Pages:
Author

Topic: Making BitMessage into a BitPostage alt-coin + Distributed Longterm Storage - page 2. (Read 4298 times)

Activity: 714
Merit: 500
Martijn Meijering
I suggested something similar on the Bitmessage subreddit a while ago, but people weren't enthusiastic about it.

http://www.reddit.com/r/bitmessage/comments/1csmxr/pros_and_cons_of_using_btc_postage_instead_of_pow/
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
I'm no expert, but this sounds like an interesting concept. I've been using Bitmessage with no desire for any changes, but who knows, maybe this "BitPostage" can find a niche too.

*gasp*
An "alt-coin" with a purpose?  Cool
Activity: 770
Merit: 566
fractally
BitMessage is great because it allows anonymous communication while preventing spam.  What it suffers from is an 'inability' to store proof of work.  So I was thinking of ways to make it 'profitable' to participate in the network and enable the creation of an interesting 'postage' chain.  Given 'postage' you would be able to send messages from devices without CPU power and without any delay.  The ability to send messages without delay is actually critical for may 'real-time' interactive uses.