Pages:
Author

Topic: Lost coins in stupid way - page 2. (Read 517 times)

legendary
Activity: 2282
Merit: 2196
Signature space for rent
October 15, 2020, 12:21:26 PM
Sorry for your loss, if I were you then wouldn't just give up. I am not using Linux, so I am not an expert on it, but this tutorial would help you. Read this article, How To Recover Deleted Files In Linux [Beginner’s Guide] . I am not sure if "TestDisk" is trusted software since I hadn't used it. Just you may try it where you hadn't stored any cryptocurrency or other sensitive info.

If in case you fail to do that then you can ask Bitcoin Wallet Recovery Services. Seems they have a good reputation wale the forum. They would ask a percentage of the fee if they could recover it successfully.

Anyway hope you have learned that seed shouldn't store into the device which has been using online. In the future, write it on your notebook or multiple papers and save it in multiple places. It's a lesson for other users.
legendary
Activity: 1568
Merit: 6660
bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org
October 15, 2020, 09:49:05 AM
Which wallet software are you using? Bitcoin core or Electrum or something else? Something about you mentioning seed phrases and Linux makes me think you're using Electrum. Did you set a password for the wallet? You can export the private keys and view the seed if you remember the wallet password, or if there's no password at all.

Can you make a transaction from your address with lost seed to an address associated with the other seed phrase you have?

If there was no wallet you can try running Ext4Magic with the path of your seed file, but you should stop downloading and writing things to disk or the deleted file might get overwritten by the disk, especially if your drive is almost full.
I assume your filesystem is ext4, I think it's the default filesystem created by Linux Mint.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/File_recovery#Ext4Magic

Code:
apt-get install ext4magic
Code: