Pages:
Author

Topic: Need help to get everything to work on Windows 10 machine (Read 416 times)

legendary
Activity: 2268
Merit: 18771
I read that Bitcoin Core stores your wallet data (xpub etc) unencrypted on the desktop.  Is there a setting to prevent that so only Electrum is handling the wallet data?
Not really. Public keys are not encrypted in Bitcoin Core wallets, only the private keys are (which your Bitcoin Core wallet shouldn't contain anyway). Whenever Core is running, then it must have access to your public keys to be able to watch the relevant addresses for transactions. You could encrypt your wallet file manually (using something like VeraCrypt, for example) so it cannot be accessed by anyone else, but you would need to decrypt it every time you wanted to run Core or your EPS.

Also, is there a way to close the command line window of EPS once it's running? X-ing it out closes the server currently.
Don't think so. You could use a virtual desktop to hide it where you can't see it, though.
legendary
Activity: 3668
Merit: 6382
Looking for campaign manager? Contact icopress!
What do you call these letter identifiers after the port number?  I saw the :s and another guide had a :t

Am I supposed to use :t to run it through Tor or something?

The letter is basically the protocol identifier, though for each protocol there's a default port. It's not something related to Tor.

I read that Bitcoin Core stores your wallet data (xpub etc) unencrypted on the desktop.  Is there a setting to prevent that so only Electrum is handling the wallet data?

1. xpub is not a security concern.
2. I guess that it cannot work without that info in Bitcoin Core (that was my missing bit and one of the reasons I've dropped EPS), but, as we said in the past, maybe you consider switching to Electrs server which doesn't care/works as good no matter how many wallets you use in Electrum (and doesn't need any wallet info in Bitcoin core)

Also, is there a way to close the command line window of EPS once it's running? X-ing it out closes the server currently.

Did you try Ctrl-C?
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 12
I think that what you need there is (note the :s at the end) :
Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Electrum\electrum-4.2.2.exe" --oneserver --server 127.0.0.1:50002:s

Thank you so much this fixed it.

What do you call these letter identifiers after the port number?  I saw the :s and another guide had a :t

Am I supposed to use :t to run it through Tor or something?

Yeah, I think this is right. If I run my Electrum without the s, then in Tools -> Network inside Electrum it just tries to connect to "localhost". If I include the s, then it correctly tries to connect to "127.0.0.1:50002".
That is exactly what happened

https://i.imgur.com/HRlWs6e.png

Oh glory green button how you have pained me.

Thank you guys for helping me solve this puzzle, can finally get my stuff off of the websites in peace

Just a last few questions

I read that Bitcoin Core stores your wallet data (xpub etc) unencrypted on the desktop.  Is there a setting to prevent that so only Electrum is handling the wallet data?

Also, is there a way to close the command line window of EPS once it's running? X-ing it out closes the server currently.
legendary
Activity: 2268
Merit: 18771
I COULD KISS YOU!
Kiss

Finally got a "Listening for Electrum Wallet"

https://i.imgur.com/qZhTVr2.jpg
Amazing! God, took us long enough, haha. So in the end it seemed to be a combination of the Bitcoin Care wallet not being quite right, plus a bug with Bitcoin Core version 23.0.

I think that what you need there is (note the :s at the end) :
Yeah, I think this is right. If I run my Electrum without the s, then in Tools -> Network inside Electrum it just tries to connect to "localhost". If I include the s, then it correctly tries to connect to "127.0.0.1:50002".
legendary
Activity: 3668
Merit: 6382
Looking for campaign manager? Contact icopress!
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Electrum\electrum-4.2.2.exe" --oneserver --server 127.0.0.1:50002

I think that what you need there is (note the :s at the end) :
Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Electrum\electrum-4.2.2.exe" --oneserver --server 127.0.0.1:50002:s
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 12
Are you running Core Version 23.0? Here is an issue of several people experiencing hanging at the same point of "Synchronizing mempool": https://github.com/chris-belcher/electrum-personal-server/issues/266

Essentially, just add deprecatedrpc=fees to your bitcoin.conf file and then restart everything. Might be worth a try?

I COULD KISS YOU!

Finally got a "Listening for Electrum Wallet"

https://i.imgur.com/qZhTVr2.jpg



At this point I just feel dumb

I am still getting a big red button when I start up Electrum - but at least I know that EPS can work!!!

On the electrum side - I have the command

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Electrum\electrum-4.2.2.exe" --oneserver --server 127.0.0.1:50002

to run as per one of the guides - but it is still showing red
legendary
Activity: 2268
Merit: 18771
Are you running Core Version 23.0? Here is an issue of several people experiencing hanging at the same point of "Synchronizing mempool": https://github.com/chris-belcher/electrum-personal-server/issues/266

Essentially, just add deprecatedrpc=fees to your bitcoin.conf file and then restart everything. Might be worth a try?
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 12
What happens next? Have you tried relaunching it after it's synchronized? Go back in to the console on Core and use the listaddressgroupings command again and see if your addresses have imported properly this time?

First thing I tried is listaddressgroupings but unfortunately it is still blank.  If I relaunch the exact same messages display.
legendary
Activity: 2268
Merit: 18771
Can one of you advise really which of those settings should be checked when creating a new wallet with Bitcoin Core ?
When I've set up EPS in the past, I've always just left all the boxes unchecked. Wasn't aware that made a difference though.

What happens next? Have you tried relaunching it after it's synchronized? Go back in to the console on Core and use the listaddressgroupings command again and see if your addresses have imported properly this time?
legendary
Activity: 1568
Merit: 6660
bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org
I just created a new Bitcoin Core wallet with Descriptor wallet un-checked.  (IDK what descriptor does)  It was checked by default this whole time.

The descriptor wallet just changes the export format of (bitcoin core) wallets from regular public keys to a data structure which includes derivation paths and unlocking scripts (eliminating problems such as "wrong derivation path used and now I can't see my addresses"). It's unlikely to be of any use to EPS [particularly if it doesn't support the descriptor wallet export format].
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 12
I've had a break through just messing around with various check boxes but still no working EPS

I just created a new Bitcoin Core wallet with Descriptor wallet un-checked.  (IDK what descriptor does)  It was checked by default this whole time.
https://i.imgur.com/5uHbr4e.png

Can one of you advise really which of those settings should be checked when creating a new wallet with Bitcoin Core ?  - I think I've been selecting Make Blank Wallet and Descriptor Wallet.  Until now

Now this is what my command line looks like

https://i.imgur.com/58IWmNv.jpg


At least it looks a little different?!?!?!
legendary
Activity: 3668
Merit: 6382
Looking for campaign manager? Contact icopress!
Woah, I've "scanned" shortly the posts, from what I understand OP couldn't make even EPS work (and he's still keen to use EPS)?
If so, I recommend this post of mine where I managed to run EPS with Electrum. Maybe it hives hints of what is missing.
I remember that I did also hit a dead end .. until I've tried with Sparrow wallet which kinda hinted me that I should create a wallet file. Then all started working. But I didn't like it at all (I find Electrs a much better server).
legendary
Activity: 2268
Merit: 18771
I've hit a dead end and am out of ideas
I'm afraid I am too. If it were me, I would be trying Linux instead, or even Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL) or a virtual machine.

Paging @NeuroticFish @DaveF @HCP - not sure if any of these good folks might be able to figure this out.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 12
So your wallet in Bitcoin Core is called "electrumpersonalserver", but your EPS config.ini file that you quoted above has "wallet_file = test1". I would create a new wallet in Bitcoin Core called something new, and then put this new wallet name in to your EPS config file and try again.

No I think you might be looking at the old config, the past few days I did have both named as test1 on Bitcoin Core and the EPS config.ini.  Today when I deleted all files and re-downloaded EPS I use electrumpersonalserver for both sides.  Still the same result.

Unless there is a very specific order of operations to naming and creating the wallet and modifying the settings...

I've hit a dead end and am out of ideas
legendary
Activity: 2268
Merit: 18771
Unfortunately it is blank even after running a fresh download of EPS.
https://i.imgur.com/WwTkrl4.png
So your wallet in Bitcoin Core is called "electrumpersonalserver", but your EPS config.ini file that you quoted above has "wallet_file = test1". I would create a new wallet in Bitcoin Core called something new, and then put this new wallet name in to your EPS config file and try again.

So do the names of the wallet in Bitcoin Core and the "any_name_works = " + "wallet_filename = " in the config.ini supposed to match up?
Yes.

That Python command from setup.py sets up a whole new EPS.exe that can be found in the file path mentioned but am I supposed to be doing this step  in this new version of EPS?  Seems like I'm supposed to skip this step in the video.
If you've download and ran the Windows release (which is running, just not syncing with Core), then you shouldn't also need to install a version using Python.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 12
I saw someone else with a similar if not the same issue as me and they opened it up on github

https://github.com/chris-belcher/electrum-personal-server/issues/268

Glad to see I might not be the only one having trouble to get this to work
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 12
I mentioned this on my previous post but one big thing that is confusing me is
Quote
https://youtu.be/4H8gCFrjTYs
At 8:17 he does something with Python that I didn't try until now but I don't think that did anything.  (Is this part outdated)  As the current release on github did not include the setup.py I downloaded that separately today to try and install it the way he did in the video.
It got installed in C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Roaming\Python\Python310\Scripts  This .exe in there does not do ANYTHING, it just flashes the command line for a second and it disappears automatically.

That Python command from setup.py sets up a whole new EPS.exe that can be found in the file path mentioned but am I supposed to be doing this step  in this new version of EPS?  Seems like I'm supposed to skip this step in the video.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 12
Quote
Click on Window -> Console, and then in console enter the command listaddressgroupings. Does it show up the addresses from your xpub?
Unfortunately it is blank even after running a fresh download of EPS.
https://i.imgur.com/WwTkrl4.png

I deleted all the EPS files and downloaded a new fresh .zip of the latest EPS and still the exact same thing.  I'm putting the xpub where it asks for the [master-public-keys]  but should I be putting it elsewhere?

I even tried deleting the # in front of the example given in the sample config and that produced the same result.

Also another thought how you called me out on naming "electrum-watchonly-addresses"  This is something only seen in the command line window it's no where to be found in the config.ini

Quote
Go in to your bitcoin directory, open the wallets folder, and delete any wallets you don't need. Be careful doing this if you have ever used any of those wallets though! Don't want to accidentally delete access to some coins. (If you have ever used any of these wallets, better to just move them out to a different directory rather than delete them, just in case.)
Thanks for the warning - I didn't have any wallets and any wallet made was just to get this set up and were blank.

Quote
You need to create an empty Bitcoin Core wallet first for EPS to import the addresses in to. If you point EPS at a wallet which doesn't exist (or no wallet at all), it will return an error.
So do the names of the wallet in Bitcoin Core and the "any_name_works = " + "wallet_filename = " in the config.ini supposed to match up?

Quote
I can't see anything obvious that would be causing issues here. It looks like EPS successfully finds your Bitcoin Core client, so the ports, etc. must all be working, but then cannot actually import the addresses in to the wallet file.
I'm stumped - beginning to lose hope
legendary
Activity: 2268
Merit: 18771
Ok, I won't even be looking at Electrum for now - I didn't know the xpub in EPS config could be a dummy one I thought it all had to sync up between EPS/Electrum/Bitcoin Core
Eventually yes, but for the time being we need to get EPS and Core to sync up first. Then we can worry about Electrum. EPS runs just fine without Electrum being open, and just sits at the "Listening for Electrum Wallet" screen until you open Electrum. That's the point we need to get to first.

Unfortunately I don't see the addresses anywhere in Bitcoin core  https://i.imgur.com/9pQANCa.png
Click on Window -> Console, and then in console enter the command listaddressgroupings. Does it show up the addresses from your xpub?

I am wondering why one of the guides said to even create a wallet in Bitcoin core - can I delete the Bitcoin core wallet somehow?
Go in to your bitcoin directory, open the wallets folder, and delete any wallets you don't need. Be careful doing this if you have ever used any of those wallets though! Don't want to accidentally delete access to some coins. (If you have ever used any of these wallets, better to just move them out to a different directory rather than delete them, just in case.)

Since EPS is supposed to give the wallet data TO bitcoin core how come I need to start a separate wallet in Bitcoin Core?
You need to create an empty Bitcoin Core wallet first for EPS to import the addresses in to. If you point EPS at a wallet which doesn't exist (or no wallet at all), it will return an error.

Could you take a look at my previous post where I put the config file settings and see if all the ports match up properly?
I can't see anything obvious that would be causing issues here. It looks like EPS successfully finds your Bitcoin Core client, so the ports, etc. must all be working, but then cannot actually import the addresses in to the wallet file.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 12
Again, I wouldn't even be opening Electrum right now. It will never connect until your EPS is working properly, and by messing around with Electrum config files you are likely to just cause yourself more issues in the future when we get to that part.

The default config file doesn't have a header named [electrum-watchonly-addresses] - https://github.com/chris-belcher/electrum-personal-server/blob/master/config.ini_sample
It does have [watch-only-addresses], which I assume is what you mean. Whether or not the header is commented shouldn't make a difference.
Sorry yes, I got the headers wrong.

Ok, I won't even be looking at Electrum for now - I didn't know the xpub in EPS config could be a dummy one I thought it all had to sync up between EPS/Electrum/Bitcoin Core

Quote
If you are using the GUI, then there is a drop down menu at the top right of the main window.

After you press any key, does this window (https://i.imgur.com/Dr1w9aZ.jpg) close? What happens if you then start the server back up again?

It seems that EPS is indeed linking with Bitcoin Core, but for some reason isn't importing the addresses in to the Bitcoin Core wallet properly. I'd maybe redownload the config file from above to have a clean slate and start the whole process again with a newly named wallet.

After I press the key the window does close, and if I drag the config over the exe again it happens again exactly the same.

Unfortunately I don't see the addresses anywhere in Bitcoin core  https://i.imgur.com/9pQANCa.png

I am wondering why one of the guides said to even create a wallet in Bitcoin core - can I delete the Bitcoin core wallet somehow?  Since EPS is supposed to give the wallet data TO bitcoin core how come I need to start a separate wallet in Bitcoin Core?

Could you take a look at my previous post where I put the config file settings and see if all the ports match up properly?
Pages:
Jump to: