Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 338. (Read 5806004 times)

newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
i am mining with cgminer 3.1.0 with an stratum mining pool.
i often get this error: Accepted untracked stratum share from pool 0
What does this mean ?
Can somebody explain the reason for that ?
You might also try using the IP of your pool instead of its domain name. just ping it to find out.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
i am mining with cgminer 3.1.0 with an stratum mining pool.
i often get this error: Accepted untracked stratum share from pool 0
What does this mean ?
Can somebody explain the reason for that ?


A perfectly valid question.

When cgminer sends shares via stratum, it does not send the share and then wait for the response as this might slow down the sending of other shares. This means that the response back from the pool is processed separately from the share submission (to make the most of a truly multithreaded environment). However there is never a guarantee that the responses come back in the same order you send them. So cgminer stores a copy of each share as it sends it to the server in its own local database of submitted shares. When it gets a response back about that share from the pool, it deletes the copy of that share. Now stratum is meant to be an uninterrupted connection to the pool, and if you lose that connection, it is assumed that your "session" is no longer valid. So if you send some shares and get disconnected before you get a response, cgminer has to assume that those shares have been lost - otherwise it may end up keeping copies of heaps of shares that it will never get a response to and wastes memory. If you manage to reconnect, sometimes the pool will actually tell you "oh by the way those shares are ok" - however cgminer has now thrown out the record of what those shares were and can only say that the pool said a share was accepted or rejected. Then cgminer just says it's an "untracked share".

Summary: Find a pool/network setup that gives you a more reliable connection.
newbie
Activity: 43
Merit: 0
i am mining with cgminer 3.1.0 with an stratum mining pool.
i often get this error: Accepted untracked stratum share from pool 0
What does this mean ?
Can somebody explain the reason for that ?

newbie
Activity: 10
Merit: 0
Thanks guys, your posts have helped me along to the right path. Although I was sure that X was correctly installed and running, it was not. Doing this first, then starting cgminer fixed it all up:
Code:
aptitude install xserver-xorg
X &

Thank you very much. I was starting to loose my mind over this Smiley
newbie
Activity: 10
Merit: 0

 [2013-05-15 22:53:04] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] ADL found less devices than opencl!
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] There is possibly more than one display attached to a GPU
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!
 

Check this thread and see if its the same or similar problem.

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.1857068

Thank you for the link. I came across this before but it isn't the problem. I tried it with real screens attached (and powered on) and that didn't change anything. The issue is not getting a nagging message, it's ADL not working with that "Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1" message.

...
The only thing I want to keep is Linux, I really don't want to switch to windows on these boxes if I can avoid it. What kind of Linux, I don't really care as long as I get the temperature, fanspeed and gpu settings to work.

If there is any more data I can deliver, please let me know.
ADL requires correct X access.
Here's something to try see if X access is correct:
DISPLAY=:0 xlsfonts
(of course you need xlsfonts installed - use some other X program if you don't - xlsfonts doesn't open a window - just reports information)

Maybe gpu map is your solution (as it says to use)

Otherwise ... at a guess ... ADL version?

Edit: oh forgot, also on the 2 rig machine, you need to have done (in case you missed it) sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial as per GPU-README

Thank you Kano.

DISPLAY=:0 xlsfonts did not work at first as the package was missing as you said. "aptitude install x11-utils" took care of that. Now the result is this:

# DISPLAY=:0 xlsfonts
xlsfonts:  unable to open display ':0'

So there seems to be something not working right here. Any ideas on how to fix this?

I'm certain I did sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial (tried with one card, then the second) after each install, but just to be sure I did it again and rebooted the machine, with the same results still.
hero member
Activity: 737
Merit: 500
Have very smart folks already spent many hours optimizing the heck out of this code, or is there still room from improvement?

Very smart folks already spent many months optimizing the heck out of this code.  I doubt there is much room from improvement in the GPU mining kernels.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
How optimized is the mining engine in cgminer? Considering a USB ASICs device can get 300-400 MH/s mining, I can't help but think we should be able to get more performance out of a 7900 series GPU.

I'm a Software Engineer by trade, so I wouldn't mind dabbling around in cgminer development to try to improve GPU mining performance if I thought there was a decent chance of it bearing fruit.

Have very smart folks already spent many hours optimizing the heck out of this code, or is there still room from improvement?
Smiley

Check the names, one of them may give you a hint to the answer ...

Edit: and I should mention ... optimising code doesn't help if the code you are optimising doesn't affect performance.
Something I've seen over the many years I've worked on software, is most people don't understanding what needs optimisation.
First and foremost, in cgminer it is only the code that the devices will be waiting on and secondly performance monitoring is mandatory before optimisation - most people optimise code that doesn't affect performance in even a marginal way.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
...
The only thing I want to keep is Linux, I really don't want to switch to windows on these boxes if I can avoid it. What kind of Linux, I don't really care as long as I get the temperature, fanspeed and gpu settings to work.

If there is any more data I can deliver, please let me know.
ADL requires correct X access.
Here's something to try see if X access is correct:
DISPLAY=:0 xlsfonts
(of course you need xlsfonts installed - use some other X program if you don't - xlsfonts doesn't open a window - just reports information)

Maybe gpu map is your solution (as it says to use)

Otherwise ... at a guess ... ADL version?

Edit: oh forgot, also on the 2 rig machine, you need to have done (in case you missed it) sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial as per GPU-README
legendary
Activity: 3586
Merit: 1099
Think for yourself

 [2013-05-15 22:53:04] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] ADL found less devices than opencl!
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] There is possibly more than one display attached to a GPU
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!
 

Check this thread and see if its the same or similar problem.

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.1857068
hero member
Activity: 742
Merit: 500
How optimized is the mining engine in cgminer? Considering a USB ASICs device can get 300-400 MH/s mining, I can't help but think we should be able to get more performance out of a 7900 series GPU.

I'm a Software Engineer by trade, so I wouldn't mind dabbling around in cgminer development to try to improve GPU mining performance if I thought there was a decent chance of it bearing fruit.

Have very smart folks already spent many hours optimizing the heck out of this code, or is there still room from improvement?
full member
Activity: 176
Merit: 100


much appreciate your feedback Smiley thanks ... however am too much of a noob, or so it seems ... when I make a .bat file with -s it simply won't start the cgminer ... well it does but closes very quickly.

I installed also linux mint but managed to get stuck with compilng the cgminer so as to work on it ... never had linux till now Smiley mint works on debian...
steep learning curve ... care for a nudge ? Smiley

Run it from the cmd line and check it works,before you put it in a .bat file ?
newbie
Activity: 10
Merit: 0
ckolivas and kano, thanks for cgminer and the hard work you put into it. I think people take it for granted and feel entitled to having it at times. I see it as a wonderful gift from you guys to the community at large and feel it is not honored quite often enough. I'm just starting out mining, but once I have a few spare coins, I will certainly send some your way.

Now of course I also have a problem, namingly getting ADL to work. I compiled 3.1.0 and 3.1.1 from github, under Ubuntu 13.04 64bit. I can get it to work, just fine, using amd-catalyst-13.4-linux-x86.x86_64, AMD-APP-SDK-v2.8-lnx64 and ADL_SDK_5.0, it reporting back on configure that it found ADL. On make I can't see any errors, so I assumed all works well, until I start it.

Code:
export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
export GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE=100

/usr/local/cgminer/cgminer -I 19 --scrypt --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 -g 1 -o poolurlremoved -u userremoved -p passremoved

 [2013-05-15 22:53:04] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] ADL found less devices than opencl!
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] There is possibly more than one display attached to a GPU
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] Network diff set to 12.3M
 [2013-05-15 22:53:05] Long-polling activated for poolurl
 [2013-05-15 22:53:08] Accepted 00f2a0f7 Diff 270/31 GPU 1
 [2013-05-15 22:53:10] Accepted 02c13dea Diff 92/31 GPU 0

That's my first clue something is wrong, the second that it doesn't show fan speed nor temperatures. It will also not allow me to change any GPU settings, not even showing the options in the G menu. On my workstation there I can see and alter those options.

I searched all over the place and tried everything I could think of to no avail. So I tried to get some debugging info.

Code:
./cgminer --ndevs
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1113.2)
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] Platform 0 devices: 2
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09]  0       Tahiti
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09]  1       Tahiti
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] ADL found less devices than opencl!
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] There is possibly more than one display attached to a GPU
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!
 [2013-05-15 22:57:09] 2 GPU devices max detected

Also ran it with --verbose --debug --worktime (both normal and the ndevs) but didn't get more output really than I already posted.

Also tried the build from the page cgminer-3.1.1-x86_64-built.tar.bz2 to be precise. It errors out with this message first:
./cgminer: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Fixed it up with this symlink:
ln -s /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libudev.so.1 /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libudev.so.0

Endresult is the exact same though.

I can repeat this process on two separate machines, one with two 7950, the other with a 5770 in it.

The only thing I want to keep is Linux, I really don't want to switch to windows on these boxes if I can avoid it. What kind of Linux, I don't really care as long as I get the temperature, fanspeed and gpu settings to work.

If there is any more data I can deliver, please let me know.
legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001
much appreciate your feedback Smiley thanks ... however am too much of a noob, or so it seems ... when I make a .bat file with -s it simply won't start the cgminer ... well it does but closes very quickly.

Put this at the end of your .bat file:

Code:
pause

That'll keep the window up until you press a key so that you can see what's going on.  What's probably happening is cgminer doesn't like something you're doing and is showing an error message, but windows closes it before you can see it.

Also, you'll probably find it's faster if you name it .cmd instead of .bat.  windows hasn't needed .bat files in a very long time.

M
sr. member
Activity: 358
Merit: 250
hi all !

help ! Sad again ...

ok I got this icarus compatible FPGA and as instructed on the cgminer fpga I got zadig and now my board is recognised as four different FT232R. but as soon as I try the no gpu version of the cgminer it says that no devices were found... I tried the FTDI thing and nothing ... then I tried the Prolific driver installer v1.8.0 and still cgminer doesn't pic em up...

the normal cgminer only sees my GPUs ... am running Windows 7

any word of advice ? Smiley
Firstly Icarus is not direct USB (yet) - it's the one driver not yet converted ... however since I've got an asicminer USB the other day and a Lancelot coming shortly I will be converting it very soon.

So as per the FPGA-README you still need to use -S

I seem to be a modest user since I cannot understand what a -S means Smiley any chance of brightening up my day ? Smiley
Oh sorry it's in the main README Tongue

--scan-serial|-S Serial port to probe for Icarus mining device

This option is only for Icarus bitstream FPGAs

By default, cgminer will scan for autodetected Icarus unless at least one
-S is specified for that driver. If you specify -S and still want cgminer
to scan, you must also use "-S auto". If you want to prevent cgminer from
scanning without specifying a device, you can use "-S noauto". Note that
presently, autodetection only works on Linux, and might only detect one
device depending on the version of udev being used.

On linux is usually of the format /dev/ttyUSBn
On windows is usually of the format \\.\COMn
(where n = the correct device number for the Icarus device)

The official supplied binaries are compiled with support for all FPGAs.
To force the code to only attempt detection with a specific driver,
prepend the argument with the driver name followed by a colon.
For example, "icarus:/dev/ttyUSB0" or using the short name: "ica:/dev/ttyUSB0"
This option not longer matters since Icarus is the only serial-USB
device that uses it

For other FPGA details see the FPGA-README


much appreciate your feedback Smiley thanks ... however am too much of a noob, or so it seems ... when I make a .bat file with -s it simply won't start the cgminer ... well it does but closes very quickly.

I installed also linux mint but managed to get stuck with compilng the cgminer so as to work on it ... never had linux till now Smiley mint works on debian...
steep learning curve ... care for a nudge ? Smiley
newbie
Activity: 32
Merit: 0
with scrypt only, 3.1.1 causes an error, regardless of pool.

cgminer 3.1.1 log
Code:
 [2013-05-15 07:06:23] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-05-15 07:06:23] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.      
 [2013-05-15 07:06:23] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing  
 [2013-05-15 07:06:23] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5 (793.1)
 [2013-05-15 07:06:23] Platform 0 devices: 1
 [2013-05-15 07:06:23]  0       Cypress
 [2013-05-15 07:06:23] GPU 0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series   hardware monitoring enabled
 [2013-05-15 07:06:24] Init GPU thread 0 GPU 0 virtual GPU 0
 [2013-05-15 07:06:24] CL Platform vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.        
 [2013-05-15 07:06:24] CL Platform name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing    
 [2013-05-15 07:06:24] CL Platform version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5 (793.1)
 [2013-05-15 07:06:24] List of devices:
 [2013-05-15 07:06:24]  0       Cypress
 [2013-05-15 07:06:24] Selected 0: Cypress
 [2013-05-15 07:06:24] Selecting scrypt kernel
 [2013-05-15 07:06:32] Initialising kernel scrypt130511.cl with bitalign, 1 vectors and worksize 256
 [2013-05-15 07:06:32] initCl() finished. Found Cypress
 [2013-05-15 07:06:32] 1 gpu miner threads started
 [2013-05-15 07:06:32] Network diff set to 39.7M
 [2013-05-15 07:06:32] New block: f377e4dce13e0a7b... diff 39.7M                
 [2013-05-15 07:06:33] New best share: 1
 [2013-05-15 07:06:33] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-05-15 07:06:34] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
^C [2013-05-15 07:06:34] Received kill message

cgminer 3.1.0 works fine
Code:
 [2013-05-15 07:05:05] Started cgminer 3.1.0
 [2013-05-15 07:05:05] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.      
 [2013-05-15 07:05:05] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing  
 [2013-05-15 07:05:05] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5 (793.1)
 [2013-05-15 07:05:05] Platform 0 devices: 1
 [2013-05-15 07:05:05]  0       Cypress
 [2013-05-15 07:05:05] GPU 0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series   hardware monitoring enabled
 [2013-05-15 07:05:06] Init GPU thread 0 GPU 0 virtual GPU 0
 [2013-05-15 07:05:06] CL Platform vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.        
 [2013-05-15 07:05:06] CL Platform name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing    
 [2013-05-15 07:05:06] CL Platform version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5 (793.1)
 [2013-05-15 07:05:06] List of devices:
 [2013-05-15 07:05:06]  0       Cypress
 [2013-05-15 07:05:06] Selected 0: Cypress
 [2013-05-15 07:05:07] Selecting scrypt kernel
 [2013-05-15 07:05:07] Initialising kernel scrypt130302.cl with bitalign, 1 vectors and worksize 256
 [2013-05-15 07:05:07] initCl() finished. Found Cypress
 [2013-05-15 07:05:07] 1 gpu miner threads started
 [2013-05-15 07:05:07] Network diff set to 39.7M
 [2013-05-15 07:05:07] New block: f377e4dce13e0a7b... diff 39.7M                
 [2013-05-15 07:05:09] Setting GPU 0 fan percentage to 51
 [2013-05-15 07:05:11] Received kill message
 [2013-05-15 07:05:11] Thread 0 being disabled
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
2 minutes ago i got attacked, when i opened cgminer 3.1.1

virus name spr\bitcoin.g in cgminer 3.1.0, avira blocked it, but is this program really safe?
No your AntiVirus software isn't safe.
It has detected a program that is not malign, but probably wouldn't detect a program that would install something on your system.

P.S. Read the README ... FAQ ... computers do this well (if you have a computer): search for "virus"
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
hi all !

help ! Sad again ...

ok I got this icarus compatible FPGA and as instructed on the cgminer fpga I got zadig and now my board is recognised as four different FT232R. but as soon as I try the no gpu version of the cgminer it says that no devices were found... I tried the FTDI thing and nothing ... then I tried the Prolific driver installer v1.8.0 and still cgminer doesn't pic em up...

the normal cgminer only sees my GPUs ... am running Windows 7

any word of advice ? Smiley
Firstly Icarus is not direct USB (yet) - it's the one driver not yet converted ... however since I've got an asicminer USB the other day and a Lancelot coming shortly I will be converting it very soon.

So as per the FPGA-README you still need to use -S

I seem to be a modest user since I cannot understand what a -S means Smiley any chance of brightening up my day ? Smiley
Oh sorry it's in the main README Tongue

--scan-serial|-S Serial port to probe for Icarus mining device

This option is only for Icarus bitstream FPGAs

By default, cgminer will scan for autodetected Icarus unless at least one
-S is specified for that driver. If you specify -S and still want cgminer
to scan, you must also use "-S auto". If you want to prevent cgminer from
scanning without specifying a device, you can use "-S noauto". Note that
presently, autodetection only works on Linux, and might only detect one
device depending on the version of udev being used.

On linux is usually of the format /dev/ttyUSBn
On windows is usually of the format \\.\COMn
(where n = the correct device number for the Icarus device)

The official supplied binaries are compiled with support for all FPGAs.
To force the code to only attempt detection with a specific driver,
prepend the argument with the driver name followed by a colon.
For example, "icarus:/dev/ttyUSB0" or using the short name: "ica:/dev/ttyUSB0"
This option not longer matters since Icarus is the only serial-USB
device that uses it

For other FPGA details see the FPGA-README
sr. member
Activity: 358
Merit: 250
hi all !

help ! Sad again ...

ok I got this icarus compatible FPGA and as instructed on the cgminer fpga I got zadig and now my board is recognised as four different FT232R. but as soon as I try the no gpu version of the cgminer it says that no devices were found... I tried the FTDI thing and nothing ... then I tried the Prolific driver installer v1.8.0 and still cgminer doesn't pic em up...

the normal cgminer only sees my GPUs ... am running Windows 7

any word of advice ? Smiley
Firstly Icarus is not direct USB (yet) - it's the one driver not yet converted ... however since I've got an asicminer USB the other day and a Lancelot coming shortly I will be converting it very soon.

So as per the FPGA-README you still need to use -S

I seem to be a modest user since I cannot understand what a -S means Smiley any chance of brightening up my day ? Smiley
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
hi all !

help ! Sad again ...

ok I got this icarus compatible FPGA and as instructed on the cgminer fpga I got zadig and now my board is recognised as four different FT232R. but as soon as I try the no gpu version of the cgminer it says that no devices were found... I tried the FTDI thing and nothing ... then I tried the Prolific driver installer v1.8.0 and still cgminer doesn't pic em up...

the normal cgminer only sees my GPUs ... am running Windows 7

any word of advice ? Smiley
Firstly Icarus is not direct USB (yet) - it's the one driver not yet converted ... however since I've got an asicminer USB the other day and a Lancelot coming shortly I will be converting it very soon.

So as per the FPGA-README you still need to use -S
sr. member
Activity: 309
Merit: 250
I have anomaly.  I set up a 7 x 7950 rig on debian. If i set GPU0 intensity 18 or higher, the other 6 cards activity % goes down into the mid 90's and each card loses 10-20kh/s...  intensity 19, and 20 are progressively worse.  CPU jumps (particularly Xorg) with these higher intensities on GPU0.  I can set the other 6 GPUs to 20 intensity with no impact on CPU and they all hash along wonderfully.  I am curious if anyone knows why only intensity on GPU0 appears to impact the CPU and if there is anything to be done about.  Not much performance loss overall, I was just curious.
Jump to: