Author

Topic: MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device (Free, Open Source, Cross Platform) - page 178. (Read 827303 times)

hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
Another v1.1 preview release is available here. This includes:

  • Official support for running on Linux
  • Show device "numbers" (1-based) instead of device "indexes" (0-based) in the History
  • Various UI updates and improvements
  • Minor bug fixes

Hooray Linux support!  Grin

hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
Alrighty folks. This is a big one so I've tagged this as a prelease. If you'd be so kind as to kick the tires on this and let me know if you find any issues, especially show-stoppers, that would be super.



Prelease version 1.1.14

  • Add a Getting Started wizard to help new users get started mining
  • Log the coins mined, date started and stopped, price when mining started and stopped, and which devices were used to mine the coin
  • Support reordering pools in the Configure Coins dialog
  • Added the ability to specify the priority of the miner process launched
  • Show the Work Utility in the main screen statistics
  • Updated MobileMiner API calls to the live URL (https://api.mobileminerapp.com)
  • Handle JSON errors parsing MobileMiner calls
  • Detect and remove empty mining pool configurations (rather than crashing)
  • Detect .conf files that may interfere with mining and warn the user
  • Rewrite the readme with more focus on new users
  • Validate the MobileMiner email address and API key to help users enter their settings
  • Show a proper error if the MobileMiner credentials are wrong (rather than no statistics showing)
  • Show a proper error if the mining pool credentials are wrong

For extra credit, please test the Getting Started wizard:



To do this:

  • Close MultiMiner
  • Open up Windows Explorer
  • Input %appdata% into the address bar, press the Return key
  • Rename the existing MultiMiner folder to MultiMiner.bak
  • Launch MultiMiner and walk through the wizard

Once you are done:

  • Close MultiMiner
  • Delete the new MultiMiner folder in Windows Explorer
  • Rename MultiMiner.bak back to MultiMiner
  • Launch MultiMiner - your original settings will be restored

Thanks everyone! If nobody yells at me because I broke everything in a couple of days I'll make this a stable release.  Grin
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
Interesting, I'm getting even numbers such as 720, 660, and even numbers by tens. I'd like to see the exact hashrate such as 724.3, etc. I assumed you must have been rounding up and down.

Edit: I suppose it's possible the API differs from what I see in the CGminer client, so maybe that is the issue, and it has nothing to do with the tool.

If you click Advanced and then API Monitor you can see the exact values that cgminer is passing back via the RPC API. You can CTRL+C & CTRL+V to view all the info on Notepad and compare that to what MultiMiner is showing.

I also added your suggestion to my to-do.
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 500
- Is it possible to not "round" the hash rate? I would like to see the actual hash rate, like I did in Cgminer.

Can you explain this a bit? I checked and the UI is showing the exact same values returned by the cgminer RPC API. The only thing I do to the value is multiply it times 1000.

Interesting, I'm getting even numbers such as 720, 660, and even numbers by tens. I'd like to see the exact hashrate such as 724.3, etc. I assumed you must have been rounding up and down.

Edit: I suppose it's possible the API differs from what I see in the CGminer client, so maybe that is the issue, and it has nothing to do with the tool.

Another side note, is there any way to add the timing of the last block in the window? This helps me see locked up machines easier. Just thoughts, obviously nothing critical, as overall I'm liking the way it is working.
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
So I'm mining away with bfgminer and it crashes (for some reason only with my BFL FPGA's) after 1 - 3 hours of mining.  It seems to be taking down your app as well sadly because I'm pretty sure you have some auto-restart logic setup in the code and it would be nice for multiminer to auto-restart bfgminer but the crash is taking both apps down (it seems)....

I'm sorry to hear you are having trouble. Can you please explain what you mean by saying it takes MultiMiner down? Is there any sort of crash dialog? Or does everything poof and disappear?

Please download the Debug zip file from the GitHub releases page and run that (if you aren't already). Then, for any crashes, please paste the full text in here.

If things are just up and disappearing, again please use the Debug zip file but check the Event Viewer in Windows instead for any errors regarding MultiMiner.
hero member
Activity: 490
Merit: 500
I have a bit of a bug going on and wondering if you have a way to help me have a workaround in this app (I believe this problem is breaking your app as well...).  So I'm mining away with bfgminer and it crashes (for some reason only with my BFL FPGA's) after 1 - 3 hours of mining.  It seems to be taking down your app as well sadly because I'm pretty sure you have some auto-restart logic setup in the code and it would be nice for multiminer to auto-restart bfgminer but the crash is taking both apps down (it seems)....
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
- Is it possible to not "round" the hash rate? I would like to see the actual hash rate, like I did in Cgminer.

Can you explain this a bit? I checked and the UI is showing the exact same values returned by the cgminer RPC API. The only thing I do to the value is multiply it times 1000.
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
is there a timeline on when the android app will come for this?

Nothing concrete but I'd estimate I'll have something working within a week or so. The iOS app didn't take long at all and now I have an app to model the Android one after. Hang tight!  Wink
full member
Activity: 206
Merit: 100
is there a timeline on when the android app will come for this?
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
Putting this out there to those who are talking about or considering making donations:

Instead of BTC or LTC I'd very much welcome any sort of mining hardware. I'm not talking nasty rigs and I absolutely do not expect this. However, several of the bugs submitted by users have been due to hardware setups that I could not reproduce myself, such as FPGAs or having 10 devices in a single rig.

So if you are thinking of donating but also have some old FPGA that isn't doing much for you with the current Bitcoin difficulty, or some Erupters, or really anything at all that would help me test different hardware setups that would rock. It's way easier to fix issues when I can actually reproduce them myself so this is a very good way to give back.

Again - not expected at all. The best thing you can do is let me know the details of any errors you have so I can fix them for everyone. Thanks everyone!
newbie
Activity: 17
Merit: 0
pretty sure i had that same error as dethdeks when i ran the strategy every 5 mins switched to every 15 and havent seen it yet will switch it back to every 5 when i gets home
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
this is the error i get
Code:
Executable: Miners\cgminer\cgminer.exe
Arguments:   --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=80 -I D -T -o stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u dethdeks.amd -p 12345 -o :0 -u  -p "" -d 1 --api-listen --api-port 4028 --api-allow W:127.0.0.1

Please run that executable with those arguments and let me know what the output is. I suspect you need to remove the icarus options, but that's just a guess. It also looks like your password for the pool is blank - I'm not sure if Bitcoin.cz allows that.
full member
Activity: 206
Merit: 100
this is the error i get

 this is the coding i get when i hit the details button
Code:
See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.Exception: Miner keeps exiting after launching - retried 5 times. Exit code 1.
Executable: Miners\cgminer\cgminer.exe
Arguments:   --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=80 -I D -T -o stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u dethdeks.amd -p 12345 -o :0 -u  -p "" -d 1 --api-listen --api-port 4028 --api-allow W:127.0.0.1
   at MultiMiner.Xgminer.Miner.EnsureProcessStarts(Process process, ProcessStartInfo startInfo) in d:\Data\Visual Studio Projects\Personal\MultiMiner\MultiMiner.Xgminer\Miner.cs:line 184
   at MultiMiner.Xgminer.Miner.StartMinerProcess(String arguments, Boolean redirectOutput, Boolean ensureProcessStarts, String reason) in d:\Data\Visual Studio Projects\Personal\MultiMiner\MultiMiner.Xgminer\Miner.cs:line 157
   at MultiMiner.Xgminer.Miner.Launch(String reason) in d:\Data\Visual Studio Projects\Personal\MultiMiner\MultiMiner.Xgminer\Miner.cs:line 114
   at MultiMiner.Engine.MiningEngine.LaunchMinerProcess(MinerConfiguration minerConfiguration, String reason) in d:\Data\Visual Studio Projects\Personal\MultiMiner\MultiMiner.Engine\MiningEngine.cs:line 428
   at MultiMiner.Engine.MiningEngine.StartMining() in d:\Data\Visual Studio Projects\Personal\MultiMiner\MultiMiner.Engine\MiningEngine.cs:line 405
   at MultiMiner.Engine.MiningEngine.StartMining(EngineConfiguration engineConfiguration, List`1 devices, List`1 coinInformation) in d:\Data\Visual Studio Projects\Personal\MultiMiner\MultiMiner.Engine\MiningEngine.cs:line 56
   at MultiMiner.Win.MainForm.StartMining() in d:\Data\Visual Studio Projects\Personal\MultiMiner\MultiMiner.Win\MainForm.cs:line 561
   at MultiMiner.Win.MainForm.startButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e) in d:\Data\Visual Studio Projects\Personal\MultiMiner\MultiMiner.Win\MainForm.cs:line 547
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5472 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
MultiMiner.Win
    Assembly Version: 1.0.13.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.13
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/dethdeks/Downloads/MultiMiner-Debug-1.0.13/MultiMiner.Win.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5468 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
MultiMiner.Engine
    Assembly Version: 1.0.13.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.13
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/dethdeks/Downloads/MultiMiner-Debug-1.0.13/MultiMiner.Engine.DLL
----------------------------------------
MultiMiner.Xgminer
    Assembly Version: 1.0.13.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.13
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/dethdeks/Downloads/MultiMiner-Debug-1.0.13/MultiMiner.Xgminer.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5473 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
MultiMiner.Coinchoose.Api
    Assembly Version: 1.0.13.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.13
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/dethdeks/Downloads/MultiMiner-Debug-1.0.13/MultiMiner.Coinchoose.Api.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Core
    Assembly Version: 3.5.0.0
    Win32 Version: 3.5.30729.5420 built by: Win7SP1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/3.5.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5473 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
fcxfcv_x
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
Newtonsoft.Json
    Assembly Version: 4.5.0.0
    Win32 Version: 5.0.6.16206
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/dethdeks/Downloads/MultiMiner-Debug-1.0.13/Newtonsoft.Json.DLL
----------------------------------------
9d4yqvjx
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
nupsop9u
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
xabym3dz
    Assembly Version: 1.0.13.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
hmyczdh0
    Assembly Version: 1.0.13.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
vjjqn-66
    Assembly Version: 1.0.13.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
xw9thcvy
    Assembly Version: 1.0.13.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5467 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
Interop.Shell32
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/dethdeks/Downloads/MultiMiner-Debug-1.0.13/Interop.Shell32.DLL
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:


    


When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


this is the image of the error i get.



edit. i think this program has it out for me as now its working just fine lol
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
well it see's them but when i go and tell it to start it just goes to not responding then i get a dialog box pop up telling me it crashed and if i want to continue and if i hit continue it just sits there and does nothing and the start button is grey'ed out.

Please download the Debug zip file from the GitHub Releases page and run that. When it crashes, please copy and paste the full text shown in the dialog box into this thread. Thanks!
full member
Activity: 206
Merit: 100
edit 2. i rechecked multiminer and i had it set to bfgminer so i switched it to cgminer and it now shows there.

Awesome - glad to hear you got it working. I've found both miners are finicky when it comes to detecting the USB devices, especially if you have tried both miners/methods.

well it see's them but when i go and tell it to start it just goes to not responding then i get a dialog box pop up telling me it crashed and if i want to continue and if i hit continue it just sits there and does nothing and the start button is grey'ed out.
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
I just wanted to drop a note and say thank you. I am in the process of changing over about 20 rigs to use this tool, and so far it's gone well with a couple of errors along the way. I know many people are probably trying the tool, and not all take the time to thank you for your efforts on it.

Thank you very much, I appreciate it!  Grin And I appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback on your issues. I'm more worried about those who are having issues and not reporting them, and instead stop using the app.

- The app crashes if the network is not connected. Obviously this wouldn't be a common problem, as you need an active network to mine, but as a heads up.

Could I get you to run the Debug build from the GitHub releases page and then paste the full text of the error you are getting? I'd be happy to handle it. I don't want any common issues to prevent mining.

- On CGminer, I rely on WU, much more than hash rate to make sure my settings are optimized, is it possible to add that field?
- Is it possible to not "round" the hash rate? I would like to see the actual hash rate, like I did in Cgminer.
- I usually run CGMiner at high priority within taskmgr, and I use batch files to automate this. On slower machines, this boosts hash rate, and I can't use the app on two rigs, as I would have to manually set the CGminer task to high priority. Is there any way to do this easily through the app?

I'll add these ASAP - all seem easy enough. There's a version I'm trying to complete as we speak so I'm not sure if they'll make it into that one but, if not, they will be in the next.

- Looking forward to Android app, I need to be able to centrally monitor all my rigs in one interface. Currently I use a system with 6 monitors and VNC for each rig is loaded for each of the rigs so I can see the status

I'm looking forward to it too! Wink I've been doing a few crash courses on Java and am very excited to finally get into Android development. To be honest I don't think it will take very long once I get started, which should be in the next couple of days.
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 500
I just wanted to drop a note and say thank you. I am in the process of changing over about 20 rigs to use this tool, and so far it's gone well with a couple of errors along the way. I know many people are probably trying the tool, and not all take the time to thank you for your efforts on it.


Comments / Issues So Far:

- The app crashes if the network is not connected. Obviously this wouldn't be a common problem, as you need an active network to mine, but as a heads up.
- On CGminer, I rely on WU, much more than hash rate to make sure my settings are optimized, is it possible to add that field?
- Is it possible to not "round" the hash rate? I would like to see the actual hash rate, like I did in Cgminer.
- Looking forward to Android app, I need to be able to centrally monitor all my rigs in one interface. Currently I use a system with 6 monitors and VNC for each rig is loaded for each of the rigs so I can see the status
- I usually run CGMiner at high priority within taskmgr, and I use batch files to automate this. On slower machines, this boosts hash rate, and I can't use the app on two rigs, as I would have to manually set the CGminer task to high priority. Is there any way to do this easily through the app?

I will donate once I get the rigs up and running and we're stable for a bit.

hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
hate to be a pest but i have a small problem with my mobileminer  filled out everything in the settings (email,api code and checked both boxes ) section of the gui and have the app on my phone but cant see my miners from my phone did i miss something?

Hey there. Please PM me:

  • Your MobileMiner Application Key
  • A screenshot of what you are seeing on your iPhone
  • A screenshot of your Settings screen in MultiMiner

Thanks!
hero member
Activity: 840
Merit: 1002
edit 2. i rechecked multiminer and i had it set to bfgminer so i switched it to cgminer and it now shows there.

Awesome - glad to hear you got it working. I've found both miners are finicky when it comes to detecting the USB devices, especially if you have tried both miners/methods.
newbie
Activity: 17
Merit: 0
hate to be a pest but i have a small problem with my mobileminer  filled out everything in the settings (email,api code and checked both boxes ) section of the gui and have the app on my phone but cant see my miners from my phone did i miss something?
Jump to: