Author

Topic: [ mining os ] nvoc - page 325. (Read 418552 times)

newbie
Activity: 21
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 08:23:08 PM
Hi,

I've just tried switching some of my rigs to solely mine SIA to start building a position, but it doesn't seem to work? Switched back to dual for now, any ideas?

Mining to nanopool, no settings changed other than the coin selection, works fine on the claymore dual.

Thanks.
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 07:03:49 PM
First, thank you so much fullzero  Grin for this.  I've rolled my own in the past, so this was a nice find and saved me a lot of trouble to do my own.

Have a couple of questions
1) I'm using 4 x PNY GTX 1060 3GB cards on a Gigabyte Z97 SOC Force motherboard.  Under Win10 with power 70, cclock 150, and mclock 850 I consistently get ~23 Mh/s.  With nvOC with the same settings I get 21.4 Mh/s.  Increasing the mclock doesn't seem to increase the hashrate.  cclock at 100 doesn't seem to make a difference either.

My oneBash looks like this:
Code:
COIN="ETH"

POWERLIMIT="70"                 # YES NO

INDIVIDUAL_POWERLIMIT="NO"      # YES NO

__CORE_OVERCLOCK=150
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=850

INDIVIDUAL_CLOCKS="NO"          # YES NO

When the bash file starts it shows that the attributes are set, but it appears that the clock settings aren't taking effect. I don't see any errors thrown when Claymore starts up except that the cuda library doesn't have a version number.

2) I added a couple of parameters to the Eth command line, but it doesn't seem to pick them up.  For instance, when try to interactively change the dcri it tells me that i need to set -asm 1, but that is already set in the bash file.
Code:
if [ $COIN == "ETH" ]
then
HCD='/home/m1/9.0/ethdcrminer64'
ETHADDR="$ETH_ADDRESS/$ETH_WORKER"

if [ $ETHERMINEdotORG == "YES" ]
then
ETHADDR="$ETH_ADDRESS.$ETH_WORKER"
fi

until $HCD -epool $ETH_POOL -ewal $ETHADDR -epsw x -mode 1 -esm 0 -estale 0 -asm 1 -dcri 12
   do
   echo "FAILURE; reinit in 5" >&2
   sleep 5
done
fi

Any recommendations would be much appreciated.  Windows 10 sucks for mining - so much babysitting, so hoping to get this tweaked and running well.


Powerlimits in windows are in percent TDP; in linux they are in watts.  Thus a powerlimit of 70 in windows is .7 * 120 watts or whatever the TDP is (84 watts if the card TDP is 120); while 70 in linux is 70 watts.  I would recommend comparing Windows and linux powerlimits with a kill-a-watt to get them exactly equal; but most likely a 3gb 1060 has a 120 or 125 watt TDP.

Also linux OC offsets are scaled differently than windows; you will need to use higher offsets to get the same results in linux.

In regards to Claymore ETH settings; the Claymore readme says -asm is for AMD only.  I haven't tested this but -dcri 30 (or any valid number) is only supposed to work with mode 1 (ETH only) if -asm mode is used.



fullzero, thank you for the quick reply.  This was hugely helpful.

So strange that Windows is percentage of TDP and linux is watts.  The PNY 1060-3's are 120W TDP, so I've set it at 84 in linux.  I'll check it out with my power meter.

I increased the mclock to 1500, which is getting me about 22.7 Mh/s now.  I'll keep playing with it, but I see that the nvidia control panel has a max of 2000 for memory, whereas it's 1000 in afterburner on Windows.  It seems like the offset might be 2:1 on linux, so my 850 would be 1700 on linux.

Finally, with the dcri, you're right.  I have a mix of AMD and nvidia cards, so just assumed it worked on nvidia.  Tried it on a Windows nvidia only rig, and it gives the same error, so pretty sure dcri tuning doesn't work with nvidia cards.

Thanks again, this rocks!
full member
Activity: 169
Merit: 100
June 19, 2017, 06:45:47 PM
Anyone have any suggestions to this problem, I am all ears.

I have one of my rigs which uses a Asus Prim z270-a when I put the 6th GPU in it will not POST to the bios screen therefore not start up.

From troubleshooting it only happens if I have 2 GPUs plugged into the X16 slots, if I only have one it works fine.

I have changed the BIOS to the recommend from the thread here for the z270-a and set it all to GEN2.

Any other suggestions?

There were 4 Gen2 settings I needed to change, did you change them all? Could be an issue running 2 on the board with 7 or more, i've only tested with 1 on the board +6 risers or all risers. Check for faulty riser cables too, that slowed up a friend of mine getting 7 going on this board.

This was my thought as well; WarwickNZ.

I'm not sure if you can use 2x GPUs direct on the mobo + 5x with risers with this mobo.

When using a GPU directly more pcie lanes / pcie bandwidth is used.  This may result in insufficient bandwidth on one of the cards to enable normal operation.

While using a card directly I would change the pcie bandwidth to gen2 for all cards.  Then when you get your risers, I would change it back to auto. 

As WarwickNZ indicated; there are multiple pcie bandwidth related settings in the bios.  There may also be an SLI setting that needs to be disabled as well.



I should probably rephrase. I have all 6 GPUs on risers, the only time it does not post is when I have 2 of the x16 slots with the risers in them. I will double check and make sure they are all the same gen type. I had it on auto first but when I did, it wouldn't even boot past one card. I'm to the point I may just reset the MB bios via cmos and start fresh.
newbie
Activity: 27
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 06:25:37 PM
First, thank you so much fullzero  Grin for this.  I've rolled my own in the past, so this was a nice find and saved me a lot of trouble to do my own.

Have a couple of questions
1) I'm using 4 x PNY GTX 1060 3GB cards on a Gigabyte Z97 SOC Force motherboard.  Under Win10 with power 70, cclock 150, and mclock 850 I consistently get ~23 Mh/s.  With nvOC with the same settings I get 21.4 Mh/s.  Increasing the mclock doesn't seem to increase the hashrate.  cclock at 100 doesn't seem to make a difference either.

My oneBash looks like this:
Code:
COIN="ETH"

POWERLIMIT="70"                 # YES NO

INDIVIDUAL_POWERLIMIT="NO"      # YES NO

__CORE_OVERCLOCK=150
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=850

INDIVIDUAL_CLOCKS="NO"          # YES NO

When the bash file starts it shows that the attributes are set, but it appears that the clock settings aren't taking effect. I don't see any errors thrown when Claymore starts up except that the cuda library doesn't have a version number.

2) I added a couple of parameters to the Eth command line, but it doesn't seem to pick them up.  For instance, when try to interactively change the dcri it tells me that i need to set -asm 1, but that is already set in the bash file.
Code:
if [ $COIN == "ETH" ]
then
HCD='/home/m1/9.0/ethdcrminer64'
ETHADDR="$ETH_ADDRESS/$ETH_WORKER"

if [ $ETHERMINEdotORG == "YES" ]
then
ETHADDR="$ETH_ADDRESS.$ETH_WORKER"
fi

until $HCD -epool $ETH_POOL -ewal $ETHADDR -epsw x -mode 1 -esm 0 -estale 0 -asm 1 -dcri 12
   do
   echo "FAILURE; reinit in 5" >&2
   sleep 5
done
fi

Any recommendations would be much appreciated.  Windows 10 sucks for mining - so much babysitting, so hoping to get this tweaked and running well.
newbie
Activity: 21
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 06:22:26 PM
Anyone have any suggestions to this problem, I am all ears.

I have one of my rigs which uses a Asus Prim z270-a when I put the 6th GPU in it will not POST to the bios screen therefore not start up.

From troubleshooting it only happens if I have 2 GPUs plugged into the X16 slots, if I only have one it works fine.

I have changed the BIOS to the recommend from the thread here for the z270-a and set it all to GEN2.

Any other suggestions?

There were 4 Gen2 settings I needed to change, did you change them all? Could be an issue running 2 on the board with 7 or more, i've only tested with 1 on the board +6 risers or all risers. Check for faulty riser cables too, that slowed up a friend of mine getting 7 going on this board.
full member
Activity: 169
Merit: 100
June 19, 2017, 06:08:58 PM
Anyone have any suggestions to this problem, I am all ears.

I have one of my rigs which uses a Asus Prim z270-a when I put the 6th GPU in it will not POST to the bios screen therefore not start up.

From troubleshooting it only happens if I have 2 GPUs plugged into the X16 slots, if I only have one it works fine.

I have changed the BIOS to the recommend from the thread here for the z270-a and set it all to GEN2.

Any other suggestions?
newbie
Activity: 51
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 05:14:07 PM
Lxde would be a much lighter GUI than Unity.

I will 2nd the props for lxde, I have used it on debian and ubuntu EC2 cloud builds (video CDN) and can attest that it is very light on resource usage.  It would likely be an excellent base for nvOC.

It's also fairly easy to use xrdp w/ lxde to run vnc over rdp so wind0ze users can connect via rdp and not have to install any 3rd party apps for remote access.  https://comtechies.com/how-to-set-up-gui-on-amazon-ec2-ubuntu-server.html
newbie
Activity: 18
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 05:07:39 PM
Lxde would be a much lighter GUI than Unity.
newbie
Activity: 51
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 05:07:29 PM
Hey fullzero,

The other issues I've had were resolved automagically - no idea what happened.

Anyhow, I'm encountering a new issue when starting the server:

-I get stuck at the Ubuntu login prompt. m1 is selected as a user and I enter miner1 as a password - I don't get logged in, the screen refreshes and I get put back into the login screen.

Any idea what might be causing this? I'd like to prevent this particular issue from happening as I'll be deploying nvOC to multiple servers and getting everything to work automatically would be awesome.

Edit: I have already tried this - https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/mining-os-nvoc-1854250
Edit 1: Tried this as well - http://www.linuxslaves.com/2016/05/3-ways-fix-ubuntu-gets-stuck-login-loop.html = no luck
Edit 2: Will try a fresh install again. It might be a one-time thing

Do the servers you plan on using have more than 1x GPU?


I have experienced that exact same issue and it was with 7x gpu (the 7x 1070  reference/founders rig).  I threw in a freshly imaged drive and it has not reoccurred.
newbie
Activity: 51
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 04:58:06 PM
$250 is more than I want to spend on a tent; but if I can find a used one, I'll probably get it and try it out.  I have used plastic to control airflow before and it was effective.

Good to know stable EVGA 1070 settings for ETH.


If I run across a good deal on one I'll PM ya.  

Regarding EVGA 1070 FTW settings: I may have spoken prematurely.  I did experience a claymore reset overnight.  I will be trying an MC of 1050 and then 1000 if necessary to see if I can get it to run without anymore Claymore drops.  At least when it does drop it immediately resumes, so I'm only losing ~45 secs of hashing, but I know from a long term standpoint it's probably unwise not to address it, so I will dial it back just a bit to pursue 100% error-free operation.

I received my 14th card from Fedex this morning, so now both rigs are running 7 GPUs.  The newest addition is an MSI 1070 Armor.  It's been hashing along for 45m now along with it's EVGA 1070 FTW & SC cousins at the same -200/+1100/125W settings they use so off to a good start.  I do notice the MSI runs about 7-8C hotter than the EVGAs do (they average around 51C at 70% fan speed).

Also my HDMI dummies showed up today, so I can shut off these monitors and save a few watts of power now.  
newbie
Activity: 51
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 04:25:12 PM
how to recover the usb key with nvoc installed ? can't format this :-(

thanks

On windows I'm assuming, easy way is this way

Launch command line in administrator status
type "diskpart"
list disk (find the one that is your USB key
select disk # (# is the one you see from the list disk)
clean
Go to computer management it will now show up to format, click on it new simple format.
Profit!

I use this windows GUI tool for wiping thumb drives.   Make sure you check the box for "perform quick wipe."  

It's from HDD Guru, the same folks who make the HDD Raw Copy Tool imaging software OP recommends.

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-LLF-Low-Level-Format-Tool/

i don't like anything that has so many tiers and trials and shit - looks sketchy as hell.

just use rufus it's been used for years to wipe drives and proven track record of being safe

https://rufus.akeo.ie/



Tiers and trials?  It's freeware.  Just click continue.  

I've been in systems admin for 20 years and use this tool professionally.  It's not sketch at all, LOL.  I netstat my system all the time looking for rogue network activity and have never found a problem with HDD LLF.  I initially found this tool when I had a flash drive that windows refused to format and this fit the bill.

I will say I do like rufus though, so at least we can agree on that.  That's what I use for creating pen linux images.  Rufus doesn't offer low level format though.  HDD LLF does.
newbie
Activity: 38
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 04:20:56 PM
Anyone to let me know what could be the possible cause of nvOC not booting up?

Often times I get a black screen and it will stay that way for 15+min. So far, the only possible solution to this problem is to reinstall nvOC on my usb


MOBO asus prime z270p
g3930
nvidia 1070

I have the same CPU so it isn't that. Is your display plugged into the onboard video or the GPU?  Does the MOBO post?

It could be an issue with the USB flash.
full member
Activity: 144
Merit: 100
June 19, 2017, 03:15:17 PM
Anyone to let me know what could be the possible cause of nvOC not booting up?

Often times I get a black screen and it will stay that way for 15+min. So far, the only possible solution to this problem is to reinstall nvOC on my usb


MOBO asus prime z270p
g3930
nvidia 1070
sr. member
Activity: 826
Merit: 440
June 19, 2017, 02:14:49 PM
@dev.

Your zip file is unzippable with ubuntu (error message), only with Windows..

Via wich command in your script can you made +500 MH at the memory clock : nvidia-smi don't accept a so big value (I do'nt ask how the user of your script do that, it is the the conf file, but how you have done this, with wich command ?).
newbie
Activity: 38
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 02:13:59 PM
I did find some OC numbers my EVGA 1070s like and run stable at: -200/1100, ~29.1 MH/sec ETH.  

Thanks again for everything.  Really looking forward to v0016!  

I'm having trouble OC my cards. I have 4x EVGA 1070 SC. Am I doing this right?

I could not get it working by setting INDIVIDUAL_CLOCKS="NO" and I set the individual clocks and -200/1100 to 2 GPUs to see if it worked. I'm still getting 26MH/s.

Note: I'm not sure how to check memory type in Linux. I might have Micron memory.


https://i.imgur.com/lUhwLjG.png

I can get it working on my 1 card W7 rig:
https://i.imgur.com/vtmDKYKl.png

Not sure what you mean, did you set the individual clocks as NO, but you defined the individual clocks?
Please try this first, to see if that shows more performance:
Code:

__CORE_OVERCLOCK=200
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=800

INDIVIDUAL_CLOCKS="NO"       # YES NO
Did you set POWERLIMIT?

EDIT: Ah sorry, I see the images now.. It looks okay, and should give you the wanted performance. But please try the overall clock settings to see if you get more performance.


I did not set the power limit.

I tried using the original oneBash file only setting the OC values to 200/800 and nothing changes. I can set the values high or low and nothing changes. I don't have full understanding of how these values relate to the EVGA tool. I see on my W7 rig, the memory clock = 4322MHz and gpu clock = 1987MHz.

Does setting MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=800 like setting 'MEM CLOCK OFFSET=+800? Do you have any reading material on this? I cannot find anything to help me.
full member
Activity: 153
Merit: 100
June 19, 2017, 10:16:52 AM
I did find some OC numbers my EVGA 1070s like and run stable at: -200/1100, ~29.1 MH/sec ETH.  

Thanks again for everything.  Really looking forward to v0016!  

I'm having trouble OC my cards. I have 4x EVGA 1070 SC. Am I doing this right?

I could not get it working by setting INDIVIDUAL_CLOCKS="NO" and I set the individual clocks and -200/1100 to 2 GPUs to see if it worked. I'm still getting 26MH/s.

Note: I'm not sure how to check memory type in Linux. I might have Micron memory.




I can get it working on my 1 card W7 rig:


Not sure what you mean, did you set the individual clocks as NO, but you defined the individual clocks?
Please try this first, to see if that shows more performance:
Code:

__CORE_OVERCLOCK=200
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=800

INDIVIDUAL_CLOCKS="NO"       # YES NO
Did you set POWERLIMIT?

EDIT: Ah sorry, I see the images now.. It looks okay, and should give you the wanted performance. But please try the overall clock settings to see if you get more performance.
newbie
Activity: 38
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 10:05:04 AM
Anyhow, I'm encountering a new issue when starting the server:

-I get stuck at the Ubuntu login prompt. m1 is selected as a user and I enter miner1 as a password - I don't get logged in, the screen refreshes and I get put back into the login screen.

Any idea what might be causing this? I'd like to prevent this particular issue from happening as I'll be deploying nvOC to multiple servers and getting everything to work automatically would be awesome.

Edit: I have already tried this - https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/mining-os-nvoc-1854250

That is odd. Did you try doing a fresh imaging of the USB drive?

You might can try this to see if Ubuntu will enable auto login for m1: Ubuntu : How to Turn on or Turn Off Automatic Login
newbie
Activity: 38
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 10:02:40 AM
I did find some OC numbers my EVGA 1070s like and run stable at: -200/1100, ~29.1 MH/sec ETH.  

Thanks again for everything.  Really looking forward to v0016!  

I'm having trouble OC my cards. I have 4x EVGA 1070 SC. Am I doing this right?

I could not get it working by setting INDIVIDUAL_CLOCKS="NO" and I set the individual clocks and -200/1100 to 2 GPUs to see if it worked. I'm still getting 26MH/s.

Note: I'm not sure how to check memory type in Linux. I might have Micron memory.


https://i.imgur.com/lUhwLjG.png

I can get it working on my 1 card W7 rig:
https://i.imgur.com/vtmDKYKl.png
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 08:46:11 AM
Hey fullzero,

The other issues I've had were resolved automagically - no idea what happened.

Anyhow, I'm encountering a new issue when starting the server:

-I get stuck at the Ubuntu login prompt. m1 is selected as a user and I enter miner1 as a password - I don't get logged in, the screen refreshes and I get put back into the login screen.

Any idea what might be causing this? I'd like to prevent this particular issue from happening as I'll be deploying nvOC to multiple servers and getting everything to work automatically would be awesome.

Edit: I have already tried this - https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/mining-os-nvoc-1854250
Edit 1: Tried this as well - http://www.linuxslaves.com/2016/05/3-ways-fix-ubuntu-gets-stuck-login-loop.html = no luck
Edit 2: Will try a fresh install again. It might be a one-time thing
newbie
Activity: 25
Merit: 0
June 19, 2017, 01:28:58 AM
Hey fullzero,

I have encountered an issue when trying to run oneBash:

bash oneBash
spawn sudo nvidia-smi -pl 150
Power limit for GPU 0000:01:00.0 was set to 150.00 W from 150.00 W.

Warning: persistence mode is disabled on this device. This settings will go back to default as soon as driver unloads (e.g. last application like nvidia-smi or cuda application terminates). Run with [--help | -h] switch to get more information on how to enable persistence mode.

All done.
send: spawn id exp4 not open
while executing
"send "miner1\r" "
spawn sudo nvidia-xconfig --cool-bits=24

Using X configuration file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf".
Backed up file '/etc/X11/xorg.conf' as '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup'
New X configuration file written to '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'

send: spawn id exp4 not open
while executing
"send 'miner1\r'"
Failed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help` for usage information.

Failed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help` for usage information.

Failed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help` for usage information.

Failed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help` for usage information.

+-------------------------------------------------+
|         EWBF's Zcash CUDA miner. 0.3.3b         |
+-------------------------------------------------+
INFO: Server: zec-us-east1.nanopool.org:6666
INFO: Solver Auto.
INFO: Devices: All.
INFO: Temperature limit: 90
INFO: Api: Disabled
---------------------------------------------------
INFO: Target: 000369d000000000...
INFO: Detected new work: 1497719512
CUDA: Device: 0 GeForce GTX 1080, 8113 MB


If you manually start one oneBash; always use the absolute path:

Code:
bash '/home/m1/Desktop/oneBash'

Let me know if you still have this problem when doing so.


Just tried that, the issue seems to persist:

spawn sudo nvidia-smi -pl 150
Power limit for GPU 0000:01:00.0 was set to 150.00 W from 150.00 W.
All done.
send: spawn id exp4 not open
    while executing
"send "miner1\r" "
spawn sudo nvidia-xconfig --cool-bits=24

Using X configuration file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf".
Backed up file '/etc/X11/xorg.conf' as '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup'
New X configuration file written to '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'

send: spawn id exp4 not open
    while executing
"send 'miner1\r'"
Failed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help` for usage information.

Failed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help` for usage information.

Failed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help` for usage information.

Failed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help` for usage information.

Also, when I open nvidia-settings - this is what I see: https://i.imgur.com/gfpIByzl.png

Any ideas?

Edit: it's a headless server - no display attached.

How many GPUs are you using?

if you are using only one; see this post:

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/mining-os-nvoc-1854250


Same happens to my on putty, 9x gtx 1060 3gb
Jump to: