Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 405. (Read 5806004 times)

Lem
newbie
Activity: 78
Merit: 0
Sounds to me like a HHTT stratum implementation issue rather than anything else.

Thanks for your quick reply. Smiley

Sorry to bother you. Since I don't know anything about the protocol and about your code, let me know whether I understand correctly (so I will contact HHTT and I will be able to explain better the issue): that nonce isn't real, is it? Cgminer never found it and never sent it: it is faked by HHTT.
Otherwise I don't understand why cgminer didn't log it.

Thanks again.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Sounds to me like a HHTT stratum implementation issue rather than anything else.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Is there somewhere a Windows 64bit binary available?
Or does it not make very much difference if I am running the 32-bit executable on 64 bit ?
64 bit ming (the cross platform tools used to make windows binaries from linuxy software) is subtly broken for starters, it uses more ram than the 32 bit binaries, and it actually provides precisely zero benefit. So if anything, you're better off with the 32 bit binaries.
Lem
newbie
Activity: 78
Merit: 0
I've noticed a strange behaviour. Perhaps, in some circumstances, some shares are sent to the wrong pool.

Please look at my cgminer log:
Code:
 [2013-02-24 09:57:24] Switching to stratum+tcp://stratum.hhtt.1209k.com:3333/
 [2013-02-24 09:58:20] Pool 0 stratum+tcp://stratum.hhtt.1209k.com:3333/ not responding!
 [2013-02-24 09:58:20] Switching to http://pit.deepbit.net:8332
 [2013-02-24 09:58:20] Pool 0 stratum+tcp://stratum.hhtt.1209k.com:3333/ alive
 [2013-02-24 09:58:20] Switching to stratum+tcp://stratum.hhtt.1209k.com:3333/
 [2013-02-24 10:03:58] Lost 1 shares due to stratum disconnect on pool 0

Where has that share gone?

HHTT pool log says:
Code:
sockthing/dub	2013-02-24 08:58:30	N		H-not-zero	999	0.00000000	00000000 faacb474 815f8e93

BTW: 9:58 on my log, 8:58 on HHTT log. That's correct, there's one hour difference.

This is why i've been able to notice it: only 999 (and above) difficulty shares should go to HHTT, and 00000000 faacb474 815f8e93 of course has a much lower difficulty. It shouldn't have gone there: most probably that nonce had been generated for Deepbit, I think, but in the meantime cgminer switched back to HHTT, so somehow the share was sent to  HHTT. It's strange, too, that cgminer never logged that nonce (I mean, it never said: "... Rejected faacb474..."):
Code:
lem@biggy:~$ grep faacb474 /tmp/mining/minerlog
lem@biggy:~$

From time to time, I have some of these "H-not-zero" hashes on HHTT logs. This has been happening since HHTT switched to stratum. I never saw an "H-not-zero" before. My only other stratum pool is slush: but slush doesn't show a log of all received shares: so I cannot know if this same behaviour is common to slush too.

I'm a bit concerned: if a 1 difficulty share goes to the wrong pool, who cares? But if one of my 999 difficulty shares goes to the wrong pool (let's say it goes to slush instead of going to HHTT, while cgminer is switching between these two pools), I'd be surely pretty sad. Wink

Thanks.
sr. member
Activity: 302
Merit: 252
Is there somewhere a Windows 64bit binary available?
Or does it not make very much difference if I am running the 32-bit executable on 64 bit ?
legendary
Activity: 3586
Merit: 1099
Think for yourself
legendary
Activity: 952
Merit: 1000
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Quote
LOAD BALANCE:
This strategy sends work to all the pools to maintain optimum load. The most
efficient pools will tend to get a lot more shares. If any pool falls idle, the
rest will tend to take up the slack keeping the miner busy.

BALANCE:
This strategy monitors the amount of difficulty 1 shares solved for each pool
and uses it to try to end up doing the same amount of work for all pools.

It's my understanding that while both of these options keep sending work to all available pools at all times, I don't think I've ever quite understood the practical differences between these two. If I'm looking to split my hashrate perfectly even across multiple stratum servers, which would be better? Does VarrDiff skew the results one way or the other?
BALANCE
legendary
Activity: 3586
Merit: 1099
Think for yourself
Quote
LOAD BALANCE:
This strategy sends work to all the pools to maintain optimum load. The most
efficient pools will tend to get a lot more shares. If any pool falls idle, the
rest will tend to take up the slack keeping the miner busy.

BALANCE:
This strategy monitors the amount of difficulty 1 shares solved for each pool
and uses it to try to end up doing the same amount of work for all pools.

It's my understanding that while both of these options keep sending work to all available pools at all times, I don't think I've ever quite understood the practical differences between these two. If I'm looking to split my hashrate perfectly even across multiple stratum servers, which would be better? Does VarrDiff skew the results one way or the other?

I have tinkered around with these settings and theories of operation allot.  It is impossible to split your hash rate perfectly across multiple servers.  Stratum makes it more difficult to split hash rate than getwork with rollntime.

If you really want to split your hash rate between pools the rotate strategy would work better.  Or set up multiple mining rigs that are as close to the same capabilities as possible and mine with a separate instance of CGminer for each to a different pool.
Sam
hero member
Activity: 981
Merit: 500
DIV - Your "Virtual Life" Secured and Decentralize
Quote
LOAD BALANCE:
This strategy sends work to all the pools to maintain optimum load. The most
efficient pools will tend to get a lot more shares. If any pool falls idle, the
rest will tend to take up the slack keeping the miner busy.

BALANCE:
This strategy monitors the amount of difficulty 1 shares solved for each pool
and uses it to try to end up doing the same amount of work for all pools.

It's my understanding that while both of these options keep sending work to all available pools at all times, I don't think I've ever quite understood the practical differences between these two. If I'm looking to split my hashrate perfectly even across multiple stratum servers, which would be better? Does VarrDiff skew the results one way or the other?

Load Balance example with 2 pools of different difficulty.
Pool a diff 1, 1 share submitted
Pool B Diff 8, 1 share submitted
Pool A Diff 1, 1 share submitted
Pool B diff 8 1 share submitted.
At the end of ~18 work units you have 2 shares to pool A and 2 shares to pool B. Pool A pays 1/8th about what Pool B pays so your hashrate and payout will be off by the difficulty

Balance
Pool A diff 1, 1 share
Pool B diff 2, 0 share
Pool A diff 1, 1 share
Pool B diff 2, 1 share
At the end of ~4 work units you will have 3 shares, Pool A paying for 2 shares and Pool B paying for 2 shares. Giving you the same or similarly split hashrate and payouts depending on fees.

Edit:
Thank You!
legendary
Activity: 952
Merit: 1000
Quote
LOAD BALANCE:
This strategy sends work to all the pools to maintain optimum load. The most
efficient pools will tend to get a lot more shares. If any pool falls idle, the
rest will tend to take up the slack keeping the miner busy.

BALANCE:
This strategy monitors the amount of difficulty 1 shares solved for each pool
and uses it to try to end up doing the same amount of work for all pools.

It's my understanding that while both of these options keep sending work to all available pools at all times, I don't think I've ever quite understood the practical differences between these two. If I'm looking to split my hashrate perfectly even across multiple stratum servers, which would be better? Does VarrDiff skew the results one way or the other?
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Just switched to 2.10.5 and cgminer.exe crashes when it tries connecting to the pool I'm using. 2.10.4 works fine.
Almost certainly you upgraded something else between changing from 2.10.4 to 2.10.5 and that is what's crashing it. Usual suspect: driver+/-SDK change. Cgminer caches the binary created so if you try move the .bin files out of your 2.10.4, you can recreate your crash there too.
hero member
Activity: 575
Merit: 500
The North Remembers
Just switched to 2.10.5 and cgminer.exe crashes when it tries connecting to the pool I'm using. 2.10.4 works fine.
SAC
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250

EDIT: I ran 'sudo cgminer -c /usr/local/etc/cgminer.conf', (sudo to get around dialout privledgess).

Try sudo adduser your_user_name dialout logout then back in.
full member
Activity: 165
Merit: 100
Sorry I forgot to share a directory list of /dev/, my system does, in fact, have /dev/ttyUSB0 through /dev/ttyUSB7 listed correctly. I tried the modprobe command earlier and it didn't change anything (because my system already recognized them). Thanks for the suggestion!
hero member
Activity: 626
Merit: 500
Mining since May 2011.
I switched mining hosts and now I'm having a bit of a problem with my BFL singles. Only 1 shows up in cgminer ("BFL 0"), although they all show up in lsusb (I am using USB hubs, but never in "series"). I'm on 32bit ubuntu and I just cloned cgminer 2.10.5
Code:
alan@alan-Vostro-1500:~$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 05a9:2640 OmniVision Technologies, Inc. OV2640 Webcam
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 413c:8126 Dell Computer Corp. Wireless 355 Bluetooth
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 015: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 007: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 008: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 009: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
Bus 002 Device 010: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 011: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 012: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 013: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Thank you for any help with my noobish question!


Have you tried this from the readme.txt?

Q: How do I get my BFL/Icarus/Lancelot/Cairnsmore device to auto-recognise?
A: On linux, if the /dev/ttyUSB* devices don't automatically appear, the only thing that needs to be done is to load the driver for them:
BFL: sudo modprobe ftdi_sio vendor=0x0403 product=0x6014
full member
Activity: 165
Merit: 100
I switched mining hosts and now I'm having a bit of a problem with my BFL singles. Only 1 shows up in cgminer ("BFL 0"), although they all show up in lsusb (I am using USB hubs, but never in "series"). I'm on 32bit ubuntu and I just cloned cgminer 2.10.5
Code:
alan@alan-Vostro-1500:~$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 05a9:2640 OmniVision Technologies, Inc. OV2640 Webcam
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 413c:8126 Dell Computer Corp. Wireless 355 Bluetooth
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 015: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 007: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 008: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 009: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
Bus 002 Device 010: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 011: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 012: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 013: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Thank you for any help with my noobish question!

EDIT: I ran 'sudo cgminer -c /usr/local/etc/cgminer.conf', (sudo to get around dialout privledgess). I will try it with -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 etc when I get home from work.
EDIT2: Including each device explicitly worked. Thanks for the help! cgminer -c /usr/local/etc/cgminer.conf -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 -S /dev/ttyUSB3 -S /dev/ttyUSB4 -S /dev/ttyUSB5 -S /dev/ttyUSB6 -S /dev/ttyUSB7 -S /dev/ttyUSB8
EDIT3: Thanks for the dialout command, SAC!
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
Hello,
There might be potential Found block bug in cgminer 2.10.5. I had found about 5-10 blocks since i start mining.  With old versions of cgminer (getwork) I was always able to see Found Blocks count > 0 from the cgminer api. Recently i Found a block and my pools says that is me who found it. But cgminer shows 0 under Found blocks menu. My question is follows: When mining with stratum and diff > 1 let say 8, is there any chance cgminer not to report to pool that block is found. In general what happens when we found a block, and our share matches to diff 1 which does not meet pool requirement for diff 4 for instance? Is there any chance found block to be wasted and never reported to the pool?



No

10X!
But it is still misery for me why found blocks counts to zero when it should be 1?
For the record this share solved both NMC and BTC block:)

Anyway thank you for taking time to respond me Kon:)

-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Hello,
There might be potential Found block bug in cgminer 2.10.5. I had found about 5-10 blocks since i start mining.  With old versions of cgminer (getwork) I was always able to see Found Blocks count > 0 from the cgminer api. Recently i Found a block and my pools says that is me who found it. But cgminer shows 0 under Found blocks menu. My question is follows: When mining with stratum and diff > 1 let say 8, is there any chance cgminer not to report to pool that block is found. In general what happens when we found a block, and our share matches to diff 1 which does not meet pool requirement for diff 4 for instance? Is there any chance found block to be wasted and never reported to the pool?



No
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
Hello,
There might be potential Found block bug in cgminer 2.10.5. I had found about 5-10 blocks since i start mining.  With old versions of cgminer (getwork) I was always able to see Found Blocks count > 0 from the cgminer api. Recently i Found a block and my pools says that is me who found it. But cgminer shows 0 under Found blocks menu. My question is follows: When mining with stratum and diff > 1 let say 8, is there any chance cgminer not to report to pool that block is found. In general what happens when we found a block, and our share matches to diff 1 which does not meet pool requirement for diff 4 for instance? Is there any chance found block to be wasted and never reported to the pool?


Jump to: