.  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
It's barely a problem while making normal posts. That only happens when I create multiple posts, and then click "send" to post them all. That's a limitation I can live with.

I hit this (often) while reporting spam. On loyce.club/badposts/spam.html, I click "report" with my middle mouse button (to open them in a new tab), then go through the tabs to report them.

So the problem is the post delay is also used as a Report delay. Merit doesn't have that delay, I can Merit 4 posts within the same second (and I've done that many times, but never reached 5). I'd like to have "unlimited reporting".

I understand. Doing it this way kind of makes 4 seconds seem like a long time.

But, honestly, I believe that this limitation goes beyond the simple user level. At lower levels, I believe this could be a feature used to minimize spam and the like. Afterwards, the limitation becomes aimed at controlling the flow on the server and avoiding underloads.

Honestly, I don't remember any forum - and I've been to several, some as moderator, and there are no time limitations between posts. There is always some limit. And the limit cannot be 1 second, because that is not a limit.  Roll Eyes
legendary
Activity: 2380
Merit: 5213
They'll still need to deal with "14-(activity/50)", so 100 Activity gives a 12 second delay,
You are right. Just edited the previous post.
If that red part is removed, users will need to have more than 500 activity, so that they can post, report, send pm or search more than once in less than 4 seconds.
legendary
Activity: 3290
Merit: 16489
Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021
If that red part is removed, users with activity of bigger than 99 will be able to use forum search engine multiple times and send multiple pms in less than 4 seconds.
They'll still need to deal with "14-(activity/50)", so 100 Activity gives a 12 second delay, 700 Activity gives 0 seconds delay, and more Activity just made me realize this value shouldn't become negative so the "4 max" should change into "1" or "0".

Quote
I think the better solution is to change the code, so that reporting isn't counted as posting.
That would be ideal Smiley
legendary
Activity: 2380
Merit: 5213
Reporting counts as posting. I think deleting the red parts would solve it (I had to replace code tags by quote tags to make it visible).
It may worth mentioning that seaching and sending pms are also counted as posting.
If that red part is removed, users with activity of bigger than 99 500 will be able to use forum search engine multiple times and send multiple pms in less than 4 seconds.

I think the better solution is to change the code, so that reporting isn't counted as posting.
legendary
Activity: 3290
Merit: 16489
Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021
I realize that you are a machine, but making posts in less than 4 seconds makes you almost super machine.  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
It's barely a problem while making normal posts. That only happens when I create multiple posts, and then click "Post" to post them all. That's a limitation I can live with.

I hit this (often) while reporting spam. On loyce.club/badposts/spam.html, I click "report" with my middle mouse button (to open them in a new tab), then go through the tabs to report them.

So the problem is the post delay is also used as a Report delay. Merit doesn't have that delay, I can Merit 4 posts within the same second (and I've done that many times, but never reached 5). I'd like to have "unlimited reporting".
legendary
Activity: 1722
Merit: 4711
**In BTC since 2013**
I hit it again:

Quote
An Error Has Occurred!
The last posting from your IP was less than 4 seconds ago. Please try again later. The thing you were trying to post was saved as a draft. This limit decreases substantially as your account becomes more established.
If this can be reduce to 0 seconds once you've earned 1000 Activity or 1000 Merits, that would be great. The forum rate limit (1 access per second, burst allowed) should be enough of a limitation.
I get this error when reporting a lot of spam.

I realize that you are a machine, but making posts in less than 4 seconds makes you almost super machine.  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

I think 4 seconds is a minimum reasonable time for posts made by humans, in order to avoid bots and spam from overloading the server. I realize that some tasks can be very quick to carry out, and this limit can come up against this speed. Despite realizing this situation, I don't think it is very viable for the forum to reduce this value even further. Even if it is exclusive to users with many merits and activity.
legendary
Activity: 3290
Merit: 16489
Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021
I hit it again while reporting spam:

Quote
waittime = 360;
if(activity >= 15)
        waittime = (int)(90 - activity);
if(activity >= 60)
        waittime=(int)(34.7586 - (0.0793103 * activity));
if(activity >= 100)
        waittime = max((int)(14-(activity/50)), 4);
Reporting counts as posting. I think deleting the red parts would solve it (I had to replace code tags by quote tags to make it visible).
legendary
Activity: 1789
Merit: 2535
Goonies never say die.
This could be fun:
It occurs to me that keeping a counter on what percentage of posters in the thread are ignoring a poster could help, but that's getting offtopic.

It was sort of tried before, maybe there is a new way to approach it that would be less resource intensive?
legendary
Activity: 3290
Merit: 16489
Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021
This could be fun:
It occurs to me that keeping a counter on what percentage of posters in the thread are ignoring a poster could help, but that's getting offtopic.
legendary
Activity: 1722
Merit: 4711
**In BTC since 2013**
If it's the latter (the cell's extent), then that's much trickier. I spent a few hours (before giving up in frustration) trying to get the BBCode parser to correctly handle something like [td bgcolor=#e0e0e0]. At first glance, that would seem to be a very simple job, but there are a ton of strange interactions in the parse_bbc function (including one between descriptors with both a parameters key and a require_parents key). I can get close, but I can't shake out all the bugs without making deeper changes to that function. Probably it's down to that code being hacked on by different programmers at different times, but the BBCode parser in its current state is a very fragile, barely working POS. Cheesy

Well, my idea was in that case. If it's complicated, that's it, we continue working with what we have.  Wink

By the way, regarding the patch you mentioned, it hasn't been implemented yet, has it?
hero member
Activity: 510
Merit: 4005
@PowerGlove do you think it would be possible to set up something like this to work on tables?

Code:
[table]
[tr][td style="background-color:#f0f0f0;"]Line 1[/td][/tr]
[tr][td style="background-color:#e0e0e0;"]Line 2[/td][/tr]
[tr][td style="background-color:#f0f0f0;"]Line 3[/td][/tr]
[/table]
Hmm... Do you want the background color to affect just the cell's contents, or the whole extent of the cell?

If it's the former (the cell's contents), then I did a patch some time ago to clean up the [glow] tag. It basically turns the [glow] tag (in a backward-compatible way) into something that always gets converted into a with a style="background-color: $color;" on it, so it doesn't need the extra parameters that the previous [glow] tag used.

With it, you could write your example like this:

Code:
[table]
[tr][td][glow=#f0f0f0]Line 1[/glow][/td][/tr]
[tr][td][glow=#e0e0e0]Line 2[/glow][/td][/tr]
[tr][td][glow=#f0f0f0]Line 3[/glow][/td][/tr]
[/table]

If it's the latter (the cell's extent), then that's much trickier. I spent a few hours (before giving up in frustration) trying to get the BBCode parser to correctly handle something like [td bgcolor=#e0e0e0]. At first glance, that would seem to be a very simple job, but there are a ton of strange interactions in the parse_bbc function (including one between descriptors with both a parameters key and a require_parents key). I can get close, but I can't shake out all the bugs without making deeper changes to that function. Probably it's down to that code being hacked on by different programmers at different times, but the BBCode parser in its current state is a very fragile, barely working POS. Cheesy
legendary
Activity: 3234
Merit: 1654
Enterapp Pre-Sale Live - bit.ly/3UrMCWI
@PowerGlove do you think it would be possible to set up something like this to work on tables?

Code:
[table]
[tr][td style="background-color:#f0f0f0;"]Line 1[/td][/tr]
[tr][td style="background-color:#e0e0e0;"]Line 2[/td][/tr]
[tr][td style="background-color:#f0f0f0;"]Line 3[/td][/tr]
[/table]

It will help to make table formatting more easily.

Like this table format used by irfan_pak10, it is good visually but when you come to code block, it is complicated, so if your suggestion can make formatting with colors, background colors in tables more easily, I strongly support it.

[Translators] List of Bitcointalk Translators
Code:
[table]
[tr][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]Username[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]Language[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]DT Status[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]Account Status[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]BPIP Profile[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]ANN/Portfolio[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][/tr]

[tr][td][b][url=https://bitcointalksearch.org/user/tszunami98-1081511]Tszunami98[/url][/b][/td][td]Romanian[/td][td][/td][td][size=12px][glow=green,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]Active[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/td][td][url=https://bpip.org/profile.aspx?id=1081511]Tszunami98[/url][/td][td][url=https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/12p79kj5j6IjV_UebaFWe_HH-CnKW7HYODhIURciFK_s/edit#gid=0]Link[/url][/td][/tr]

[/table]
Visually
Quote
..Username....Language....DT Status....Account Status....BPIP Profile....ANN/Portfolio..
Tszunami98Romanian..Active..Tszunami98Link

Still writing the code manually? I use GPT to write bbcodes from google spreadsheet. It generated within seconds.

like with this code I can generate any bbcode from my google spreadsheets

Code:
function generateBBCode() {
  const sheet = SpreadsheetApp.getActiveSpreadsheet().getActiveSheet();
  const data = sheet.getDataRange().getValues();
  let bbcode = `[table]\n`;

  // Add headers dynamically based on the first row of the sheet
  const headers = data[0];
  bbcode += `[tr]`;
  headers.forEach(header => {
    bbcode += `[td][b]${header}[/b][/td]`;
  });
  bbcode += `[/tr]\n`;

  // Iterate over the rows and generate BBCode for each
  for (let i = 1; i < data.length; i++) {
    const row = data[i];
    bbcode += `[tr]`;
   
    row.forEach((cell, index) => {
      let cellValue = cell || "N/A"; // Replace empty cells with "N/A"

      // Add link to usernames or URLs based on column index (e.g., link columns)
      if (headers[index].toLowerCase() === 'username' && row[index + 1]) {
        cellValue = `[url=${row[index + 1]}][b]${cell}[/b][/url]`; // Assuming next column contains the profile link
      } else if (cellValue.startsWith("http")) {
        cellValue = `[url=${cell}]Link[/url]`;
      }

      bbcode += `[td]${cellValue}[/td]`;
    });

    bbcode += `[/tr]\n`;
  }

  bbcode += `[/table]`;
  Logger.log(bbcode);
}
legendary
Activity: 1722
Merit: 4711
**In BTC since 2013**
Like this table format used by irfan_pak10, it is good visually but when you come to code block, it is complicated, so if your suggestion can make formatting with colors, background colors in tables more easily, I strongly support it.

[Translators] List of Bitcointalk Translators

Yes, this could be an interesting solution. It involves more BBCode, but ends up being minimally efficient.

The way I suggested could also be different, with a more appropriate tag. But, it could be a way to create more dynamism in the tables on the forum.
hero member
Activity: 2366
Merit: 838
@PowerGlove do you think it would be possible to set up something like this to work on tables?

Code:
[table]
[tr][td style="background-color:#f0f0f0;"]Line 1[/td][/tr]
[tr][td style="background-color:#e0e0e0;"]Line 2[/td][/tr]
[tr][td style="background-color:#f0f0f0;"]Line 3[/td][/tr]
[/table]

It will help to make table formatting more easily.

Like this table format used by irfan_pak10, it is good visually but when you come to code block, it is complicated, so if your suggestion can make formatting with colors, background colors in tables more easily, I strongly support it.

[Translators] List of Bitcointalk Translators
Code:
[table]
[tr][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]Username[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]Language[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]DT Status[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]Account Status[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]BPIP Profile[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][td][b][size=16px][glow=black,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]ANN/Portfolio[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/b][/td][/tr]

[tr][td][b][url=https://bitcointalksearch.org/user/tszunami98-1081511]Tszunami98[/url][/b][/td][td]Romanian[/td][td][/td][td][size=12px][glow=green,2,300][color=transparent]..[/color][color=#fff]Active[/color][color=transparent]..[/color][/glow][/size][/td][td][url=https://bpip.org/profile.aspx?id=1081511]Tszunami98[/url][/td][td][url=https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/12p79kj5j6IjV_UebaFWe_HH-CnKW7HYODhIURciFK_s/edit#gid=0]Link[/url][/td][/tr]

[/table]
Visually
Quote
..Username....Language....DT Status....Account Status....BPIP Profile....ANN/Portfolio..
Tszunami98Romanian..Active..Tszunami98Link
legendary
Activity: 1722
Merit: 4711
**In BTC since 2013**
@PowerGlove do you think it would be possible to set up something like this to work on tables?

Code:
[table]
[tr][td style="background-color:#f0f0f0;"]Line 1[/td][/tr]
[tr][td style="background-color:#e0e0e0;"]Line 2[/td][/tr]
[tr][td style="background-color:#f0f0f0;"]Line 3[/td][/tr]
[/table]
Pages:
Jump to: