Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 391. (Read 5805537 times)

-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I wonder which driver set is ckolivas using?

I'm using Catalyst 13.3 beta3 || cgminer version 2.11.3
Code:
--intensity 13 --worksize 256 -g 1 --thread-concurrency 8192 
I use the very first driver that supported the 7970, aka 11.12 with 7970 hotfix:
amd-driver-installer-8.921-x86.x86_64.run
I also use SDK 2.7 which seemed the best.

And as I said, I went by increments of 1 to the highest engine clock at that stability and intensity of 20 for a final:
Code:
--scrypt -I 20 --gpu-engine 1157 --gpu-memclock 1900
Which gave 725kH without setting shaders, lookup gap, or thread concurrency.

Once again, your mileage may vary since all hardware is different, more system ram might help etc. Note also that setting the CPU frequency to performance instead of ondemand also helped a little.
legendary
Activity: 1361
Merit: 1003
Don`t panic! Organize!
*headache* So is all this new stuff just for 7970's? Or would a 7950 suffice...
Im running 2.10.4 right now and im wondering if i'll notice any benefit to upgrading all my miners (some use 5xxx 6xxx) or if just my 7950 will benefit.
Would a 7950 show a hashrate increase if i was to update to 2.11.3?
Just make another directory, put new mniner into it, copy config files, run and see...
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10

Dunno what else to do at this point.. Does anyone have any ideas? I wonder which driver set is ckolivas using?


Try varying your intensity, both up and down.

My 7850 does 360kh/s at 13, and 390 kh/s at 12, all else equal (g 2, 13k threads). I can also get to 390kh/s with I 19, g 1, 26k threads, but that makes my desktop unusable.

What I did in order to find the optimal thread concurrences was to keep an eye on the amount of memory my card was using with each setting (with gpu z). If there was free memory, there was room for more threads.


legendary
Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001
Okey Dokey Lokey
*headache* So is all this new stuff just for 7970's? Or would a 7950 suffice...
Im running 2.10.4 right now and im wondering if i'll notice any benefit to upgrading all my miners (some use 5xxx 6xxx) or if just my 7950 will benefit.
Would a 7950 show a hashrate increase if i was to update to 2.11.3?
member
Activity: 266
Merit: 36
EDIT: However...
Code:
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ DISPLAY=:0 fglrxinfo
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  12
  Current serial number in output stream:  12

SOLVED  Smiley

Problem summary: Upgraded Ubuntu to 12.04; found that AMD Catalyst 11.12 driver (a.k.a. fglrx 8.92) is incompatible with Xorg X server 1.13.0, which is in 12.04.2, which is the current release of 12.04 LTS (Precise Pangolin). There was also an issue of 12.04.2 having kernel 3.5, which is  incompatible with Catalyst 11.12's installer; it wants kernel 3.2.

Solution: install 12.04.1, which has xserver 1.11.3 and kernel 3.2.  Even after running Software Updater, which updates to 12.04.2, xserver stays at 1.11.3 and the kernel stays at 3.2. 12.04.1 is available here.
newbie
Activity: 40
Merit: 0
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.1635964

I did exactly what ckolivas suggested in that post.. Cgminer defaulted to tc 22400, but that was a lot slower than 8192, so I manually set 8192.
1880 MHz turned out to be maximum stable memory clock and I went through 900 - 1175 MHz GPU in 5 MHz increments and at 1175 MHz GPU I finally reached 600 kh/s.

Dunno what else to do at this point.. Does anyone have any ideas? I wonder which driver set is ckolivas using?

I'm using Catalyst 13.3 beta3 || cgminer version 2.11.3
Code:
--intensity 13 --worksize 256 -g 1 --thread-concurrency 8192 

Some results that I wrote down:
http://i.imgur.com/nD7euPK.png
donator
Activity: 1120
Merit: 1001
a 101 question, in CGMINER, which one is right?

1 Thash/s = 1000 Ghash/s = 1000 Mhash/s = 1000 Khash/s, or
1Thash/s = 1024 Mhash/s = 1024 Khash/s = 1024 hash/s

hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....
so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

Don't use 5 & 7 series cards together, they don't play nice with each other.....
ok another question would a 6950 work with the 7950 and would the two be able to get enough power from my 750 watt psu?


Series 5xxx & 6xxx are OK together, 750w SHOULD be enough for 2 cards ONLY if it's a quality PSU with at least bronze+ certification. I'm currently running 4 gpu's (5970,5870 & 5850) on a 850w gold PSU - and that's maxed out. I run all my 7xxx series cards separately on their own rigs with no worries. A good link below for you to check your settings & play with:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#AMD_.28ATI.29

Good luck. Peace.

EDIT: Try and get in the habit of counting gpu's and not cards, as some cards (notably 5970) have two gpu's so will be displayed as two gpu's/cards by mining software.
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

Don't use 5 & 7 series cards together, they don't play nice with each other.....
ok another question would a 6950 work with the 7950 and would the two be able to get enough power from my 750 watt psu?
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....
I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?

adding to this, I switched to cgminer because everyone was telling me that it is the best and much better than phoenix miner. well I have been using it for about a week now (version 2.11.3) and I am actually getting the same hashrate as phoenix, just with more invalids. I have played around with a few settings but havent gotten much improvement. does anyone know of some optimal settings for a hd 5970? I am using 11.12 driver which I cannot change as it is the only one not giving me the 100% cpu bug. I am also using sdk 2.1. At 850mhz, 325 mem I am getting 795 mhs and that is the max I can get. Is this a good speed, or does anyone have some suggestions for improvement? thanks.

Hi hickc,

I'm currently running a couple of 5970's on the same driver but with sdk v2.4, it's a close thing between v2.1 & v2.4 so it's down to personal choice really. I don't run the -g flag at all, and you might want to lower your memclock to 180 - this will lower your temps & energy use. Apart from that your speed is OK me thinks, if the rejects are doing your nut in then just lower your -I flag down to 8, it won't have a noticeable effect on hash rate but will lower your reject rate considerably. I also use the --usb :0 & --hotplug 0 flags as I don't use usb miners and it was playing hell with my apc usb connection - so better to disable it.

Basically, if it runs stable at your speed I'd be happy with it.

Peace.
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?

adding to this, I switched to cgminer because everyone was telling me that it is the best and much better than phoenix miner. well I have been using it for about a week now (version 2.11.3) and I am actually getting the same hashrate as phoenix, just with more invalids. I have played around with a few settings but havent gotten much improvement. does anyone know of some optimal settings for a hd 5970? I am using 11.12 driver which I cannot change as it is the only one not giving me the 100% cpu bug. I am also using sdk 2.1. At 850mhz, 325 mem I am getting 795 mhs and that is the max I can get. Is this a good speed, or does anyone have some suggestions for improvement? thanks.
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?
hero member
Activity: 924
Merit: 1000
Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....
so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

Don't use 5 & 7 series cards together, they don't play nice with each other.....
full member
Activity: 182
Merit: 100
so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.
legendary
Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005
Something is weird with the 2.11.3 kernel.  I can't use it very well with my 7950s, I get the same hash rates as with reaper but with about 5% invalids.  Not sure why this is.  Try rolling back to one of the older scrypt######.cl files and seeing if that fixes it.
newbie
Activity: 61
Merit: 0
Has intensity for LTC been fixed yet in 7xxx cards?  I much prefer cgminer over reaper, but I cant use it with my 7950 right now.

I'm not sure what problem you're referring to, but for me, cgminer works at least as well as reaper for LTC mining.

With a GIGABYTE GV-R785OC-2GD clocked at 1150/1000, intensity 19, thread concurrency 27164, 1 gpu thread, I get pretty much the same hashrate with cgminer and reaper (~390kH/s).

I also played around with another configuration at intensity 13, thread concurrency 13632, and 2 gpu threads. With this, I get ~360kH/s in cgminer, and a hard crash requiring a reboot with reaper. With cgminer at this intensity, I *am* able to use the desktop for other purposes.

Interestingly, reaper in the first configuration uses ~1.7GB of system memory. cgminer in both configs uses ~40K...!

With my hardware, I don't see any reason to ever use reaper. YMMV with different hardware, of course.


Ya, I'm an idiot.  I found a guide showing how to set it up correctly, and now it is doing AWESOME. Getting 670kh/s at -I 20

EDIT:

Ok, now I am having issues when trying to tweak my 6950.  If I delete my bins and then even use the same .bat files I was using, it runs SLOW, but if I restore my old bin from the recycle bin (Win 7 64bit), and again use the same .bat, speeds are how they used to be.  Tried with 2.7.5 and with the newest version, but same results.  Anyone have any idea why this is happening?  Because of this issue, I can only use 2.7.5 with my 6950, and I would like to start using the newest version.
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
Yes, I had done that prior to the results I showed. I was following the procedure from the Unofficial Wiki for the AMD Linux Driver. I used the commands to create fglrx .deb packages from the AMD Catalyst 11.12 download and install the packages, plus aticonfig etc.
...
So ask them whatever is wrong with their procedure ...
member
Activity: 266
Merit: 36
?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
Yes, I had done that prior to the results I showed. I was following the procedure from the Unofficial Wiki for the AMD Linux Driver. I used the commands to create fglrx .deb packages from the AMD Catalyst 11.12 download and install the packages, plus aticonfig etc.

Quote
and of course the usual (which I put in here a few days ago)
To see that your display is correct:
export DISPLAY=:0
xlsfonts

That returns a long list of fonts.

EDIT: However...
Code:
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ DISPLAY=:0 fglrxinfo
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  12
  Current serial number in output stream:  12
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all

and of course the usual (which I put in here a few days ago)
To see that your display is correct:
export DISPLAY=:0
xlsfonts
member
Activity: 266
Merit: 36
I was mining OK with Ubuntu 11.04 and Catalyst 11.06. After upgrading to Ubuntu 12.04 and Catalyst 11.12, I built the current cgminer from source, which has been my usual practice. Two problems:

1. The system is not detecting my display monitor's characteristics and is using a generic "laptop" monitor config with the wrong resolution. This is not a big problem, but I'm mentioning it here in case it's a clue.

2. cgminer 2.11.3 is not seeing my three 5970 GPUs:
Code:
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ aticonfig --lsa
* 0. 13:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  1. 12:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  2. 0b:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  3. 0a:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  4. 07:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  5. 06:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series

* - Default adapter
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ xhost + &> /dev/null
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ DISPLAY=:0 cgminer -n
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP (831.4)                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] 0 GPU devices max detected

I'm stumped.  Sad
Jump to: