Pages:
Author

Topic: Loans in a Bitcoin world - page 3. (Read 527 times)

legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 2174
Professional Community manager
July 23, 2020, 07:31:19 PM
If Bitcoin had effectively replaced fiat, that should solve the issue of volatility as it doesn't have to be liquidated into other currencies (which would hypothetically no longer be in use).
I'm not an expert in the field, so I can't also explain the intricacies of how a Bitcoin powered economy would function, but it would definitely be different from what we have now.

This is even aggravated by another problem: in a Bitcoin world bank accounts are not really necessary because you can use always a wallet, so there would be less deposits on banks.
The liberty to choose whether or not to use a financial institution could be seen as an advantage rather than a problem by some people.
legendary
Activity: 3906
Merit: 6249
Decentralization Maximalist
July 23, 2020, 07:01:43 PM
We all want Bitcoin to replace fiat, right? And banks too. Grin

Well, one of the things that needed to be replaced is the feature of banks to provide loans. Loans are important for businesses, but also for consumers if they want to finance costly goods like houses and cars.

In a Bitcoin world, where everything is tied to BTC's value, this can lead to some complications. First there is of course volatility - it could be risky to take a loan in a Bitcoin bull market because what you would have to repay it could have a substantial higher value than what you got as loan, with a high risk of insolvency.