Pages:
Author

Topic: Noob Issues with FPGA (Read 3258 times)

member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
May 16, 2013, 08:13:52 PM
#28
Update: 

It has been over a month and a half since I initially placed my MMQ order.  Two replacement cards later and multiple peoples' attempts to get it working (including Tom, whose product this is) and it STILL will not work.  I've tried three different power supplies, five different operating systems, three forum members with FPGA and Linux experience have tried SSH'ing in to no avail, Tom himself hasn't been able to get it work ... and at this point, I just want this situation resolved. 

Sad

Most recently, Tom SSH'ed in to a clean install and said he had everything set up to work plug and play style for it as soon as my new power supply came in.  Power supply is here, and there is still no progress made in getting it to work.
full member
Activity: 176
Merit: 100
April 19, 2013, 06:02:39 PM
#27
did you remake and reinstall after the that last configure?

eg the

Code:
sudo make
then the end of the output should be like this
  CCLD   bfgminer-rpc
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/brad/git/bfgminer'
 /bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/bin'
  /usr/bin/install -c bfgminer bitforce-firmware-flash bfgminer-rpc '/usr/local/bin'
 /bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/bin'
 /usr/bin/install -c diablo121016.cl diakgcn121016.cl phatk121016.cl poclbm121016.cl scrypt121016.cl '/usr/local/b                                                                                                                           in'
 /bin/mkdir -p '/usr/local/bin/bitstreams'
 /usr/bin/install -c -m 644 bitstreams/COPYING_fpgaminer bitstreams/COPYING_ztex bitstreams/fpgaminer_x6500-overcl                                                                                                                           ocker-0402.bit bitstreams/ztex_ufm1_15b1.bit bitstreams/ztex_ufm1_15d1.bit bitstreams/ztex_ufm1_15d3.bit bitstream                                                                                                                           s/ztex_ufm1_15d4.bin bitstreams/ztex_ufm1_15d4.bit bitstreams/ztex_ufm1_15y1.bin bitstreams/ztex_ufm1_15y1.bit '/u                                                                                                                           sr/local/bin/bitstreams'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/yourusername/git/bfgminer'
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/yourusername/git/bfgminer'

then
Code:
sudo make install

If you run it after root and it doesnt detect still past the the results of the lsusb for the other guys and they might be able to help you .

member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
April 19, 2013, 05:57:46 PM
#26
you dont have to set a password for root, you can just so sudo su and use your username password and it will enter the root shell

on building bfgminer post the errors, but it looks like you missed ./configure after ./autogen.sh

was it this when running ./autogen.sh

Code:
Running autoreconf -if...
./autogen.sh: 17: ./autogen.sh: autoreconf: not found


If so install autoconf and the other dependenices
remove the sudo if you have already used the su command.
Code:
sudo apt-get install autoconf
sudo apt-get install automake
sudo apt-get install libtool
sudo apt-get install pkg-config
sudo apt-get install libcurl4-gnutls-dev
sudo apt-get install libjansson-dev
sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0-0
sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0-0-dev
then
Code:
 ./autogen.sh
./configure
make

once its compiled with no errors

Code:
make install

edit: had wrong libusb package

output should look something like this for ./configure

 Avalon.ASICs.........: Disabled
  BitForce.devices.....: Enabled
  Icarus.FPGAs.........: Enabled
  ModMiner.FPGAs.......: Enabled
  X6500.FPGAs..........: Enabled
  ZTEX.FPGAs...........: Enabled




Okay, I've done that and it looks like that (with ModMiner enabled) for ./configure
full member
Activity: 176
Merit: 100
April 19, 2013, 05:40:10 PM
#25
you dont have to set a password for root, you can just so sudo su and use your username password and it will enter the root shell

on building bfgminer post the errors, but it looks like you missed ./configure after ./autogen.sh

was it this when running ./autogen.sh

Code:
Running autoreconf -if...
./autogen.sh: 17: ./autogen.sh: autoreconf: not found


If so install autoconf and the other dependenices
remove the sudo if you have already used the su command.
Code:
sudo apt-get install autoconf
sudo apt-get install automake
sudo apt-get install libtool
sudo apt-get install pkg-config
sudo apt-get install libcurl4-gnutls-dev
sudo apt-get install libjansson-dev
sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0-0
sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0-0-dev
then
Code:
 ./autogen.sh
./configure
make

once its compiled with no errors

Code:
make install

edit: had wrong libusb package

output should look something like this for ./configure

 Avalon.ASICs.........: Disabled
  BitForce.devices.....: Enabled
  Icarus.FPGAs.........: Enabled
  ModMiner.FPGAs.......: Enabled
  X6500.FPGAs..........: Enabled
  ZTEX.FPGAs...........: Enabled


member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
April 19, 2013, 05:29:10 PM
#24
Still receiving the "Failed to load OpenCL library, no GPUs usable.  All devices disabled, cannot mine!" and nothing registering at any of the /dev/ttyUSB* commands.
full member
Activity: 139
Merit: 100
April 19, 2013, 05:28:56 PM
#23

You should reconfigure and remake bfgminer without that I'm not sure it has any usb support at all.
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
April 19, 2013, 05:26:29 PM
#22

Looking back through the instructions... did you ever install libusb-dev "apt-get install libusb-dev"?

I believe that is needed.



I had not installed it this time since Tom insisted I only install what he mentioned in his email.  I've just now installed libusb-dev.  I'll try some steps again.
full member
Activity: 139
Merit: 100
April 19, 2013, 05:22:28 PM
#21

Looking back through the instructions... did you ever install libusb-dev "apt-get install libusb-dev"?

I believe that is needed.

full member
Activity: 139
Merit: 100
April 19, 2013, 05:13:41 PM
#20

Ah  Sad

As far as I know the tty's are needed, as that's the method for communication (it is with the icarus boards I have).

I'm happy to try via ssh but I'm not sure you want random forum dudes ssh'ing in to your box  Sad

member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
April 19, 2013, 05:11:32 PM
#19

Did you do "modprobe ftdi_sio"?

I'm not super familiar with linux mint... something like ubuntu might be easier.

I'm happy to troubleshoot with you a bit but forum lag makes it problematic  Smiley



I had all of these same problems on Ubuntu as well until Tom (who made the mmq) told me to do a fresh install and wasn't able to make any progress when he SSH'ed in.
full member
Activity: 139
Merit: 100
April 19, 2013, 05:08:30 PM
#18

Did you do "modprobe ftdi_sio"?

I'm not super familiar with linux mint... something like ubuntu might be easier.

I'm happy to troubleshoot with you a bit but forum lag makes it problematic  Smiley

member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
April 19, 2013, 05:05:10 PM
#17

OK, one more time try this:

./bfgminer -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 -S /dev/ttyUSB3



results:

Code:
Started bfgminer 3.0.0
Failed to load OpenCL library, no GPUs usable

All devices disabled, cannot mine!

Also, it doesn't register anything at /dev/ttyUSB* ... but does show something at /dev/ttyACM0 ... still gives the same error though.
full member
Activity: 139
Merit: 100
April 19, 2013, 04:51:31 PM
#16

OK, one more time try this:

./bfgminer -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 -S /dev/ttyUSB3

member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
April 19, 2013, 04:39:10 PM
#15

OK, I am more of a cgminer guy but it might just be the options you are feeding it.

Try:

./bfgminer --scan-serial



output of that command:

Code:
./bfgminer: --scan-serial: requires an argument
full member
Activity: 139
Merit: 100
April 19, 2013, 04:34:01 PM
#14

OK, I am more of a cgminer guy but it might just be the options you are feeding it.

Try:

./bfgminer --scan-serial

member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
April 19, 2013, 04:28:18 PM
#13

What do you mean you "get stuck"? What's the error you're getting?



At this point, I've done the configuration to enable bfgminer's use of modminer .... so now after I cd into the bfgminer folder, I'm typing:

Code:
./bfgminer

Which gives the error:

Code:
Started bfgminer 3.0.0
Failed to load OpenCL library, no GPUs usable
All devices disabled, cannot mine!
full member
Activity: 139
Merit: 100
April 19, 2013, 04:24:49 PM
#12

What do you mean you "get stuck"? What's the error you're getting?

member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
April 19, 2013, 03:59:56 PM
#11
Here are the instructions Tom gave, which I've followed:

Code:
only install the non optional dependancies

then do this

sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo passwd root

change the root passwd

su root

then do  apt-get install git
git the latest bfgminer

git clone https://github.com/luke-jr/bfgminer.git

then cd bfgminer
./autogen.sh
sudo make install

and then when you run bfgminer
run it as root

and it should detect the mmq

I've done all of that exactly, but I get stuck at the "sudo make install" line toward the end.  I'm running Linux Mint now (Tom said I needed to do a fresh install - I did that) and it doesn't seem to recognize the "sudo make install" command.  Furthermore, ./bfgminer doesn't do anything.  There are no usb devices recognized when I try ls /dev/ttyUSB* but ls /dev/ttyACM0 works.

I have no clue what to try at this point and am still waiting to hear back from Tom.

This is so frustrating.  Also still haven't received the second replacement fpga.
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
Supersonic
April 19, 2013, 04:29:28 AM
#10
I recently received my modminer quad, have set it up, have set up Ubuntu, and have set up BFGMiner 3.0.  BFGMiner seems to run just fine, but it doesn't detect my FPGA cards.  Being new to Linux, I'm not exactly sure how to approach this issue.

Can anyone offer any advice?

The MMQ is connected via USB, but BFGMiner just detects the CPU for mining, not the FPGAs.

Sorry if this is stupid - I've looked and haven't found any help.  It's probably just something simple I'm missing but, like I mentioned, I'm new to Linux / Ubuntu.

Thank you in advance!

paste your output of
Code:
sudo lsusb -v
and
Code:
lsusb -v

Also, when u run the miner, try to run it as sudo, if that works, that means the user ur running under cant see the USB device permission issue easy to solve more info later. if that doesnt work then maybe something else is wrong.. maybe unit is damaged... or bfgminer was compiled wrongly.
jml
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
Pages:
Jump to: